10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
216,773 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Jan 282015

Malibu

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. While the vehicle was parked in a residential driveway, the lever shifted out of the park position independently. As a result, the vehicle rolled away and crashed into the neighbor's fence and a cement pillar. A police report was filed and no injuries were sustained. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The dealer verified that the VIN was affected by NHTSA campaign number: 14V092000 (power train). The technician denied that the potential recall failure was the cause of the crash. The dealer was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Rialto, CA, USA

problem #33

Jan 272013

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
I had to buy a transmission for my Malibu and now I am receiving recalls (multiple) # 14152 & #13036 for the same car. However, on the freeway coming home from temecula, ca, South bound on the 15 highway, my transmission was not engaging. No loud sounds, or excess acceleration, nor too much weight (driver and passenger only cargo.) the engine was on and as I accelerated the engine was going but nothing was propelling us forward. I had to buy a new transmission and pay for labor which came out to a hefty expense. With everything I have read online and forums for these recalls I feel like a reimbursement should be in order if the manufacture even had a slight hesitation of a possible defect.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #32

Jun 032014

Malibu

  • 110,000 miles
After daughter stopped at red traffic light car would not go forward. Only gear was reverse. Drove backwards to safe location. Car would not go into any other gear. I am on disability so I did assume my transmission went out. So I did replace. My ex-husband doing all work in my driveway, as I can't afford mechanic. Long and short of it still wouldn't go into park. Discover it was the shift cable. Order shift cable directly from dealership. Replaced and everything works fine. Nothing was even mentioned when I would call dealership to ask question about getting the right transmission for my car, because I guess there was three different ones. Nothing was even mentioned when I order my cable through the dealership that there was a recall. Problem is GM doesn't want to reimburse because I didn't have the work done by a licensed mechanic. I had talk to a senior advisor and this is the information she had given to me. I feel this is not fair just because of my financial situation. I received my recall letter in July 2014 about recall and another letter January 16, 2015 letting me know that work could be done. I am hoping you can help me with this issue or I can try legal aid. Thank you.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #31

Aug 152014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the vehicle did not exhibit any failures before the recall repairs were performed for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and 14V224000 (power train). The vehicle was also included in a third safety recall, but was unable to confirm if the manufacturer performed the recall repair for NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering). The contact stated that after the repairs, the key was difficult to remove from the ignition, various warning lamps illuminated, and the gear lights did not illuminate for the gear box when the driver changed gears. The vehicle was taken back to the authorized dealer and the contact waited for longer than two weeks for the vehicle to be further inspected and diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was not available.

- Stamford , CT, USA

problem #30

Dec 222014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 121,121 miles
NHTSA recall # 14V224 (manufacturer recall # N140152) car has been on recall since May 16, 2014. Brought car to paul conti cheverolet, freeport on 12/22/2014 to be serviced and was told again "part not available."

- North Bellmore, NY, USA

problem #29

Dec 102013

Malibu

  • miles
After the vehicle has warmed up after driving 10 miles, the gears do not shift appropriately. The transmission stays in 2nd or 3rd gear causing loss of acceleration from a stopped position (such as a red light) mechanic ruled out any problems with the transmission by itself. GM dealer told me about this recall.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #28

Feb 082013

Malibu

  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted and taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the vehicle needed a new transmission. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The failure mileage was 116,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Eflin , NC, USA

problem #27

Nov 212014

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 162,000 miles
On 11/21, I took my 2005 Malibu to the GM dealership for a recall on the "steering" to replace the torque sensor assembly. NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000. When I left the dealership and driving for awhile, I noticed my car would partially stall at traffic lights or stop signs. I called the dealership when I got home and they told me to bring it back the next day, but I had to work. Today, 11/26 I took my car to the GM dealership because the car continues to partially stall at traffic lights or stop signs. I informed one of the reps what was happening and that I had no signs of this issue before the recall replacement. I was told they never went under the hood of my car during the recall replacement. It was all done at the steering column; that this issue is something that just happens without any warning at all. He informed me that other folks have come in with the same issue...not sure if this was after they also had the recall done. I tried telling the service dept., I had no other issues before bringing my car to them for the recall, but instead was told this was not their fault and I would have to pay for whatever is wrong with the car. I didn't let them touch it again. I will take it to my mechanic, who I never had an issue with after working on my car. I noticed there was a recall in 2011 for component(s): Fuel system, gasoline; NHTSA campaign number: 11E009000 and never received this recall. I bought this car from car max in 2011. Just speculating if this may be my problem. I also never received the recall for NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 component(s): Power train. More work to do to find the answers.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #26

Jun 022014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering), and NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train). However, the parts needed to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Freeport, ME, USA

problem #25

Oct 012014

Malibu

  • 32,600 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), but the failure was not corrected. The vehicle experienced several failures after the repair. The steering wheel locked, the windows did not open or close, and the vehicle jerked while driving and when changing gears into drive or reverse. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 32,600.

- Washingotn , DC, USA

problem #24

Nov 062014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control), NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering), and NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train). The contact stated that the parts needed were unavailable to repair the vehicle under the recalls. The dealer was unable to inform when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Council Bluffs, IA, USA

problem #23

May 162007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
It has been over 5 months since recall, and GM has still not come up with the replacement parts. This delay appears to be intentional. Can NHTSA do anything to speed up this process?

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #22

Oct 012014

Malibu

  • miles
Letter from senator warner on behalf of constituent re 2005 Malibu recalls (attn: Shane clem). The consumer stated each time he called the dealer, to inquire about getting the recall issues rectified, he was informed the parts were not available. Also, the emission control valve had to be replaced.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #21

Sep 182014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacture was not notified. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #20

Sep 252014

Malibu

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the vehicle shook and lost acceleration. The check engine warning indicator illuminated after the failure occurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 69,000.

- Portage , IN, USA

problem #19

Sep 252014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received recall notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train), NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering), and NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control). The parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- New Castle , PA, USA

problem #18

Sep 112012

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that there was an intermittent failure with the connection of the fuse box and the connecting screws. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who replaced the screws and the fuse box. The contact also experienced a failure with the power steering. The steering wheel was tight and the contact experienced extreme difficulty turning the steering wheel left or right. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who replaced the steering column. The remedy corrected the failure. The contact had been waiting for months to have the vehicle repaired according to NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and 14V224000 (power train). The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact also indicated that the vehicle idled high and it was difficult to change gears. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000. Updated 11/14/14 updated 8/11/2015

- Ansonia, CT, USA

problem #17

Jun 062014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic and vehicle speed control), NHTSA campaign id number: 14V153000 (steering), and NHTSA campaign id number: 14V224000 (power train). The contact stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not give a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Wilkesbarre, PA, USA

problem #16

Sep 032014

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, electronic stability control, exterior lighting, service brakes, hydraulic, vehicle speed control) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V224000 (power train). However, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Hertford, NC, USA

problem #15

Jun 022014

Malibu

  • miles
My name is [xxx]. I am submitting this complaint on behalf of a close family member, [xxx] is 90 years with no access to a computer. He resides at [xxx], and owns a 2005 Chevrolet Malibu. [xxx] received three safety recall notices that are summarized below: June 2014 - first recall notice stated: Your vehicle, equipped with eps may experience a sudden loss of power steering assist that could occur at any time while driving. Steering control can be maintained, as the vehicle will revert to a manual steering mode, but would require greater driver effort at low vehicle speeds, which could result in an increased risk of a crash. July 2014 - second recall notice stated: Traction control, electronic stability control (ecs), and panic braking assist features, if equipped, may be disabled. Service ESC and/or traction control tell-tales lights may illuminate with this condition. These conditions may increase the risk of a crash. July 2014 - third recall notice stated: Your vehicle has a condition in which the transmission shift cable may fracture at any time. If the driver cannot place the vehicle in park, and exists the vehicle without applying the park brake, the vehicle could roll away and a crash could occur with prior warning. [xxx] contacted the local Chevrolet dealership in June 2014. The local Chevrolet dealership is: Keller Chevrolet ([xxx]),. resolution: [xxx] feels that while he is waiting for GM to receive replacement parts for his 2005 Malibu, the local dealership should provide him with a safe loaner vehicle as his existing 2005 Malibu. [xxx] can be reached at: [xxx] thank you for your time and consideration in this matter. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »