9.6

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$0
Average Mileage:
11,750 miles
Total Complaints:
20 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (20 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Chrysler dealer.

problem #20

Jul 032015

200 Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles

When driving, accelerating to get onto highways, at stop signs, reversing than going into drive, the car puts itself in neutral, stalls, catches a gear then flings forward. I almost hit multiple people because of this. This vehicle isn't safe but because my VIN number doesn't fall in the recalls they tell me my car is 100% safe and reliable.. I've been dealing with this problem for 4 years and it has to stop. I do not wish this car on anyone, that's why I won't sell it because next time it's gonna cause an accident and hurt someone.

- Rebecca S., Freedom, US

problem #19

Dec 022017

200 LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

First, My auto start disabled itself, not sure why, I changed both batteries in the keyfobs, thinking that's what it was. Then the car doesn't want to start. Says "Auto Start Disabled" . I'm looking for all obvious reasons as to why, I get the monthly health report - says healthy car, and no MIL on. Car still hard to crank. MIL comes, get a diagnostic test no error. light goes out.

Last night, the car didn't want to reverse out of my garage, I had to go forward then reverse.. Slowly leaving my neighborhood, I couldn't accelerate over 32 mph. The car coming to a stop was in the neutral position. I stopped the car to see if this auto center had a diagnostic device and they didn't, I was able to get down the road and get the car to accelerate to 50 mph. AutoZone ran a diagnostic, said it was all dealership codes, that have lead me here. My dash is lit up like Christmas, with Transmission errors, Parking Brake error and yet, when I check the Chrysler site, it still says I have a healthy vehicle.

I just want to get the car fixed, it's obviously a powertrain problem, from what I am reading. How many times do they try to say it's not, after 36000 warranty? I don't want to be taken advantage of.

- geeky, Slidell, US

problem #18

Dec 072016

200 Sport

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,771 miles

Customer's 2015 Chrysler 200 began slipping into neutral. Have had this problem off and on since September 2016. Took the car into dealership and they updated the computer. It stopped until a few months ago then did it again. I've talked to Chrysler and they had me take it back to the dealership. I took the transmission guy for a test drive and of course it didn't do it. The dealership employee told me they can't even open up the transmission without permission from Chrysler. The manager told me to leave the car and I'd be given a temporary car while they look at it.

However, took the car to dealership today and no replacement cars were available. Still waiting to talk to Chrysler rep again. The only troubleshooting that I've found works is put it into neutral and back into drive. Chrysler rep stated earlier when I spoke to her that she wasn't aware of any issues such as this even though I told her that I read about problems when I looked it up on internet. She just told me to take the car in again and try to duplicate issue with dealership employee. The way to contact Chrysler is to go on their site and message them, then someone will call you a day or so later. I specified the issue and details on message.

- Jan G., Carlsbad, NM, US

problem #17

Aug 122015

200 V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 600 miles

This problem had happened consistently while I was driving luckily no crashes. The check engine light came on in January of 2017 and Chrysler has many reports and a silent recall.

- Lili E., New Baltimore, MI, US

problem #16

Apr 052015

200 4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles

So frustrated with this car!!! The first year we had it, it was in the shop 8 times because the car would shift into neutral while I was driving. Very scary on the freeway. I have been in over 4 near collisions, avoided by the careful driving of others around me. Once on a bridge returning from the dealer after having it fixed the fourth time, it went into neutral and when I put it into park, it would not restart, would not turn off. It had to be towed while still running. Very scary to be towed on a narrow bridge. I feel like I'm going to die in this car. The mechanics were very frustrated too. Finally, after 8 repairs, it ran well for about 8 months and I thought the problem was gone. Then last night, again, it shifted into neutral! The dealer explained that even though the car has been recalled all that means is that they keep trying to fix it again and again and arbitration takes 2-3 years. Meanwhile I bought this car new, so what I owe is far more than it's value, but really no one should own this car.

- Michelle L., Syracuse, UT, US

problem #15

Jul 212015

200 C

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles

Girlfriend was driving this P.O.S on her way to work in the morning. She called saying that she was a block away at a stop sign and warning lights were going off. The car would not drive and the Shift Knob was just going between park and drive, but neither would work. It was like spinning a top. I drove down and we turned the car off. Started the process to call a tow company. About 10 minutes later right before I was confirming the tow, I turned the car on, it started and I was able to put it in gear. She drove the car the rest of the day with no further problems that day

Wednesday July 22nd I receive another call from girlfriend complaining of the same problem we had on July 21st. She was driving down the road this time. Heard a loud clunk and the car would not accelerate. She pulled off the side of the road. Same issue as above. Warning lights going off complaining about the transmission, shift it into park, AWD. She parked the car, called the Chrysler and they were sending a tow truck. I arrived and started the car. Saw the same warning lights. Attempted to put it in drive. It would not engage. Same issue as day before, it would just toggle between Drive and Park.

We were close to the dealer so we drove down there while the tow truck was en route. Tow company called us and reported that they brought the wrong truck and that it would be another hour. I went back to the car. Started it. Engine light was on, but the car finally shift into Drive. Since we were only a few miles from the dealership we drove it down there.

July 27th the dealership calls and informs me they have been on the phone with Chrysler engineers troubleshooting this issue. Troubleshooting this issue! You would think Chrysler would know what is wrong based upon the codes!!!!!!!!

July 28th - Called and stated it was fixed based upon Chrysler's Tech Support - they changed the transmission control module. Read another complaint here stating the same thing. We went and picked up the car at the dealership.

See next complaint while in the dealership parking lot. I'll give you a hint on what the next complaint will be - Same problem as above.

Update from Aug 8, 2015: 08/08/2015

Dealership called and informed us the car was ready on 08-07-2015. We were unable to pick up unit 08-08 at 9am. Girlfriend drove the car home and then to the store. Later in the afternoon she was driving the car and backed up out of a driveway the car would not go into any gear - it was like it was stuck in park. She had turned the car on and off several times and it would finally go into drive.

When I got there the car seemed to be ok, other then the engine light being on. I put the car in reverse and backed up maybye10 feet put the Car in drive and then the issue happened. Warning messages seen while it was acting strange. Shift to P then desired gear Service Park Brake. Tried to toggle the shift knob from Park to drive - got different message while moving it back and forth Service Transmission. AWD System Temporarily Unavailable, Service Park Brake. The engine light, the awd light and Parking brake light were all on.

Turning the car on and off several times finally cleared the issue and I was able to drive to dealership. Engine light stayed on but all others were gone.

- Michael L., Monaca, US

problem #14

Jul 282015

200 C

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles

July 28th continued from previous complaint since this is a continuation of existing problem but the dealership reported it fixed.

Recap Car will go into neutral or will not engage Park or drive Warning lights flashing saying to put in Park (which you cannot put in any gear) Warning lights for the engine and transmission Warning lights about AWD Happens while driving 6 Days in the shop up to this point.

The dealership called and said Chrysler suggested replacing the "transmission control module" and that they had replaced that. We could pick up the car either tonight or tomorrow morning. She went and picked the car up. They told her that they put 80 miles (on my leased vehicle) test driving it with no reported problems. She backs up the car in the dealership parking lot - Guess What??????? it happened again. Flashing warning lights, would not engage in gear, shes on a hill and cannot take her foot off the break for fear of rolling backwards.

Mechanics came up and apologized and said they were just following Chrysler's Tech Support's recommendation

Spoke with dealership and they stated they will talk with Chrysler again in the a.m.

Back in the shop.

Side note - I called Chrysler customer care from the beginning. All they do is call the shop to find out the status and call me to update me. The dealership already does this. They are not much help.

- Michael L., Monaca, US

problem #13

Jul 092015

200 V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles

I was pulling out of a parking lot onto a busy road where cars go 55 mph. When I stepped on the gas, the car started to go and then all of a sudden seemed to slip in to neutral and stopped accelerating. I had to quick steer off to the side of the road because cars were coming at me and my car would not get up and go. I am taking it to the dealer tomorrow. I've only had the car about a month. I'm really disappointed and scared to drive it.

My husband is a war injured veteran. We saved our money to purchase a brand new vehicle so I wouldn't have to worry about things like this happening. We needed something reliable. Our 19 yr old son also drives this car, and I am now worried one of us could be killed - as its very dangerous to have your car stop going when you are turning in to traffic!!!

- kpatti, Bradenton, FL, US

problem #12

Jun 102015

200 S 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles

I bought my 2015 Chrysler 200 S brand new in October of 2014. Since then it has been in the shop at the dealership 6 times including right now. After the first time I took it in for an oil change, it started saying service electronic throttle control and wouldn't accelerate. I took it to the dealership and they said they didn't find any problems with it. The day after I got it back I had the same problem.

They replaced the oil temp sensor and everything was fine. A few months ago my car started stalling while I was going down the highway (75-80mph), I was able to coast and pull over but could not shift into park. Car said service transmission and shift into park to start. I pushed the button to turn the car off but it wouldn't turn off completely. After a few minutes I was able to put the car into park and then start it again. I called the dealership and told them about the problem and I was told to call back in 2 weeks because their transmission tech was not available. My car continued to do this, getting worse each time, taking longer to start back up.

The second time I called the dealership I was told the same thing, to call back in two weeks. I also notified them of a recall notice I received for the parking rod. One day I was driving down the highway on my way to work when the same thing happened again. After 30 minutes of trying to get the car to start I called the dealership and they told me to call roadside assistance, so I did. After another 30 minutes or so I finally get it to start and drive it to the dealership. They kept it for maybe an hour, said they updated the transmission and fixed it. They once again told me I would have to call back in two weeks to get the recall looked at because they were too busy. After this my car started over heating frequently.

Almost two weeks later I went to leave for work one morning and my car wouldn't start at all. It said service park break, performance shifting unavailable, service trans, stop safely, shut off engine to engage park. After an hour it would still not start. I had to call roadside assistance to have it towed to the dealership.They would not provide me with a loaner or rental car. After a week of having no idea what was wrong with it they finally replaced the transmission module and said it was fixed. I was told the car was overheating which was causing it to shut down and lock up. I told the service manager that this problem had been going on long before the car started overheating. But he assured me that they had my car fixed.

The next day I was driving through an intersection when my car stalled out again and I almost got hit. I had my two kids with me, so, at this point I was very irritated. I had already missed days of work, been late, and had to leave early because of this problem. I went to the dealership and spoke to one of the sales managers about the problem I was having. I told him that I did not want the car back and that I wanted something reliable. He informed me that I could not trade my car in because I owe much more than it will be appraised for and a bank will probably not finance me.

He advised me to contact Chrysler and request trade assistance. I called them right then and was told I would receive a call back in 2 days. The dealership did give me a loaner at this point. I have spoke to the same lady from Chrysler several times and she tells me the same thing every time, that she will contact the dealership to make sure they are fixing my car and once it is fixed she will review my case and make a decision.

The dealership had my car for two weeks, the entire time I spoke to the service manager daily or every other day for an update. Each time he told me they had not diagnosed the problem and were working closely with Chrysler to fix it. Last Wednesday they called me and told me my car was ready to be picked up. They said that it was a loose connector and they fixed it. So once again I had to leave work early to go get it. (I live an hour away from the dealership and work another hour away from that.) I drove it home and the very next morning it did the same thing, wouldn't start and warning messages popping up just like before.

Once again I had to have it towed back to the dealership. It is still there and they still do not know what is wrong with it. I have spoke to Chrysler and requested a reimbursement for my car payment since I am paying five hundred dollars a month on a car that I can't even drive. They have yet to give me a response.

I am completely fed up with this car and company. I really do not even want the trade assistance, because I do not want another car from this company. I should feel safe in the car that I buy and I don't think I should have to settle for a car that I don't want because the brand new car I bought from them is a piece of crap. I would just go trade it in the next time they give it back to me but I owe more on it than it is worth and I do not have anything for a down payment. I just traded in a car and put down money on this car less than a year ago. I'm contacting a lawyer and hopefully I will get a new car soon. Even if the dealership thinks they fix it I do not want it back.

- Angela J., Seymour, TX, US

problem #11

May 072015

200 S 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,062 miles

There have been problems with slipping into neutral several times now. At first I thought I was hitting the shifters accidentally. It would slip into neutral even though it was in drive. I would shift to neutral and back to drive and it would be OK. Problem is much more serious now. It stalls intermittently regardless of speed and last time happened on the expressway. Last occurrence this was the problem sequence. While driving 60 mph I get a "Service Parking Brake" message. Next a "Service Transmission" message and the car slips into neutral and all the indicators over the shift knob illuminate. I barely made it onto the shoulder without dying. I tried turning it off to reset.. nothing. 10 minutes later it started. Time before it would not reset for 2 hours. I had to pull the lead off the battery.

I have had it in to the shop 3 times now. They seem more interested in getting their loaner back then fixing my car. I asked for a new trans since it seems that has fixed a few of these. Dealer refused. 1st couple times I had it in they pretended that I was the only one in the world with this issue. I have contacted a lawyer.

Update from Sep 8, 2015: Supposedly there is an upcoming recall for the electrical connector for the transmission. Called the dealer they do not recognize the recall. My car is in the shop for the 4th time. It has stalled 8 times in the last 4 days

- Ron A., Orland Park, IL, US

problem #10

May 202015

200 S V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles

My car has been to the shop twice after shifting into neutral while I was driving unto the interstate. I had to pay for the extra miles from the tow and i wasn't given a rental vehicle for either incident. My car is currently at the dealership and they are saying that they can't diagnose or fix the issue and that they would get back to me. I will never buy another Chrysler.

- Anthony R., Fairburn, GA, US

problem #9

Jun 302015

200 Sport 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,375 miles

click to see larger images

slips into netural while driving slips into netural while driving slips into netural while driving

I was driving on the 407 ETR toll hi-way with speeds of 120km (74mi) when all of a sudden, it sounded a chime and the transmission slips in to neutral and the car started slowing down while on a busy fast hi-way. I was able to pull on the emergency lane before the car stopped and kept my foot on the brakes as the rotary gear won't respond as it if was locked. I was able to pull the parking brake and remove my foot from pressing the brakes.

At this point, I don't know that to do so I turned off the car while trying to find the number for roadside assistance. While on-hold for like 3 minutes, I tried starting the car and from there, I noticed the display from the instrument panel that it's on "P". I tried putting it in to "D" and it responded like nothing happened. So I hung up the phone and drove the car home, from there I immediately called the dealer to report the issue. The funny thing is, the service adviser seemed not too concerned of what happened and passed me to the front desk to get a schedule for the car to be service. I told the girl that I have bought the car a month and a half ago because I received a recall letter from Chrysler regarding R08. The earlier schedule given to me was Monday, July 6. Since this car is still under warranty, I wonder if they can trace the issue properly as when I bought the car for service due to that recall. It only took them 6 hours (assuming that they work on it as soon as I dropped the car) to replace whatever part they told me. I will see how they would handle this when I bring it over on July 6.

Update from Jul 14, 2015: Just an update...after the 3rd incident of my Chrysler 200S which slips into neutral while driving. I bought the car to the dealer 3 times, at first they said that they can't duplicate the problem, the 2nd time they've upgraded the software. The 3rd time it happened, I called Chrysler Canada and they opened a case for me, they told me to contact the dealer and give them to case number provided by FC Canada. I drove the car to the dealer, they called it in and after a few hours they told me that they have ordered a new transmission and just waiting for it to arrive, they will call me so I can bring back the car to the dealer. They let me took my car back, but from there, I am unable to drive it since it's still sitting on it's current transmission. I drive the highway a lot and I'm concerned that if the car slips into parking again, I might end up causing an accident.

- bcoolxpress, Brampton, ON, Canada

problem #8

Jun 022015

200 S 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,200 miles

AWD Unavailable message, no ability to accelerate as if in neutral. Happened while driving. Message says to "Shift to Park then desired gear" and traction control light came on. Nice when this happens on wet roads, so much for feeling safe.

This is the 3rd time this happened and this one was AFTER I already brought it to the dealer to "fix". They did a software update and it was just fine for about 2 weeks after the 2nd time it happened. I guess they need to go back to the drawing board and figure it out because it's not fixed! Scared to think what else will go wrong and that I'm halfway through my warranty. Really regretting buying this car...So excited to continue my 4 hour round trip commute to work - NOT.

Update from Sep 1, 2015: The fix was to replace the transmission wire harness. Since then it's been great and I've gotten my confidence in the car back.

- Laura S., Mount Bethel, PA, US

problem #7

May 132015

200 C 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,670 miles

I was driving along Hwy 55 doing about 50-55MPH when suddenly the Service Transmission light came on. I lost throttle capability and basically I was now coasting on a windy and hilly road. I was able to pull off at a safe place before I stopped.

The transmission would not shift into park and though the selector still indicated "P" it was really in Neutral because if I took my foot off the brake my car rolled backward.

My parking brake wouldn't engage at first either. I held my foot on the brake as I called Roadside Assistance. At this point I was concerned I wouldn't be able to exit my vehicle. As I was talking with roadside assistance I kept trying to put the car into Park and/or engage the parking brake.

Finally the parking brake worked and I was able to take my foot off the brake. I then decided to try to restart the car. When I turned the car off the transmission defaulted to Park. So now I was safe to exit. Once the car was restarted the transmission would not shift out of Park. Waited nearly 3 hours for a the tow!

I talked with Chrysler Customer Service, started a case on the 12th yet they act like they haven't heard of this problem before (Cover up).

The dealership wasn't any better. They weren't even going to give me a rental until I became a huge pain in the butt right inside their showroom. They were glad to get me into a rental then. So now I am waiting on their "diagnosis" even though I already know the problem.

I have also started a case through the NHTSA as well. My next step is going to be hiring a lawyer or legal team if necessary to bring a class action suit against Chrysler for hiding this serious and dangerous issue.

This is really no different than GM's issue with the ignition of 778,000 of their vehicles that they waited 11 years to recall and that didn't happen until Congress became involved.

Chrysler spent Billions of $$$ on a brand new factory for the 200 vehicle. They obtained a new transmission from ZF that obviously didn't undergo enough testing and rework. They don't want this to become a well known issue and have to spend tons of money to initiate an emergency recall and fix all of these vehicles. It would end up in the news and hurt sales.

Well as I said before if this happened to me I would become Chrysler's worst nightmare. They are going to be hearing from me daily. If any of you who have had this issue already want to join in a class action suit then let me know.

Chrysler isn't going to do the right thing on their own. It cost me 4 hours of work time. I am paying nearly $40,000 for a car I don't feel safe driving and can't rely on. I am NOT okay with that.

Picked up my car on 5/20/15 after it had been at the dealership for 7 days. They verified my car passed the R08 recall inspection, cleared a whole lot of codes and fixed absolutely nothing. Their explanation was they weren't able to duplicate the problem.

Lawsuit anyone??

- Rich R., Bloomfield, KY, US

problem #6

Apr 202015

200 Sport V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles

I was driving on a very busy highway in Phoenix, Az in the far left lane, when without warning my car went into neutral. I had to coast across 4 lanes of highly congested traffic to reach the emergency lane nearly being hit by not only a very large 4 wheel drive truck, but a school bus as well. I bought this car brand new to avoid these kind of issues, so I am very disappointed. I really like this car but am now very apprehensive to drive it on the expressway. I just hope the issue can be resolved, who wants to die in a car crash ?

- slsika63, Phoenix, AZ, US

problem #5

Mar 112015

200 C 3.6L V6 Fwd

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,900 miles

click to see larger images

slips into netural while driving

The car randomly slips into neutral while driving. It happens at any speed and any amount after turning the car on. Sometimes it happens when the transmission is cold, sometimes when its hot/overheating. It is completely random and is very dangerous as it could cause injury or even death. To re-engage drive, you have to stop the car, shift into park, restart it and shift back to drive.

- Ben J., livingston, NJ, US

problem #4

Feb 022015

200 C 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,200 miles

near crash on interstate I95 south at Ives dairy road. went int neutral at 55 plus miles per hour. for the fourth time.

- William S., Hollywood, FL, US

problem #3

Jan 192015

200 C 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,091 miles

While driving on four occasions the car slips out of drive and into neutral. Turning the shift knob to N then returning it to D the problem ceases. Already went to the dealer but they could not duplicate the problem. Returning it to the shop for a second time.

Update from Feb 6, 2015: Im about to take my car to the dealership for the 4th time with this issue. The 3rd time almost killed my wife so this is the last chance as far as I'm concerned. Software updates seem to be what the service center feels will correct the problem and they have done 3 to date, but that obviously is not the case. I'm told that a new transmission is the next step. 3650 miles now.

- Edward P., Lumberton, NJ, US

problem #2

Nov 072014

200 C 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 740 miles

Transmission shifted to neutral, sounding like going to "low gear", and slowing fast.

Pressing the gas pedal did not help and after a while went into gear again by itself with a bang.

Really bad situation if driving on a highway.

I took the car to the dealer on 19NOV14, they said that it never failed for them.

Since then, the car failed 6 times, the last one today, I will take back tomorrow.

Update from Mar 5, 2015: I took my car back to the dealer and they updated/upgraded the transmission software. After few days the transmission jumped gears again.

- Omar D., Woodstock, GA, US

problem #1

Jul 022014

200 200C

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,800 miles

After having my car for a month, while driving home my car slipped into neutral. I had to pull over, put my car in park and then back into drive in order to drive again. This happened twice while driving home. I called the dealership and they told me to bring my car in. After 3 days they said to pick up my car because they couldn't duplicate the problem. A few days later while driving to work it did it again. I drove it to the dealership and they gave me a loaner again.

After about a week, they said they contacted Chrysler engineering and was told to switch out the parking module. When I received my car, every time I started my car the parking brake was on. I called the dealership and was told they would get back with me. No one did. About a month later while making a left hand turn, my car slipped in neutral again, almost causing a car accident. I drove my car to the dealership and turned my car back in! Now they are calling me and telling me that they repaired my car again and for me to come pick it up.

This car is a ticking time bomb! I have ask numerous times to switch me to another vehicle and they said they won't. I am terrified to drive this car. If this happens while I am on the freeway, I will be a sitting duck!

- Carolyn W., White Lake, MI, US