2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,941 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #62

Nov 042014

Tacoma

  • 120,000 miles
Replaced rear leaf spring as it was broken and sticking out side of retainer. I paid for this. Received a Toyota recall of defective rear spring notice on August 2014. Have not received another notice for spring replacement. Another spring problem with retainer clip broken in 2015. Durand Toyota said they could not replace springs until I received second notice but would have to weld spring in place unti second notice is received. This is a major safety issue and I request it be addressed immediately by Toyota

- North Springfield, VT, USA

problem #61

Aug 312015

Tacoma

  • miles
Nh state inspection failed my 2006 Tacoma due to holes in the frame I contacted Toyota about this problem and they told me its my problem not theirs since the sprayed the frame previously. Well the spray did not work and the frame still rotted so why are they not being force to fix the faulty frame that they knew was a problem since they have had this come up in the past. This is a serious safety issue that needs to be addressed by your agents.

- Londonderry, NH, USA

problem #60

Aug 272014

Tacoma

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. While driving various speeds over a bump, there was an abnormal noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. He vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the rear leaf springs needed to be replaced. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Waynesboro, GA, USA

problem #59

Oct 012014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the recall part needed was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.the VIN was not available. MA 10/16/15

- Marshfield, MO, USA

problem #58

Sep 182014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Beckley, WV, USA

problem #57

Jun 182015

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V337000 (seat belts), 14V604000 (suspension); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Frankfort, KY, USA

problem #56

Oct 132014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dayville, CT, USA

problem #55

Jul 112014

Tacoma

  • 116,453 miles
I received a recall for frame rust which I responded to on July 11, 2014. They teated my truck frame with a chemical and undercoating saying there was no rust through and my frame would nopt be replaced. Six months later I have rust through on the frame and they will not do any further repairs on it. I feel they just covered up the rust problem so I wouldn't see it and now its a problem. Please help to remedy the problem. Thanks mitch martin

- Uxbridge, MA, USA

problem #54

Sep 152014

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/1.15

- Crestline, CA, USA

problem #53

Jun 172015

Tacoma

  • 150,000 miles
Toyota issued a voluntary recall on frame rust issues, and applied my vehicle with a corrosion protective compound in Oct 2014 (dealer in buffalo NY). In June 2015, I noticed increasing rust areas on my suspension mounting points, frame members and other areas. Went back to the different Toyota dealer (in Kentucky) and was told that the frame was not cleaned correctly when undercoated. Toyota customer experience center said their obligation was only to coat the frame and not necessarily do it correctly. The coating is a one time service and is to prevent rusting. They mentioned that they will not provide me with supporting data on their claim that the coating prevents rusting. They have taken a perfectly fine frame and made it rust now, and unsafe to use

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #52

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, there was an abnormal noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Statesboro, GA, USA

problem #51

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tustin, MD, USA

problem #50

Jan 152015

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #49

Sep 052014

Tacoma

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 13V337000 (seat belts) and 14V604000 (suspension). The parts were not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repairs. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The contact replaced the total spring assembly. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had to replace the part associated with the rear leaf spring assembly due to the part prematurely deteriorating and not being able to receive the part from the dealer for almost a year. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Farmersville Station , NY, USA

problem #48

Jul 062012

Tacoma

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. While approaching a stop, the contact heard a noise coming from the rear of the vehicle and the vehicle jerked. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The dealer was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Modesto , CA, USA

problem #47

Nov 172014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to repair the recall was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #46

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #45

Dec 022014

Tacoma

  • 42,000 miles
Received recall notice 12/2/14 about rear springs. As of 6/24/15 no remedy for this problem. This truck is not being used due to this recall.we do not want any employee getting heart because of this problem. We need to get this truck back in service asap. We have this truck registered and can't use it.

- Middletown, NY, USA

problem #44

Sep 242014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact stated that the rear of the vehicle was beginning to lower. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Saint Paul, MN, USA

problem #43

Jan 142015

Tacoma

  • 52,000 miles
Got recall notice in December of 2014 for defective rear leaf springs. Also got notice in December of 2014 of service campaign to fix corrosion on frame of vehicle. Called dealer was told to come in for inspection. Dealer determined that my frame was in very bad condition corrosion and rust and that I would need to have the frame replaced. Said they would fix and replace the rear leaf srings at the same time they replace frame this inspection took place on wed January 14th 2015.my truck has very low mileage its a 2006 and I have only 60,000 miles on it. After waiting months to hear from dealer I called Toyota, they told me in April that they wer still waiting for parts. I filed a case number with Toyota, called them back on June 15th 2015 after hearing nothing from them. Now on June 15th 2015 they tell me they are still waiting for parts. Meanwhile the safety recall says that the rear leaf spring could snap and rupture my gas tank. I need help with this

- Bayonne, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »