10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,190 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Dodge Ram 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #91

Dec 032013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) however, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Amelia, VA, USA

problem #90

Jan 152014

Ram 2500 8-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Received first N49 notice and brought vehicle in for 60K service and recall repair on 1-15-14. Recall repair not able to be completed. Multiple calls to dealer and 2 more N49 recall notices received and dealer still not able to repair truck. Latest notice received 6-28-14.

- Kirkland , WA, USA

problem #89

Jul 012014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact stated that the dealer and the manufacturer were not able to provide a time frame for when the parts would be available for the repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Maple Shade, NJ, USA

problem #88

Jan 082014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated that he attempted to have the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number:13V529000 (steering). The contact stated that he was made aware that parts were not available as a result repairs were unable to be performed for the recall. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Vero Beach , FL, USA

problem #87

Jan 022014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact attempted to have the vehicle repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering), but the part was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Gallatin Gateway, MT, USA

problem #86

Dec 012013

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Recall N49 / NHTSA 13V-529 I have been waiting to get the recall work done on my 2009 Dodge Ram 2500 since December 1 2013. My local Dodge dealer, (don K Dodge Chrysler and Jeep in whitefish Montana) said they put me on a list of customers for the same recall. I have stopped in once a month (6 times) since I was put on the list. During my last visit, I was told by the service manager that there were 137 people in line ahead of me. The service manager also informed me that Dodge is only allowing them parts to do one recall repair every two weeks. From my calculations, that puts my wife, three kids and I 5.25 years of at risk driving before my truck will be able to have the defective parts replaced. I would like my truck to be repaired as soon as possible, as I cannot afford to buy another one. 7 months of waiting to find out it will be 5 more years is not reasonable at all. I sincerely hope to get this issue resolved in the near future. Thanks for your time.

- Columbia Falls, MT, USA

problem #85

Dec 182013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering) had exceeded the reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer stated that the parts were not available. The dealer stated that the manufacturer was only sending one repair kit at a time. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repair. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Crane Hill , AL, USA

problem #84

Dec 112013

Ram 2500

  • 85,848 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering), however the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Jerome, ID, USA

problem #83

Jan 012014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact mentioned that the manufacturer had exceeded the reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated they were only receiving 2 repair kits a month and had a waiting list of over 200. The manufacturer not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced the failure described in the recall. Updated 10/02/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on 8/1/14. Updated 3/9/15

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #82

Feb 072014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The dealer was unable to provide an expected date for the remedy part to become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Batesville, AR, USA

problem #81

Apr 202014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer did not provide a specific date when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was also contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #80

Dec 182013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a recall notification under NHTSA campaign id number 13V529000 (steering). However, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bayton, MN, USA

problem #79

Jun 252014

Ram 2500 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification for recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V529000 (steering). The contact stated that she had contacted the dealer numerous times and they have no idea when the parts would be available for the repairs. The repair was not taken care of in a reasonable amount of time. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer has not been contacted. Updated 10/29/14 updated 4/22/15

- Beford, IN, USA

problem #78

Jan 012013

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
I received recall notice # N49/NHTSA 13V-529. I contacted my dealer in Jan as instructed, again in March and again in June of 2014. I am still waiting on my recall work to be performed.

- Melville, LA, USA

problem #77

May 052014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number 13V529000 (steering). However, the part was unavailable to do the repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Salsurrias, TX, USA

problem #76

Jan 062014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Received a recall notice for left tie rod ball stud in January. I contacted the dealership and they said it will be a couple of weeks for the part to come. It is now the end of may and my vehicle has not been fixed.

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #75

Jan 062014

Ram 2500 6-cyl Diesel

  • miles
Chrysler safety recall N49/NHTSA 13V-329. I received this notice on Jan 6, 2014. The stated problem is "the left tie rod ball stud on your truck may fracture under certain driving conditions. This could cause a loss of directional control and/or crash without warning." I contacted my dealer on Jan 7, 2014 to schedule a service appointment to make this repair. I was put on as waiting list due to a low supply of replacement parts available from Chrysler. It is now May 28(5 months later), and still do not know when this repair will be made. My question to you is, do you have data which somehow establishes a likelihood of this event happening?

- Ellensburg, WA, USA

problem #74

Jan 312014

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number 13V529000 (steering) and stated that the part needed to perform the repair was currently unavailable. The dealer was unable to provide an expected availability date. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The vehicle had not experienced the failure.

- Morgan, UT, USA

problem #73

May 012014

Ram 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2009 Dodge Ram 2500. Consumer writes in regards to the left tie rod ball stud recall notice. The dealer informed the consumer, there was an extended wait, as they only received 1 part a week. Recall # 13V529000.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #72

Dec 262013

Ram 2500

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Dodge Ram 2500. The contact stated NHTSA campaign recall number: 13V529000 (steering) had surpassed the reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the part was not available. The manufacturer was not notified of the delay. There were no failures at this time.

- Dammeron Valley , UT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »