10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,767 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #16

Jul 012019

Equinox

  • 75,000 miles
Engine burns oil... SUV actually shut off on me while driving and when I took it to the shop, it was found to have no oil. Luckily it shut off when I was by myself without my family while at a red light and not when I was driving. This is a known GM issue with older Equinox's and nothing has been corrected. Someone is going to get seriously injured or killed bc of this issue! it is well documented that a lot of other Equinox owners are dealing with the same issue that should have been corrected! GM has failed their customers and is acting negligent!

- Irwin, PA, USA

problem #15

Jan 222019

Equinox

  • 88,575 miles
Driving on the NJ turnpike January 22 2019 freezing cold out day 15' and my car just dies. I came to a rolling stop on the side of the road. Tried starting car and nothing, then I hear a grinding noise as I turn the key, get out and open the hood. I turn key again and I hear this grinding noise again. No warning lights no indicators nothing. Call aaa but they can't pick me up on the turnpike needs to be a separate tow truck company. After 45 minutes freezing in the car the tow truck guy shows up. Takes a look at the truck check oil and says I have no oil. Turned key and dash did not show any oil lights lit. Looked at the back of the truck and there was oil all over it see pics. Had to get towed to yard then called aaa to take me to elkins Chevy. Elkin's Chevy looked at it and said the PCV valve froze causing the rear main seal to break causing engine to lose all oil and cease up with possible pieces in the transmission. No warning lights or sensors lit up at all still. Dealer said I was out of warranty 88,575 miles so I was responsible for fixing. New engine $6,000 used $4,500 plus what ever other damage to the transmission, pvc and case. Estimated 7,000 to 9000. To fix the truck was only 2 years old and always got serviced oil changes ect. I bought another Equinox 2019 and while transferring my stuff from 1 truck to another service guy said this a common thing with this ecotec engine and Chevy is aware. I went home and google what happened and sure enough they have a class action suite against them. They said it should only be on the older models and it is fixed on newer years. I could enter my VIN to see if my truck was part of the recall which it was not. I called Chevy, escallation and managers they said since I sold\traded the truck in for a new one there was nothing they could do.

- Neptune, NJ, USA

problem #14

Jul 132019

Equinox

  • miles
Date of purchase of the vehicle 06/25/2019 0/7/13/2019 I made a right turn driving and a.C and stereo turned off. 07/15/2019 I was parked and the car was turned off I got in the car and started the vehicle put it on reverse then drive and the car turned off. I restarted the car with the key and it turned back on. 07/16/2019 in the evening, engine light when on 07/16/2019 in the evening oil change light when on 07/16/2019 in the am I called moss dealer Chevy in moreno valley, ca and spoke with don he scheduled an appointment to take the vehicle in to get checked. Appt set up for 07/19/2019 at 8am at moss Chevy in moreno valley, ca 07/17/2019 in the am I called don at moss Chevy in in moreno valley to notify him that my engine light and oil change light went on.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #13

Feb 112019

Equinox

  • 70,000 miles
Pvc tube froze cause rear seal to break causing engine to lose all oil. Luckily I was parked and noticed the oil. No warning lights or sensors lit up. When talking to dealer and others many Equinox this year have had this issue, even tho General Motors is aware of the issue it was still my responsibility to pay $1800 to fix

- Lexington, OH, USA

problem #12

Jan 302019

Equinox

  • 88,400 miles
Driving down freeway. Car stopped working no warning light or warning. Barley got it off the road and out of traffice. Ends up it the rear mantle fold which in turn made the engine stop working. Vehicles needs whole new engine.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #11

Jan 302019

Equinox

  • 88,400 miles
Pvc tube froze cause rear seal to break causing engine to break. Happened while driving car made a noose and stopped working. No warning lights or sensors lit up. Happened on a busy freeway. When talking to dealer and others many Equinox this year have had this issue

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #10

Jan 232019

Equinox

  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Chevrolet Equinox. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to accelerate. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle decelerated to 20 mph and the check engine indicator illuminated. The contact was able to restart the engine and the vehicle regained normal function. The contact drove the vehicle to buff whelan Chevrolet (40445 van dyke avenue, sterling heights, mi 48313, (877-237-3928) where it was diagnosed that the accelerator electronic indicator failed. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 34,000.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #9

Jan 252019

Equinox

  • 72,000 miles
I was driving down a highway at 65 miles per hour my engine started to flutter when noticing that I pulled over right away and my engine shut off. I had to have my vehicle towed to the dealership after the dealership took a look at it they realized it was a PCV clog from condensation getting in to the PCV valve. I have 72000 miles on my vehicle so there is no more drive train warranty I bought the extended warranty however they will not cover it because they do not cover clogs. Upon researching this I found out that Chevy had a lot of these and actually extended warranties on vehicles from 2010 to 2014 for the same issue. They have never said anything about fixing the issue in the articles I have read. Upon hearing this information from the dealership I contacted another dealership which that they had 6 vehicles in their for this same exact thing they told me that it's a known issue especially when it gets cold. Chevrolet will not cover this knowing it is a problem. Attached is the service bulletin where it list the models and where Chevy had extended the warranty for those make and models.

- Zimmerman, MN, USA

problem #8

Dec 142018

Equinox

  • 30,000 miles
Drove car 10 miles, then took a left turn and everything shut off and wheel locked. No power or any warning signs of a break down. Restarted car and was able to drive again. Took in for a check up and they were not able to ¿recreate the instance¿.

- The Colony, TX, USA

problem #7

Oct 162018

Equinox

  • 10,155 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Chevrolet Equinox. While driving various speeds, the instrument panel went black. The vehicle was taken to moss bros. Auto group (12625 auto mall drive, moreno valley, California 92555, (951) 485-3500) to be diagnosed, but the failure could not be duplicated. Afterwards, the power steering seized and the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that the vehicle would not restart when prompted. The vehicle was towed to tom bell Chevrolet (800 Alabama street, redlands, California 92374, (909) 283-0690) where it was determined that the vehicle exhibited "low voltage". the battery was replaced in 2016. The contact stated that the diagnostic trouble codes were erased; therefore, the dealer could not duplicate the "low voltage" failure reading. Additionally, an alarm sounded, the seat belt warning indicator illuminated, and the instrument panel gauge readings were inconclusive. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures and provided case number: 8-4836904116. The failure mileage was 10,155.

- Perris, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 152017

Equinox

  • 45,000 miles
After ignition started and placed in reverse the car would then shut off while in reveres. It would also shut off while in drive. But only while first taking off. Every time it happened I was on regular roads and in parking lots. Fuel tank full

- Oxford, PA, USA

problem #5

Jun 142017

Equinox

  • 62,236 miles
The car consumes massive amounts of oil, like the previous model years. No warning is given that the vehicle runs out of oil causing damage to the pistons, timing chains and engine. GM dropped the power train warranty to 60 K knowing that these vehicles have had this issues since 2011- to current. The failure happens at 58-60 K miles making it the customer's responsibility to pay for this enormous repair. In talking to the dealership they are well aware of this issue yet no one has informed the owners that oil consumption on a brand new car would need to be monitored or that no engine light would be triggered. Leaving the customer with a car with less of a power-train warranty and the full cost of the repair. I filed a complaint with GM and was told that since the car was out of warranty that they could do a cost assistance but would not cover the repair, because my mileage is just outside the 60K mark. This is unacceptable. My coworker has the same vehicle and because his car failed at 58 K it was paid for. GM knew what they were doing in lowering the power-train warranty on this car. Something needs to be done to protect the consumer and GM needs to repair these vehicles they know are defective.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #4

Jul 182016

Equinox

  • 16,000 miles
Car started smelling horrible anytime it was running, would make me and my kids physically sick breathing the air coming inside the vehicle.my daughter had pneumonia 4 months ago, and my husband had a severe case of pneumonia 2 weeks ago. Not to mention all the respiratory related problems in the last year the entire family has been having. Chevy would not look at my car, I called multiplke times telling them my car is so foul smelling I cant drive it anymore and its not a dead anmial because we searched every compartment there is....and they said its a dead mouse or animal and that warranty doesnt cover that so its not there problem..after over a week of me calling and having my husband (a certified mechanic) calling them non stop, they agreed to look at it..its not an animal it is just alot of mold that is growing all over the cars heating and air conditioning condenser system! and all this time its just been flowing mold bacteria into my vents! its summer I use A/C everyday if I am driving.... we've just been breathing it in for who knows how long...I bought this car 9 months ago brand new and now after only 16,000 miles its a breeding ground for mold inside my HVAC unit" I wont be able to get rid of that smell, and what about my seats or clothing or damage that has already been done from this mold and bacteria" they said GM will give me a rental for 5 days.....but parts will take up to 4 to even come in before they will even start fixing the "issue". my daughter is 2 years old and had pnemonia 2 times already.

- Alturas, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 222016

Equinox

  • 1,500 miles
Please reference nhsta complaint number 10862571,10865740 see attached document that was sent to G.M. this vehicle made my family sick. I had to picket dealership where I bought car, because G.M head quarters closed the case and left me with this toxic vehicle. A lot has happened in my quest to have the car replaced. A GM dealership where I did not buy car from, bought me out of my lease and got me into a new vehicle. I physically picketed dealership I bought car from and others to get my point across. I still have contaminated clothing and the dealership is stuck with this vehicle now, and I still have health concerns about my family. I have called the epa, and other agencies and none of them can help. This vehicle should never get into another individuals possession. I have attached some pictures and files.

- Franklin Square, NY, USA

problem #2

Jan 222016

Equinox

  • 1,500 miles
This vehicle made my family sick. I had to picket dealership where I bought car, because G.M head quarters closed the case and left me with this toxic vehicle. A lot has happened in my quest to have the car replaced. A GM dealership where I did not buy car from bought me out of my lease and got me into a new vehicle. I physically picketed dealership I bought car from and other GM dealerships to get my point across. I still have contaminated clothing and the dealership is stuck with this vehicle now, and I still have health concerns about my family. I have called the epa, and other agencies and none of them can help. This vehicle should never get into another individuals possession. I have attached some pictures and files. This is my second complaint. Original nhsta complaint number is 10862571 exhaust fumes seeped into vehicle from exhaust leak and contaminated interior of vehicle making my wife and child sick.dealership replaced exhaust system but car was still contaminated. Please contact me at gmcargotmyfamilysick@gmail.com

- Franklin Square, NY, USA

problem #1

Jan 222016

Equinox

  • 1,500 miles
Exhaust fumes leaking into driver cabin, horrible toxic odor, family got sick from being inside of vehicle. Stationary, or in motion. Toxic odors and same health effects when not running. Oder on clothing, hair, skin. Immediate adverse health symptoms associated with being in vehicle are headache, chemical taste in mouth, sore throat. I noticed condition 1/22/2016 but it was present prior to this as I do not use vehicle often. My wife and youngest daughter had most exposure and it built up over time, for they were desensitized to the odor. After a few days of not using vehicle my wife did smell the toxic odor. An exhaust leak was the cause and verified by dealer. After repairs were made vehicle still has horrific odor and the same adverse health effects were experienced. Other people who were exposed to vehicle also experienced same health symptoms.

- Franklin Square, NY, USA