North Dakota Lemon Law Information
GET MAD: North Dakota has one of the worst Lemon Laws in the U.S. from the consumer's perspective. North Dakota's out-of-service criteria of 30 business days (6 weeks!!) is the second-longest of the 50 state lemon laws, & the 1-year/12,000 miles limit is the least amount of time & mileage for coverage.
The North Dakota Lemon Law applies when, during the first year or 12,000 miles (whichever occurs first) following delivery of a new vehicle to the consumer:
- the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem four (4) or more times, or
- the vehicle has been out of service due to repair attempts by the dealer for a total of 30 or more business days.
For the North Dakota lemon law to apply, you must first enter into the manufacturer's arbitration program if it is held within the State of North Dakota. If you are not satisified with the outcome of the arbitration, then you may sue in court. However the North Dakota Lemon Law states you must sue within six months of the expiration of the warranty or 18 months from the date your car was delivered to you, whichever occurs first. Therefore it's especially important to contact a lemon law lawyer as soon as possible, before you enter the arbitration process.North Dakota Lemon Law information » North Dakota Consumer Protection and Antitrust Division »
Helpful Lemon Law Tips
Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.
If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.
Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.