10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 2
Average Mileage:
75,345 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #85

Aug 012011

Impala

  • 126,000 miles
My turn signals worked intermittently. Pressing the hazard switch a couple times fixed problem. Online forum said replace the hazard switch. Fixed the problem for about a month. Now, my car needs to be running and warmed up before the turn signals work correctly. Problem seems to be worsening has the temperature drops.

- Menomonie, WI, USA

problem #84

Nov 052011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 98,450 miles
When car sits for a day, battery is dead, and car will not start. Requires a jump, then car cuts out intermittently while driving. Dies when at slow speed or idle.

- Estacada, OR, USA

problem #83

Oct 062011

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
My car will not start due to an issue with the passkey/passlock system. It is a anti theft function installed on several of the GM models that when it fails to work it actually keeps the owner from using the vehicle. After going on line to research this issue I noticed that this was a very common and expensive problem to have. In addition to getting the system fixed many owners say that after about 3 or 4 months the problem comes back and have even died on them as they were driving. Some try to bypass this system and others attempt to have it fixed, but regardless of how they deal with it, I believe that it is the manufactures responsibility to address common problems with the vehicles they sell; not to mention that Honda was having the same issue with their vehicles and issued a recall.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #82

Aug 312011

Impala

  • miles
Security light comes on and car will not start for extended periods of time.

- Mount Vernon , NY, USA

problem #81

Mar 012011

Impala

  • 148,000 miles
I purchased a used 2001 Impala with a little over 145K miles on it in November 2010. It drove fine for about a month until the check engine light came on. No problem. Eventually it had cooling issues and we had to replace the water pump. It is understandable to replace such parts on a used vehicle. The real issues began in the spring whenever my car started to display security warnings, battery warnings, and service vehicle warnings for no reason. I could find no mechanic or electrician who could diagnose the problem. Eventually, the problems became worse: The blinkers would not work, my odometer, temperature, and fuel gauge all quit working. My air-conditioner would no longer cool. The radio "locked". and whenever I applied the brakes, an electronic "pop" was audible. Chevy dealerships are left with the exhaustible task of dealing with these issues--when they are not their fault, but the manufacturers. A quick search online will reveal that Impala are plagued with electrical problems from the body control module to faulty amps in the trunk. If these problems are so widespread, why hasn't there been an effort by the manufacturer to help find a solution? it's questions like these that make me wonder why our government bailed out a company that can't stand behind their product--or even correct a very serious and potentially dangerous problem in their vehicles.

- Hewitt, TX, USA

problem #80

Jun 232011

Impala

  • 91,000 miles
Trouble starting my 2001 Chevrolet Impala., I try to start my car and it wont start, security light pops on and wont let me start my car. Car has left me stranded and late many times. If I wait 15min-1hr I can then get the car to start. I have done some research on this problem and many GM vehicles have it. They need to put out a recall.

- Mn, MN, USA

problem #79

Jun 222011

Impala

  • 80,000 miles
As I've found from many other folks through the internet and in person, the passlock system in my 2001 Impala is faulty and dangerous! the best case scenario the engine won't start and when you come back 15 minutes later it starts just fine assuming you are in the comforts of your own living space. When on the road this is a severe problem!! also, my wife recently was driving through and intersection and the vehicle just quit! same issue. Wait and it starts!!! now in this case there wasn't and accident, but very easily could have been!! cars dying when making a left turn is not my idea of a safe vehicle!!! since that episode, we've had the vehicle looked at, but no one seems to be able to find the problem. After some research, I'm now 100% sure it's the passlock anti-theft system. Once again, this very morning we went to drop kids at daycare and the car would not start............wait 15 minutes and it starts just fine. There is and obvious problem with the anti-theft system on these vehicles and they need to be addressed!!!

- Ankeny, IA, USA

problem #78

Nov 012010

Impala

  • 130,000 miles
2001 Chevrolet Impala ls. Electrical problems causing vehicle not to start if is sits a number of house I.e. overnight. Took vehicle for servicing to dealer they tried twice and they cannot fix the problem. Took the car to Chevy dealer they disconnected car alarm system only for the problem to still exist. I work nights I cried because of being stranded in the middle of the night alone. How could this be and GM not doing anything to help. So many complaints and still no action. I will try to contact to see if assistance can be given. If not I will make it my personal mission to make sure this does not happen to anyone else. This happens almost everyday now and I am beyond fed up. The alternator, two batteries, starter, control module, and fuses were replaced and yet experts cannot fix the problem. GM should be ashamed I taking a plan of action to contact my local news station and BBB. This is not fair and not customer service. As a result my children have been late to school and missed school, I have been late to work and missed work. This car has been a curse and I would sell the vehicle but I cannot imagine disadvantaging someone else as it has been done to me. May god continue to bless.

- Euclid, OH, USA

problem #77

Jun 012010

Impala

  • miles
Bought my Chevy 2001 Impala May 2010 at 114,000 miles. A week later the check engine light came on for the mass air flow sensor. Car ran fine, changed the maf in February 2011 as the car began to chug at stop lights. A week later the car stalled on the way home after about an hour of driving. Had spark plugs, filters, fluids, tps sensor (twice), crank shaft sensor and ignition module changed. Car is now chugging, stalls out, after stalling the turn signals do not work for a while and has trouble climbing tall hills (does not accelerate). The check engine light comes on occasionally and it reads the tps sensor is bad. Checked the wires near the tps sensor and maf sensor noting when touching wires the idle of the car increases. Come to find out there was a compartment fire before I had bought the car and it appears some wires were spliced. In process to change the wiring harness. Unsure if this will fix the problems.

- Dixon, IL, USA

problem #76

May 152011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 105,600 miles
For the third time a power window "regulator cable" has broken in my car, twice in the driver door (9/29/04 and 5/15/11) and once in the passenger door (09/15/09), each time while driving the vehicle on a street or highway. Nothing noticeable before windows dropped. Had to drive it to a dealer (once for several hundred miles). Cost of repairs were as high as $433. I have owned this car since 11/2001.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #75

Apr 052011

Impala

  • 107,000 miles
Vehicle will not start at times. Security system thinks you're stealing the car. You have to wait ten or so minutes till the bypass security system resets itself leaving you stranded till you get a restart. Worn contacts on the ignition switch are not recognizing your key. Had ignition switch replaced about a year and a half ago and problem has returned. Seems to be extremely common on GM cars '99 to '05.

- Brunswick, OH, USA

problem #74

Feb 182009

Impala

  • 110,000 miles
My 2001 Impala's right rear turn and brake light stop working. I checked for voltage at the right rear light. No voltage was present but I had a good ground. I started to check the harness back tracking the circuit to the turn signal switch, the harness was good. I removed the multi function switch and noticed a lot of grease from the column. I cleaned the switch and assembled it back together. It worked for about a week or two and once again the rr turn signal stop working. I priced a switch for my Impala from my local parts dealer, it was over $300. I researched to see if this was a common problem and was surprised on how many incidents were reported. I think GM need to back up their cars and consider this as a safety recall.

- Gladstone, MO, USA

problem #73

Mar 202008

Impala

  • 90,000 miles
2001 Chevrolet Impala security light will flash and blink not allowing vehicle to start. I have tried new keys amongst other possible inexpensive problems with no desired results. So after I am late for work or other things on my schedule, sometimes after the system "relearns" and "fixes" the problem. The vehicle still won't start. I do not feel that I should be spending more money out of my pocket to fix such a wide spread and surprisingly common problem with multiple vehicles manufactured by GM!

- Dunnsville, VA, USA

problem #72

Dec 032010

Impala

  • 184,500 miles
Car doesn't want to start if it's cold outside (35 degrees or colder). Sometimes it takes 10-30 minutes for the car to finally start. It happens numerous times. I've replaced battery, I've had car alarm system checked, starter checked, and still have problems. I have read online of thousands of people with the same problem with various brands from General Motors.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #71

Sep 022010

Impala

  • 97,000 miles
While making a left turn in an intersection, car completely shut down, and I lost brakes and steering. Car immediately restarted but time on clock was wrong. I believe the computer is shutting the car down. Shortly after this incident, my keyless entry failed to lock the car until I restarted the car and tried again. I, again, noticed, the time on my clock had changed, indicating a computer shutdown.

- Estacada, OR, USA

problem #70

Jul 152010

Impala

  • miles
I have a 2001 Chevy Impala. On occasion it just won't start. I had it into the Chevy dealer several times to know avail. There has been millions of complaints about this issue. Why hasn't GM addressed this problem?

- Fremont, WI, USA

problem #69

Jul 282010

Impala

  • 125,000 miles
Headlights, taillights, interior lights were all flashing. The car also would have incidents where it wouldn't start and I'd have to wait for 10 minutes to restart. I was told by the mechanic at the dealership that these problems were well known in GM cars and were caused by the BCM and passlock system. I was told that installing a new BCM for $400 would fix the problem. Immediately, I noticed that the flashing lights had stopped. A month later, I was leaving a grocery store when I tried to start my car and it wouldn't start. I had to wait 10 minutes before it would restart. I called the dealership service center and they told me that when this happens, the passlock system is resetting itself and the only remedy is to replace the BCM again. I had a 1 year warranty on the replacement of the BCM, so I took it to the dealer the next day. The car wouldn't do it when they had it, so they weren't able to determine that the BCM was the problem. I was never able to get it replaced because it wouldn't happen while at the dealership. Now that it's been over a year, the non-start issue has been happening weekly. GM will not assist with paying for another BCM because of the mileage of my vehicle.

- Trotwood, OH, USA

problem #68

Jul 172010

Impala

  • 55,000 miles
The vehicle doesn't recognize your key and won't start. This issue can happen once a week once a month once a year, you just never know. Usually if you wait 20 minutes for the computer to reset it will start, but that is not always the case. The turn signals on the vehicle also do not work 50% of the time.

- Batavia, IL, USA

problem #67

Jun 252004

Impala

  • 50,000 miles
Incident, car will not start. Over the past 6 years when key is inserted into ignition the car will not start. Security light flashes and I will get locked out for ten minutes. There is no warning as to when this will happen, one day it happened 4 times. That's 40 minutes locked out. I have taken it to mechanics who said they can't find anything wrong, some wanted to charge $400 to look into it. When I asked a Chevy dealer about it they said they have no known fix. One dealer said install a remote starter, but it may not resolve the issue. The problem happens alot when it is hot and humid, but can also happen at any given time.

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #66

May 202010

Impala

  • 132,000 miles
GM starting electrical error. 2001 Chevy Impala. The security thinks the car is being stolen. And the only easy fix is disconnect the battery. So to all the thieves take mine. This problem occurs on a regular basis. Ie three to five times a day, depending on how many times I use the vehicle. Currently 132K miles. Car runs great otherwise. Why doesn't GM recall this error"??"

- Plover, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »