2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,265 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 BMW X5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #11

Jun 042018

X5

  • 135,000 miles
Brake lights are failing causing a major safety issue. BMW issued a service bulletin on this problem (sb-10040177-8428 / si B63 10 09) in March 2011. This vehicle has been serviced by the BMW dealership many many times, but the service bulletin was never mentioned or executed. Warning lights appear on the dash - issue is present both moving and stationary. Https://static.NHTSA.gov/ODI/tsbs/2013/sb-10040177-8428.pdf https://static.NHTSA.gov/ODI/tsbs/2013/sb-10040177-8428.pdf

- Edgewater, MD, USA

problem #10

Apr 142018

X5

  • 127,000 miles
My 2009 X5 with 127000 miles recently indicated a burnt out brake light. While replacing the light, I found the rear upper right brake light was burnt out, the taillight itself is melted, and the socket is severely melted and scorched. On further investigation, the opposite side (left/driver's side) was also melted! checking online, this appears to be a common problem. I am afraid this could be a fire hazard and was surprised to learn there is not an outstanding recall on the taillights for this vehicle.

- Westminster, MD, USA

problem #9

Jul 072017

X5

  • 72,000 miles
While driving 15-20 mph;electromechanical parking brake failure--software glitch that caused the parking brake actuator to failure // yellow & red ( brake & 4X4) warning lights came on for parking brake failure, brakes locked vx came to immediate stop and would not drive!

- Sebring, FL, USA

problem #8

Aug 302016

X5

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact stated that the brakes failed without warning. The vehicle was serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 13V045000 (service: Brakes); but, the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #7

Aug 202015

X5 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
While driving on a freeway more than a week ago suddenly the airbag and restraint malfunction appeared for no valid reason.the next day my wife heard a loud metallic rub sound and park brake malfunction appeared. Searched online but no recall for this kind of problems for my X5 but it looks like its very common for bmws.need help!pls!thank you and more power!

- Eastvale, CA, USA

problem #6

Dec 052014

X5

  • 62,000 miles
***update to NHTSA id complaint number: 10662420.*** vehicle VIN is [xxx]. BMW X5 2009 xdrive48I (V8 model). [this VIN is not recognized by NHTSA VIN lookup / database.] BMW investigation was being handled by [xxx] in "spi" (special products investigation), who was generally non-responsive to phone calls and emails. The few responses received were deliberately evasive and / or falsified purported attempts to return calls. Case was transferred to [xxx] in executive customer care, who indicated that spi was unable to determine the cause of the brake failure because they never received the defective component. (note: The faulty component was handled by BMW service at century West BMW in los angeles, who stated that the parts had been sent to spi for investigation.) BMW states that since they have been unable to analyze the failed component, it is possible that the failure was due to reasonable wear and tear and not due to a manufacturer's defect. (they are therefore taking the position that they are unwilling to cover the minor damage that was sustained to the rear of the vehicle when the brakes failed while reversing.) I am very concerned that BMW has not handled a potentially deadly fault with due care. It is unacceptable that 3 months after a brake failure event, they have been unable to carry out a proper investigation into the cause of the failure. It is also unacceptable that BMW believes a 5 year old vehicle could suffer a catastrophic brake failure and that such a fault could be within the reasonably expected wear and tear cycle of the components. This position puts the lives of road users in the vicinity of a 5 year old or 60,000 mile BMW with potentially defective braking components in peril. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #5

Nov 292014

X5

  • 62,000 miles
BMW X5 2009 4.8is (V8). Brake master cylinder and brake booster failed causing sudden and unexpected loss of braking while driving. No in dash alerts or diagnosis shown before or after the incident. Braking fault was permanent not intermittent. Vehicle is under BMW warranty. Upon inspection, BMW technicians have advised brake master leaked fluid into booster and that they found oil contamination in the master cylinder. This sudden braking failure could have resulted in serious damage and fatalities. (previously experienced auto hold parking brake failure which was not fixed for over a year due to backordered parts.) following the technical diagnosis, BMW is yet to respond to driver.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #4

Oct 162014

X5 8-cyl

  • 81,014 miles
October 16, 2014 I started up my 2009 BMW X5 4.8I sav and the left brake lamp malfunction alert came on, as well as, the check engine light. I had a friend check to confirm the brake lights could still be seen before driving off. I was able to take the sav to the BMW dealer on October 22, 2014. The dealer states "both rear tail light lenses assemblies require replacement. The brake light bulbs contacts burned, melting lenses causing intermittently brake lights inoperable." I stated this sounds like a recall but instead they offer to service body repairs on the tail lights for a cost of $600+. I called bmwusa regarding this, however, there was no record of a recall for my sav. I asked about the recall for 134,100 model year 2008 -2010 528I, 535I, 550I, and M5 passenger cars manufactured from March 1, 2007 - December 31, 2009 that was expected to begin during October 2013 since the X5 is based off of the 5 series but I was told again, there was no recall for my sav. This issue reduces the ability to warn other motorists of my intentions (braking, turn signal, reversing), increasing the risk of a crash. I believe the dealer should replace the rear lamp bulb carriers free of charge.

- Mansfield, TX, USA

problem #3

Oct 292014

X5

  • 79,900 miles
The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact stated that when engaging the brakes, the brake pedal became difficult to depress. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the brake booster needed to be replaced. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 79,900.

- Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #2

Mar 152013

X5

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 BMW X5. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V045000 (service brakes, service brakes, hydraulic) and contacted the dealer to schedule an appointment. The dealer was unable to perform the recall service and advised the contact that the part needed to complete the repair was unavailable. The dealer could not provide an expected date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the situation. The VIN was not available. The approximate current mileage was 49,000. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mountain View, CA, USA

problem #1

Mar 262013

X5 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
When let go of brake after stopping at red light, very often that this vehicle makes a suddent jump. This happens so often that cause a safety concern.

- Missouri City, TX, USA