10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,251 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chevrolet Impala:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #39

Apr 102009

Impala

  • 45,000 miles
2000 Impala. Less than 50,000 miles. Rack and pinion needs replacing. Checking with other owners appears this is a common problem. No help from dealership. Appears GMC continued to use a known defective unit for years. Will not fix under warranty.

- Harrisonburg, VA, USA

problem #38

Nov 152000

Impala

  • 6,000 miles
My fingers developed curvatures and twisted knuckles. I developed lower back pain. Shoulder pain. Neck pain. Carpal tunnel. Sciatic pain. Required physical therapy because I could not lift my arm above shoulder height. The stiff "high effort" steering was resulting in my body generating forces to overcome the resistance of the steering system which were resulting in shock loads to my skeletal system joints and bones. Other drivers of the stiff steering Chevrolet Impala, Saturn's, Pontiac Grand Am, pick up trucks all experience the same deformities with hand/finger functional losses. Updated 05/27/10.

- Gagetwon, MI, USA

problem #37

Mar 032007

Impala

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Impala. The contact stated that the front end of her vehicle vibrates severely. The tie rod ends, rack, transmission mounts, tires, intermediate shaft, and both axles have been replaced, but the vibration still persists. On March 6, 2009, the contact took the vehicle to a certified mechanic and paid $600 to have the vehicle repaired. The dealer was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer informed her to take the vehicle to another dealer for diagnostic testing, which would cost $88. The failure mileage was 125,000.

- Centreville, IN, USA

problem #36

Aug 022008

Impala

  • 110,000 miles
The steering intermittently locks or is difficult to turn beyond a certain angle. It occurs most often when making a left turn. Working the wheel back and forth usually loosens. Several times I took it to mechanics, but they were unable to reproduce the problem.

- Perry, OH, USA

problem #35

Jul 022006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,345 miles
Intermediate shaft sticks and makes clunking sounds while driving. Tsb suggested lubrication kit, that fix was not successful. Replaced shaft, new shaft has developed same problem. The design appears flawed and possibly dangerous to have a steering component binding. To my knowledge there is no permanent fix for this and a new intermediate shaft with the same design is not a permanent solution.

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #34

Dec 182006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
I am the original owner of a 2000 Chevy Impala with 85,000 miles. Intermediate steering shaft fails every 20-25,000 miles. It has been replaced three times already, and is failing again. Dealer admits it is a design flaw that affects all 2000-2005 design Impala's. you know it is failing when you feel clunking and looseness in the steering at low speeds when cornering. I have talked with many other Impala owners, and they have identical problems. Costs $250 every time this part must be replaced. This is a significant safety concern when a critical steering component repeatedly fails.

- Springboro, OH, USA

problem #33

Aug 252006

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles
: the contact stated while pulling out of the driveway on normal road conditions at 5 mph, the steering column locked and could not be pulled to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who were currently examining the vehicle. No repairs were made.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #32

Aug 032006

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
: the contact stated while turning at various speeds, the steering column made a grinding noise and the steering wheel shook. The dealership determined the steering shaft needed to be replaced. The consumer declined to have the steering shaft replaced. Updated 08/25/06.

- Loves Park, IL, USA

problem #31

Mar 072006

(reported on)

Impala

  • miles
Ltr re defective steering systems in numerous automobiles especially the 2000 Chevrolet Impala causes carpal tunnel, hands and finger deformalties.

- Gagetown, MI, USA

problem #30

May 122005

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
Hard to steer. Clunking, popping noise coming from front end. Last year steering shaft replaced (intermediate steering shaft, 12/21/04). Then in January problem started. Feels like power steering comes and goes.

- Mornoe, NC, USA

problem #29

May 012004

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I started hearing a "clunking" in the front end. I can also feel "jerking" in steering. It is especially dominant when I am going slower and using brakes, I seem to be able to feel and hear it better when slightly turning to the right. I can also be stopped and just taking off to make a turn and can hear the clunking. I am scared that something is going to fall off someday and I will have no steering. Had it look at and mechanic thought it was a broken tie rod end he found on right side, that was repaired 2/7/05.. but clunking and jerkiness is still there.

- Trumansburg, NY, USA

problem #28

Nov 192004

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
The consumer was having a problem with the intermediate steering shaft. The consumer received a recall notice on the manifold. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer and had the fuel system checked and was charged $124.85. Provide further details.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #27

Dec 052002

Impala

  • 30,000 miles
Ltr re defective steering system in numerous automobiles especially the 2000 Chevy Impala which caused hand and finger deformalties to the consumer. The consumer purchased a 2000 vehicle and stated that he watched his fingers become bent and twisted as a result of steering. The consumer stated that side view mirror height obstructs the view of the on-coming traffic.

- Gagetown, MI, USA

problem #26

Apr 012002

Impala

  • miles
Steering wheel and front wheel drive effort. The consumer has had and on going problem with the steering of the vehicle. Meetings with the representatives of GM has already taken place, but the steering system has not been repaired. The consumer was discouraged and wants further investigations. The consumer had severe pains in his and fingers and hands from trying to steer the vehicle.

- Gagetown , MI, USA

problem #25

May 272004

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,560 miles
On July 4, 2003 my 2000 Chevrolet Impala was lubed at the Chevrolet dealership because of steering issues. The car would vibrate, pop, and jerk when accelerating, slowing down or making turns and steering becomes very tight and difficult to turn. It took 3 separate visits to the dealership before they discovered what they thought was the source of the problem. I have several children and I am greatly concerned about our safety. I do not know what else to do because this seems to be a recurring problem with many 2000 Impala. I did a lot of reseach and found other complaints on your site due to the same issue, as well as complaints on www.impalahq.com. I've also read issues where some police departments are using this same model and they have reported accidents due to steering lost, which seems to be related to the intermediate steering shaft issues. The last steering shaft lube was 11 months ago and cost me $140. Looks like I will have to have this service done every 10-12 months to keep this car from loosing steering. I can not put a price on the safety of my children, but I can inform other and hope Chevy will find a solution to this problem quickly.

- Barnwell, SC, USA

problem #24

Mar 152003

Impala

  • 24,243 miles
A/C emits foul odors (mold/mildew). Brakes pulsate, warning & ABS lights come on. Check engine lights come on, stalled once, uncontrolled acceleration from start up twice. Steering: Intermediate shaft replaced at 42,618 miles; rack & pinion leaking at 65,307 popping & muffled explosion sound in cold weather start ups, paint peeled off front & bumper of car. Weather stripping adhesive liquifies on door posts in hot weather. Airbag warning light comes

- Norman, OK, USA

problem #23

Mar 012004

(reported on)

Impala 6-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
While driving at 15 to 20 mph vehicle intermittently stalled. Consumer took the vehicle to the dealer but they can't locate the source of the problem. In addition, knocking and jerking in steering wheel when turning, and it was found that intermediate shaft created noise. Intermediate shaft was replaced under warranty.

- Miami Shores, FL, USA

problem #22

Dec 202003

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
There are 2 problems with the car I bought: 1. we have experienced a problem with the paint on the bumpers--it peels off. 2. the steering shaft on this car was popping and the steering wheel had play at about 30,000 miles and they replaced the shaft and told me there shouldn't be another problem. Now the car has about 90,000 miles and when it had 70,000 it started the same steering problems it had before. Does it take injuries or failed steering to get someone to look at this as a problem with this make and model"??" I gave up arguing about #1 even though the paint isn't the way it should be. Number 2 is a problem that should be addressed before someone gets hurt, when the dealer had to pay before I should not have to pay now!!!

- Kingsville, MO, USA

problem #21

Sep 102001

Impala 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,768 miles
2000 Chevrolet Impala intermediate steering shaft failure. Defective steering part that Chevrolet refuses to acknowledge and fix. Replaced part in 2001, replaced part in 2002, filled part with grease in 2003. This part is defective and should be redesigned and provided to all customers that purchased these vehicles at no cost to the consumer.

- Eglin Afb, FL, USA

problem #20

Nov 192003

Impala

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2000 Impala has a clunking noise when making left hand turns. Dealer put in a new steering shaft but the problem returned after another 12,000 miles on the car. It is an intermittent clunking and seems to be a permanent unrepairable defect in the car.

- Fox Island, WA, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »