10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,440 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #44

Apr 192016

Cobalt

  • 95,000 miles
I have recently had my Cobalt to the Chevy dealership in redlands ca due to a horrible gas smell. The dealership looked if my car was under recall for the fuel pump however it was not. I indeed had a crack on the fuel pump having to replace it as the fuel smell was over the top. I paid for the part and labor out of pocket yet wonder why my VIN was not recalled when I have a 2009 Chevy Cobalt with the exact same fuel pump issue"?"

- Pacoima, CA, USA

problem #43

Apr 152016

Cobalt

  • 54,659 miles
I started to notice a gas smell when my car was parked in the garage. Looking all over the car I don't any indications of a fuel leak, no drips, nothing. The smell is most definitely coming from the rear of the car. Googling around I found bulletin no.: 12190A which talks about certain cars in particular states, of which my state is not included. I called GM to see if there was anything they could do to help me but they said that there were no recalls for my car and that I would have to cover the cost, point blank despite other cars having the very same problem.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #42

Mar 122016

Cobalt

  • 80,000 miles
My 2009 Cobalt began jerking when accelerating over the last few months and just 3 days ago, as I was driving down the road, my car stalls and won't turn back on. After looking at symptoms, it is very apparent that the fuel pump has gone out

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #41

Aug 152015

Cobalt

  • 85,000 miles
Fuel pump had to be replaced due to a leak of a plastic part on the pump, when I contacted G.M. the recall was only in certain states. With this being a fire hazard why was Ohio not part of recall

- Orient, OH, USA

problem #40

Nov 202015

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. While the vehicle was parked, a strong odor of fuel was noticed. The contact observed fuel leaking onto the ground. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the fuel pump failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V459000 (fuel system, gasoline). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #39

Nov 022015

Cobalt

  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that there was a fuel line failure in front of the rear passenger side tire. The fuel line vibrated on the clamp of the tire, which caused a hole in the fuel line. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 71,000.

- Crossville, TN, USA

problem #38

Oct 032015

Cobalt

  • 81,285 miles
Smelt fuel near the car when leaving work about 6:30 pm on 10/3/15. Car did not initially start. Took car to auto zone to have battery, alternator and started checked, which were all in proper working condition. The auto zone worker could smell fuel also and inspected for a leak. He found the leak near the left rear tire. The next day Firestone inspected the car and provided the following: "found hard fuel lines rotted out above the lr tire. Recommend taking to dealership to have new line assembly installed." A local auto mechanic informed me that the part leaking on my car is the same part recalled on other GM vins. He told me to stop driving the car immediately. He told me the only reason my car didn't catch on fire is because of all the recent rain we have had.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #37

Feb 282013

Cobalt

  • miles
I'm emailing you in regards to problems I had with my car.. all this was repaired and I called back and forth to the manufacture and was treated like I was stupid.. it was a bad time in my life and the car situation didn't help.. now I'm reading this on line, because my fuel line is leaking.. seen this recall, but was told there wasn't a recall on it and that time.. my car was at dealerships on and off for over a month.. then I had to pay.... I listed the VIN#. above and this was the case # 71-1160509209.. GM will notify owners, and dealers will replace the fuel pump module, free of charge. Notification to owners began on on November 21, 2012. Owners were instructed to not bring their vehicles in for repair until January 2013. Additional info:GM's campaign number is 12190.this recall is an expansion of recall.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #36

Sep 252015

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. After refueling the vehicle and driving at 35 mph, the contact arrived at the intended destination and upon exiting the vehicle, the contact smelled a strong odor of fuel. The contact discovered excessive fuel leaking from the fuel tank. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 64,000. Updated 11/09/15 the consumer stated the fuel pump failed and needed to be replaced. Vehicle was repaired. Updated 1/20/2016* js safety defect that should be addressed updated 4/16/18 consumer stated electric fuel pump failure: Due to deteriorated plastic fuel lines leading out of the pump & return lines? replaced with a new pump leaking badly onto ground while driving vehicle high volume of lost fuel and a hazardous condition to driver and his family. It's a safety defect that should be addressed. Updated 10/12/18

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #35

Aug 022015

Cobalt

  • 104,085 miles
Extremely noticeable gas odor coming from car when engine running, even at idle. Previous recalls do not list Georgia as state for registered/purchased vehicles covered by recall. Gas leak exists in fuel system somewhere and have found numerous other postings stating the same for the same 2009 Chevy Cobalt ls sedan model. Highly concerned that car fire or explosion might occur. Was going to take dealership for diagnostic.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #34

Jul 082015

Cobalt

  • 73,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. After the vehicle was serviced, a fuel odor emitted from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure and the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline). The failure mileage was 73,000.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #33

Jun 172015

Cobalt

  • 126,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. While parked, the vehicle failed to start and the contact noticed fuel fumes outside the vehicle. Upon further inspection, the contact noticed that there was a fracture on the fuel tank. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 126,000.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #32

Jul 102015

Cobalt

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that there was an abnormal odor emitting from the vehicle. Shortly after, the contact had to merge over to the side of the road because there was a fuel leakage coming from the rear of the vehicle without warning. The vehicle was not taken to an independent mechanic or dealer. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Scottsville, KY, USA

problem #31

Jun 252015

Cobalt

  • 103,987 miles
Gas smell inside and outside of vehicle. Gas dripping on driver side under rear door. This is a major safety issue and should be a recall on all Cobalt's not just in certain states.

- Perry Hall, MD, USA

problem #30

Jun 032015

Cobalt

  • 85,000 miles
Recently smelled a gas odor. Started looking under car and found a leak in the fuel line. The leak is right underneath the rear side of the drivers door. The fuel lines run through a plastic clip that attaches the lines to the chassis of the car. The recall that previously came out was for the fuel pump module not the line itself. The leak in the fuel line is right at this plastic clip which is less than an inch away from a pipe that gets extremely hot while driving. There are numerous complaints of this all over the internet. I found numerous complaints of the issue that some had posted a picture of it and it is the exact same spot as on my vehicle. Here is a link to one of the complaints that shows the picture: www.cargurus.com/cars/discussion-T33495_ds573685 I just feel like a fuel leak that is about a half inch away from a steaming hot pipe on numerous vehicles of the same model/make/year is a huge safety issue. Last thing I need is my car catching on fire with my daughter and I inside of it.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #29

Jun 012015

Cobalt

  • miles
Took my car in for smell of gas and leaking fuel, discovered a cracked fuel pump and mechanic said there were 2 other Chevy Cobalts on the lot with the exact same issue. Checked with recalls and in 2012 there was a recall for cracked fuel pumps however my VIN did not qualify. The recall was a very large one and my car did not make the list. I feel if the recall was as large as it was, the issue could've been bigger than Chevy was willing to admit at the time. Would like for this to be investigated again.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #28

Apr 012015

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 131,000 miles
Strong smell of fuel leaking from rear of car. Fuel pump module is leaking. This is a known issue with Cobalts but my VIN number doesnt fall into any known recalls. They said the same thing about the key switch I fixed out of pocket.

- Gallatin, TN, USA

problem #27

Apr 032015

Cobalt

  • 73,247 miles
There was a sudden overwhelming smell of gas fumes coming all the way into the interior of the vehicle. I took the vehicle to dealership immediately and they confirmed I have a cracked fuel pump module with consequences of fuel leaking and causing a fire and or explosion. They explained this is a recall thru GM, I never received any notification, recall ext# 09V-419/12190. I have no means of transportation outside of my vehicle and the dealership will not offer me a courtesy vehicle they also cant get my car repaired in over two weeks.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #26

Dec 012014

Cobalt 4WD 4-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
I began to smell gas after exiting the vehicle. I traced the smell to an apparent leak coming from the top of the tank where the lines from the fuel filter are routed over the top of the tank. I discovered the recall for fuel pump plastic part failures in warm weather states, also 2009 Cobalt, but, Georgia is not listed (I'll tell you it is a warm weather state). Also, in regards to another individual's complaint NHTSA id number: 10668977, I discovered my TPMS were backwards about three years ago when I had an unexpected flat. The low pressure indicated by the TPMS directed me to the wrong tire. One of the TPMS stopped working within days of driving the car off the lot. Other issues: 1) multiple times I have placed a small item like a phone in the passenger seat and the passenger air bag turns off - seems hyper sensitive, not nearly the weight of an infant 2) my front speakers don't play unless the weather is warm (wiring harness/connectors?)

- Evans, GA, USA

problem #25

Sep 272014

Cobalt

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that fuel fumes emitted in the cabin of the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 58,000.

- Deltona, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »