10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 2
Average Mileage:
83,857 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #93

Nov 032010

Malibu

  • 15,578 miles
Brake lights come one when driving and brake pedal is not pressed. Brake lights go off when brakes are pressed. Been to the dealer 3 times and they put some gel on the BCM connection as per a safety bulletin from GM. It fixed problem for a week. Problem has returned 4 times now. I think NHTSA should take my car to the test track and prove that a safety recall should be made on this vehicle. NHTSA did once prior take my Chevy Tahoe 1997 to the test track and proved that GM had indeed had an electronic issue. So please come get my car and test the brake light switch or BCM. It is unsafe and thousands have complained about the same item on the internet. I indicate in the form the first time it happened, it has never worked for a long period of time matter of facti took it to service facility today 7/24/17 again :smegggy@yahoo.com

- Brecksville, OH, USA

problem #92

Jan 152017

Malibu

  • 125,900 miles
While in motion going to fl on rt 95 my speed control stopped working, what I didn't know until I got to fl. That my break lights were on all the time and when I would hit the breaks they would go off and then come back on. I took the car to a dealer in fl and they could not dublacate the problem. They did replace the third break light and after researching about the problem I told them to change the break peddle switch. I drove back from fl to pa. With no problems. I know there were recalls about the BCM and did receive other letters that if a break light problem like above would happen to take it to a dealer. This is a very dangerous problem. Sent reinversment papers tochev. But they sent me S letter telling me they would not pay for repairs.

- Jim Thorpe, PA, USA

problem #91

Oct 012016

Malibu

  • 66,000 miles
While driving, brake lights will illuminate without depressing them, and brake lights won't illuminate while pressed. Opposite of what's supposed to be. This has been intermittent. Sometimes brake warning light comes on in dashboard. Also the ESC light. Have an appointment with Chevy dealer to repair, but was informed they'll fix if not functioning at time of appointment. It's an intermittent problem.

- Wisconsin Rapids, WI, USA

problem #90

Mar 182017

Malibu

  • 15,100 miles
I am reporting two incidents! approximately 6 months ago my break lights starting turning on again (after the recall was fixed a year prior) while diving the vehicle. I would tap the breaks and the light would turn off (giving cars behind me the idea that I was breaking when I wasn't and when I was breaking to slow down, they couldn't tell). It still does this problem. Now as of 3/18/2017 while driving on the highway my "service ESC power steering" light came on. It was very hard to steer off the highway or even get the vehicle home. As I research my vehicle online, these two issues were recalled back in 2014. I don't know if my vehicle was serviced for the power steering recall as I bought the vehicle on 12/26/2014. I do know that the break light recall was serviced because I took my vehicle in for the recall. I have an appointment tomorrow at the Chevrolet dealer, but I know I'm going to have to pay $1200 to $1600 for this repair. Something needs to be done about these recalls! someone needs to make sure they don't continue to happen every year or every other year going forward.

- Lake Villa, IL, USA

problem #89

Dec 152014

Malibu 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received a recall repair for NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (service brakes, hydraulic, electrical system, exterior lighting, vehicle speed control, electronic stability control). Two years later, the brake lights failed to illuminate when applied, but would illuminate when the brake pedal was not depressed. The service ESC and traction control warning indicators flashed. Also, the cruise control shut off and operated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing and repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available. Updated 11/01/17

- Allison Park, PA, USA

problem #88

Feb 102017

Malibu

  • 60,000 miles
I have filed complaint before. Dealership has been working on it. It has set idle now for 2 weeks. Messages service ESC -service stab.-brakes lights stay on-rpms escalates and car chugs down. I have had to dealerships 7 times and independent mechanic 1 time. Have talked to GM numerous times. Finally talked to charles-he had real good advice-trade it off-let some other sucker have the problem-he will allow me $2,500 GM customer loyalty rebate on new car(GM). If you are having the same problem you may call charles at 1-866-790-5600, X5921673. Good luck. This has been ongoing for almost 2 years. 4

- Oktaha, OK, USA

problem #87

Feb 122016

Malibu

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact took the vehicle to be serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (service brakes). The contact was informed that the high mount brake light failed without warning. It was diagnosed that the high mount brake wiring and the light needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 88,000.

- Rocky Mount, VA, USA

problem #86

Jan 292017

Malibu

  • 60,000 miles
I made a complaint on around L/17/17 complaining about my car have service ESC service traction and trying to stall out with brake lights being on> since that time it has been at dealership more than being driven. It is there now, making this the 7th trip to dealership and once to independent mechanic. This is a common problem with Malibu and needs to be resolved by General Motors-not me. You ask for a date when this happened-the space only allows for 1 date. It has been ongoing for over 1 & 1/2 years.

- Oktaha, OK, USA

problem #85

Jan 142017

Malibu

  • 50,000 miles
My 2009 Malibu, which I purchased new in 2009: About 1&1/2 years ago it started running irregular, service ESC-service traction messages came on car skidding emblem came on. I have had it to dealership where I bought it 3 times-each time they could find nothing wrong-took it to independent mechanic-he told me same thing. About a week ago I called General Motors-first person I talked to said to call NHTSA that they couldn't do anything until a recall. Called NHTSA told me to call GM again and start a case: I called and talked to [xxx], who was very helpful and contacted another dealership about fixing my car. I took it to them; they replaced the brake lam switch thinking that would fix it-did not. Called GM again and wads told to take it back to dealership that there was nothing they could do as far as cost for fixing it was concerned. My car is just sitting idle because I am afraid to drive it more than a few miles-afraid it will stall out in traffic. I have looked this up on the internet hoping to get some information as to what is wrong. There are numerous people who are having this same problem with their Malibu. None of the dealerships seem to know what is wrong and owners are stuck with paying to have numerous things replaced that do not fix the problem. It is timer someone took responsibility for this flaw and issue a recall. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Oktaha, OK, USA

problem #84

Dec 072016

Malibu

  • miles
Brake lights, radio, trunk opener on drivers door, left turn signal, doors randomly lock, 3rd brake light dim, sometimes driver door won't open from inside or outside with door unlocked, sometimes drivers door won't shut, 105K miles on this car. This is the most expensive vehicle I've owned and it's the worst vehicle I've ever owned. The drivers door is stuck shut currently.

- Friedens, PA, USA

problem #83

Nov 072016

Malibu

  • 125,000 miles
Driving down an expressway about 60mph and the power steering quit working, a message displayed on my dash "power steering service ESC" the ABS indicator light also displayed at the same time. I have no power steering. My car has approx 125,000 miles on it. I googled the issue and there was a recall for this issue for 2006-2007 Chevy Malibu so I contacted the dealer and they said my car does not have a recall for this issue. I do have a recall that I have not had fixed yet for the brake lamp malfunction 13036 which dealer stated is unrelated issue. I see several other people online are reporting this same issue for the 2009 4 cylinder Chevy Malibu's. I would hope GM will recall this and take care of the problem.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #82

Sep 142008

Malibu

  • 1,500 miles
Airbags deployed when I hit the brakes in 2008.

- Washington Dc, DC, USA

problem #81

Jul 092016

Malibu 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 179,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chevrolet Malibu. While operating the vehicle, the traction control, brake, and ESC sensor lights illuminated. Also, the brake lights would illuminate even though the brake pedal was not depressed. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (electrical system, service brakes). The contact stated that the vehicle experienced the same failure listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 179,000. Updated 10/04/16

- East Alton, IL, USA

problem #80

Jul 012014

Malibu

  • miles
The break lights turn on without the pedal being press down while the car moving. Also while the car in not moving and the engine running. Also another problem that I have is that tire monitor light come on all the time without the tire needing air.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #79

Nov 242014

Malibu

  • 95,000 miles
The brake lights began turning on by themselves, and when I would step on the brake pedal they would shut off. The recall was performed in late 2014, but then the issue began again in may, 2016. The dealership ran the diagnostic tests and replaced the brake pedal position sensor, which I was charged for, but that didn't take care of the problem. Now they decided that they need to replace the brake control module, again, at my expense. There is an ongoing issue with the brake's electrical system, which is a quality control issue at GM. This is a safety issue for everyone involved. The brake lights will come on anytime, whether it's idling in my driveway or being driven down the road.

- Owosso, MI, USA

problem #78

May 252016

Malibu

  • 980,000 miles
Brake lights go on while driving. Then turn off when you hit the brakes to stop or slow down. ESC come on while this is happening. Dealer states they fixed the recall but it is still happening. Now after warranty they say its the ABS module

- Rocky Point, NY, USA

problem #77

May 192016

Malibu

  • 250,000 miles
Recall fix failure - the recall fix was applied by the dealership for the 'brake lights may or may not randomly illuminate' issue, NHTSA action 13005, however it is only temporary. After a few months the identical symptoms occur at the same frequency. No new symptoms are present and no previous symptoms are absent. These include; brake lights illuminating with no pressure on the brake pedal, brake lights turning off when pressure is applied to brake pedal (including holding the brakes at a stop), cruise control failing to activate, traction control turning off, ESC turning off, and vehicle gearing down (as low as 3rd gear at 60 mph before intervention) to assist by engine braking. Most symptoms occur at standstill as well as city and highway speeds. The dealership's stance is that, once a recall is applied, the ticket is closed and is the vehicle owner's responsibility to cover the cost of further fixes.

- Bristol, VA, USA

problem #76

Apr 152016

Malibu

  • 59,000 miles
This is the Malibu hybrid with dynamic braking. This has happened twice: Going up a hill, the engine seems to lose power, but I believe it is working against the brakes which are being applied and released rapidly. It starts bucking slightly then severely. When I reach the top, I put it in neutral and start coasting and the bucking stops. When I apply the brake to pull over and stop, it starts bucking like it did going up the hill. I get the car stopped, put it in park, turn the engine on, put it in reverse, back up a little, put it in drive, go forward a little, and pull out in traffic and continued about 100 miles to get home. Drove into a Chevrolet dealership and a very experienced hybrid tech said "never seen this before." He ran the scanner and nothing showed up. It happens so infrequently that I doubt the technician will ever incur the problem if he were to rive the car, this is serious... only my skillful handling of the incident got me off the road and out of the way although traffic was blowing by me. My guess is a problem in the dynamic braking (e.g when you take your foot off the gas, the "eco" light comes on and the generator on the braking system charges the 24 volt battery.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #75

Apr 072016

Malibu

  • 38,068 miles
In December of 2014, a Chevrolet dealer performed repairs to address NHTSA campaign number: 14V252000 (I had not experienced any problems related to this issue at the time). Recently I have been experiencing the symptoms related to this recall, including the "service ESC" and "service traction" messages, the brake pedal requiring extra pressure to get the vehicle out of park, and the disabling of cruise control. I have not had the opportunity to check if the brake lights also exhibit the problem described in the recall. The problem has triggered while I'm braking, as well as when I was at highway speed with the cruise control engaged, without applying the brakes.

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #74

Dec 212015

Malibu

  • 52,000 miles
While driving my car the traction control light flashes and the service ESC light flashes in the dash of my car. My brake light remain on at all time, when I mash the brakes no brake light comes on. The brake light is doing the opposite of what it is supposed to be doing. This occured months after I had recall work done (at a certified GM dealer) under GM recall number 13036 and NHTSA campaign number 14V252000.

- Washington, DC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »