10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,157 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Oct 062013

Malibu

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the brake pedal failed to stop the vehicle and the steering wheel seized. The contact crashed into a tree and sustained minor injuries that require medical attention. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Edinburg, TX, USA

problem #18

Aug 062014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). While the vehicle was at a complete stop, it jerked violently. The contact had to exert force on the brake pedal to keep the vehicle at a stop. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #17

Jun 022014

Malibu

  • miles
My name is [xxx]. I am submitting this complaint on behalf of a close family member, [xxx] is 90 years with no access to a computer. He resides at [xxx], and owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. [xxx] received three safety recall notices that are summarized below: June 2014 - first recall notice stated: Your vehicle, equipped with eps may experience a sudden loss of power steering assist that could occur at any time while driving. Steering control can be maintained, as the vehicle will revert to a manual steering mode, but would require greater driver effort at low vehicle speeds, which could result in an increased risk of a crash. July 2014 - second recall notice stated: Traction control, electronic stability control (ecs), and panic braking assist features, if equipped, may be disabled. Service ESC and/or traction control tell-tales lights may illuminate with this condition. These conditions may increase the risk of a crash. July 2014 - third recall notice stated: Your vehicle has a condition in which the transmission shift cable may fracture at any time. If the driver cannot place the vehicle in park, and exists the vehicle without applying the park brake, the vehicle could roll away and a crash could occur with prior warning. [xxx] contacted the local Chevrolet dealership in June 2014. The local Chevrolet dealership is: Keller Chevrolet ([xxx]),. resolution: [xxx] feels that while he is waiting for GM to receive replacement parts for his 2005 Malibu, the local dealership should provide him with a safe loaner vehicle as his existing 2005 Malibu. [xxx] can be reached at: [xxx] thank you for your time and consideration in this matter. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #16

Aug 162014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 200,022 miles
I am a mechanic and I do preventive maintenance for a living I noticed my parking brake cable to be worn very thin and cause of the recent recalls if a user were to hit the parking brake in an emergency or just to apply it the brake might not apply I strongly believe there should be a safety recall for this cause the line is rubbing against the frame and there is no simple fix it has to be replaced and a plate installed to keep it from rubbing against the frame.

- Derry, NH, USA

problem #15

Aug 112014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
We have received 3 separate recall notices from GM. (1 for electric steering, 1 for brake apply sensor and 1 for a shift cable fracture). However, GM will not fix any of the problems. They tell us to call the dealer. The dealer then tells us that GM will not supply the parts. Upon calling GM a third time, they will not reveal who is making these parts, where they are coming from, or have any idea when they will be available. They again instruct us to call the dealer. Each recall states that it is an "important safety recall" in accordance federal laws but yet nobody will fix any of the issues. The first recall notice came in 2012 for electric steering. We are still being told there are not parts to fix this. The brake apply sensor came in July 2014. The shift cable fracture also came in July 2014. (this indicates that the cable can snap while driving).

- North Versailles, PA, USA

problem #14

Aug 162010

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I have received numerous recall notices and whenever I call a dealer I am told either there is no recall for this notice or they don't have the parts for this recall. I think they are waiting for me to either get rid of the car or get in an accident. If my car is affected I want it fixed. Is there anything the NHTSA can do?

- Elmhurst, IL, USA

problem #13

Jun 022014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
To date, I have received 3 different recall notices from GM dealing with my vehicle. Though I understand that these parts may not be available immediately, I don't and will never understand why I am unable to get a loaner car until these problems can be taken care of. I was instructed to drive my vehicle until I had a problem and then it would be taken care of. What kind of advice is that? I've talked to several people today about my issue and no one cares. I can pretty much guarantee none of them would have their wives and small children in the same position I'm in. All I want to be able to do is go to work and make it home safely to my child.

- Desoto, TX, USA

problem #12

Jun 302014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • miles
I own a 2005 Malibu. I keep getting recall letters (electronic steering, ignition, body control module) they have no parts to repair any of them. What good is a recall when you can't get your car fixed? how long does the gov give manufacturers to actually repair a recall. Seems to me if the default(s) is/are dangerous enough to issue a recall, there should be some repercussions when GM does not repair recalls in a timely manner. Should I just go to the dealer and demand a rental till my car is made safe to drive" how about a picket sign? should I go and pay an independent mechanic and bill GM" [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Oak Lawn, IL, USA

problem #11

Jul 072014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the power steering failed intermittently. The contact stated that the vehicle resumed normal functioned immediately after being restarted. The contact mentioned that he received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded the reasonable amount of time for the repairs. The dealer stated the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not taken for diagnostic test. The failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 87,000. Updated 08/27/14 updated 09/18/2014

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #10

Jul 102014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
Over a course of three years, I've continuously had problems with my taillights going out, cruise control malfunctioning, etc. I've had several near miss accidents because of this issue. My brake lights randomly go on and go off while my car is in motion and when braking the brake lights fail to "light up". I have had several mechanics give me different diagnosis' and have spent a few hundred dollars to remedy this and every thing has failed. I recently did some research and came across this which is exactly what is wrong with my vehicle. www-ODI.NHTSA.dot.gov/owners/searchresults my car was also given a diagnosis of what might be wrong with my vehicle and the mechanic at Chevrolet specifically mentioned that after I spend $700 to get this fixed, this might not remedy the problem. Any information will be greatly appreciated.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #9

Jun 132014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 156,350 miles
While traveling home I was pulled over by a state trooper. I was told I was not using my signal lights and my brake lights were not working. For the past few weeks my ABS light has been coming on but I just had brakes put on my car. When I drive in the rain my brake petal goes almost to the floor before I can stop and my car makes strange scrubbing noises from time to time. As advised I had my lights checked by a professional and it was found my lights seemed to be burned/melted at the bottom where the bulbs connect to the base. I have replaced them several times and do not understand why they have to be replaced so often. Due to these issues I am afraid to drive in the rain and constantly check my brake and signal lights.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #8

Jun 172014

Malibu

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to shift from park and the key seized in the ignition. The dealer was contacted who informed him that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 98,000 and the current mileage was 98,117.

- Durand, MI, USA

problem #7

Jun 122014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 123,445 miles
I brought my vehicle to my local auto mechanic complaining of a steering/// front brake engaging prematurely issue. My mechanic looked at my front brake system and established that there was nothing wrong with the actually units that make up the front braking system. He then instructed me to take my vehicle to the Chevrolet dealership and have them look at the vehicle's computer to see if they can diagnose a possible sensor issue. I followed his advice. While driving at aprox 40 -45 mph, the steering wheel began to "shimmy" uncontrollably. At this same time, the front brakes began to engage independent of the brake peddles being depressed. I pulled the vehicle off the road and parked on a side street. As the vehicle sat stationary, I notices smoke eminating from both front wheelwells. Moments later, the tire valve in my front left tire blew, causing the tire to deflate. I then had the vehicle towed to the dealership. I told them what had happened. I also informed them that I had already taken the vehicle to my local mechanic, describing the reason why; this was 06/12/14. On 06/13/14, the dealership informed me that they couldn't find anything wrong with the front braking system. I then reminded them that I had already told them that my mechanic had already established that fact, and that it was his recommendation that I bring my car to the dealership service center for a more detailed diagnosis. As it stands right now, the dealership still does not know why the issues I highlighted are happening. Please note - 05/21/14 I had brought my vehicle in for the ignition switch recall. This problem began to manifest itself soon after that recall was completed.

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #6

Sep 012006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
The brakes lights on my vehicle come on without pressure applied to the brakes resulting in the cruise control to kick off. The brake lights will go off once the brakes are pressed. This presents an unsafe situation as it is never known when it will happen. This resulted in my vehicle being rear ended while at a stop sign coming off the off ramp from the highway. I have had to have this issue fixed several times and it keeps reoccurring. The power steering goes completely out on the vehicle while driving at random times. I have had to have this fixed at least two times. I know that there have been recalls on both issues for my make, model and year however I keep getting told that my vehicle is not on the list.

- Alma, MI, USA

problem #5

Mar 062014

Malibu

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the brake lights remained illuminated when the contact was not depressing the brake pedal. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the BCM needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 119,000.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #4

Dec 252013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
Vehicles brake lights stick on while driving. Sometimes they flash when going aprox 65 and up. It appears the brake lights also flash when car is changing gears. The car once would not shift into drive while reversing and lost all power steering. Also the brakes or something at front of car shakes rapidly when accelerating and even worse when going down hills.

- Oakdale, PA, USA

problem #3

Jul 162013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Intermittent brake lights; go on when not braking; also cruise control intermittent I understand that this is a common problem with this make/model. Suggest recall as this problem has made the press.

- Palm Springs, CA, USA

problem #2

May 082009

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 35,572 miles
Brake lights come on while driving the car. Some times the lights will come on and after a while go off, or they will flicker on and off. This is most noticeable while driving at night. Neither foot is on the brake pedal. Also the cruise control will not work while brake lights are on. During this condition, when I do apply pressure on the brake pedal, the brake lights go off so a driver behind me doesn't know I am stopping. I have had the dealership, GM, look at this problem 3 times starting at the 35572 miles. They replaced the brake light switch all 3 times which cured the problem for a short period of time, but then the said problem reappears. Last time they "fixed" the problem was at mileage 110,536 on March 9, 2012. I am currently not driving the car often because of this problem has returned.. one good thing though - with the light going on and off, it does keep tailgaters back as they have on idea what I am upto. A silver lining in a dark cloud. I purchased the car used with 7660 miles on it.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #1

Mar 102013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 110,600 miles
Brake lights do not light up when brake pedal is pressed. This is inconsistent. Also, the cruise control works intermittently - this problem has been occurring for at least the past six months.

- Brandon, MS, USA