10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,693 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #114

Oct 102009

HHR

  • 54,285 miles
The contact owned a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, the vehicle stalled and the steering wheel seized without warning. As a result, the contact crashed into a tree. The contact stated that the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries to the head, a fractured arm, and a fractured femur that required medical attention. The contact also stated that on several occasions, the vehicle failed to start. The contact stated that the reverse gear failed to engage when the shift selector was placed into the reverse position. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 54,285.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #113

Dec 132015

HHR

  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. While driving 45 mph, the contact noticed that the air bag warning light became illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was not repaired. The failure mileage was 119,000.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #112

May 012015

HHR

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. On several occasions, the vehicle would not start and a burning odor was present inside the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failures. No further information was available. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 26,000.

- Galverston, TX, USA

problem #111

Feb 012014

HHR

  • miles
My 2009 HHR has what is referred to as the May 15, 2014 GM tail light malfunction. The malfunction is caused from faulty wiring and causes the brake lights illuminate without touching the brake pedal and they remain on while driving. This malfunction also disables safety features like electronic stability control which tries to correct for skids and panic braking assist, which is designed to make sure the vehicle's full braking power is being used in an emergency. It also disables the cruise control and the traction control. In 2014 G.M. said it knew of hundreds of complaints and 13 accidents associated with the problem. I have had several near accidents and several issues of road rage from other drivers since my HHR began the malfunctioning in February 2014 which is when I first contacted GM to get it fixed. Since then I have filed complaints with the NHTSA, the federal trade commission, the state of Wisconsin consumer protection Agency and GM but have not yet had anyone step up and fix the problem. Since the malfunction causes the BCM to lose memory with the brake positioning sensor I did take the vehicle to a certified GM dealership and had them re-learn the memory between the two. This solved the problem temporarily and lasted about two months. I cannot afford to have this done every two month as a solution. GM needs to be ordered to fix the issues correctly before someone is fatally injured.

- Gays Mills, WI, USA

problem #110

Oct 152015

HHR

  • 120,000 miles
Car would not crank, replaced battery, had alternator and starter tested all good. Had to have vehicle towed to vehicle repair shop. Now the part that is needed is not available new so now my mechanic has went through three parts that have not worked. It has to do with the fuse box. Why hasn't this vehicle not been recalled if Chevrolet no longer makes this part? I see a lot of Hhrs on the road and sooner or later these cars will have the same problem. This same vehicle had stalled on me before and the Chevrolet dealership could not find the problem.I still owe for a vehicle that cannot be fixed. Somebody please help get this car recalled.

- Marshall, TX, USA

problem #109

Jun 202015

HHR

  • 125,000 miles
While driving the car there are power/electrical surges. I have document this several times. The left rear tail lights repeatedly burns out, it doesn't just blow, it cracks and melts. To the point it literally melts the holder of the bulb. The surges are more frequent. I have to change burnt/ literally exploded bulbs ever 3-4 days. And I have called the Chevy dealer and they have told me this is electrical. The power surges can happen anytime with out notice. I called the dealership and I was informed that there was a recall on electrical system for a Chevy HHR but that my VIN number was not listed in this batch of recalls for electrical system malfunctions. I also called the Chevy headquarters and they informed me its my issue, there is no recall for my car for this and its not covered under warrenty. So I asked im just to keep driving a car that has electrical surges, what if it surges to the gas tank or something. She said its not covered. So, I want it formally documented that a report was issued; since it is happening all the time. I have gotten pulled over twice in 2 months for this light. And there is nothing I can do about it.. these surges have been happening over the past year, I was told that may be the reason that my passenger seat belt locked up ( causing me to have to cut my daughter out of it) and the reason the windows will sometime stop operating. But will eventually start back.

- Pittsboro, NC, USA

problem #108

Jul 012013

HHR

  • miles
Car would not turn off. Key would not turn. Eventually pulled fuse and got car to stop. Took to dealer next recalls came out later and I took it in three times to get recall things fixed. I still have same problems as other owners with my electrical system, the dic giving false information such as no air pressure in one of the tires, the ABS and traction need repair etc. Steering wheel almost always shakes when brake pedal is pushed and sometimes seems like it is driving under its own control. I have loved the car since I bought it with less than 9,000 miles on it in December 2010, but I drive my handicapped husband and elderly mother to many doctor appointments and cannot handle the anxiety of being an accident waiting to happen all the time. There is already the feeling of helplessness in car accidents without one driving a car that can't be controlled at all times. And these things happen out of the blue without warning. It isn't like you have even a feeling that something may be going out or that a problem is beginning. It's just boom, here's the situation, handle it! I, at all times, must keep my mind on the fact that my brakes, steering, transmission and/or electrical system may fail as I am driving down the street. This does not make for a calm driving experience. Nervousness and high anxiety is not a condition that anyone should be in when handling a potentially deadly weapon in and around other people, animals and vehicles. All these other owners can't be wrong, maybe GMC should just recall the whole car and let us get one we don't have to be afraid of causing an accident, so we can concentrate on our own and other people's driving to prevent them..

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #107

Jul 152015

HHR

  • 196,000 miles
The contact owned a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the front driver side electronic control panel failed to work and the front and rear windows failed to go up and down when used electronically. The contact indicated that the failure was worse during rainy weather. As the failure progressed, the vent controls failed to work for heating and air conditioning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was not able to remedy the failure. The parts were not available to schedule the recall repair for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system), 14V153000 (steering), and 14V171000 (electrical system). While entering the road from a parking complex, the air conditioning control was turned on and smoke emitted into the interior of the vehicle near the dashboard. Extensive smoke was coming through the vents. The contact was able to coast the vehicle over to the side of the road. The vehicle erupted into flames and the front windshield melted downward. The fire department extinguished the flames. The vehicle was destroyed due to the failure and towed to a yard. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 196,000.

- Taylorsville, KY, USA

problem #106

May 062015

HHR

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that all the lighting on the instrument panel dimmed. The vehicle was taken dealer where it was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 113,000. The VIN was not available.

- Port Richey , FL, USA

problem #105

Apr 282015

HHR

  • 84,500 miles
I was driving down the highway and all of a sudden the service airbag warning light came on as well as the warning chime. I purchased the car used in August 2013, and soon after getting it the very same warning came on. I went back to the dealer and they had it sent to a local GM dealer to be fixed. I purchased the car from a Dodge and Subaru dealer and they were not able to do the repair. I was shown the repair paperwork stating that a faulty airbag sensor was replaced. Well just last week the very same thing happened again. The service airbag light comes on then goes off sometimes after only a few seconds. Then another warning light went on stating faulty air pressure sensor. The check engine light is on as well so I'm wondering if there is some type of electrical gremlin in the car. This is extremely frustrating because I like the car but all of these stupid little issues make me want to trade it in, and never buy anything made by GM ever again.

- Shiremanstown, PA, USA

problem #104

Apr 012015

HHR

  • miles
Letter from senator feinstein on behalf of constituent re complaint about General Motors. The consumer stated his 2009 Chevrolet HHR was not repaired adequately and was not repaired in a timely manner.

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #103

Sep 092009

HHR

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. When the key was removed from the ignition switch, the door chime activated as if the contact were exiting the vehicle. In addition, the radio remained operable for a short period of time. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,000.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #102

Feb 202015

HHR

  • 140,000 miles
Went to back HHR out of my garage and the brake pedal was rock hard with no give. Power steering has no power and the exc light is on. Not safe to drive at all. I have had numerous problems with this car. The ignition, air bags, brakes, door lock actuators...the list goes on. This one takes the cake due to safety concerns.

- Peru, IL, USA

problem #101

Feb 152015

HHR 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Today I made the mistake of leaving a dome light on while in church for a few hrs. Came out it started up with no problem. Got on the ferry parked and turned the car off. When I attempted to start up to get off the car was dead. Now this is the terror of that, the door locks didn't work, the horn was dead, the window locks didn't work and the steering was locked. I got the attention of a person passing and they opened the door from the outside. My daughter is totally disabled and she was asleep and the passenger seat. What if this had been some life or death matter and we needed to get out. Is this normal or is it something I didn't know to do. There have been so many recalls on this car, it should have been a total recall. I am so afraid for our lives and I don't know what to do. Terrified to get in it with her and go any where. Is there anything I can do to stay alive until it's paid off?

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #100

Oct 062014

HHR

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the dealer was contacted in reference to NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 (electrical system), 14V171000 (electrical system), and 14V153000 (steering). The contact indicated that the warning lamp illuminated for the air bag and remained lit. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and was unable to provide a reasonable date to perform the recall repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 84,000.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #99

Oct 312013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I have had my recall competed on my ignition switch, however, I am concerned because I still have an issue where I turn off the car and take the key out of the ignition, and either I hear the engine still run slightly, but more commonly the issue is that the door chimes as if I opened the door with the key still in the ignition (although it is not). I thought the replacement after this recall would fix the problem as I had previously brought it to the dealership and they could not "duplicate it" or see any immediate issues. Should I be concerned that this is still happening after the recall?

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #98

Apr 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician replaced the ignition switch. However, the failure recurred intermittently. In addition, the contact indicated that the air bag sensor illuminated. The contact was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The air bag failure was not diagnosed and the vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was not available. Updated 12/09/14 updated 5/11/2015

- Muscatine, IA, USA

problem #97

Sep 202014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that after the vehicle being serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system), the engine failed to start after several attempts and that the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Edinburg, TX, USA

problem #96

Sep 102014

HHR

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the ignition failed to start the vehicle and the steering column failed to lock when the engine was turned off. The failures occurred multiple times. The contact stated that the failures began after the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 53,000.

- Milford , NH, USA

problem #95

Apr 012014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »