6.0

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,109 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Chevrolet Corvette:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #70

Sep 052019

Corvette

  • 17,000 miles
Went to dealer for vibration when driving. Was told I have 4 bent wheels. Reading Corvette forum information it is a problem with these wheel. They bent and crack. The car was never of road or on a track. This is a normal driven car with 17000 miles.

- Oviedo, FL, USA

problem #69

Sep 012019

Corvette

  • 22,500 miles
Rear rt wheel cracked. Wheel is on back order and my dealer said they have replaced 50 0F them in the last few years there must be a defect if that many crack

- Rio Vista, CA, USA

problem #68

Jul 242019

Corvette

  • 5,850 miles
I am the original owner of a 2017 Corvette grandsport convertible. With under 6,000 miles, I noticed a whirring sound from the front wheels in July 2019. Initially I thought it was due to the road. Then I noticed a vibration in the steering wheel. I took the front wheels off the car and took them to Goodyear to check the balance. I was shocked to learn that the front wheels were bent, even though they looked pristine. I then took my car to a local dealer to get the wheels warrantied. They determined all 4 wheels were out of tolerance for run out. My service order stated the 0.03┐ was the specification. My worst wheel measure 0.075┐ and best was 0.035┐. the rear wheels were between the high and low values. The service order stated that the wheels needed replaced to correct the vibration. I worked with GM customer service during the month of August 2019. They initially told me that my wheels would not be covered under warranty because I refused repair. The whole point of of going to the dealer was to fix my wheels. Then they told me that the dealer denied my warranty. I asked for transcripts of my conversation S with customer service and they said no. It took a month to get written documentation that my warranty was denied after numerous requests. GM customer service is as bad as their wheels. They told me replacement wheels were unavailable and they didn┐T know when they would be. I called my dealer 3 times between 8/12/19 and 9/16/19 to check wheel availability for my car. Each time the dealer stated they┐re not available and there is no eta. I store my car in the winter. I can┐T complain about the roads in my area. The worst roads have patched potholes. I have hit nothing that would even cause me to raise an eyebrow. See my thread on corvetteforum.com under C7 general discussion section. Thread title is GM does not honor warranty.

- Canfield, OH, USA

problem #67

Sep 142019

Corvette

  • 1,900 miles
4 bent oem wheels, less than 2,000 miles on car. Never hit a major road hazard, never tracked. Car vibrated at certain speeds ever since I bought it new and I am the 1st owner. I replaced all 4 wheels with aftermarket forged wheels, now - no vibration at all. When you spin the oem rims you can see they are all slightly out of round.

- Pueblo, CO, USA

problem #66

Sep 012019

Corvette

  • 15,400 miles
While returning home from the national Corvette museum in bowling green ky to ca, my left rear wheel developed a crack losing air pressure every 30-50 miles. This could have resulted in a catastrophic vehicle accident driving home to ca. GM will not warranty the wheel even though its only driven on city streets and highways and is still under the bumper-to-bumper warranty period (17,000 miles on vehicle). Because I cannot trust any of these wheels, I am forced to buy aftermarket forged wheels at a cost of $4800 likely a cost that I will never recoup. As far as I see it, this is a manufacturer defect and should have been caught early in the C7 development cycle. None of my prior 6 Corvettes had an issue with the wheels developing cracks.

- Arroyo Grande, CA, USA

problem #65

Apr 142019

Corvette

  • 28,000 miles
In April 2019, my car's right rear wheel lost air pressure while I was driving on the interstate. I discovered that the wheel had a hairline crack on the inside lip, so I paid out of pocket to replace the wheel. In September 2019, my car's left rear wheel lost air pressure while driving locally. I discovered that the wheel had 3 hairline cracks on the inside lip, so again I paid out of pocket to replace the wheel.

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #64

Jun 012018

Corvette

  • 15,000 miles
Ordered my car and picked up @ bowling green ky as a factory delivery(at Corvette museum) I had had problems with wheel bending and cracking. Had a tire going flat. Had all tires checked and rebalanced at dealership, they informed me they were bent. Talked us into repairing them. Short will late had tire complete flat on the drive. Took to the dealer for repair. Wheel bent again and some cracked. They say the are not part of the car. Never seen car going down the street without wheels. They would not repair or replace again. I can┐T keep paying for repairs on defect wheels. I have the wheels stored in my attic if anyone would like to investigate, this very dangerous product on these Corvettes. I could not continue to drive my car safely so I replaced the 4 wheels at my expense. GM did not pay for any repairs, or new wheels.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #63

Aug 232019

Corvette

  • 9,000 miles
Right, rear wheel failed at approx 9,000 miles. Two cracks on interior side approximately 2 inches long. This was noticed because of a slow leak. GM refuses to cover under the bumper to bumper or other warranty. There was no damage or excessive wear to the tire.

- Englewood, OH, USA

problem #62

Aug 292019

Corvette

  • 12,000 miles
Cracks discovered on rear wheels. Tire retailer discovered cracks in the vehicles rear wheels and recommended the wheels be replaced/repaired.

- Northampton, MA, USA

problem #61

Aug 312019

Corvette

  • 24,000 miles
The factory wheels on the vehicle are cracking without being subjected to harsh road conditions. In this vehicles case one front wheel was replaced after a flat tire. The rear wheels haven't received any flats and never were subjected to any bumps, potholes, etc. The only reason the cracks were found was due to the tire installer finding them. The car technically was being driven in an unsafe condition until the rear wheels were discovered to have cracks during a brake inspection. 2017 Chevrolet Corvette grand sport. Mileage: 25,000

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #60

Aug 302019

Corvette

  • miles
2017 grand sport all 4 rims bent less that 10000 miles Chevy needs to make this right I even found an article from car and driver magazine dated October 15 2018 and they even had issues with the rims

- Boggstown, IN, USA

problem #59

Jul 242019

Corvette

  • 10,264 miles
On July 24, 2019 I started my 2017 C-7 grand sport Corvette and noticed a right rear tire low pressure light on the dashboard. I turned off the car and decided to leave it in the garage and use one of my other vehicles because I didn't have time to service the tire at that time. The car has remained parked due to vacation and work since then. Today, August 23, 2019 I checked the tire and it had zero pressure. I removed the wheel and noticed two cracks on the inside edge of the wheel. I sprayed some soapy water and verified that the wheel is leaking air from one of the cracks. I did some research online to see how to go about contacting the dealership for warranty repairs and noticed multiple online complaints to include a Chevrolet Corvette class action lawsuit by plaintiff filed on 04/30/19 which claims wheels easily bend and crack. I will call a Chevrolet dealership tomorrow to inquire about replacement but it does not look promising based on everything I've read on line. My vehicle has 10,264 miles and I believe it should be covered under warranty.

- Highland Mills, NY, USA

problem #58

Aug 142019

Corvette

  • 9,400 miles
All 4 oem factory wheels are bent. Additionally, in 2018 one of the rear wheels was bent. It ultimately cracked and would not hold air pressure and had to be replaced. The vehicle has not been "tracked" or driven on roads or streets with large potholes.

- Rockwall, TX, USA

problem #57

Aug 162019

Corvette

  • 5,400 miles
Cracked rim on 2017 Corvette grand sport

- Covington, KY, USA

problem #56

Aug 082019

Corvette

  • 23,000 miles
Both rear wheels have cracked!!! GM refused to cover via their "bumper-to-bumper" warranty even though I understand there are hundreds of the 2017 Corvettes that have suffered this serious, dangerous problem! these wheels (made in china"??") need to be recalled and replaced by GM before someone gets hurt! note this is the 2nd wheel problem with these wheels. The other rear wheel cracked back on 6/1/2019.

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #55

Aug 052019

Corvette

  • 13,703 miles
Brought my car to the Chevy dealer for a recall. When I picked up the car, I was told, and the invoice evidences it, that I had three bent wheels and one cracked wheel. I drive primarily on highway roads and don't recall hitting any potholes. I don't track the car. The original factory tires are still on the car (tire life is estimated to be around 10,000 miles) and currently have 13,000 miles on them. There is still decent tread left on the tires which proves that there is no aggressive driving. I've attached the invoice from my dealer. There have been numerous complaints on the Corvette C7 forum about the 2016 Z06 and 2017-19 Z06 and grand sport wheels having bent and cracked wheels, many with less than 1,000 miles on the car. General Motors refuses to acknowledge the issue in spite of the number of complaints against the company.

- Ringoes, NJ, USA

problem #54

Jul 222019

Corvette

  • 10,000 miles
My 2017 ZO6 has approximately ten thousand miles on it. Over the last year I've had my tires balanced many times to try to fix a vibration. I took it to a wheel specialist only to find all four of my rims are not round, they are all bent. My 3 year warranty has expired and GM will do nothing about it.

- Dixon, CA, USA

problem #53

Jul 082019

Corvette

  • 33,500 miles
A little over a year ago a tire company found a crack in one of the rear wheels of my 2017 Corvette grand sport. The crack was perpendicular across the inside rim of the wheel where the tire bead meets the wheel. I took the vehicle to a Chevrolet dealer who examined the wheels and found another identical crack in the other rear wheel. Other than the cracks, the wheels were unmarred. While cleaning my wheels, I noticed another identical crack in the identical location on one of my replaced rear wheels. The wheel was otherwise unmarred. I took the car to a Chevrolet dealer, who took photos and sent them to GM for warranty replacement approval. GM declined to cover the wheel under warranty. I appealed the denial which was given GM case [xxx]. the appeal was denied. I asked that it be escalated and that escalated appeal was denied. GM stated that after examining the photos, they determined the crack was not a result of defects in material or workmanship. These cracked wheels constitute a serious safety hazard, particularly since they are in an area that most consumers would not inspect. I believe the cracks are a result of poor design, substandard materials, poor workmanship or a combination thereof. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #52

Jul 052019

Corvette

  • 10,000 miles
The vehicle has less than 10K miles on it. While driving the vehicle, the tire pressure sensor monitor for the rear passenger tire came on. Immediately went to a Chevrolet dealership for a diagnostic. The dealership informed me the wheel had a crack in it; would need a new wheel. Was told would take at least a month for the part to come in; in the process of moving, could not wait a month. Found a rim repair shop that repaired the crack and also noted that the front passenger wheel was bent. The repair shop fixed both problems or so I thought. Was traveling to my new work destination and the rear passenger tire sensor light came back on. Found another rim repair shop who told me that I cannot drive the vehicle - the wheel had other cracks in it. Had to order a new wheel from a Chevrolet dealership.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #51

Jul 162019

Corvette

  • 9,724 miles
Took car to local Chevrolet dealer with a vibration - 7/16/2019 - received a call back that all four wheels are bent, car has less than 10,000 miles and has been babied it's whole life. They quoted cost to replace, said the factory wheels are not covered.

- Casstown, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »