Oregon Lemon Law Information

GET MAD: Oregon has one of the worst Lemon Laws in the U.S. in terms of the out-of-service criteria of 30 business days (6 weeks!!) — that's the second-longest of the 50 state lemon laws.

Tell your reps how unfair this is & that you want the law changed »

The Oregon Lemon Law applies when the repair attempts by the dealer occur within the two years or 24,000 miles (whichever comes first), and:

  • the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem three (3) or more times, or
  • the problem is a serious safety defect likely to cause injury or death, & the dealer has attempted to repair one (1) or more times, or
  • the vehicle has been out of service due to repair attempts by the dealer for a total of 30 or more business days.

The Oregon Lemon Law covers vehicles only with major defects that substantially impair the use and market value of the car, & does not cover problems that are the result of abuse, neglect or unauthorized modifications or alterations by the consumer.

If the manufacturer participates in a third party arbitration program and notifies you of the procedure, Oregon Lemon Law states you are obligated to try to solve your problem through the arbitration program to be eligible for a refund or a replacement vehicle. If you cannot reach a settlement in the arbitration, you may sue the manufacturer in court. The court has the authority to award three times the amount of any damages, not to exceed $50,000, if the court finds the manufacturer acted in bad faith.

Oregon Lemon Law information from the Department of Justice »

Recommended Oregon Lemon Law Attorneys

LEMON LAW FIRMS: This state lemon law page is currently available for advertising. Contact us for rates & details.

Helpful Lemon Law Tips

Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.

If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.

Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.