7.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
6,150 miles
Total Complaints:
24 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (15 reports)
  2. replace torque converter (7 reports)
  3. flush trasmission and replace transmission fluid (2 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2018 Chevrolet Colorado:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Chevrolet dealer.

problem #24

Dec 112018

Colorado Crewcab 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,977 miles

HAVE BEEN TO DEALERSHIP 5 TIMES THEY CHANGED THE TRANS. FLUID 3 TIMES IN SAME DAY OK FOR ABOUT 80 MILES . TOOK IT BACK I HAD PUT AFTER MARKET HEADLIGHTS AND HAD AN AUTOMATIC START SYSTEM INSTALLED . THEY TOLD ME AT MY DEALER WERE I PURCHASED THE TRUCK THAT WAS THE REASON MY TRUCK IS DOING THESE THINGS . NOW ALL THESE OTHER OWNERS ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS THEY TOLD ME THERE'S NOTHING THEY CAN DO TO FIX IT ?

- Rock S., Louisville, KY, US

problem #23

Jun 052019

Colorado ZR2 V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

2018 Colorado ZR2 - 8spd Transmission

Transmission shuddering. - Identified variable speed occurrence could happen at 25 or 65. Unrelated to tires/steering or to shock cavitation or rough roads. Happens on smooth or rough roads. Vehicle has not been off-road. Varied inconsistency. More apparent when engine is cold shifting from 1st to 2nd to 3rd then will dissipate. Shifts hard 1st to 2nd and sometimes 3rd when engine is cold. Once warm shifting is smoother but shuddering still occurs. More apparent when engine is warmed at steady RPM/Speed once in 6th - 8th.

Variable speed occurrence - 25 - 65. Began noticing it after about 500 miles. No consistency so was unsure if it was the road I was on or something else. Tires were within spec regarding air pressure/balance. Random issue with no visible consistency other than previously stated. Vehicle has not exceeded 70mph. Vehicle has not towed any significant weight, 5x8 flatbed unladen. Less than 10 miles on surface streets, 1 trip only. Issue occurs both before and after towing. Towing is unrelated as shuddering occurred prior to towing.

- Steve C., Garden Grove, CA, US

problem #22

Apr 302019

Colorado LT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,400 miles

Problem I am experiencing is about the same as everybody else. It just started at 1400 miles. Chevrolet seems in capable of fixing the issues. I have started the lemon law process. I have had the oil changed and torque converter changed. Chevrolet is about to put in a new transmission, however I doubt this will fix the problem. It may be a temporary fix but will return shortly. Chevrolet needs to recall these vehicles and install a proper transmission that is reliable. The worst part of the issue is a safety concern when it decides to lunch or walk down shift. It is unsafe to drive and responds in a non-consistent manner, let alone the annoyance of the vibration that feels like you’re driving on the attention strips on the highway.

- dcnmb, North Myrtle Beach, SC, US

problem #21

May 252019

Colorado 8 Speed

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles

Angry...very!!!! Chevrolet Colorado safety issue....transmission hakes and shudders almost to the point of losing control and causing an accident!!! Chevrolet could care less..doesn't acknowledge the issue although it's been proven, they know about it. WHAT ARE THEY WAITING ON A DEADLY ACCIDENT TO OCCUR? SHAME ON YOU CHEVROLET... AND YOU WANT US TO CONTINUE BUYING YOUR VEHICLES?? WRONG!!!

- badchevycolorado, Wilmington, US

problem #20

May 202019

Colorado LT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,400 miles

My 2018 Colorado LT V6 started to shudder around 5000 miles. It slowly got worse. I took it to the dealer May 20/ 2019 with a little over 7000 miles. They had it all day and now they need it another day to flush the transmission. They do not have a car for me to drive !

- David M., Middlefield, OH, US

problem #19

Jul 312018

Colorado LX 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,820 miles

AT FIRST I THOUGHT IT WAS THE ROADS IN THE AREA BEING IN BAD SHAPE. ITS A MODERATE VIBRATION LIKE RUNNING OVER THE LANE RUMBLE STRIPS ON THE HIGHWAY. IT HAS OCCURRED AT SPEEDS FROM 30 TO 70 MPH, BUT IS MOST NOTICEABLE BETWEEN 57 AND 65 MPH. SEEMS TO OCCUR MORE DURING SLIGHT ACCELERATION AND DECELERATION. CALLED DEALER, AND I HAVE AN APPOINTMENT TO "CHANGE THE TRANSMISSION FLUID". I'M AN ENGINEER AND I CAN'T IMAGINE HOW THAT WILL DO A DAMN THING.

- Marc M., Dayton, US

problem #18

Apr 232019

Colorado Work Truck V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,100 miles

I first noticed the vibration around town, when accelarating between 30-50 mph. I took it on a long trip and noticed it under slower accelerations and especially between 1700 and 1900 rpms when the transmission shifted down while going uphill. I worked for GM for 31 years and simply cannot believe that they have not stepped up to this problem as many owners are complaining. What happens when the warranty runs out and a transmission costs the consumer? This is how market share is lost. This is an otherwise awesome truck, for now.

Update from May 17, 2019: A local dealership changed out the transmission fluid 4 days ago. So far the problem has gone away.

- ., Santa Rosa Beach, FL, US

problem #17

Apr 272019

Colorado LT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,200 miles

Bad shake while driving. Feels like going over a rumble strip although on a smooth road. Bought truck used with 7200 miles. Took it to tire shop had tires rebalanced thinking that would help. Did not fix the problem.

- Brian P., Angleton, US

problem #16

Jun 212018

Colorado WT Crew 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles

Vibration and shuddering since bought in May, 2018. Driving down road/highway feels like you cross into breakdown lane with vibration like road guards. At stop signs and yielding, vehicle will lunge a little forward but kick back. Already had 4 wheel drive fixed on it this winter. Headed back to garage 4/23/19.

- Cathy S., Carver, MA, US

problem #15

Jan 012018

Colorado Z-71 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles

As soon as I mentioned the problem, the service advisor said they needed to change the transmission fluid...not test drive or anything. That didn't fix the problem.

Then they changed the torque convertor. Still didn't fix the problem.

They changed the fluid again, with a different fluid this time. My truck is worse than ever now.

Spoke to Thomas at Chevrolet customer assistance department. He suggested I take the truck back to the dealer and trade it for something else! He's gotta be crazy to think I'm going to go back to the same dealer that has been letting me down for over a year and take a huge hit on a trade, especially now that I know GM is aware of the problems with this transmission and they keep selling them anyway. They should be ashamed of themselves for doing this to people.

- Rick P., Boca Raton, FL, US

problem #14

Dec 142018

Colorado WT 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles

Dec2018: dealer replaced torque converter, triple flush.

Shudder came back less than a thousand miles, waited until mid February for new fluid.

Feb 2019: truck flushed with new fluid, truck never felt right.

March 2019: shudder returned, dealer acknowledged, GM won't fix

- kcollins2007, Wesley Chapel, US

problem #13

Dec 262018

Colorado ZR2 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,500 miles

Same issue as previously noted by others. Shuddering under light acceleration between 30-65 mph. The only response from my dealer when I reported it was, "Call back in about a week and we might have a fix." In the meantime I don't know if my transmission is coming apart inside or not. At a minimum I think the drivetrain warranty should be extended once a fix is found. Ideally I would like the entire drivetrain replaced. Especially after reading about metal filings found in replaced torque converters. I mean, what's the inside of my engine look like after running with this shuddering?

- William W., Gainesville, US

problem #12

Jan 242019

Colorado LT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,329 miles

Wish more people would have registered complaints about the 2018 Colorados and this shudder problem. We need to report these problems so other people know. I'm just starting down the path that I see others have taken. Dealer says first step is to replace fluid. They referenced Document ID 5181942 Let's hope GM really did come up with a fix.

- jvl920, Janesville, US

problem #11

Nov 142018

Colorado

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles

A shutter coming from the transmission almost like driving over rumble strips in the road at certain speeds. They put in a new torque converter. Seemed fixed for 100 miles, then the problem came back.

- Frank M., Seven Hills, US

problem #10

Feb 262019

Colorado LT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,691 miles

Was told there are a lot of bad GM 8-speed transmission out there. Was told more needs to complain to make GM do something about this problem. Was told the trans. fluid flush and toque converter change out is only a band aid fix to the real problem. Lets hope more files the problems they are having with the GM 8-speed transmission. Thing is, I was sold this 2018 Colorado with the dealer knowing about these problems. Sad.

- bho1949bo, Lake City, US

problem #9

Dec 202018

Colorado 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 900 miles

Vibrates like crazy when I’m driving between 20 and 60 miles maybe and start to accelerate The whole truck vibrates.

- Yev V., Chicopee, US

problem #8

Jun 222018

Colorado LT 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles

Torque converter was replaced and flushed, it is now shifting awkward and starting to shudder again. GM is putting out inferior products and don't seem to care

- Glen P., La Harpe, US

problem #7

Oct 292018

Colorado LT 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles

Shudder/Vibration easily felt in steering column about a week ago, has gotten worse and more often. My dealer has been great getting me in a loaner car, so no complaints there. They said I needed to replace the torque converter, so that's what is happening as of today. My main concern was 2 things: 1. My truck only has 2500 miles on it, so it's essentially new. Is this a blessing in disguise, or is it the start of recurring issues? I hope not, because I really love this truck. 2. The tech who signed me in mentioned it may be the transmission fluid they'd used originally, (or the torque converter, which it ended up being). My concern is wondering what they used, why that could cause shudder, vibration, any "long term effects" for the transmission? I understand that may be a different issue, but I found it interesting the tech volunteered this info as if it's a fairly frequently occurring problem for the 2018 Colorado with the 8 speed automatic. In any event, I assume they'll do a transmission flush anyway along with replacing the torque converter.

- Randy S., Weaverville, NC, US

problem #6

Jul 022018

Colorado LT 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,400 miles

Yes. it's true! At +/- 1,400 miles, I first experienced a shuddering that could make the beverage in my cup sitting in the cup holder on the right side of the transmission shifting lever form foam. Oh dang, but road repairs in some parts of Texas appear to be irregularly semi-scheduled in a non reoccurring manner on a random basis. My weekly trips along the same road were the only time I was noticing the shudder, so I just chalked it up to bumpy secondary country roads.. And then it happened!

Cruising down the interstate not on cruise control doing around 73 MPH on a flat straight section, I lightly accelerated to kick it up a bit to set the cruise control.. Foam forming in my beverage may have occurred, but I was too preoccupied attempting to see how many pine logs I had just run over to cause the worse jerking experienced yet. I once had a utility trailer built without any suspension using springs, or shocks.. Seeing it jump off the ground and come down with a bang was an experience, and that's what it felt like this time.

The shuddering was soon occurring often and the speed didn't seem to be the major factor, Just trying to lightly accelerate while cruising along in a higher gear seemed to be the cause and I was soon good at intentionally replicating the action at will.. I searched the internet to see if this had been a reported problem or one subject to a Chevrolet recall when I happened upon this site. I have thoroughly enjoyed reading of the same problem occurring with others and was stimulated to finally contact my Chevy Dealer yesterday with only 2700 miles on my truck!

I made a trip to visit the Service Manager personally and was glad that I did. He was very knowledgeable of these situations and explained a sequential approach to effect a proper solution.. His plan of attack sounds very similar to what I have read aout so far.--Flush the transmission, check fluid flows, and probably replace the torque converter. If it checks out OK there, I'll drive it for a few hundred miles to see if it was "fixed" or not. If NOT, a prescription for surgery and a transmission replacement may be necessitated.

My truck will be dropped of tomorrow and updates will be forthcoming in case anyone would like to send a get well card!.

- James M., New Caney, TX, US

problem #5

Aug 132018

Colorado ZR2 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,500 miles

This is the 3rd time my truck is in the shop for same problem. 1st time I was told it was the oxygen sensor and that it was fixed. Got the truck back and same problem within 4 days. 2nd time I was told it was the engine struts. They needed to remove the top of the engine to replace. Service manager requested he drive it home with computer hooked to car. He lives 40 miles away roughly. Next day was called and told they need the car til end of the week to fix. Computer showed it was carbon build up. They changed the engine, transmission oils and filters, also blew out all the carbon build up in the engine which will solve the problem. ( all this for a truck with 5k mile) I was told to drive the truck for 200 miles so the engine can get used to the new oils. WTF? Within 50 Miles the problem came back worse and was notified twice by email thru OnStar of a detected in the transmission. 3rd time I brought into the dealer, they have had it for 4 days so far and just heard they are replacing the fuel pump, it's leaking fuel into the oil...lol

KEEP YOUR FINGERS CROSSED THIS IS IT

- Emmett C., Glenolden, PA, US

Read the next 4 complaints »