10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,232 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Feb 052020

Sonata

  • 102,525 miles
While driving the 2017 Hyundai Sonata at speeds of 60 plus mph the steering wheel locks up and the power steering light comes on along with the traction control lights. This incident has even caused damage to the right front corner of my Hyundai due to losing steering causing me to veer in to the guard rails.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #17

Nov 182019

Sonata

  • 14,000 miles
Issue #1 brakes making a wierd squalling sound when we apply the brakes at various times driving. We brought our 2017 Sonata hybrid numerous times without any fix ! serious safety issue ! issue #2 wei brought our 2017 Hyundai Sonata with only 14,000 miles to service dept. At Hyundai to inspect tires & brakes & oil change before leaving on our long trip to miami. Everything checked out ok ! we drove 2/3 of way on I-75 highway & only stopped once for gas. We noticed a thumping sound & our car started "pulling to the right". we thought it was a flat tire & stopped at the next rest area to inspect tires for proper psi inflation...all tires checked out ok?? there was no "warning lights on " so we got back onto I-75 & we really got nervous as the shaking really got worse as we drove on. We slowed down to 40 mph. With flashers on. We called roadside assistance for directions to nearest Hyundai dealership. We slowly made it to rick case Hyundai who inspected our car & were "shockingly told that the (2) right side tires experienced "belt seperations " & they had to be replaced immediately with a new wheel alignment (over $ 500). Tech said ! wow that looks like two manufacturer defective tires ! we carried 2 tires back tto our local Hyundai service dept in npr & will try to get reimbursed by hankook ! this is a "serious safety issue " with these tires as we have read all the complaints about these model tires. We would like to replace the other (2) tires that are still on vehicle with these major safety issues ! my wife & I dont feel safe with the tires & brakes concerns !

- Holiday, FL, USA

problem #16

Dec 182019

Sonata

  • 62,000 miles
Truck latch initially would not open with out the key or dashboard option now will not remain close.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #15

Nov 272019

Sonata

  • 65,250 miles
My trunk latch mecanisum broke and it was troubling to think that my purse or luggage was in it or I could not get to my meds or a spare tire in the event it was needed. There is no way to get into the locked trunk accept to take the entire back seat out unlike most cars where you can pull a latch on the back of the rear seat and bring the seat down. I have what is called the "smart trunk" that opens without the use of a key if you are standing in front of it. I had to put out just under $500 to get into the trunk and repair the latch. I do hope that you can do a safety recall on the latch soon. This happened to me and I was not at home and I had to wait to get an appointment at the dealership to get it repaired.

- Locust Grove, VA, USA

problem #14

Sep 172019

Sonata

  • 34,156 miles
Trunk latch failed completely. Failure to release by key fob, failure to release from interior button, and failure to release from manual lock cylinder.

- Hanford, CA, USA

problem #13

Aug 172019

Sonata

  • 50,000 miles
Driving to work when I heard a rattling noise and engine light came on & off, then I smelled and saw smoke, so immediately pulled out of the freeway to the nearest exit luckily a parking lot before the car burst into flames.

- Tracy, CA, USA

problem #12

Jul 252019

Sonata

  • 24,598 miles
Trunk will not open, with dash button, trunk button, or key. Stationay with $173 perishible groceries inside, will be oderious by the time it gets to a shop. Parked in garage.

- Peck, KS, USA

problem #11

Jul 252019

Sonata

  • miles
What a horrible experience, at about 6:45am esatern time on 07/25/2019, while driving on the highway the car trunk flipped open without any warning signs or any signs of defect and I immediately pulled over by emergency side and tried to close it back, after all failed attempts to close the trunk, with trunk wild open, I had to drive straight down to the Hyundai dealership were the car was purchased (rick case Hyundai duluth 3190 satellite blvd, duluth ga 30096) and to my utmost surprise, after explaining the incident to the service manager, I was told that the warranty does not cover such mechanical defect and they charged me $233 just to fix the latch, I tried to contact Hyundai customer care and they did not offer any solutions at all, what a very poor customer experience. This is the 3rd time I have to deal with this problem of trunk latch problems and no one seems to care or help out.. really disappointed with Hyundai. My contact phone number: [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lawrenceville, CT, USA

problem #10

Mar 192019

Sonata

  • 0 miles
Campaign 953 I received a recall notice by mail for the knock sensor detection system software update and it was completed on 03/19/2019. The vehicle doesn't accelerate past 20 mph, jerks and hesitate. I contact the Hyundai dealer service department and told them about the problem and gave me an appointment for the next day. The vehicle was inspected and I was advised that the vehicle is not safe to drive, will not provide me a loaned vehicle and will not cover a rental. My wife just gave birth to our son on 03/21/2019 and we were depending on this vehicle to Transport the baby from the hospital to our home. I was basically forced to purchase another vehicle with another company, because the Hyundai representative could not give me a date or an approximation of when the vehicle will be fixed. I still owed $3500 and still paying insurance for it. I need help.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #9

Feb 202019

Sonata

  • 67,000 miles
Antenna cap keeps coming off. Second time replacement. This is really aggravating now the warranty will not cover it.

- Marion, LA, USA

problem #8

Dec 122018

Sonata

  • 27,000 miles
I was driving very slowly to make a turn into my garage when the car accelerated on its own and hit the side of my house breaking through a patio guard rail. The front wheels of the car went over the bulkhead. Insurance company sent a wrecker to retrieve the vehicle. The insurance company totaled the car. This unintended acceleration had occurred once when I was driving on a state road in cruise control when the car accelerated beyond the set cruise control speed. This occurred again on the day before the accident. This unintended acceleration had also occurred when my husband was driving the car while in speed control.

- Lusby, MD, USA

problem #7

Feb 082019

Sonata

  • 53,900 miles
While driving to work on 2.8.2019, my sunroof violently exploded. I was on interstate 10 in phoenix, AZ at approximately 5:40 am. No vehicles were in front or beside me. The exterior temperature was below 40 degrees, the heater was on in the car. While driving at approximately 67 miles per hour, down a straight stretch of the highway, I heard a loud bang. The car did not swerve. Inside the car I could now hear more road noise. I opened the sunroof shade enough to slip my fingers through and felt cold air and broken glass.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #6

Nov 252018

Sonata

  • 45,000 miles
While I was sitting at a red light my car cut off. After it turned of I tried stating it back up 3 times. First I tried once I put it in park once in neutral and finally the third time I was in park ad it started back up.

- Fort Washington, MD, USA

problem #5

Jul 132018

Sonata

  • 11,832 miles
I was driving on the interstate when I heard a long noise that sounded like a gunshot. I then heard a noise coming from the area of the sunroof like broken glass. I had the cover closed. Had I not had it closed, glass would have been falling in all around us. I pulled over to look at it and it looked a bomb had exploded. Some pieces were still attached but shattered and others were everywhere.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #4

Nov 222017

Sonata

  • 9,000 miles
My car has been hesitating and cuts off while driving. Whether I go 25 miles per hour or 70 my car continues to hesitate. When it hesitates I can rev the car with the accelerator to the floor but my car wont engage. I have to take my foot off the accelerator and hope my car re-engages or my engine will cut off and I have to restart it. I have had my car in the shop 5 times. 0N 11/22 orlando Hyundai replaced low pressure fuel pump. On 12/18 per the tech line says high resistance injector harness and fuel rail high pressure sensor needed replacing. On 12/23 the PCM has intermittent internal open circuit. The PCM was replaced and fuel line. 1/12-1/23/18 replace control harness and crank sensor. I placed my car into lemon law. I received a letter from Hyundai to bring my car in today 2/22 I was asked if I had any other problems and told them my car hesitated at odometer reading 10022 miles they check my car and was told my car has no issues found. John mc my service advisor drove my car with me in it he says he knows there is a problem and it hesitated on him and say but we don't know how to fix it. He said today we didn't recreate the issue so we believe your car is fixed. This car is a safety issue. This is the same problem I had with a 2015 Sonata. I traded that in for a elantra that was way to small for me and I traded for this 2017 Sonata. This car is a major safety issue. Not sure what to do. Hyundai needs to find out what wrong with this car so when this problem arises to another Hyundai a solution can be found. Just give me a new Sonata and I would be happy, I bought my car with 6 miles on it do the right thing Hyundai. It's awful scary at 70 mph to have this hesitation begin. What does it take for Hyundai to do something (have an accident?)

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #3

Oct 232017

Sonata

  • miles
I brought this in Oct 6, 2017 at win Hyundai in carson. A couple week later, I am having tire pressure problems. The tires is sliding on the freeway and the street. The tire pressure keeps going up and down everyday. I brought this car to the dealership twice, and they said that nothing is wrong but something is wrong with the tires. Last night, when I pull into a driveway the wheel was struck until it stop. This car is 2017 Hyundai Sonata SE. I noticed a difference when you change tires because the tires isn't sliding on the freeway and the street.

- Westminster, CA, USA

problem #2

Sep 172017

Sonata

  • 2,000 miles
Purchased our 2017 Sonata sport in December of 2016. In July I had my first power steering issue. While driving for no apparent reason I lose power steering and can barely turn the wheel. I have to pull over with great struggle and turn the car off then restart it to be able to get power steering back. The light for power steering illuminates on the display panel and then disappears after I re-start it. Along with the traction control at times, but often just the power steering fails. Happens usually at speeds around 20-30 miles per hour. Once going 40. Service department at dealership stated they can't duplicate the issue and gave the car back to me. Continues to be an issue. Also had to have the display panel replaced because only one half would illuminate. The display panel failed after only having the car 1 month. Took over 3 months for the part to come in so they could fix it.

- Mechanicsville, MD, USA

problem #1

Sep 162017

Sonata

  • 3,400 miles
On Saturday 9/16/17 I was at a stop light sitting still when my car stalled and went dead. I looked at the dashboard and saw the engine light was on. The brake was frozen and before I could restart the car it rolled into the vehicle in front of me. There no damage to her Jeep. However my car hit the spare tire and rack on the back of her trunk, causing damage to the hood of my car, the grill and lower bumper. We did not exchange information, as she did not have damage to her car, so she left the scene. I drove the car home (2 miles from my house) and called the dealership. They told me to bring the car in. I brought it in the same day. Raymond, the service agent came outside to survey the damage and I told him what happened. He went to talk to the service manager and later came out and said they will take the car and put it on the machine to get a diagnostic reading to see why the car stalled. They gave me a loaner car and I left. On Monday, 9/19/17, I returned to the dealership after I got off work and was told by raymond that they could not find anything wrong thus far. He said he wanted to keep the car another day or two to take it for a drive and try to see if it would stall again. I agreed and asked raymond to also check the fuel injectors, fuel pump, fuel regulator, as my friend who is a car mechanic suggested to me that this can cause a car to stall also. He said okay. On today, Wednesday 9/21/17, raymond called me and said they took the car out for a drive and it did not stall, nor could they get a reading that anything was wrong when they put it on the machine. He said he could not understand why the car would stall. I asked for a diagnostic report and he said he could only give me a copy of the service ticket. I am afraid that this car could stall again and what if it happens while driving -- it could be much worst damage and bodily harm. Please help!

- Las Vegas, NV, USA