10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,567 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #27

Jul 152019

Town & Country

  • miles
See attached letter outlining my complaint. I purchased a Chrysler Town & Country minivan from security Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram in amityville, long island in February 2009. Approximately every two years or so since I purchased this car, the egr valve fails, resulting in me having to replace it. Now in July of 2019, the egr valve has failed again and requires replacement. This is the 5th time this darn part has needed to be replaced!!

- Bellmore, NY, USA

problem #26

Jun 032019

Town & Country

  • 189,000 miles
Will be driving straight down a city street going out 40mph. The vehicle will then just loose power and turn off. Did not hit a bump or speed up or anything. After loosing power will try to control van to the side of the road where it will sit for a few minutes. Will then start it again and leave. This has happened 3 times in the last 2 months.

- Streetsboro, OH, USA

problem #25

May 312019

Town & Country

  • 112,000 miles
Drove vehicle in the morning of 5/31/19. Drove about 25 miles. Got home sat about hour. Turned key to start and no noise. But have full power to everything else. There is no noise when you turn key.

- Weyauwega, WI, USA

problem #24

Jan 072019

Town & Country

  • 160,000 miles
Clockspring goes bad from 2 Town & Country try I owned & the touring shifter gets stuck & can't move out of park. The heat for the rear also is bad, the line leaks.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #23

Apr 222019

Town & Country

  • 113,900 miles
I just bought a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. It's not even been a full month, I paid 9,000 cash and already the car shuts off when I come to stop. I just got my car back for the second time and it sh*t off on me 3 times from the shop to my house. I have 3 kids I spent all my savings in this car the used car lot only has a 30 day warranty and it's almost up it's been in the shop twice and still has the same problem. Its needs to be fixed a.S.a.P

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #22

Jan 012019

Town & Country

  • 150,000 miles
Sometime overnight on Jan 1/2nd 2019 my vehicle started on fire. The vehicle was not in use, was parked in our driveway, and had not been in use since the morning before. The fire must have went out on its own. But caused damage to both the inside and outside of the vehicle. The inside of the van smells heavily of electrical smoke.

- Markesan, WI, USA

problem #21

Apr 102017

Town & Country

  • 32,000 miles
The power doors on either side do not open or close electrically and the drivers side rear passenger door does not open from the inside of the vehicle making it unsafe for a passenger in the back seat. The windows do not go down either. Major issue. This happens all the time when in motion or stationary.

- Valhalla, NY, USA

problem #20

Apr 152017

Town & Country

  • miles
Minivan keeps on stalling going under 30 miles per hour.... no engine light or codes appear on dash.. last time I was trying to make a turnand it stalled in the middle of the intersection. Im concerned since im mother of 4 and I drive them to school and back.

- Lakeville, MN, USA

problem #19

Jun 182016

Town & Country

  • miles
R03-NHTSA 14V-373 - wireless ignition node module made appointment with Chrysler dealership of paramus, NJ, dealer originally told me that parts were in-stock. At time of service, they tried to sell me additional services that I refused - they then claimed that the parts were no longer in stock. Dealer is refusing to correct this matter free of charge - without purchasing additional service from them.

- Dumont, NJ, USA

problem #18

May 102016

Town & Country

  • 61,000 miles
Rear A/C evap core and H block bad. Problem apparently from 2006 to current models. Chrysler will nor acknowledge problem, dealers hands are tied.

- Ripon, WI, USA

problem #17

Feb 112016

Town & Country

  • 158,000 miles
The car stalls while driving at both low and medium speeds. The engine dies completely so no accelleration and the power steering fails. I must shift into neutral to try to restart. This may take several tries. This has happened several times over the last few weeks. The car had a tune up and coils replaced with no change in the stalling issue. Note: The ignition key and switch were previously replaced following a recall.

- Atlantic, IA, USA

problem #16

May 012015

Town & Country

  • miles
May 2015 we received a safety recall for the win module. The local dealer has not received replacement parts. It has been 8 months which seems like a reasonable time to expect parts to be available. This is our complaint!!!! we do not want to wait til an accident happens to have it replaced......

- Westminster, MD, USA

problem #15

Jan 162016

Town & Country

  • miles
I have received two recall letters over the past year relating to the the safety recall of the "wireless ignition node" (win) that may have unintentional movement of the "frequency operated button ignition key" (fobik) from the "on" to the "accessory" position while driving. It was noted that this could cause unintentional engine shut off and increase the risk of a crash. I have called my Chrysler dealership (kings Chrysler Jeep in cincinnati Ohio) to try and get this fixed 4 times (6/16/2015, 7/1/2015, 10/2/2015, and 1/16/2016) over the last several months. Each time I call, I'm told that "they are restricted on parts and to call them back in a couple weeks". the associate in the parts department also told me that Chrysler has been extremely slow in providing parts relating to this recall and that they have to deal with calls like mine all the time. I'm not sure how to get this fixed and even if my notification to your association through this complaint will even work because it appears that Fiat/Chrysler has been slow on multiple recalls. Please help if you can and let me know how this can be addressed in the near future (I don't want to keep driving an unsafe vehicle)!

- Morrow, OH, USA

problem #14

Oct 302015

Town & Country

  • miles
My TPMS system periodically gives me false info re:my tires. This last time the wheel monitor itself was leaking. This, after I had replaced all 4 last winter. What life span do these devices have?

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #13

Sep 282015

Town & Country

  • miles
On September 28th 2015, we took our vehicle into green Chevrolet in East moline, Illinois to have the wireless ignition node module on a vehicle replaced for a safety recall. At 8:49 a.M. they had called us to let us know they had done the oil change and to let us know of a few repairs that needed to be done that were not relevant to the recall and also informed me that they were currently working on the recall repair. At 9:34 a.M. they called me back and said they were getting ready to do the recall repair but wanted to let me know of cracks that were in the dashboard that they needed to remove to do part of the repair. They sent me pictures to show that they were identical cracks on the driver and passenger side that went all the way through on the corners plus an additional crack about one-fifth of the way over from the passenger side that went all the way through. They claim these cracks were there prior to the repair but we have never seen these cracks before and claim that it must have been done during the repair. We dust our dash board and would have seen such extensive cracks. They are located where the defrost vents are. Green Chevrolet refuses to replace it and holds to that they were already there. Due to the location of the cracks, there is no way for us to cause it. It appears as if they would have been caus D by someone prying up the dashboard incorrectly.

- Rock Island, IL, USA

problem #12

Jun 172015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Recall L25 was received prior to the date and mileage listed above. The dealer was contacted and I was told the parts were on back order. This was never repaired. I then received recall R03. I contacted the same dealer on 6/17/15 and was told R03 superseded L25 and parts would be ordered and should be received in a little over 2 weeks. I recontacted the dealer on 07/20/15 and was told parts were still on order. I recontacted the dealer on 09/28/15 and was told parts were still on order. I then contacted the fca group recall assistance center and spoke to [xxx]. she stated parts were available for the R03 recall and would contact the dealer. She stated she spoke to the dealer and they did have parts on order and I was near the "top of the list." This is totally unacceptable. The statement in the letter I received that "...we are sincerely concerned about your safety." Appears untrue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sterling, IL, USA

problem #11

Jun 012015

Town & Country

  • miles
I would like to complain about this specific recall notice I have on my van. I have been on 2 waiting list with 2 different Chrysler dealers in my area since this recall came out due to not having parts available to fix the problem. The problem is the wireless ignition node module. I don't understand how there are no parts available, when Chrysler made this recall. If you know of a problem to the vehicle, make replacement parts and get the cars fixed. I would like an answer as to when I can get my vehicle fixed and when more parts are going to be made available. I want my car fixed immediately. This is a safety issue and it needs to be fixed now.

- Pittston, PA, USA

problem #10

Sep 172015

Town & Country

  • miles
Recall R03 / NHTSA 14V-373, I have been trying since June 2015 to get my local Chrysler dealer, at prosperity dr, silver spring, md 20904, to do this recall. On June 22, 2015, the van was at the dealer for the recall work but when I went to pick it up, they said the parts never came in. They said they would order again and contact me. No one did. I called again today, September 17, 2015 and requested the recall work. They still do not have the parts. They said that they can not get the parts because you have restricted sending the parts to the dealers for service. I was told to call again in 2 or 3 weeks. Please help!!!

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #9

Aug 072015

Town & Country

  • miles
I have been having an issue with my vehicle for over a year now which more recently has been issued a recall R03 relating to the fobic. I have now had 5 instances where my vehicle has stopped while I was driving. I was told of the recall but the parts were not available until more recently. I called and was put on a list 2 months ago to get this fixed. They said it would be about 3 weeks and it has now been two months. When I called today the dealership said that they only get about 3 parts every so often and I was still number 23 on the list. I am very upset by this. This issue should have been fixed in a timely fashion. This is very dangerous and I have been lucky to not be in an accident. I need this to be resolved immediately. I was hoping you could help by putting in my complaint.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #8

Aug 032015

Town & Country

  • miles
We have received several recall documents from manufacturer and have tried to schedule service over the past year and repeatedly told parts are not available. This is a violation of the order to still have a critical issue outstanding over 1 year without resolution

- North Tonawanda, NY, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »