10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,740 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #54

Feb 152007

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevy Malibu. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle stalled and shut off without warning when she attempted to accelerate. She was able to restart the vehicle after waiting approximately 40 minutes. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The warning indicator light illuminated when trying to restart the vehicle; however, details re: The warning indicator was not in the manual. The warning indicator was of someone sitting in the seat and the contact confirmed that it was not related to the seat belt. The left and right turn signals failed intermittently, unless the hazard button is used. There is a recall for the exterior lighting hazard flashing warning lights switch (NHTSA campaign #03V327000); however, the dealer stated that her VIN was not included. The current mileage was 144,778. Updated 02-01-08.

- Westminster, SC, USA

problem #53

Nov 152006

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact found recall number 03V327000 (exterior lighting:hazard flashing warning lights:switch), but the dealer stated that his VIN was not included. The contact stated that he is experiencing the same failure as noted in the recall. He stated that the turn signals have not worked for the past ten months. The hazard lights began activating by themselves when the vehicle was shut off and the key was not in the ignition. The failure was intermittent originally, but is now constant. The purchase date was unknown. The current mileage was 119,000 and failure mileage was 100,000.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #52

Aug 112006

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles
: the contact stated the turn signals worked intermittently. There was a NHTSA recall, # 03V327000, regarding the exterior lighting:hazard flashing warning lights:switch. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. Updated 9/15/2006 -

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #51

May 252006

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles
: the contact stated the both turn signals worked intermittently. There were no warning indicators prior to each failure. In order for the turn signal to work, the hazard warning button must be depressed. The vehicle has not been seen by the service dealer, however the manufacturer was alerted. There is a NHTSA recall, # 03V327000, regarding the exterior lighting. The VIN was not included in the recall.

- Gary, IN, USA

problem #50

Oct 142005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
A faulty hazard switch causes the turn signals to intermittently stop working at the most in opportune time. On one occasion it almost resulted in a serious accident. The switch was replaced for the same reason by the dealership on April 15, 2002. It is now malfunctioning again only much more frequently than before. I see that there is a recall for this issue on 2000/2001 Malibu owners(id number 03V327000) but the dealership states that my VIN number does not show up in the recall. He also claims that since the part was already replaced once it would not be covered again. I searched the web and noticed that owners of 2002 Malibu are also complaining of the same problem. So, it is not just an isolated issue. Since I never use the hazard switch it can't possibly have gone bad because of wear and tear. Nor is it a part that would be used frequently enough to wear out. There is obviously a serious safety defect with the part.

- Pittsford, NY, USA

problem #49

Oct 102005

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,940 miles
GM's recall #03V327000 which states that the hazard light switch is defective and will keep the turn signals from flashing. My 2000 Malibu is having this trouble, but since the VIN is not within the break points, I will have to pay to have it fixed.

- Little Egg Harbor, NJ, USA

problem #48

Sep 232005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,004 miles
Hazard flasher began working intermittently, then the turn signals began working intermittently. No pattern, they would be on then go off. I was in heavy freeway traffic with no turn signal or hazard flasher. I was able to get off the freeway and drive home using arm signals and slowing to allow faster traffic to pass me. The consumer wishes to withdrawal the complaint he filed with NHTSA. The manufacturer has agreed to remedy the vehicle's problem at no cost to the consumer. The consumer was told the recall did no apply to his vehicle identification number. The washer pump was replaced due to a leak.

- South Charleston, OH, USA

problem #47

Sep 262005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,430 miles
While driving at night and when I used my turn signal on for a left turn. It did not operate. My mechanic told me about a safety recall for my vehicle. I contacted team Chevrolet here in Colorado springs, co and was told there was no recall for my 2000 Chevrolet Malibu.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #46

Jul 092005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns 2000 Chevrolet Malibu. The turn signals/four-way hazard lights intermittently go on/off, and sometimes they are completely inoperable. The contact noticed this about two months ago, and it has gotten progressively worse. He has not taken vehicle to a dealer. A mechanic told him there was a recall 03V327000. General Motors told him that this vehicle was not covered under the recall due to VIN.

- Huber Heights, OH, USA

problem #45

Jul 012005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles
Contact stated the hazard warning flashing switch failed. The first time he used it within 1 minute of turning the flashers on. He cited recall #03V327000. GM told him this vehicle was not included in the recall due to VIN although was having the exact same problems as mentioned in the recall. This occurred about six weeks ago. Had the switch replaced. There were no other problems.

- East Grand Forks, MN, USA

problem #44

May 052005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have already filed complaint in regards to the hazard light recall, which for some reason does not cover my 2000 Malibu. I noticed other complaints on the Malibu and figured I would throw my two cents in. I to have had to drop over $1000 dollars into the most defective car I have purchased this includes the $200 piece of junks I bought when I was a teenager. My list of problems. 1. coolant system leak cost $700 note: Mechanic laughed and said this happens all the time is this type of engine. In reviewing other complaints, the one really stands out. Nice I am glad GM owns up to its problems. 2. brakes constantly need to be replaced well below mileage. Glad GM saved a few bucks under sizing the rotors. 3. within a year the fans switch (levels 1,2) and lighter stopped working. Boy GM is saving lots money now. 4. within the past year I had fuel pump failure, nothing like traveling in rush hour traffic doing 75mph and car totally dieing. Boy GM has made one quality car. 5. the last insult, my first and likely last GM product is when I thought boy I finally get something from GM in regards to one small defect, the hazard switch, I find out that my vehicle is not covered by this recall. Wow not only I am out at least $1000 bucks on piece of crap product, GM does not even want to give a bone to hungry man. With this type of product it is no wonder GM is losing market share faster than any other automotive company. Keep up the good work GM. Clearly the are some serious defects with this vehicle and the GM's ownership with defects.

- Clinton Twp, MI, USA

problem #43

May 012004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer stated the signal lights worked intermittently or sometimes they did not work at all. Recall 03V327000 concerning hazard warning switch was issued. Consumer indicated that the recall was the problem with the vehicle.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #42

Jan 172005

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Chev. 2000 Malibu recall 03043 (03V327000). Unable to get recall completed due to no parts available. At sloane Chevrolet service department (cottman ave., phila, pa.) on 1/17/05: Arrangements were made over 1 week in advance to come in for the recall. Recall description & recall number & VIN number were given to the Chevrolet dealer service department so they could br sure to have what's necessary to complete the service. Despite this, the dealer did not have the parts necessary to do the recall! this is after I made arrangements to get the work done while I was off from work, and traveled there on a treacherous snowy day. Suggestion was made by the dealer (sloane chev.) to contact another dealership, make arrangements to bring the car in for the recall, and then hope that they have the part. Obviously Chevrolet/GM does not want to get this recall completed!

- Bensalem, PA, USA

problem #41

Dec 132004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
Consumer complained about hazard warning lights. The turn signals/hazard lamps become intermittent or inoperative. Consumer contacted the dealer who offered a diagnostic test to determine the cause. Consumer later contacted manufacturer, who notified consumer that this vehicle was not included in a recall due to VIN although she experienced the same defect that was mentioned in the recall.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #40

Jul 262004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Turn signal failure on 2000 Chevrolet Malibu on numerous occasions. Had to put on hazard lights which sometimes also would not work. Hazard switch replaced at authorized Chevy dealership on 7/26/04 at a cost or $135.07. Just recently noticed on your website that recall 03V327000 had been issued on 2/5/04 by General Motors. Called Chevy recall customer service on 11/29/04 to inquire why I never received a recall notice and was told my car VIN # not on list for recall due to date car was manufactured. In the process of trying to reach an agreement for reimbursement since experienced same problem contained in the recall. Believe you should reopen investigation for General Motors to amend recall for cars experiencing same problem but not on their original recall list.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #39

Nov 182004

Malibu

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,500 miles
Recall 03V327000/hazard warning switch. Signal lights worked intermittently. Consumer took the vehicle to the dealer and contacted the manufacturer, and was told that this vehicle was not included in this recall due to VIN although it experienced the same defects that were described in the recall.

- Ocean Springs, MS, USA

problem #38

Nov 042004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The consumer stated that the turn signal intermittently failed. A recall was issued. However, the vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. The problem would also occur while in motion making a left or right hand turn.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #37

Jul 012004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Blinkers work when they want to.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #36

Mar 202004

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
Recall 03V327000/hazard warning switch: The turn signals / hazard lights worked intermittently. Dealer was notified, and informed the consumer that this vehicle was not covered under the recall.

- Turtle Creek, WV, USA

problem #35

Oct 082004

Malibu 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,800 miles
Recall 03V327000 concerning hazard warning switch. The turn signals / hazard lights worked intermittently. Dealer/ manufacturer werenotified, and they informed the consumer that vehicle was not covered under the recall.

- Pomeroy, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »