10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,069 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #26

Aug 252017

Ram 1500

  • miles
I have attempted to get my truck fixed under recall 7 times since they came out. I have been repeatedly been told the parts are backordered and my vehicle can't be fixed. I contacted fca and they told me there was nothing they could do except make another appointment?

- Nixa, MO, USA

problem #25

Nov 052018

Ram 1500

  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. The contact stated that the entire steel frame of the vehicle was rusted. The vehicle was taken to berglund Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram (2525 franklin rd sw, roanoke, va 24014, 540-345-9881) where it was diagnosed that the steel frame was fractured. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that they would reach back out, but the contact had not heard back yet. The failure mileage was approximately 82,000.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #24

Sep 192017

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 224,000 miles
The front strap holding the gas tank to the frame broke causing the fuel tank to drop very close to the ground. The vehicle was parked and I noticed something hanging underneath the car. Had I driven it, my concern is that it would have detached from the vehicle either because the remaining strap would detach or because the fuel tank would not clear a bump in the road surface. The potential for rupture or accident by my vehicle or a vehicle behind me is a major concern on my part. I have researched the issue on the web and there are quite a few reports of this happening. There have been complaints filed with Dodge/Ram and the company (from the reports) is not accepting responsibility for this issue. I am submitting this in the hope that the NHTSA may mitigate a potentially serious situation for someone else...updated 09/25/17.updated 10/04/17

- Darien, IL, USA

problem #23

Jun 182017

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Noticed the front fuel tank strap hanging from the left side of the vehicle. After looking closer I noticed it was loose because the slot where it attaches to in the frame was rusting out. Did a google search and saw that this seems to be a common problem with the 2009 Ram. I feel there should be a recall for this if the gas tank were to drop off going down the road it could result in injury or death. 8/25/17..updated 09/25/17..updated 10/04/17

- Edgewood, MD, USA

problem #22

Nov 102016

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 52,265 miles
Fuel tank retaining strap detached from frame cross-member causing fuel tank to hang unsecured under vehicle causing potential catastrophic consequences! Dodge dealership states frame structure rusted due to bad design, manufacturer failed to design a moisture drain into the boxed frame which caused the strap attachment point to give away. Dealer states non-repairable ** non-driveable! Fiat Chrysler automotive customer assistance refused any assistance in rendering any type of resolution. No concern regarding possibility of having fuel tank falling from vehicle. I mentioned later year production of same model has a new designed cross-member. This substantiates a known failure/design flaw. I am requesting NHTSA to please investigate and issue a safety recall. A <7 year old vehicle should not have a frame structure rust to point of rendering vehicle unsafe and undriveable. Please help! needs addressed before someone suffers injury or worse. Also need help motivating manufacturer to right a wrong. Preferrably not at my (consumers) expense. Thanks daniel kartholl **have several more pictures, could only attach one for some reason** updated 08/11/17 updated 8/25/2017

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #21

Nov 232016

Ram 1500 4WD 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
While driving to work I heard a strange sound underneath my truck. I pulled off the road to have a look and noticed the strap that holds the gas tank detached on one side and the front of the fuel tank was hanging down. Apparently the strap support in the frame rotted out. The rear strap attachment also seems to be corroding. I hate to think what would have happened if both straps detached at the same time with a full tank of fuel. I temporarily strapped the tank to the frame, using a ratchet strap, and brought the truck to the dealer. They confirmed what had happened, not covered under warranty, and said I had to take the truck to a body shop to be repaired.

- Huntington, NY, USA

problem #20

Dec 032016

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • miles
Yesterday I noticed something hanging down under my Dodge Ram. After a closer look I saw it was my gas tank and the forward strap had came out of its anchor point. I thought all I would have to do is put it back in to the frame but then I discovered that the strap had actually pulled through its anchor spot on the frame and disfigured the anchor point that I can no longer put the strap back on. I can't help but think what could have happened if my gas tank had dislodged from my truck while driving on the highway....updated 08/08/17

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #19

Oct 012016

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 143,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 1500. While the contact was changing the rear axle fluid, he noticed that the rear bump stops on both sides were deteriorated. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 143,000. Updated 12/20/16

- Harlingen, TX, USA

problem #18

Aug 012016

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Truck is making a loud whining noise that seems to be coming from the rear end and the front gas tank strap has come loose from the frame. The slot that it is supposed to be fastened to is rusted completely out. This is a severe safety hazzard that could be very deadly if the tank comes off. Updated 08/11/17

- Big Stone Gap, VA, USA

problem #17

Jun 172016

Ram 1500

  • 0 miles
Ram box plastic lids seem to be releasing fiberglass like fibers into skin developing a rash when touched or rubbed. When leaning on the lid with forearms, the skin experiences severe itching, a rash and discomfort just like having fiberglass slivers in your skin as happens when handling fiberglass insulation material. It takes several days for the itching of scrubbing with soap and water for the itching to subside. It has happened to me and my children. Since identifying the source of the itching, I have found numerous complaints by other owners of 2009 Dodge Ram trucks with the Ram box. I also found unconfirmed information that Dodge may have changed the manufacturer of the Ram box lids for the following year model. Having called the Dodge dealer and the national Dodge warranty office, they indicated that there is no recall on the Ram box lids and they have no record of an issue.

- Covington, LA, USA

problem #16

May 252016

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Front strap on gas tank pulled out of an rusty frame, this is a bad design and safety issue if the tank would fall off. The diesign of cross bar doesn't have a place for water to drain out, wv. Has a state inspection and this is when it found....updated 08/07/17

- Mineral Wells, WV, USA

problem #15

Dec 232015

Ram 1500

  • 43,000 miles
My 2009 Dodge Ram 1500 gas tank almost fell out causing almost an explosion of tank. Reason: The tank is held in by two metal straps one side is attach to a frame bolt the other side of the strap is a T shape that slides into a T slot in the frame now what happen is the T section pulled right through the frame causing the tank to drop almost to the road the remainder of the strap was hitting the driveshaft causing sparks if the plastic tank hit the ground it could explode. Dodge rep had mention to me this is a common issue. So I think there should be a recall on this issue...updated 08/07/17

- Hubbardston, MA, USA

problem #14

Sep 192015

Ram 1500

  • 70,000 miles
While driving vehicle I heard occasional scraping noise and had other vehicles flash lights at me. I pulled off the road in the 1st safe area and found front of fuel tank hanging down approximately 8 inches and the front retaining strap disconnected. I thought the strap had disconnected but upon further inspection by my mechanic found that the frame was rotted through where the strap attaches. Mechanic states that I was lucky not to lose the tank, poor design and that this should not happen to a 6.5 year old truck. I contacted dealer and was told it was not covered by warranty. Suggested I contact Chrysler. Chrysler says they cannot help even though obvious safety concern. My Ram 1500 is my every day vehicle. I do not use it for work or plow with it. Truck has been well cared for. Design needs to be investigated.

- Hyde Park, NY, USA

problem #13

Oct 162015

Ram 1500

  • 80,000 miles
Team: I was instructed by Dodge to drill a weep hole for the other side of the same cross member which has brake/gas lines attached to it. That side is completely rusted out too. There are brake/gas lines attached to a rusted out piece. What happens when it falls off? no brakes fireball I need someone to get on Dodge's bumper. Dodge needs to pay for a new frame or vehicle. This vehicle is unsafe. Gratzie. Cordially, greg ps I have more pix in case I didn't attach to other complaint.

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #12

Sep 112015

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 50,700 miles
I heard a noise while traveling as if something had broke underneath the vehicle. I pulled over and looked underneath and could see the front fuel tank mounting strap had disconnected and the forward part of the fuel tank was hanging down only being held by the rear fuel tank mounting strap. Upon closer inspection I found that the front fuel tank mounting strap was intact but the its frame attachment point had rotted through...updated 08/07/17 updated 08/21/17

- Franklin, MA, USA

problem #11

Aug 092015

Ram 1500

  • 85,000 miles
Team: I was replacing the rear shocks when I noticed a weird rust pattern on the cross member near the right frame & catalytic convertor. It looked like orange peel or a rose blooming. I checked the rest of the frame while I was under there. I have done cosmetic rust prevention in the past. Since I'm a diyer & proactive, I grabbed a paint tool to scrape the rust to get to bare metal so I could treat/prime it. Lol not only did the top layer of metal come off, the entire cross member disintegrated into brittle metal chunks which I saved/documented. There's a 4" square section that's gone. Since this is a 400 hp vehicle, I'm sure the frame will tear itself apart eventually even though I baby the truck. E.g. no dents I surmise that water has been trapped up there since I bought the vehicle resulting in frame failure. The metal has no strength. Lol I don't want anybody gettting hurt, so please advise others.

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #10

May 062014

Ram 1500

  • 80,000 miles
Ram box lids seem to be releasing fiberglass like fibers into clothes or skin when touched. Causes severe itching and discomfort like you have fiberglass slivers in your skin. Takes days of scrubbing before it seems to go away. Have since heard about multiple owners experiencing this.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #9

Feb 242014

Ram 1500

  • 82,000 miles
I have begun to notice that the paint on the body under my doors on driver and passenger side is beginning to bubble. This is not occurring any where else on the vehicle. Vehicle is a 2009 and should not have paint issues.

- Alvaton, KY, USA

problem #8

May 012012

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Many of my doors have been squeaking when opening and closing. I have taken it to a dealer for service, and all they have done is spray WD40 on the hinges. This only works for a short time.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #7

Apr 272013

Ram 1500 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
While driving in a moderate rain, water began leaking into the back seat on my daughter. I do not have a sunroof. It appears to be leaking into the cab of the truck via the two roof seams where they meet the rear windshield. I have read other complaints online that indicate it could be faulty seals on the roof seams, third brake light seal (creating a hazard of shorting out the light), or the seal of the rear windshield.

- Cumming, GA, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »