10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,483 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1996 Dodge Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #29

Jan 202014

Caravan 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchase this vehicle from owner in Dec. 2013 and start having problem the owner I purchase it from purchase it from a bank back in 2006. They did know about an recall or etc. About this vehcle. The electric has problem and airbags, the fuel tank is leaking and fuel injection and etc, . where can I can get help for these problems.etc.,.

- Birmingam, AL, USA

problem #28

Feb 172011

Caravan 6-cyl

  • 151,000 miles
The contact owns a 1996 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that fuel was leaking from his tank in large amounts. The vehicle was inspected by a independent mechanic and they advised him that he needed to replace the tank and the fuel pump. The vehicle has not been repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and advised him that the recall was expired and could not assist him. The failure mileage was approximately 151,000. Updated 03/24/11 updated 05/02/11

- Benton Harbor, MI, USA

problem #27

Jul 132007

Caravan 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 1996 Dodge Caravan. The contact stated that the fuel tank causes fumes to enter the passenger compartment of the vehicle, as well as fuel leakage. He stated that the fuel tank was replaced a year ago, but still emits fumes. The vehicle was previously repaired under recall # 99V216000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The incident and purchase dates were unknown. The current mileage is 165,000 and failure mileage was 100,000.

- Grayson, GA, USA

problem #26

Apr 132005

Caravan

  • miles
1996 Dodge Caravan caught on fire. While driving the consumer smelled gas and saw smoke coming through the air vents. The consumer pulled over to the side of the road and flames started coming out from under the hood. The vehicle became engulfed in flames.

- Newton Falls, OH, USA

problem #25

Oct 152001

Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I received a recall regarding my 1996 Dodge Grand Caravan which was repaired on January 25, 2001, by my mechanic with one stop auto. I received a two recall notices (1) dated 1/25/01 and 10/27/01, in which I am still getting the same letter for recall from them. What happen is that I had fuel up at a service station back on January 24,2001 and notice gas coming out of my car and I called my mechanic that evening and he told me (mechanic) to bring the car down the next day. I went to the shop and they discovered that it need a gas tank sending unit assy. Unit and it was replaced that day. I received a recall from daimler Chrysler for the reason of ring around the gas tank. I wrote them a letter because of the nature of the matter and they response to me that it was not what the recall was for. I then wrote them a letter and the response that the facts presented in my letter to them that I had not met the required conditions of the recall. So, daimler/Chrysler decline my request. It cost me $523.05 to replace the unit.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #24

Oct 152001

Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I received a recall regarding my 1996 Dodge Grand Caravan which was repaired on January 25, 2001, by my mechanic with one stop auto. I received a two recall notices (1) dated 1/25/01 and 10/27/01, in which I am still getting the same letter for recall from them. What happen is that I had fuel up at a service station back on January 24,2001 and notice gas coming out of my car and I called my mechanic that evening and he told me (mechanic) to bring the car down the next day. I went to the shop and they discovered that it need a gas tank sending unit assy. Unit and it was replaced that day. I received a recall from daimler Chrysler for the reason of ring around the gas tank. I wrote them a letter because of the nature of the matter and they response to me that it was not what the recall was for. I then wrote them a letter and the response that the facts presented in my letter to them that I had not met the required conditions of the recall. So, daimler/Chrysler decline my request. It cost me $523.05 to replace the unit.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #23

Jan 022003

Caravan 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles
No accidents yet. Headlights have foggy coating on them, which we have low light visibility at night. Also, when filling up tank with gas it runs out when completely full.

- Eclectic, AL, USA

problem #22

Mar 192003

(reported on)

Caravan

  • miles
Clockspring failure. Also, performed recall 895 repairs om fuel rail seal.

- Richmond, NY, USA

problem #21

Feb 072003

(reported on)

Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles
While backing up, smoke began pouring from underneath the hood and burned van completely.

- Macedon, NY, USA

problem #20

Oct 232002

(reported on)

Caravan

  • miles
We also have ghost windshield wipers, have had the van recalled because of the fuel rail now we have to worry that the airbag will deploy. These cars suck and should be taken off the road.

- Janesville, WI, USA

problem #19

Apr 192002

Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer states she called her dealer to repair her recall and was told that they do not have the part to repair her auto. The name and location is as follows: Brookdale Chrysler /Plymouth, 6121 brooklyn blvd. Minnapolis, mn 55429 763--535 5200. She was told that it would be July 2002, before they could get to her auto.

- Maple Grove, MN, USA

problem #18

Apr 112002

(reported on)

Caravan

  • miles
Periodically when turning vehicle to left or right vehicle stalls. Took vehicle to dealer. Dealer had fuel system checked. Cause of problem unknown. Please add VIN.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #17

Mar 182002

(reported on)

Caravan

  • miles
When driving gas fumes were coming inside of vehicle. Had to open window to breath. Odor also came from underhood.vehicle has no aceleration power. Dealer contacted.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #16

Dec 012001

Caravan

  • miles
While driving, there is a very strong fuel odor. This is causing occupants of vehicle to become ill. Consumer has contacted dealer.

- North Andover, MA, USA

problem #15

Aug 242001

Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Smell strong ordor of gas, opened hood, found gas dripping in and filling lip of valve cover and over flowing on to the hot manifold, recall refuse to fix, all due to a O ring failure in fuel rail

- Glenview, IL, USA

problem #14

Nov 072000

Caravan

  • miles
Multiple warning lights came on, including brake, air bag, fuel. Horn stopped working.

- Oak Hill, VA, USA

problem #13

Dec 281998

(reported on)

Caravan

  • miles
When going up a hill at high speeds the engine completely shuts down due to a malfunction within the vapor lock. Cause unknown.

- Alta Loma, CA, USA

problem #12

Jul 281999

Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving vehicle consumer started smelling something burning, and noticed smoke coming from the rear of vehicle. Pulled vehicle over and stepped out. Then an explosion came from the rear of vehicle. No one hurt. Dealer/mfr notified.

- West Plam Beach, FL, USA

problem #11

Jul 101999

Caravan

  • miles
Fuel tank started leaking gas even though the van was not involved in any accident. Could have been a real safety issue if not detected in advance. Contact the dealer for replacement.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #10

Oct 011996

Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Leaking gas tank.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »