10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,859 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 BMW 335:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #21

Jun 032019

335

  • 50,300 miles
The vehicle's wiring harness within the headlight housing are exposed, it no longer has the rubber coating that surrounds the wires.I afraid this could cause a short circuit or fire!

- Deleon Springs, FL, USA

problem #20

Dec 202018

335

  • 81,000 miles
My passenger side seat sensor is faulty which is a part of the passenger side air bag and may not cause it to deploy in the event there is an accident. There have been many bmws affected by this but BMW dealer will not do this under recall or warranty

- Garden Ridge, TX, USA

problem #19

Nov 112018

335

  • 98,000 miles
Blower motor wiring caught fire and spread throughout remainder of car. Initially saw smoke coming from vents while vehicle was coming to a stop in a staples parking lot. Fire spread into engine and interior of car, burning my hand and bringing car to a total loss. Existing recall number: 17V-676

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #18

Nov 272017

335

  • 50,000 miles
BMW announced a recall of the A/C and heating circulating fan in October 2017. A year later "no remedy is available." How can this be? I am very concerned that our vehicle may suffer a fire because the fan has been behaving in a strange fashion -- running fast unpredictably, etc.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #17

Apr 012018

335

  • 78,000 miles
Recall # 17V676, 17V683 it has been nearly a year and I'm still unable to make repair appointment with BMW dealer for reason of parts unavailable. My air conditioning system couldn't keep car cool enough as heat from the engine is high.

- Palo Alto, CA, USA

problem #16

Aug 132018

335

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 BMW 335I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Marin Mazda (807 francisco blvd E, san rafael, ca 94901, (415) 454-7000) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Tiburon, CA, USA

problem #15

Jun 102018

335

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 BMW 335I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V676000 (electrical system); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair as the recall notice was received over six months ago. The dealer (South bay BMW, 18800 hawthorne blvd, torrance, ca 90504) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #14

Mar 292018

335

  • 91,725 miles
The contact owns a 2009 BMW 335I. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled in the middle of the road. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The contact coasted the vehicle to the side of the road and had it towed to BMW of scottsdale in scottsdale, Arizona. The vehicle was repaired in March of 2017 per an unknown fuel pump recall. The failure recurred on March 29, 2018 and the vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not repaired again. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 91,725.

- Surprice, AL, USA

problem #13

Apr 072014

335

  • miles
Starting with electrical the dash screen has been turning on and off on its own sins I bought the car. Dealer cant replicate problem because it only happens so often. Water pump and gas pump have gave me problems even after they fix it. After recall for heater issues, my car absorbs fumes from the engine. Adviser and supervisor from BMW dealer say that is normal cause that's where the car gets the heat from. Center divider from inside of the car gets extremely hot when I have heater on, to where I can feel the heat go through my jeans. Advisers and supervisor also state that is normal, because exhaust pipes run through there. None of this makes any sense to me. I've called corporate plenty of times through out the years and they tend to help at times. But this time I feel like I have a lemon problem. What can I do?

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #12

Jan 022018

335 6-cyl

  • miles
Schomp BMW, car dealership, located in highlands ranch Colorado, is illegally selling recall affected bmws. The above VIN is only one of several BMW's sold last month without the dealer repairing the NHTSA BMW us blower motor wiring harness recall. Another recalled affected BMW 3 series schomp BMW sold in the past 60 days: [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #11

Nov 202017

335

  • 69,500 miles
Unable to open door, hesitation to start, abnormal display in the instrument cluster and the vehicle was stationary. There was a recall in 2013 for battery cable connector at battery and fuse box. I have not received any notification.

- Hopkins, SC, USA

problem #10

Dec 012017

335

  • 149,000 miles
My car is experiencing plastic burning odor and smoke from the cooling vents, BMW has opened a recall but they don¿T have the parts to complete the repairs.

- Pompton Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #9

Oct 092017

335

  • 60,000 miles
Takata recall air bags need to be serviced 1000 dollars to service

- Flowery Branch, GA, USA

problem #8

Feb 202016

335

  • 89,000 miles
Noticed a very slight tapping when the car was first cranked--but no engine warning lights. After driving it for a few miles, a warning light indicating "charging malfunction" flashed on, and the battery symbol appeared. Because I was the passenger, I googled "BMW 328I charging malfunction" and the first result that came up read "BMW/ January 2013/ recall campaign no. 12V-550: Engine belt idler pulley bolt" for mys 2009-2012 BMW X5 xdrive 35S savs. Before I could inform driver, he complained that he had lost power steering. As we were literally yards from our destination, we parked, and returned to the car two hours later. When we recranked the car, same warnings. We decided to drive to local BMW service station. At a stop light a few miles further, many warning lights turned on simultaneously, the windshield wipers turned on, but the panel said it was still drivable and needed service soon. When the light changed, the panel went off, and the car was stopped dead in the middle of a major road. Pushed it to the side of the road to find the bolt broken and the pulley and belt loose. Upon having it towed to BMW repair, we were told the A/C compressor w/clutch, belt tensioner and belt, and oil filter housing gasket needed to be replaced to the tune of about $5090. (car had been given a clean bill of health during last oil change, and the A/C was working well earlier that morning.) wondering why the ebip bolt was recalled in so many other BMW models that year but not in ours. Information contained in their recall notification exactly matched the description of our problem.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #7

Oct 222015

335

  • 10 miles
He tenido varios problemas con el carro, corriendo al voltear SE me apago dos veces Y fue muy peligroso porque los carros que iban atras casi me pegan Y claro SE molestaron mucho al sacar la vuelta rapido para no golpear mi carro, lo lleve al mecanico Y tardo mucho para hallar el problema, la flecha derecha (blinking light) esta quebrada lo hace muy rapido Y al checar me dijeron que SE tiene que reparar todo incluido el foco de atras, problema con los cables de bateria eso si me lo arreglaron gratis porque tiene recall, pero luego la bateria empezo a fallar Y hubo que cambiarla, el volante esta muy duro Y al voltear tengo que hacerlo con mucho cuidado para no pegarle al del otro carril, el mecanico no ha podido componer ese problema, a veces SE hacelera solo cuando estoy haciendo un alto Y no SE ni porque lo hace, Y tampoco SE cuando va a pasar.

- San Juan, TX, USA

problem #6

Aug 112015

335

  • 40,000 miles
Coupe of time the vehicle lost power as the result SRS & airbag light now stay on.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #5

Aug 212015

335

  • 71,000 miles
On 8/21/2015, I was driving my 2009 BMW 335D to work when it suddenly lost power and started spewing smoke on jefferson ave. I pulled over near my work and saw smoke seeping in from the steering column. I exited the vehicle immediately and opened the hood and saw that the engine compartment was on fire. I ran inside my workplace and grabbed a fire extinguisher and cautiously returned to the vehicle. I was able to put out the fire. After filing a claim with state farm, the claims adjuster and plaza motor company BMW came to the determination that the car's wiring harness malfunctioned and that they're going to replace it. But that's not my issue. I'm concerned with how the fire started in the first place. Plaza motors nor state farm can tell me why or how it happened but they are willing to replace the defective part and have me drive the vehicle again without any assurances that this will never happen again. I was fortunate enough to had exited the vehicle before the car was engulfed in flames and I was also fortunate enough to had been close to a fire extinguisher. My complaint is that I feel like my claim is being handled in a very leisurely, run-of-the-mill manner akin to changing a flat tire or a dented bumper. But a car spontaneously catching fire is anything but typical. Plaza motors and state farm's casual nature is disconcerting to say the least. I do not feel safe driving this car ever again. I don't feel like BMW is taking any responsibility for their catch spontaneously catching fire. Also, one week prior to the fire, I had a diagnostics test conducted on my car by autohaus BMW in St. Louis, mo and the two minor issues were unrelated to the electrical fire.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #4

Nov 282014

335 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Upon returning to seattle, wa, since I flew down to berkley, ca to purchase my vehicle, I noticed excessive headlamp shake when going over any bumps on the highway, especially expansion joints. Both left and right headlamps shake equally as bad, and I consider that a safety hazard while driving. It is very distracting and searching many online forums, people have been having many issues with the adaptive headlamp bracket arms being broken. Cpo warranty does not cover headlamps according to BMW, and they are not willing to pay for both replacements.

- Des Moines, WA, USA

problem #3

Nov 152013

335 6-cyl

  • 32,500 miles
2009 BMW 328I, the directional light at times blinks rapidly and a warning of light problem illuminates. The directional blinks fast and light is dull on exterior tail and front lamps. At times works normally and then begins to blink rapidly with a bell warning and electrical warning light sign displays. This problem has known to BMW as the service dealers received a bulletin. Will not cover if out of warranty but seems to be a common issue enumerated by many customers.

- Slingerlands, NY, USA

problem #2

Aug 032013

335 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
I have a 2009 bmw328xi, which I bought brand new and paid a lot of money for. I only have 59,000 miles. On August 3, 2013 the car temperature light went on, first yellow and not even two seconds later red. With out warning the car didn't move. So I shut off the engine immediately. Thinking the car is over heating. Instead, after getting it towed found out the water pump and electric thermostat went. I am very unhappy that a 4 and half year old car shouldn't have such problems. I've had many high end cars in the past for 11 years and never had a problem in such a short life of a car.

- Great Neck, NY, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »