10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,809 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #70

Dec 302013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The contact was placed on a massive waiting list. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Saucier, MS, USA

problem #69

Oct 152013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he was concerned for his safety since the parts were still not available for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact did not experience a failure. The current mileage was 69,810.

- Yakima, WA, USA

problem #68

Jan 022014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V528000(steering) and stated that the repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time because the dealer indicated that the parts were not available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not contacted.

- Ocean Side, CA, USA

problem #67

Nov 302011

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • 10,000 miles
Car was brought in 5 times to have various front end recalls performed, two different dealers bedard brothers in cheshire mass. And beterra for steering recall (now N49/NHTSA 13V-529) previously same recall had two or three different numbers. They have never had the parts and could never perform the recall. Because they say that the steering may fail at any moment I have used the vehicle only when I absolutely have no other transportation. Hence as of today the car has 17,200 miles only. The other problem is loss of coolant, the egr cooler has been leaking, I have had it at dealers three times and they have no clue how to repair. This is a common complaint. Because this internal leak goes into the turbocharger. The turbocharger failed and on 7/08/13 had to be replaced at 16,150 miles. That was the symptom of the egr cooler leak, but the cause (leaking egr cooler was not addressed then or on two following trips to the dealers. On to bedard and one to berterra. The Chrysler case number may be 24954056 after dealers worked on car two trouble codes appeared P052 and P0700 I don't want to continue driving a car that the steering will fail at any moment or the engine may blow because of coolant loss.

- Middlefield, MA, USA

problem #66

Mar 242014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) but was informed by the dealer that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated arrival date. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fayette City, PA, USA

problem #65

Jan 092014

Ram 2500

  • 11,435 miles
Chrysler group llc sent us a recall on this truck. Recall number N49, a left tie rod that may fail causing loss of directional control and/or crash without warning. I contacted the local Chrysler co where we purchased the truck on January 9 and we have not been called back to replace the part. We are fearful of driving this truck because of the warning. We haul horses and do not want to have to worry about a crash and have to deal with loss of life, limb, truck, trailer, and horses. We think that Chrysler should replace your truck with one that does not have a recalled part as they have been very slow in replacing the part. It is time. Note mileage is low for a 2009 truck because of that concern. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Gettysburg, PA, USA

problem #64

Dec 202013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) but was advised by the dealer that the part needed to complete the repair was not available. The contact received the notification months ago. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide a reasonable timeframe for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Joliet, MT, USA

problem #63

Jan 012014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
2009 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to tie rod ball stud recall notice problems. The consumer stated she and her husband have been waiting since Jan 2014, for the part to come in. Updated 05/07/14.

- Coeur D'alene, ID, USA

problem #62

Nov 012013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number 13V528000 (steering) had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact received the recall letter November 2013. The dealer advised the contact that the replacement part had also been recalled and they did not know when the newly designed part would become available for the repair. The contact had not experience a failure.

- Lubbock , TX, USA

problem #61

Dec 262013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- La Junta, CO, USA

problem #60

Dec 182013

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
I received a recall notice from Dodge/Chrysler in December notifying me that parts to repair my truck would be available starting January 6, 2014. I called prior to January 1st and was told to call back after January 6th. I called back on February 10th and was placed on a waiting list with an estimated wait of 4 to 6 weeks. I have heard nothing as of today. So I followed up with the dealership again today and was told that they have not received parts from Chrysler yet and I wasn't on the advisors list. I've been added again, but was told that there are over 3,000 trucks in my area waiting to be serviced with no estimate as to when the parts will be available. I was also told previously that Chrysler sent parts to the dealership on a prior recall at the rate of one repair per week. If this is repeated this time it will take up to 3,000 weeks to be serviced. I've already waited over 3 months which seems unreasonable and have no assurance of being taken care of in the foreseeable future. How can we expedite this repair?

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #59

Jan 072014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) however, the parts needed for the repair were not available and the repairs could not be performed for the recall. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs to be performed. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Missoula, MT, USA

problem #58

Dec 262013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated he received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) and attempted to have the vehicle repaired on numerous occasions but the dealer stated that the manufacturer stopped producing the replacement parts because they were defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bourbon, MO, USA

problem #57

Feb 142014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
2009 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to tie rod recall notice issues. The dealer informed the consumer, the parts were not available. The consumer was placed on a waiting list.

- Corry, PA, USA

problem #56

Jan 062014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number:13V529000 (steering) but was advised by the dealer that the parts needed to complete the repair were not available. The contact received the notification months ago and was advised by the manufacturer that they were not aware of when the parts would become available to complete the repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #55

Feb 192014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign id number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part needed to complete the repair could take up to six months. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tully, NY, USA

problem #54

Mar 032014

Ram 2500

  • 40,000 miles
Chrysler put out a recall "N49" for my truck I took it to a dealer and they said the parts are defective and need replaced they had to order the parts 3 weeks later and no parts the dealer now says it will probably be another 3 months before they can get the parts I called Chrysler and the only response was that they don't have the ability to produce the parts they cannot tell me what will happen if the parts break and I crash my truck I now have no idea what I should do.

- Underwood, IA, USA

problem #53

Mar 172014

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that she attempted to have her vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) but was informed that the parts were not available and that the dealers were receiving two parts per month. The contact felt that since the failure was reported in November of 2013, there should have been a remedy available before March of 2014. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable time for repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/28/14

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #52

Mar 142014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that she received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number 13V529000 (steering) and was informed by the dealer that the part was not available. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Villeplatte, LA, USA

problem #51

Dec 202013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the parts were not available, as advised by the dealer. The manufacturer was contacted and provided an unreasonable date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cape Vincent, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »