10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,536 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #129

Aug 132019

Journey

  • miles
After driving home from my house to my mom, in the morning I went to start the car and it would crank on but not fully start. It's been doing that for the past three days canżT move my car out of start because it's not fully turning

- Zephyrhills, FL, USA

problem #128

Aug 052019

Journey

  • 170,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while driving the contact heard an abnormal noise and the engine stalled. The vehicle was coasted to the side of the road. When the contact attempted to turn off and restart the vehicle there was a popping noise and black smoke came out of the engine compartment. The contact exited the vehicle and the vehicle was quickly engulfed in flames. The flames were extinguished by the fire department but the vehicle was completely destroyed by the fire. A police report was not filed but a fire department report was filed. There were no injuries. The remains of the vehicle were towed to a lot for the insurance company to inspect. The dealer john hiester Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram (940 N main St, lillington, nc 27546 (910) 893-8088) was asked about recalls and told the contact there were no recalls related to the vehicle catching on fire. The manufacturer had not been informed yet. The failure mileage was 170,000.

- Fuquay-Varina, NC, USA

problem #127

Apr 112019

Journey

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle could not shift out of park and the engine failed to start occasionally. The contact had to place the vehicle into neutral or make multiple attempts to restart the engine. In addition, the eps and ABS warning indicators illuminated. The contact had to turn off and restart the vehicle to turn off the indicators and get the vehicle to operate normally. The vehicle was driven to atlanta West Dodge Jeep (1251 thornton rd, lithia springs, ga 30122, (770) 942-1102) where it was diagnosed that a brake sensor needed to be installed. The vehicle was repaired, but the failures recurred. The dealer installed a new starter, transmission sensors, and PCM module, but the failures recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failures and did not assist. The failure mileage was 94,000.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #126

Dec 032018

Journey

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact experienced a failure with the power train control module (PCM) for years. Currently, the PCM malfunctioned and the rpms revved to 40 mph without acceleration. The contact had to pull over to the side of the road and turn off the engine. The contact waited before restarting the vehicle. When the vehicle was restarted and reached approximately 40 mph, the rpms would rev up again. The dealer (smolich motors, 1865 ne hwy 20, bend, or 97701, (541) 389-1177) stated that the cooler line was leaking and the transmission pad needed to be resealed. An independent mechanic repaired the vehicle, but the failures continued. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not included in a recall. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Redmond, OK, USA

problem #125

Jun 142016

Journey

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start when the key was placed in the ignition and all the warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the engine timing switch failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred a few days later. The vehicle was not repaired again. The manufacturer and dealer were not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #124

Mar 012019

Journey

  • miles
My car fails to stay started when sticking the key in the ignition.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #123

Sep 102018

Journey

  • miles
Takata recall I purchased this car & was told only needed to replace back tires.. I told the sakes guy I do not want to put any money in any cars, I told him I own a 2004 Dodge intreprid SE I bought brand new on 7/27/2004, last yr in end of Sept it started to nickel & dime me. This car I bought from this guy said nothing wrong, I said this car looks like it's neen in a car accident, he said nothing wrong, said I will be 2nd owner & a clear title... wrong, I bought this car from a car lot on 2/16/2018, on 2/17/2018 had to buy 3 tires & found out the tie rod & ball joint were hanging by a thread, mechanic said the sales guy would have seen all this when he told me they moved the good tires to the front & put bad tires to back, I had to get new brakes front & back/ new battery, the airbags were missing & I almost got hit bc the transmission stalled on me, the history that I found out with this 2009 Dodge Journey SXT was already in a accident on 10/18/2017 bc the transmission stalled, I had to ha to put lots of $$$ into this vehicle that I did not want to do, to top that off, I had to call Canada & they said they didnżT have me as the new owner, I found out the cash I paid the guy had to pay off a leon that was on this car, then after he paid it, I received in the mail leon was paid off in full, the company that had a lein didnżT know I bought this car & I had to call Canada to give them updated info that I bought the car if &4,263 cash bc guy wouldnżT take a check or money order/ nor cashiers check, the lemon law lawyer I called on 2/17/2018 I wouldnżT be able to stop payment bc the sales guy lied to me & sold me a bad car, the car is in the repair shop since Sept 12,2018bc of the transmission, manufacturing issue that I do not have anything to do with, my sister opened a gofundme me page to raise $$. I believe Dodge should pay for this transmission..

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #122

Jul 052017

Journey

  • 0 miles
Recall the starters! I am sick of bwing syranded because our car won't start!!!! this is an issues for thousands of people!

- Mcarthur, OH, USA

problem #121

Feb 172018

Journey

  • 129,988 miles
Not right, , transmission stopped on me driving, K & M Dodge mechanic says it's not my fault that the transmission just stopped on me while driving, he said the 2 gear isnżT there, this is 2 times now I almost got killed, to top that off I purchased this mused vehicle on 2/16/2018 & paid cash of $4,263 I asked if this car had any problems bc I do not want to put any money into it.. he told me & my parents only needed rear tires, I asked if it's neen in a car accident, he said no.. he said I will be the 2nd owner, , something isnżT right, so I took it in on 2/17/2018 to get 2 new rear tires & omg, are you kidding me, , this car didnżT have any airbags, electrical system was messed up, had to have a oil change on 2/22/2018, then it went in repair shop on 2/26/2018 for recall on airbags, then got it back on 3/26/2018, just for it to go back in on 4/1/2018 for a ball joint/tie rods/rotors/brakes front & back/ wheel alignment/new battery you got to be kidding me, , I am pissed as heck, found out IżM the 4th/5th owner, , it was in S car accident passenger side in Oct 2017 car stalled on ppl, minor frame work, car is missing lots of parts, then I had to buy another tire front passenger side, key fob doesnżT want to start car, ,then I almost got hit driving bc ignition stopped on me driving, , then had starter replaced new on 8/26/2018 to top that off on Aug 28 car stalls again, friend comes over with meter to check out car statistics & says car needs the transmission control modular reset so I can drive, so then try to drive car on Sept 5th, wonżT move, so I have to get rides, then on Sept 12th start up, try to drive it & the car stops, tried to drive it back to K & M Dodge on Sept 12th 2018, , it's been there since that day bc not drivable, needs a new transmission, I canżT afford bc I am on disibility (social security disabilty), I called a lawyer on 2/17/2018

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #120

Mar 062018

Journey

  • miles
This(2009 Dodge Journey SXT),it has many safety issues, I told the sales guy I do not want to put any money into a vehicle, bought it on 2/16/2018, got new rear tires on 2/17/2018, I was told car needs a ball joint/tie rod asap, now I was mad, I got hold of a lemon law lawyer to get my money back, he canżT help me bc the car is a 2009, he gave me info to call & found out the car was in a car accident on 10/8/2017 passenger side, found out the car had safety issues that needed to be done, so car went into shop on 2/26/2018 & I got it back on 3/27/2018. I had to get a new battery/new brakes front/back/rotors/ball joint/ nut/snap ring/then car just quit on me while driving, freaked me out, then I had to have the starter replaced, on 8/26/2018, now car went back in shop on 9/12/2018 bc the transmission stalled on me & I almost got reared end, the meter machine says it needs the transmission control module needed to be reset, wrong, the problem is the transmission & been hearing all kinds of nasty things to do with the chyrsler Dodge ignition/ transmission / starter, this car has cost me so much money that I was lied too.. safety issue is transmission I was told by 2 mechanics the transmission needs to be replaced bc the gear broke, nothing I did, transmission needs to be rebuilt or new one put in, I paid $4,263 plus now for everything else I was not planning on doing.. I been hearing bad stories about this car transmission/starter/ignition/electrical.. plz help me out here, I almost got killed bc car stopped on me while driving... I bought this car on 2/16/2018, milage was (124,627) & it's been in the repair shop more than me driving, it's back in on 9/12/2018, , plz help, I have all my receipts, I believe Dodge/chyrsler should compensate something bc this transmission should have just quit on me driving & told gear broke, not my fault, help plz

- Rockford, MI, USA

problem #119

Aug 242018

Journey

  • 120,000 miles
For the millenth time since purchasing this car in 2014 it failed to start again!!! I have had ever mechanic under the sun check electrical connections, batteries, starters, alternators, fuses etc. They find nothing wrong but the car continues to simpley not start. Iżve read a lot of people have the same problem with this car. Did anyone ever figure out why and what Dodge is doing about it? sometimes it happens when my car is parked angled. Sometimes on flat pavement. I got stuck with my newborn daughter shortly after I purchased the car and went back to depaula dealer I purchased it from in albany NY and they apologized and said they checked everything and nothing is wrong with the car. IżM scared to be stuck with my kids somewhere and honestly tired of sending it to the mechanic only to hear they canżT find anything wrong. Any ideas or directions to give the mechanic would be great. Does Dodge actually have the answer and just donżT want to issue a recall. I donżT care if I have to pay to get it fixed. I just want to know what needs to be fixed!!! thank you

- Castleton, NY, USA

problem #118

Jun 252018

Journey

  • 123,000 miles
Car experiences intermittent ignition failure. While stationary with key in ignition, it will click but not start. We have replaced the battery, alternator, and starter but it continues to have issues starting over the past 3 months. Sometimes it will start fine, but other times it takes several tries over a period of 30 minutes. The mechanics cannot find the solution to this problem even when able to duplicate the issue.

- Whitehouse, OH, USA

problem #117

Jun 122018

Journey

  • 191,000 miles
Just replaced battery. Was working and starting fine after replacing for a few weeks. Went to work yesterday morning and left for lunch with no issues. Went to start car to return to work after lunch and wouldn't turn over at all. I would turn the key and get one click but not turning over. My radio, lights and windows all work when key is in the on position. Charged the battery for nearly 40 minutes and still no start only a click. Have also had on-going issues with wiring harnesses throughout vehicle.

- Demotte, IN, USA

problem #116

Apr 122018

Journey

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Journey. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was diagnosed at the scene by an independent mechanic who informed the contact of a camshaft position sensor circuit bank one failure. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not repaired. The local dealer was not contacted for diagnostic testing or repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 89,000.

- Scottsville, NY, USA

problem #115

Mar 132018

Journey

  • 5 miles
After buying the car from the dealer we drove home and stopped to get gas. The car would not start. Finally after locking and unlocking the doors it started. Since then every day I drive it I continually have issues with it starting. Once while driving down the road it shut off and stopped. Almost caused an accident. Now I can not even get it started. I have a baby and rhought this would be a perfect vechile. I can nit trust it for the safety of my child and myself. I can not be stranded in the Arkansas heat with a vechile that repeatedly has issues with starting or keep running while driving. I have had it checked and no one xan find an issue with the car. Very concerned with safety of car. Very disappointed.

- N Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #114

Mar 152018

Journey

  • 13,300 miles
Everytime I brake my vehicle it jerks. Ive replaced my brakes and this issue still happens. Also a few times ive had my vehicle turn off with all lights on while I was at a stop light and a couple days ago it wouldnt start after two attempts to start then on the third attempt it started.

- Apache Junction, AZ, USA

problem #113

Jan 192018

Journey

  • 120,000 miles
For the 2nd time since I purchased this car 2 years ago, I have lost power steering and had to pay to replace it. This car has been a lemon since I purchased it. First the head gasket blew, then I had to replace the radiator, then the ignition switch, now power steering twice. This car is nothing but a money pit. I tell everyone I know to stay away from Dodge

- Windom, MN, USA

problem #112

Dec 152017

Journey

  • 170,000 miles
Sometimes while driving, my vehicle just shuts off for no reason. It shuts off while the vehicle is in motion. Also sometimes when I turn the heater off the vehicle shuts off. It has happened once while in motion and once while stationary.

- Sulphur, LA, USA

problem #111

Oct 262017

Journey

  • miles
Car cuts off while in motion. This is an issue that many owners have had. Dealerships say it was "released too early and it has a lot of bugs in the system" I have had my kids in the car every time this has happened!!! was almost in a wreck this time at my daughter's school. Also, car will not start sometimes unless I put it in gear and "trick" it. I have replaced the starter numerous times thinking that was it....has cut off when on the highway, residential street, parking lots, in motion and stationary...happens often.

- Stokesdale, NC, USA

problem #110

Jul 192017

Journey

  • 93,000 miles
Car has had to have brakes multiple times for excess wear and problems with caliper, engine runs rough and hesitates to accelerate at speeds over 45 miles per hr, checkengine comes on and flashes and the goes solid, codes show up as PO202 with definition of cylinder 2 injector electrical circuit unit had a fault lodged or was disconnected for predetermined time. This car is costing me an arm and leg

- Waterford, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »