10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,190 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #51

Dec 202013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the parts were not available, as advised by the dealer. The manufacturer was contacted and provided an unreasonable date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cape Vincent, NY, USA

problem #50

Dec 182013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The contact was concerned that the failure could be life-threatening because he transported small children in the vehicle. The dealer stated that the part was not available. The manufacture was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tracy, CA, USA

problem #49

Dec 202013

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the repair part was also recalled and did not know when the replacement part would become available. The manufacture had been alerted of the issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the a failure.

- Crawfordsville, IN, USA

problem #48

Dec 162013

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) but was advised by the dealer that the parts were not available. The contact received the recall notice several months ago and was advised by the manufacturer that they did not know when the parts would be available. There are no failures at this time.

- Modesto, IL, USA

problem #47

Jan 012014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The dealer had to place the contact on a waiting list that would exceed two years because the replacement part was called back by the manufacturer. The manufacturer advised the contact that the replacement part had to be redesigned and could possibly become available to the dealer within two years. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Redway, CA, USA

problem #46

Dec 152013

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer advised that part was not available to complete the required repairs. The manufacturer was contacted and provided an unreasonable date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #45

Dec 262013

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the part was not available for repair. The contact felt that it was unacceptable for him to still be waiting when the vehicle was taken to the dealer January 6, 2014. The manufacture was alerted. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated he had not yet experienced the failure described in the recall. Updated 04/22/14

- Yucaipa, CA, USA

problem #44

Jan 062014

Ram 2500 6-cyl

  • miles
I received an important safety recall N49/NHTSA 13V-529 back in Dec time frame, I immediately contacted crown Dodge in fayetteville, nc. They told me that they are aware of the situation and are waiting on parts to arrive and to call back in two weeks. I call back two weeks later (mid Jan) they explain that they have not received any parts and was told to bring in my truck so they can order parts assigned to my VIN number which I did. After waiting several weeks I called crown Dodge on 4 March 2014 and spoke with frank in the service dept. He explains to me that the parts were ordered last week. I don't understand how it has taken crown Dodge over 2 months to order parts for this recall. [xxx] was unable to give a good explanation why it has taken so long to order parts. I explained to him that my truck has a severe death wobble problem and it is very hazardous to drive and I needed this issue fixed as soon as possible. I don't even let my wife drive the truck because I am afraid for her safety because of this issue. [xxx] could not tell me when the parts he supposedly ordered would come in. I am tired of waiting and hope you could shed some light on this problem I am having with crown Dodge of fayetteville. Thank you helping me in this matter.. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #43

Jan 202014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) had surpassed a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that they were only receiving one repair kit per week. The contact was number 37 on a waiting list for the part. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Clarkston, WA, USA

problem #42

Dec 132013

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) and was still awaiting parts from an authorized dealer. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 04/04/14 the consumer stated the parts hadn't become available in a timely manner. The vehicle started to show failure symptoms of the problems in accordance with the recall. Updated 04/11/2014

- Signal Mountain, TN, USA

problem #41

Jan 272014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The dealer informed the contact that the remedy part would take two months for them to receive. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Troup, TX, USA

problem #40

Feb 272014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) but was informed that the parts were not available and the dealer was only receiving one replacement part every two weeks. The contact felt that since the failure was reported November 2013, there should have been a remedy available before February 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Plymouth , MN, USA

problem #39

Jan 012014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) and the dealer informed the contact that they were only receiving one recall kit every seven days. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the part to become available. The manufacturer had not been made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pueblo West, CO, USA

problem #38

Feb 192014

Ram 2500

  • miles
I received a safety recall notice N49/NHTSA 13V-529 for above truck in 12/13. I took truck to napleton Dodge lake park, fl. Tel. # 561-622-0101 and was told the parts had to be ordered. Since then I had numerous contacts with the dealer's parts department. The parts clerks told me Chrysler is limiting the number of repair parts needed to clear the recall. They first said the dealer could only order 2 a week. On 2/19/14 the parts clerk said Chrysler has reduced the number to one every seven day, and that I was 50th on the list and they couldn't even order my parts for 350 days. They were sorry but there was nothing they could do since Chrysler was limiting the ordering. The dealer has been polite but they blame the problem on Chrysler not having the parts. I am concerned since I do not want to drive for a year with unsafe suspension especially since I frequently tow heavy loads.

- Palm Beach Gardens , FL, USA

problem #37

Jan 092014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) and contacted the dealer, who informed the contact that they only receive one remedy part per week. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Stanwod, MI, USA

problem #36

Feb 102014

Ram 2500

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he received NHTSA campaign number: 13V528000 (steering) attempted to have the vehicle repaired but was informed that the parts were unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and confirmed the part unavailability. The contact had not experienced a failure but was informed by the dealer that the part had failed their inspection. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Steamboat Springs, CO, USA

problem #35

Feb 062014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) last year and was recently informed by the manufacturer that the parts were not available. There are no failures at this time. The VIN was unavailable.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #34

Dec 122013

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that she received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) but it had surpassed reasonable time for the repair. The dealer stated that the part was not available for repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but stated that there was a restriction on the repair part because they could not supply enough repair kits to their customers. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/28/14 updated 05/30/2014

- Portland , OR, USA

problem #33

Feb 042014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) in late December 2013 and attempted to have the vehicle repaired on numerous occasions but the dealer stated that the parts were unavailable. The contact stated that a few weeks later while driving 10 mph, he turned the steering wheel to the left and began to hear a grinding noise. The contact exited the vehicle and noticed that the tie rod was fractured and had shot through the front passengers¿ side tire. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where they stated that the tie rod needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 48,000. Updated 5/13/14

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #32

Dec 182013

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500 4X4. The contact stated he received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the recall had surpassed a reasonable time for repair. The dealer stated that the part was not available for repair and was not available to give the contact a date when the part would become available. The manufacture was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 03-12-14

- Coronado, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »