10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,649 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet HHR:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #106

Jul 152015

HHR

  • 196,000 miles
The contact owned a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the front driver side electronic control panel failed to work and the front and rear windows failed to go up and down when used electronically. The contact indicated that the failure was worse during rainy weather. As the failure progressed, the vent controls failed to work for heating and air conditioning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was not able to remedy the failure. The parts were not available to schedule the recall repair for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system), 14V153000 (steering), and 14V171000 (electrical system). While entering the road from a parking complex, the air conditioning control was turned on and smoke emitted into the interior of the vehicle near the dashboard. Extensive smoke was coming through the vents. The contact was able to coast the vehicle over to the side of the road. The vehicle erupted into flames and the front windshield melted downward. The fire department extinguished the flames. The vehicle was destroyed due to the failure and towed to a yard. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 196,000.

- Taylorsville, KY, USA

problem #105

May 062015

HHR

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that all the lighting on the instrument panel dimmed. The vehicle was taken dealer where it was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 113,000. The VIN was not available.

- Port Richey , FL, USA

problem #104

Apr 282015

HHR

  • 84,500 miles
I was driving down the highway and all of a sudden the service airbag warning light came on as well as the warning chime. I purchased the car used in August 2013, and soon after getting it the very same warning came on. I went back to the dealer and they had it sent to a local GM dealer to be fixed. I purchased the car from a Dodge and Subaru dealer and they were not able to do the repair. I was shown the repair paperwork stating that a faulty airbag sensor was replaced. Well just last week the very same thing happened again. The service airbag light comes on then goes off sometimes after only a few seconds. Then another warning light went on stating faulty air pressure sensor. The check engine light is on as well so I'm wondering if there is some type of electrical gremlin in the car. This is extremely frustrating because I like the car but all of these stupid little issues make me want to trade it in, and never buy anything made by GM ever again.

- Shiremanstown, PA, USA

problem #103

Apr 012015

HHR

  • miles
Letter from senator feinstein on behalf of constituent re complaint about General Motors. The consumer stated his 2009 Chevrolet HHR was not repaired adequately and was not repaired in a timely manner.

- Santa Barbara, CA, USA

problem #102

Sep 092009

HHR

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. When the key was removed from the ignition switch, the door chime activated as if the contact were exiting the vehicle. In addition, the radio remained operable for a short period of time. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 1,000.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #101

Feb 202015

HHR

  • 140,000 miles
Went to back HHR out of my garage and the brake pedal was rock hard with no give. Power steering has no power and the exc light is on. Not safe to drive at all. I have had numerous problems with this car. The ignition, air bags, brakes, door lock actuators...the list goes on. This one takes the cake due to safety concerns

- Peru, IL, USA

problem #100

Feb 152015

HHR

  • 65,000 miles
Today I made the mistake of leaving a dome light on while in church for a few hrs. Came out it started up with no problem. Got on the ferry parked and turned the car off. When I attempted to start up to get off the car was dead. Now this is the terror of that, the door locks didn't work, the horn was dead, the window locks didn't work and the steering was locked. I got the attention of a person passing and they opened the door from the outside. My daughter is totally disabled and she was asleep and the passenger seat. What if this had been some life or death matter and we needed to get out. Is this normal or is it something I didn't know to do. There have been so many recalls on this car, it should have been a total recall. I am so afraid for our lives and I don't know what to do. Terrified to get in it with her and go any where. Is there anything I can do to stay alive until it's paid off?

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #99

Oct 062014

HHR

  • 84,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the dealer was contacted in reference to NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V047000 (electrical system), 14V171000 (electrical system), and 14V153000 (steering). The contact indicated that the warning lamp illuminated for the air bag and remained lit. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and was unable to provide a reasonable date to perform the recall repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 84,000.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #98

Apr 012014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled several times intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician replaced the ignition switch. However, the failure recurred intermittently. In addition, the contact indicated that the air bag sensor illuminated. The contact was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The air bag failure was not diagnosed and the vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was not available. Updated 12/09/14 updated 5/11/2015

- Muscatine, IA, USA

problem #97

Sep 202014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that after the vehicle being serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system), the engine failed to start after several attempts and that the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unknown.

- Edinburg, TX, USA

problem #96

Sep 102014

HHR

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact stated that the ignition failed to start the vehicle and the steering column failed to lock when the engine was turned off. The failures occurred multiple times. The contact stated that the failures began after the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 53,000.

- Milford , NH, USA

problem #95

Apr 012014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14E021000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #94

Apr 112013

HHR 4-cyl

  • 47,061 miles
In April 2013 our service air bag light on the passenger side started coming on and off at varied times. There was no rhyme or reason for when it went on or off. Our dealer stated that if the service air bag light was off at the time of an accident, the air bags would not deploy (scared us into the repair).the car was just out of our extended warranty period of 4 yr 48000 miles. So we would need to pay for the repair. The repair was a connector module and total cost was $264.59 for the repair. After it was repaired I started finding all kinds of similar issues with Chevy cars and trucks, including various years of the HHR. I contacted GM but they refused to cover this repair stating they knew of no issues regarding a service air bag light coming on and off. This was obvious a lie since it's all over the internet and Chevy has recalled some cars and trucks for the same exact problem. I feel that we can't be sure if the air bag would work during a crash it is a safety issue and should be repaired at no cost. The cost of the repair for the actual work done is highway robbery - parts were $17.28 the rest of labor! GM needs to take care of this issue and recall the cars - or at the least, repair for free when the issue arises.

- Dagsboro, DE, USA

problem #93

May 012014

HHR

  • miles
I have a 2009 Chevy HHR was has 2 recalls on it. I called to make an appointment to get the recalls repaired on my car as soon as I received the first which was 06/09/2014. I was told the parts would have to be ordered and I would get a call when they came in. On tues 08/26/2014 I received a car in the mail that the parts were in and that I should call to make an appointment. I called [xxx] that same day, and got an appointment that thurs. 08/28/2014. We dropped the car off that weds. Night. I was never told how long the service would take. So I called on 08/28/2014 in the afternoon and was told it would not be ready until Friday. Trying to get through to talk with a person at [xxx] takes anywhere from 20 to 30 minutes to talk with someone. I was never asked if I needed a loner car or anything. Friday 08/29/2014 we pick the car up around 7pm because that's when it was finished. On Saturday 08/30/2014 we had to have the car towed back to [xxx] because the key was stuck in the brand new ignition and the car would not start. I did not receive a phone call once the car got there, and of course it was a holiday weekend so they were not going to be open that following Monday 09/01/2014. I drove by [xxx] on Sunday just to make sure it was there, and it was with the keys still stuck in the ignition. I called on Tuesday 09/02/2014 to find out what the status was, I was told they were working on it. I happendto be in the neighborhood so I stopped by to check, it was still in the same spot never even looked at, I was told by mike the manager( who was very rude) that other people had appointment for today and that I would have to wait, I told him I should be a priority because my appointment was last week and the car should have been fixed right that time. He had the nerve to ask me did it work when you left here., im just getting my car back today 09/03/2014. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #92

Feb 112014

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V153000 (steering, electrical system); however, the parts needed for the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #91

Aug 252014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 99,998 miles
2009 HHR. We have had so much trouble with is car, I don't have the space to tell you all the complaints. This is the latest happening; wife calls me from town, cant get out of the car, door wont open. Finally had to crawl over the console and exit on the passenger side. Quiet a feat for a 260 lb 72 year old lady. Now I read on the internet this is a ongoing problem for HHR going all the way back to 2007. One person said the dealer charged $450, because the whole door panel had to be replaced. GM is certainly aware of the defective door locks and latches on the HHR. When some gets burned alive because they cant get out of the car GM cannot say the were not aware of the failures of the door latches because there are hundreds of complaints about the doors failing to open. This is just the latest problem we have with this car.,but right now this is the most important thing for me to register this complaint in case my wife is trapped in this car again and sustains injury.

- Whitwell, TN, USA

problem #90

Jul 302014

HHR 4-cyl

  • 39,750 miles
Service air bag- this message comes up a lot when car is started. It is coming up more often now though. This vehicle has not been in an accident. I have seen on line that other GM vehicles are being recalled for this problem. Talked to my Chevy dealer about this and he said that there is no recall and it is our issue. Our HHR has been recalled for ignition switch and a power steering issue so far. I feel that the service air bag light is just another GM problem. With this warning light on, I do not know if our air bags will deploy. Are our lives in jeopardy?

- Dillsburg, PA, USA

problem #89

Jun 012011

HHR 4-cyl

  • 38,650 miles
Window switches don't work for passage side on drivers door. Any time pushed it smells like they are burning. I was told that I would have to pay for the fix even though it was under warranty. It still isn't fixed we just don't use them. The back up lights never work and the dealer want to always say it a bad bulb. I replaced a bulb at the dealer in front them and they said it must of been a bad bulb. I've replaced at least 15 bulbs in 3 years. I also had to pay for airbag censors when they went bad and under warranty. Chevy doesn't keep their warranties and make up reasons why they don't have to cover the problems.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #88

Nov 232013

HHR

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact was unable to start the vehicle after numerous attempts. The vehicle was recently repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN and failure mileage were unavailable.

- Clarksdale, MS, USA

problem #87

Apr 172014

HHR 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet HHR. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V171000 (electrical system); however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The dealer did not know when the part would arrive. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 9/12/14 the issue was resolved. Updated 09/23/14

- Woodson, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »