10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,186 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Cadillac CTS:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #19

Mar 072019

CTS

  • 98,000 miles
During highway driving - loss of forward motion, coasted to a stop. No forward or rearward movement possible afterwards

- Sutter, IL, USA

problem #18

Apr 102019

CTS

  • 128,000 miles
Takara recall for timing chain on 2009 Cadillac Cts. Took to dealer and they wont cover it. Car was stationary when the light came on.

- Mayfield 2, OH, USA

problem #17

Dec 012018

CTS

  • miles
The contact owned a 2009 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated that the vehicle unexpectedly rolled backwards out of the driveway and crashed into a fire hydrant and a tree. Both the driver and passenger doors were bent. There were no injuries. Auto star (4395 buford hwy, peachtree corners, ga 30071, (770) 446-8772) towed the vehicle away and declared it destroyed. A police report was not filed. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V394000 (electrical system). The dealer was suing the contact for the remaining balance owed for the vehicle. The insurance company was not paying the claim because they stated there was a manufacturer defect that caused the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #16

Nov 042018

CTS

  • 120,000 miles
Timing chain check engine light

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #15

Aug 212018

CTS

  • 88,000 miles
At under 90,000 miles my 2009 Cadillac Cts AWD started to make a thumping noise when I shifting between gears. This happened for 3 days. On the 4th day I drove to my office, parked in a parking ramp. When I went to leave for the day I got in my car to go home, the car started and moved into gear, but as I approached the exit gate, which is on a hill it, car abruptly made a grinding noise and would no longer move forward or backward. There were cars lined up to exit the parking ramp behind me. I was fortunate to act quickly and use the emergency brake to prevent the car from rolling into another vehicle. I had to get assistance from other drivers and security guards to help push the car out of the ramp exit lane. With no notice of the transmission failure I could have been on the freeway and have caused an accident when the car suddenly stopped working. As it is, I was lucky not to have rolled back into other cars. I called the dealer to report the issue and they said it sounded like a transmission problem. I had the car towed to a service station who confirmed that the transmission had failed and needed to be replace at a cost of over $4,000. There were no "check engine" lights regarding the transmission. The transmission should not have failed at my mileage and use rate. The dealership told me that there was no recall and that no-one else had experienced this issue. I find hundreds of reports of this issue online. At the price I paid for this car it should have lasted another 10 year. There were no warnings that my transmission was failing. A transmission should not die at less than 100,000 miles. There are numerous reports showing that this problem is not unique to my car. This has to be a faulty part and a recall should be established.

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #14

Oct 252013

CTS

  • 36,605 miles
The rear differential routinely makes loud grinding and clunking noises when making slow turns at parking lot speeds when cool and just starting to be operated. This problems was been in for service 3 times and the dealer states it is normal and an expected thing that may occur. I disagree, grinding gears and/or clutches are not normal or safe. My car was purchased new on 10/30/09 1st service came on 10/25/13 at 36,605 miles the problem was described at the service appt to "diagnose rubbing noise when making slow sharp turns, goes away after warmed up. Noise comes from rear of vehicle." The resolution at the time was to do "as per document #3402587 flushed gear oil from rear diff and replaced with an updated fluid. 2nd service came on 3/21/17 at 64,269 miles the problem was described at the service appt to "diagnose gravely grinding sound from rear of vehicle when making tight turns at parking speeds. Also noticeable 25-30 mph." The diagnosis and resolution this time was again "test drove for grinding noise while making tight turns. Was able to duplicate concern found coming from rear diff. Per doc id 4013532 recommend servicing rear diff with new fluid. New fluid has additive that will last longer and does not break down over time. Serviced rear diff and test drove found noise went away, no other repair needed." 3rd service came at 6/18/18, at 71,678 miles. The car is presently in the shop for diagnosis and service. This is only 7,396 miles since the prior service. The problem was described as "inspect for gravely sound when making turns **rear diff service done for this ro#394816 3/22/17 #881." The problem I have with this is that this is not a normal and expected problem and could be very dangerous if the rear transaxle fails while driving at speed due to a gear or clutch failure. GM knows of this problem based on the fact they have 2+ bull

- Folsom, CA, USA

problem #13

Jan 142018

CTS

  • 105,000 miles
While driving my service traction control light came on I pulled over turn it off but not my car will not shift into gear and it has a loud roaring sound when driving

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #12

Aug 032017

CTS

  • 106,000 miles
Cts timing chain bad - engine codes P0008 & P0017 coming up - was told by Cadillac of las vegas that there was a service bulletin related to this issue, but for some reason, my VIN was not included. Regarding tsb 11340 (NHTSA reference- 10043857), which states, "if premature wear of the timing chain occurs on your 2007 model year GMC acadia; Saturn outlook; 2007-2009 model year Cadillac Cts 2009 model year 2009 equipped with a 2.8L/3.6L V6 engine, within 10 years of the date your vehicle was originally placed in service or 120,000 miles (193,000 km), whichever occurs first, the condition will be repaired for you at no charge" our 2009 Cadillac Cts we are experiencing the exact issue mentioned in the bulletin, but GM refuses to acknowledge any culpability in the matter, despite the vehicle being within the parameters established within the bulletin. We ask for any and all assistance in this matter. A quick scan of the internet shows a large number of GM vehicle owners with vehicles that were included in the tsb that were being denied service. If a company makes a claim, it shouldn't be done as a pr gesture with no action behind it. They should be made to live up to their words and back the quality of the vehicles that they have sold.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #11

Apr 052017

CTS 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Cadillac Cts. While driving approximately 5 mph in an intersection, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was pushed to the side of the road. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the main shaft, transfer case fluid, output shaft, gasket infield, fluid transmission dex6, and the shot supplies needed to be replaced. The dealer also diagnosed that the transfer case assembly needed to removed and replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures and opened a case. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000...updated 07/31/17

- Lynn Haven, FL, USA

problem #10

Aug 242016

CTS

  • 101,088 miles
At 101,000 miles my 2009 Cadillac Cts AWD starting to "thump" when shifting from reverse to drive or vice versa. It also did it when coming to a stop. This started happening on a Thursday. I made an appointment for service for the following Wednesday at the dealer. On my way to the service appointment, the transmission failed one mile from the dealership on a busy highway. I managed to safely get the vehicle off the road without causing an accident. I called the dealer and told them what had happened. They didn't even offer to come and get me when I could see the building from where I broke down. I had to call a wrecker to bring them the car. They said my transmission was ruined and it would cost me 3995 to repair it. Needless to say, the car wasn't worth the investment. I had onstar for the entire life of the vehicle. I never received any diagnostic warnings regarding my transmission. I also took the car to the dealer for regular service. Never was I informed that my transmission was beginning to fail. In fact, the car had been to the dealer at 98000 miles for service. There were no warnings at that time that my transmission was failing. A transmission should not die at 101,000 miles. The fact that the car completely died while driving on a busy highway without any warnings of an impending problem is a safety hazard. I'm lucky to be alive. It appears that this problem is not unique to my car. This should have been part of a recall. Instead, I was unexpectedly forced to get another vehicle.

- Hammonton, NJ, USA

problem #9

May 032016

CTS

  • 141,700 miles
There is a jolting in the rear of the car that is acting like someone is stab braking.it does it at all speeds but does not do it all the time

- Booneville, KY, USA

problem #8

Jan 072016

CTS

  • 77,217 miles
01/07/16, my wife and my son of 3 years were driving a 2009 Cts with 77K. All of a sudden the vehicle stops and won┐T move. No warning signs, nothing! as she tried to put the vehicle in gear she heard a whining noise. The car would not move.

- West Seneca, NY, USA

problem #7

Mar 252015

CTS

  • 82,000 miles
The spline on the transmission stripped out because of rust and I believe poor workmanship. The vehicle just went out of warranty two months ago. It will cost me aprox. $4000. To repair. Potential hazzard. If I were on the interstate it may have caused a terrible accident. When will GM have a recall so I can get my money back?

- Shavertown, PA, USA

problem #6

Feb 172015

CTS 6-cyl

  • 7,124 miles
I purchased a Cadillac Cts and the timing chain is out. The engine light came on and I brought the vehicle to an authorized dealer and was told that this was out. I have googled this model and have found others to have had the same problem. Why haven't someone held this company responsible for placing a know fault part into their vehicle. I will never purchase another Cadillac and I will inform my circle of friends about the service and lack of care. This was my second Cadillac and my last.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #5

Dec 072014

CTS 6-cyl

  • 27,750 miles
While driving I heard a loud noise from under the hood and the service engine soon light came on. Once able to stop I called onstar and asked them to give me a diagnostic. I was told that it was an engine error and to take in for service. I took the car to the dealer first thing the next morning. Was told my timing chain needed to be replaced. My car has less than 28,000 miles. Called GM/Cadillac was told that while there was a recall (#10287) for prematuring timing chain wear for certain 2009 Cts mine was not one of them.

- Rahway, NJ, USA

problem #4

Jun 042014

CTS 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Key would not turn in ignition, could not shut vehicle off. This occurred after 9pm in the evening and there was no assistance available through the dealership or onstar to turn the vehicle off. Had to leave vehicle unattended and running in the driveway overnight risking an engine fire and could not shut off fuel supply or risking the vehicle popping into gear (or moving into gear by a child) and moving unattended.

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

problem #3

Jul 042013

CTS 6-cyl Diesel

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Cadillac Cts. The contact stated while driving approximately 40 mph the vehicle accelerated on its own. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician tightened the drive shaft bolts to the transmission; however, the failure recurred after the vehicle was repaired. The vehicle not repaired after the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 59,000.

- Dolton, IL, USA

problem #2

Dec 122009

CTS

  • 20,000 miles
I was driving my 09 Cts-4 w/ 20,000 miles on 12-12-09 @ 40 mph when I heard a loud boom from the rear and the rear wheels locked. This caused a huge jerk and several skips on the road before coming to rest after a 150 ft skid (paced off skid marks). When I tried to drive the car from it's stuck position from the middle of the road, the exact same thing occurred @ 5 mph. The car was towed to a dealer. GM authorized the dealer to replace the rear differential assembly under warranty sight unseen. The dealer did not even remove the differential first to determine the damage or diagnose the cause. The service manager said there was no sign of fluid leakage and that the differential was full of fluid when it was removed. The differential has been replaced and there has been no problem since. Fortunately the car did not skid off the road. Had other cars been on the road, a crash would have occurred.

- Lawrenceville, NJ, USA

problem #1

Feb 232009

CTS

  • 45 miles
When driving a 2009 Cadillac Cts the car generates a drone, boom and vibration. This happens when accelerating to or driving at highway speeds. I bought the car new and there has been a problem has been with this car since I took delivery from the Cadillac dealer. GM has issued a service bulletin (#08-07-30-044B) to install rubber insulators and reprogram the transmission control module. This "fix" did not help. It only moved the onset of the vibration to a higher RPM/speed. When the vibration occurs the car does not feel safe. I am not sure if a mechanical component is going to fail. The drone is constant, distracting and annoying while driving. There is also a boom noise at 5 mph when coming to a stop. This is not a smooth quiet safe car. The Cadillac service mgr says he does not hear anything. I do not agree. Cadillac also says the noises are inherent in the vehicle and have no fix. They are making no attempt to fix the car at this time.

- Elmont, NY, USA