10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,251 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #69

Sep 112019

Grand Caravan

  • 76,000 miles
Drivers side sliding door locked and will not unlock manually or with the electronic mechanism. This causes the door to not be able to open. Thank god there was not an emergency that required quick access to my 17 month old daughter as I had to crawl through the other door to get her out. The door opened perfectly fine to put her in the car. After researching this IżM seeing hundreds of others who have experienced the exact same issue and there are still no recalls. This could be a deadly issue. Will someone have to die for this to be taken care of"?"

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #68

Jul 022019

Grand Caravan

  • 45,000 miles
Sliding doors loud buzzing when locking or unlocking the vehicle passenger back sliding door started first then 2 month later driver back sliding door. While driving or in parked position with key in egnition or without the key

- Elgin, SC, USA

problem #67

Aug 202019

Grand Caravan

  • miles
Driver side sliding door actuator makes a buzzing noise when doors are locked

- Stephens City, VA, USA

problem #66

Aug 302019

Grand Caravan

  • 45,000 miles
Electronic door locks make a buzzing sound when locking and after several weeks the door locks are completely jammed shut. Both rear doors affected and numerous mentions online of the exact same issue in Dodge Grand Caravan and Chrysler town and country models. In the event of an emergency doors can not be unlocked manually or via remote to allow passengers to exit the vehicle. Chrysler has denied a claim to repair or issue a recall and has advised me that they wait until the NHTSA directs them to issue a recall. This is a serious safety risk that exposes passengers to being confined in the vehicle in an emergency.

- Prior Lake, MN, USA

problem #65

Aug 032019

Grand Caravan

  • 71,000 miles
Drivers side rear sliding door is locked and unable to be opened using the key fob or buttons inside the vehicle. Vehicle cannot be opened manually either. When attempting to open via all methods the message żunlock door to operateż shows on the message panel in the dash. Attempts to unlock the door manually and via key fob and buttons inside the vehicle have no effect. This happened suddenly one day, no intermittent failure leading up to this. It has been this way for one month. This is a safety issue because if we were to get in an accident it would be difficult to remove children from the back seat who are unable to unlock their own seatbelts.

- Cottonwood, AZ, USA

problem #64

Aug 282019

Grand Caravan

  • 60,000 miles
TL the contact owns a 2016 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle hesitated and the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The contact stated that the rear driver's side door made an abnormal noise, wires were exposed, and the rear passenger door did not open. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the coil and spark plugs needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer and dealer were not notified. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- San Jacinto, CA, USA

problem #63

Aug 262019

Grand Caravan

  • 69,466 miles
Both sliding doors have failed. The passenger side accuator is failing and the locking mechanism on the driver's side is stuck in the locked position. I cannot open the door at all and this is a major safety issue. The door does not open when car is in park and off or on.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #62

Aug 252019

Grand Caravan

  • 28,000 miles
2C4rdgcg8gr[xxx] 2016 Dodge Grand Caravan with >28,000 original miles. VIN # 2C4rdgcg8gr[xxx] 1st ż a few weeks ago the original key fob began not always unlocking the doors or starting the car. I had a new battery put in key fob but the problems continued. I had aaa test my car battery and it was good. 2nd - cluster lights began randomly flashing and dinging a few weeks ago after the key fob problems began. This last week or two the digital speedometer also began spinning upward and downward at a high rate of speed, randomly. These problems have progressively worsened becoming more frequent and with more systems flashing. One red light has even appeared under the green letter N, for neutral. No name and no symbol, just a red light. On Wednesday the 21st, I had my battery tested again and the alternator tested at auto zone and Ożreilly's, both said they are good. I had the original fob plus another new fob programmed to the car on Wednesday, Aug. 21, 2019 at courtesy Dodge in mesa, AZ. The next day, Thursday, 1 fob started the car and took us to walmart without incident. However, the fob would not open any door nor start the vehicle when we were ready to leave the store. Finally called my son-in-law and he brought the other fob. Neither fob would do anything for quite awhile, then finally 1 worked. IżM quadriplegic so having an unreliable vehicle and being stranded away from home in 114 degree heat is extremely dangerous. On Friday we took the Dodge to auto zone, they again said my car battery was fine. On Saturday the 24th Napa and auto zone checked for codes on the Dodge. Came up with U110A. Today, Sunday, Aug 25, 2019 neither fob worked again. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #61

Aug 192019

Grand Caravan

  • 60,000 miles
The vehicle was operating as normal, and without warning, the driver's side rear sliding door will not open. It wonżT open with the key/fob or manually. It is permanently locked.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #60

Jul 312019

Grand Caravan

  • 92,000 miles
Driver side door will not open the lock is stuck in the locked position. This creates a safety concern for me and my family.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #59

Jul 262019

Grand Caravan

  • 55,000 miles
The driver side rear sliding door is locked and will not unlock. I took it to the dealership and they said nothing was wrong. Two days later, the same issue happened. The door has been locked shut for 1 month now. When I lock/unlock the doors from the door handle, sometimes it works and sometimes it does not. I noticed that the driver door would occasionally lock, but not unlock when the passenger side doors would unlock. The entire lock system makes me very nervous if I were to get in a wreck. Since there are no manual locks, it's possible that all doors be locked and my family (3 kids) would not be able to get out of the vehicle. I took back to the dealership and they said it's a common issue with this make/model. It will require a technician taking front dash apart and replacing a wireless sensor. If this is so common, why no warranty when it's a clear safety issue? 55,000 miles, 2016 model.

- Fayetteville, AR, USA

problem #58

Aug 122019

Grand Caravan

  • 0 miles
"takata recall" I brought my 2016 Dodge Grand Caravan SXT, on 04/17/19 it has 30,000mile on it. Passenger side sliding door locked again last time it happens 2 months ago I spend $1200 it happens again

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #57

Jul 092019

Grand Caravan

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Dodge Grand Caravan. The contact stated that the rear driver's door was stuck in a locked position. Enterprise car sales (5718 S lindbergh blvd, St. Louis, mo 63123, (314) 842-6899) was contacted and stated that many clients experienced the failure and would cost $100 to be repaired. The contact did not purchase a warranty when she purchased the used vehicle. The cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Cahokia, IL, USA

problem #56

Aug 102019

Grand Caravan

  • 61,000 miles
A few months ago the passenger side rear sliding door on my 2016 Dodge Grand Caravan stopped operating with my children in the vehicle. The door is stuck in lock position and I am unable to open the door at all. Today the other sliding door (driver side rear sliding door) stopped working, locking my 4 month old, 2 year old and 4 year old in the rear of the van. We were able to climb over the middle console in the front seat to get the children out. If this was an emergency situation, all of our lives could've been in danger due to the doors not opening. I've researched it and it seems to be a very common problem among Dodge/Chrysler vans in the last 10 years.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #55

Aug 102019

Grand Caravan

  • 30,000 miles
The driving side sliding door has become stuck in the locked position. It is unable to be opened manually or with the remote or buttons. I was able to open the door with the remote to put my child in the car. When we arrived at our destination I was unable to open the door. This is a serious safety concern as if we were in an accident or an emergency situation I would not be able to get my infant out of the car quickly and safely.

- Derwood, MD, USA

problem #54

Aug 062019

Grand Caravan

  • 97,000 miles
The drivers side sliding door will not unlock or open. We have tried every way we can to unlock it --- key fob, overhead door opener, drivers side electric lock, and every combination of the above --- but it will not open or unlock!! this is an extreme safety hazard..... no one can get out of vehicle in case of fire or accident, the door will just not open no matter what we try!! according to the internet.....hundreds of Dodge Grand Caravan's have the same problem!! this problem happened overnight, with no warning. We came home, unloaded groceries that evening and locked the doors. The next morning the door wouldn't unlock or open. All other doors open and are working fine.

- Floresville, TX, USA

problem #53

Jul 072019

Grand Caravan

  • 49,000 miles
Driver's side sliding door mechanical latching mechanism for the sliding door's lock is malfunctioning and causing the door to become stuck in the shut position, with the mechanical lock physically unable to be operated, resulting in the door being bound in the shut position. Mechanical lock does not respond to commands from the driver's or passenger's side unlock buttons, or from either of two key fobs in the unlock or lock commanded positions. Additionally, open & shut commands to the door from the key fobs and the above-center-console buttons do not operate the door. Notable information: When attempting to open the sliding door from the key fob, the locking mechanism is heard to be attempting to unlock the door, but results in no operation of the sliding door, or the lock itself. This is safety concern as passengers in the rear of the vehicle can become trapped should a roll over condition exist. The cost for this repair is approximately $1100 usd, and is a known issue by Dodge. $1100 usd should not be required for a mechanical defect that was present at the time of construction, that is a known issue by the vehicle manufacturer, and presents a significant safety concern for any occupants of the rear portion of the vehicle.

- Bremerton, WA, USA

problem #52

Aug 052019

Grand Caravan

  • 55,000 miles
About 6 months ago, the rear passenger door began to stop responding to the key fob, but could still be locked/unlocked manually. It made a buzzing noise one day then stopped opening altogether. We declined the repair because we were quoted over $3000!!!! we only have about 55,000miles on the van. The dealership acknowledged that this is a common problem on Dodge Caravan and could do nothing about it. Today, the driver passenger door has begun making a buzzing noise and we will have to get it repaired, or no one will be able to get in or out of the backseat safely. I have been to several forums about just this thing asking how to get this repaired without paying thousands, and the amount of people with the same problem is overwhelming. In almost all cases, the actuator inside the door has been either corrupted with rust, or a gear is broken.

- Chesapeake Beach, MD, USA

problem #51

Jul 242019

Grand Caravan

  • 41,000 miles
On 7-24-19 I noticed that the rear slider door on the driver side would not open. It would not respond to the key fob, the overhead console button, the interior door switch or the exterior handle. It just would not open.I took the car to my local mechanic (the car was no longer covered by the manufacture's warranty). He determined that is was a problem with the door lock actuator. Until the switch was replaced the door would not open. I feel this is a safety concern because a rear passenger would have a difficult time exiting the car in an emergency. I have seen several recent posting of this problem on your website and feel you should investigate this problem. The door was repaired but I am concerned about the problem happening on the other door. I have owned this vehicle for 37 months and it has $41,000 miles.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #50

Jul 262019

Grand Caravan

  • 76,200 miles
Sliding side door locked shut and cannot open. This happened to the passenger side first. Dealer quoted $900. Now drivers side is locked shut. This is a real safety issue that must be addressed. Passengers in back cannot get out in case of emergency. If electrical lock goes bad, door should still be able to open manually. Internet blogs show this is very common on these vehicles. Chrysler should recall and fix.

- Griffin, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »