10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
100,319 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #74

Feb 162016

Escape

  • 102,060 miles
Had the truck serviced received a perfect report, then 2 weeks later the steering became very tight and hard to steer.took the truck to 3 different shops to learn they were not equipped to handle an electrical power steering.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #73

Mar 212016

Escape

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 45 mph, the steering wheel made a clicking sound and shook without warning. Approximately 30 seconds later, the steering wheel became very difficult to turn and failed. The next morning, when the vehicle was started, the maintenance warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was previously repaired per a recall in August of 2014 for the same issue, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering torque sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 52,000.

- Twin Falls, ID, USA

problem #72

Oct 242014

Escape

  • 115,412 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering). After the vehicle was repaired under the recall, the vehicle experienced several failures. The failures included the loss of anti-lock braking system, stability control, and the brake warning light was constantly illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed; however, the mechanic was unable to retrieve a fault code on the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 115,412.

- New Iberia, LA, USA

problem #71

Feb 222016

Escape 6-cyl

  • miles
Hi my name is [xxx] I have a 2008 Ford Escape and I am having steering wheel electrical problems when I turn on the car the steering wheel vibrate and I have done some research and I look like there has been alot of people complaining about the same problem im having and that might be the steering wheel torque sensor. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Woodstock, IL, USA

problem #70

Jan 012016

Escape

  • 121,000 miles
I took my 2008 Ford Escape in to have the sensor replaced on electric power steering that should have been taken care of correctly to start with. I filed a complaint yesterday for that issue. I forgot to mention and add a complaint for another issue that I am having also with the 2008 Ford Escape. I am having problems with the ignition. When you try to start the vehicle it will not start. If you remove the key and try again then it will start. Or if you sit and wait a few minutes and retry to start the vehicle then it will start. I thought at first this was caused by the shaken in the steering wheel. However the mechanic informed me that I needed a ignition switch and it was a separate issue and bill. I could only afford to have the sensor replaced for the eletric power steering wheel so for now I can only hope and pray the ignition switch does not go completely out and leave me stranded. I have had nothing but problems with this vehicle. Honestly... I want to cry! every time I turn around it is something going wrong with this vehicle. Also I had to get the serpentine belt fixed last week as well. I dont know of what more I can say at this time. My nerves are shot worring about what will go wrong next with this vehicle and I worry if it will start to pick my daughter up from school and soccer or if she will be left stranded because I don't have a reliable vehicle. Not to mention having to worry; about having money for repair after repair. I am so discussed with Ford! also I have a issue with the vehicle making a noise. I thought the noise could be related to the serpentine belt but that is not the case. It is something else, but I can't afford to address that issue until I can get the ignition switch replaced.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #69

Feb 012016

Escape

  • 89,003 miles
The ignition switch has been replaced once and now the problem is starting again the key just turns and car doesn't turn over and it beeps because you cannot put key in right position.

- Findlay, OH, USA

problem #68

Feb 192016

Escape

  • 131,000 miles
August 2014 took my 2008 Ford Escape into local Ford dealer for recall notice recall 14S05 - power steering assist fault issue with torque sensor replacement - lindquist Ford dealership just upgraded a program into my Escape for abt 20-30mins, didn't check any parts for replacement, told me no parts were replaced there was no warning light so they didn't physically take the time to look. February 2016 - no engine light comes on but when I turn the key over for the last 6wks sometimes my Escape starts up sometimes, sometimes it does not with a notice "power steering assist fault" - as weeks went by, the steering wheel is shaking more randomly while driving and stopping. The only way to start my Ford Escape is by remote start to bypass the starter. Recently, I took my car into my local mechanic, after thorough investigation the torque sensor is cracked. I was told by Ford employees, 2 other local Ford dealerships & the mechanic to take the Escape back to the dealership who opened up the original recall back in August 2014. That original dealership did make a claim, Ford warranty denied the claim- the dealership didn't "choose" to tell Ford warranty they never looked at the recall parts in August 2014 they just did the upgrade, their liability "that's what the letter told them to do, no warning light no replacement parts". I paid $70+ for what the mechanic just did for free. That dealership did not check for any parts that needed replaced back on 2014. Not only did the dealership charge me $70, I took the Escape back to the local mechanic and paid $500 for a new torque sensor; same exact part falling under the recall "power steering assist fault". denied claim on 2/19/2016, reason- it's been over a year since my recall update was done the dealership should have been replaced the part back in 2014. I drive 2 cars, seriously?

- Rapids City, IL, USA

problem #67

Sep 102015

Escape

  • 108,000 miles
I have a 2008 Ford Escape that had a recall on it. After I took it in to the local Ford dealership, my car started having problems relating to the recall. After taking it to two different Ford companies and proving that the recall fix did not work and is causing problems, Ford refuses to authorize the other repairs that is covered under the recall, because one repair shop did the initial update. Now my car is having major problems, and I cannot afford to fix it. It is a safety issue. I have talked to 5 different people about the issue at Ford but they keep saying that the case number I provide the dealership should take care of it however it does not. Im a single mother of 3 with low income and if my cars power steering goes out at a crucial time I could potentially cause a serious accident.

- Pittsburg, CA, USA

problem #66

Jan 172016

Escape

  • 105,000 miles
Experienced sudden engine shut down while driving 60mph on freeway. Put vehicle in neutral and coasted to shoulder. Vehicle restarted. No fault code found

- Roseville, MN, USA

problem #65

Dec 312015

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
On December 11, 2015 I had taken my 2008 Ford Escape to dealer for the 14S05 recall being that two days before my power steering had locked up. They did the software update now on December 31, 2015 I have no power steering at all. Took it back to dealer said torque sensor went out and is not part of recall. Its pretty unsafe that they recall this part but wont honor to fix it when they know its a problem with all these vehicles between 2008-2011. Why send a recall letter if the dealer isn't going to fix the problem and expect you to pay put of pocket for something they know is being recalled?? makes me very upset and unhappy with Ford and their vehicles if they can't make them safe for people to drive, they are picking the cheapest way to fix the problem with just the software update when the issue is more to do with the torque sensor in the vehicles. People are driving these vehicles thinking they are fixed when they are not, thinking we are in a safe vehicle and we are not because Ford doesn't want to honor the recall. Its ridiculous how Ford is doing this and not safe for drivers. Please help me and everyone who has had this issue with the recall dealing with the torque sensor get replaced...thank you.

- Sturgis, MI, USA

problem #64

Jun 012015

Escape

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the ignition switch was inoperable and the starter key needed to be forced into the ignition switch in order for the vehicle to start. The failure recurred. The contact stated that the ignition switch eventually failed to start the vehicle. The vehicle was no longer operable. The contact spoke with the dealer who informed the contact that the failure was common and the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000. The VIN was not available.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #63

Nov 252015

Escape

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While parked, the vehicle was unable to start. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence where it was repaired; however, the cause of the failure was unknown. In addition, while at a stop, the vehicle failed to accelerate when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The contact switched off and restarted the vehicle, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence again. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #62

Jul 152015

Escape

  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Escape. While driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle stalled, lost braking and steering ability, and crashed into the rear of the preceding vehicle. The contact stated that several warning lights illuminated momentarily. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to a local garage. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but did not help, claiming that there was no indication of vehicular malfunction. The vehicle was repaired by an independent mechanic. The failure mileage was 36,000.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #61

Nov 112013

Escape

  • 86,000 miles
3 years ago my radio no longer lights up, the heat & ac only works on high and inside lights don't work. Then in 2013 replaced the transmission with absolutely no warning with 86,000 miles on the vehicle now in 2015 the power steering has gone out on the vehicle and this was recalled in 2014 and I took it to the dealer and they said that they would have covered it if it was within 12 months. It was a week and half over that.

- Scottsville, NY, USA

problem #60

Oct 052015

Escape

  • 112,300 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 5 mph, the electric assist power steering stopped working. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 112,300.

- Cedar Lake, IN, USA

problem #59

Sep 302015

Escape

  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle experienced a loss of power steering. The vehicle was able to be stopped, but required a greater effort to operate the vehicle. The dealer diagnosed that the steering column malfunctioned and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. Prior to the failure, the vehicle was reprogrammed under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle would not be repaired twice under the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 132,000.

- North Apollo, PA, USA

problem #58

Sep 082008

Escape

  • 3,000 miles
All these items have been fixed by capitol city Ford indianapolis and mace Ford terre haute, in. I am still having problems with the throttle thrust and electrical problems. Currently my car will not start. Other mechanics said it was the starter, its not the starter its electrical sensors. The vehicle speeds up sometimes when the car is not being excelerated. Suspension, heater speed control stop working when they worked on the electrical and they refuse to fix it. There is more. I don't have my documentation, but I will submit it later. The car is at the shop - being looked and worked on - its still not starting - so we don't have transportation!! I cant afford another hit from Ford when they are not even fixing the problem.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #57

Aug 262015

Escape 4-cyl

  • 1 miles
Approximately 2 to 3 weeks ago I was sitting in a parking lot after shopping, went to start my car and it would not start. After about 10 minutes and several attempts the car finally turned over and started. I drove the car home and did not go out the rest of the day. This has happened several times. I called a mechanic and they said that it sounded like it was the starter. I did not think so, but took it to mechanic and they did the work and replaced the starter costing me money that I do not have as I am on a fixed income. Got the car back last week and yesterday was sitting in a car dealer lot and it happened again. This time it would not start and had to call for a ride after sitting in the hot 90 plus degree heat. My car is in the shop again today and they are going to try and see if they can figure out why it will not start. To me and my granddaughter it sounds like there is something faulty in the steering column. Either way, I am terrified that it will start a fire, or worse leave me stranded where no one can come and get me. I am an elderly woman and can not have these issues with my car. If this could be looked into and taken care of as soon as possible I would greatly appreciate it. I have the invoices from the work that has been done on this particular part of the car. Thank you for your time and prompt resolution of this matter.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #56

Mar 022015

Escape 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
I think my vehicle has some kind of electrical short. After I take the key out sometimes the car will start by itself and today the locks started locking unlocking by themselves. I was in the vehicle and it was running. Also the back windshield motor cover fell off and no longer works. I can no longer lock my back window and it opens and shuts the whole time I am driving. Such a disappointment. My last Ford Escape I had 10 years and racked up over 250,000 miles - that car was a dream. This used 2008 I bought seems to be a lemon :

- Yamhill, OR, USA

problem #55

May 012013

Escape

  • 1,575 miles
This problem started about 2013 my car ignition was not starting the car I have to press in then turn so that my car can start this was getting so aggravating so I took it to a shop and they switched out the ignition switch and that did not last long. I am now dealing with this issue again and it is expensive. I am so tired of my car not starting when I turn the key. I had to get my car towed because of it and I sometimes get stuck after shopping or at work and I have to keep turning the key until it start. I believe this has something to do with the recall I had last year on my car I hope that Ford look into this issue I believe it is something going on deeper than the switch and Ford need to fix it. I need help with this issue.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »