10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,834 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #55

Nov 272015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Impala. While driving 25 mph, smoke and flames emitted from the hood. The fire department extinguished the fire and filed a report. There were no injuries. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling) associated with the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 11/17/16

- Woodruss, SC, USA

problem #54

Dec 012015

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2000 Chevrolet Impala. Consumer writes in regards to exhaust manifold recall notice issues. The consumer received a recall notice. Last December.

- Deer Park, IL, USA

problem #53

Jan 012016

Impala 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Impala. When the contact attempted to start the vehicle, smoke appeared and the engine blew out. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V701000 (engine and engine cooling) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 04/13/16

- Rogersville, TN, USA

problem #52

Feb 282015

Impala

  • 95,000 miles
I went to start my 2000 Chevy Impala after sitting for 2 days in the cold. It would not start. We opened the engine to charge the battery. I tried to start the car one more time and it sounded like a bomb went off. Parts flew everywhere hitting everyone around the car. When we checked the engine we noticed the intake manifold exploded. This is extremely dangerous and we were lucky no one was hurt be flying intake parts.

- Iron Mountain, MI, USA

problem #51

Apr 122012

Impala

  • 123,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that she started the vehicle and allowed the engine to run for a few moments. The vehicle then caught on fire. There were no occupants when the fire occurred and there were no reported injuries. No warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel prior to the failure. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer for a diagnosis. The dealer stated that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacture was not notified. The failure and current mileages were 123,000.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

problem #50

Jan 312012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
Oil and coolant (anti-freeze) is evaporating or being burned up. After extensive research online, it seems there is a defect in the material used by Chevy with regard to a gasket called a plenum that is located in the intake manifold. The gasket warps under heat and age and allows coolant and or oil to enter the engine compartment which evaporates. With the amount of complaints I found online, this seems like a common issue with the Chevy Impala 3.8L V6 type 2 engine. GM should replace the inferior material used with a superior metal gasket. This issue seems like it could cause a fire in the engine. I also read that this issue can cause oil to be burned. GM used a cheap gasket to save money but this is a safety issue when coolant and oil is being burned up internally at an unusual speed of time. The second unknown issue is, will this cause a fire?

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #49

Feb 142012

Impala 6-cyl

  • 118,259 miles
About weeks before the incident, my car seem to misfire. The car was parked for 3 days. When tried to start it, the engine exploded and caught fire. The intake manifold and motor oil cover and some other engine parts exploded out of car. When contacted GM and mentioned the incident, no action was taken by GM and the refuse to take any action or acknowledge any responsibility. It appears that same engine has issues which caused a recall on April 14, 2009. The symptoms/cause are described as: "GM recalled 1.5 million vehicles with this engine on April 14, 2009 due to risk of fire from engine oil leaking under the valve cover gaskets onto hot exhaust manifolds. The fire could spread to the nearby plastic spark plug wire retainers on the valve cover and then to the rest of the engine compartment. GM fitted the affected vehicles with redesigned spark plug wire retainers.[3] these engines were noted for having problems with the plastic upper intake manifold cracking around the egr passage. The engine would then vapor lock. " I did take my car to dealership to take care of this recall but it appears that it does not fix the problem and it still exists and my car is totaled. But GM has told me that according to Texas law it is not responsible for any issues after 4 years from the purchase date.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #48

Jan 162012

Impala

  • 126,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that coolant was leaking out of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the lower plentun was melting as a result of it being too close to the motor and recommended having the component replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and the current mileage was 126,000.

- Fredonia, NY, USA

problem #47

Nov 282011

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
While driving this car it would just stall or die as if someone had reached over and shut the car off and would not start for a few days. I have brought this car to two mechanics and neither were able to stop the problem but told me that different parts were the culprit, so 800 dollars later I have replaced the fuel filter, fuel pump, crank shaft position sensor, mass air flow sensor, replaced the battery, tested the alternator, tested the fuel injectors both hot and cold, tested the ignition module and still the car died leaving my child and I stranded on the side of the freeway in cold temperatures. I then called a GM dealership whom said another $120 just to look at it and said they couldn't find the problem. This is outrageous!

- Pine City , MN, USA

problem #46

Nov 012011

Impala 6-cyl

  • 248,643 miles
Coolant leak at gasket between black frp (fiberglass reinforced plastic) upper intake manifold / plenum and metal intake manifold near throttle body. NHTSA 10006144.

- Hopkinton, MA, USA

problem #45

Jul 232011

Impala

  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that when driving at various speeds, the vehicle would suddenly stall without warning. After waiting a while she was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they advised her that they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 57,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- St Pete Beach, FL, USA

problem #44

May 012009

Impala 6-cyl

  • 200,000 miles
My car (a 2000 Chevrolet Impala, 3.8L V6 engine) repeatedly died as I was driving or stalled. It became a huge safety issue, especially when I would be driving at high speeds on the freeway with nowhere to pull over. I took it in, but diagnostics showed nothing. I kept replacing parts, but to no avail. I felt unsafe driving anywhere and even got a bike so I wouldn't be facing near-death experiences every time I drove. Eventually I found a message board that suggested replacing the crankshaft position sensor. I just did and am hoping it works. Something needs to be done about this though, it's crazy to have to go years with a faulty car and no one can find a fix for it.

- South Jordan, UT, USA

problem #43

Jan 132009

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
2000 Chevrolet Impala caught a fire and totaled. Consumer received recall notice after the fire.

- West Point, NE, USA

problem #42

Jun 152009

(reported on)

Impala 6-cyl

  • miles
Safety recall 09047 for 2000 Chevrolet Impala. The consumer stated the reason for the oil seepage onto the exhaust manifold was due to the valve covers being made of plastic and it required frequent gasket changes, because the covers did not properly compress the gasket. The consumer stated the only effective remedy would be to replace the valve covers with metal ones, which would compress the gasket more evenly and prevent oil leakage onto the exhaust manifold.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #41

Jun 082009

Impala 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Impala. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling). The remedy stated that the dealer will remove the spark plug wire retention channel at the front of engine and install two new spark plug wire retainers for free. Oil has already begun leaking from the contact's vehicle; therefore, the remedy would be insufficient in correcting the failures. The manufacturer did not assist. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 105,000 and current mileage was 140,000. Updated 07/17/09 the consumer stated the recall was performed on June 25th. The consumer insisted that the technician tell him where the oil leak was coming from. The oil leak was coming from the front valve cover gasket, which was below the spark plug wires and spark plug wire retainers. The spark plug wire retainers that they replaced had no evidence of oil, therefore the leak was not related to the recall and did not pose a safety threat. Updated 07/21/09.

- Sheveport, LA, USA

problem #40

Oct 072006

Impala

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Impala. Three years ago, the vehicle caught fire under the hood. The contact recently received a GMC recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 09V116000 (engine and engine cooling). He was able to extinguish the fire. A report was filed with the manufacturer and they stated that they would call the contact back. He has not yet received a return call. The current and failure mileages were 108,000.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #39

Jun 012008

Impala

  • miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Impala. While the vehicle was parked in the garage, the contact heard a loud banging noise. She immediately noticed flames under the hood. The power windows and locks failed and trapped the contact in the vehicle momentarily. The fire spread to the side of the garage and caused minor property damage. The manufacturer would not assist with the repairs and only offered $1,000 towards the purchase of a new vehicle. She received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 09V116000, which stated that if the manifold is hot enough and the oil runs below the heat shield, it may ignite into a small flame and spread to the plastic spark plug wire channel and beyond, increasing the risk of an engine compartment fire. A police report was filed. The failure and current mileages were unknown.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #38

Oct 012008

Impala

  • miles
I've been having this problem for about 6 months now I have an 2000 Chevy Impala and I hear a knocking noise when ever I push the gas, reverse, turn, or hit a small bump. I have taken it to the auto shop several times and they cant figure out the problem. Have you guys ever heard any repairs for this.

- Ft Wayne, IN, USA

problem #37

Oct 132008

Impala 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 171,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start. She attempted to start the vehicle again and it exploded. There was no fire just a spark and smoke.. the vehicle was towed to the dealer and they confirmed the failure. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a report. She was informed that a field inspector would inspect the vehicle and make a determination regarding the issue. The vehicle was inspected and the contact was informed that compensation would not be provided because the vehicle was not under warranty. The failure mileage was 171,000. Updated 3/5/09 updated 03/10/09.

- Quapaw, OK, USA

problem #36

Aug 042008

Impala

  • 140,000 miles
I had drove my car about 10 miles, park my car and went inside the waterpark. They call for the person driving the Chevy Impala to come up top, . I was the told my car was smoking, I proceeding out the door and their were flames coming out from under my hood. I went back in and told them to call the fire department.. my whole motor was in flames by the time they got there. My car was then total out and we still don't know what cause the fire.

- Aberdeen, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »