3.0

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,837 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1996 Ford Crown Victoria:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #11

Oct 242011

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • 35 miles
I purchase my vehicle on October 24th, 2011 from a private party who said, "the coolant leak", but the vehicle over heated when I drove it home less than 3 miles away the hood of my car was smoking. After taking it to a local mechanic with my friend who drove his car to ensure my safety, my car began to over heat after driving it for 10 minutes! I was so frantic that I thought I was going to burned up in the car. The mechanic told me the next day it was the intake manifold and inform me that this may be a recall and to check with the Ford corporation and I did called Ford corporation and found out this vehicle had control cruise harness and a intake manifold recall id is 01M02, the dealership for camelback Ford in phoenix, Mr. Chad mcdowell offer this recall number but his employee [xxx] offer to help me fix the both problems, then later on negated. I feel a recall of any vehicle should never be expired base on these issues of safety and regardless of a settlement that may have been reached, there are millions of people who need to have their vehicle repair to make it at least a whole again as much as possible and avoid a possible injury or death. I found the recall of this intake manifold offering consumer up to $ 750 to repair the car without any receipts? what about the people who purchase the vehicle afterwards, is that fair. Now my concern is that I am smelling gasoline when I am driving and I believed it may have something to do with the gas line or the sensor, and I hate putting more money into the vehicle. I fear that the mechanic will tell me its going to be a costly matter and it's never going to stop with this car and I just want to get rid of it or have it repair as it should of been by the dealership but the Ford company would not approve it. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #10

Jan 152009

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 1996 Ford Crown Victoria. The contact stated that the air intake manifold on the vehicle was manufactured out of plastic, which caused anti-freeze to leak onto the engine. The anti-freeze leak was noticed due to the burning chemical odor and smoke coming from under the hood. The dealer stated that the repairs would cost over $1,000 at the contact's expense. He was denied repairs under the class action lawsuit. When the heater was activated, the odor from the anti-freeze was overbearing in the passenger compartment of the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were 82,000. Updated 4/16/09 updated 04/20/09.

- E North Port, NY, USA

problem #9

Feb 172006

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles
On a 1996 Ford Crown Victoria the intake manifold failed due to a severe crack on the underside, loosing coolant and causing over heating of engine and leaving us stranded.car was repaired at a shop we have used for years at the cost of approx $700.

- Emory, TX, USA

problem #8

Jan 082002

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving on the expressway, I heard a pop the engine ran hot imediately... I later found ti to be the intake mainfold fitting... according to the mechanic, this is common for this particular type car...

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #7

Jan 152003

Crown Victoria

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
First I would like to say that what I hear about the Grand Marquis having problem with the fuel tank is rather disturbing to me I am aware now that these cars are capable of catching on fire if hit from behind. I carry three small children to school every morning in "this car" I have contacted the Ford Corp. About this problem and they seem to not be bothered about this fact. Now to my other problems. I have just replaced my intake manifold because the one that came with the car cracked while I was driving it. My mechanic stated that he found out that it was a very common problem with the 1996 Mercury Grand Marquis. The Ford Corp. Has redesigned the intake manifold for this model and raised the price from about $250 to almost $500. In July of 2002 there was a part that went out on my A/C unit that I had to replace (I have to contact my mechanic to see what part it was that was replaced) in July 2002 I had to have my roters turned, in January 2003, I had to have them turned agian and have my right back roter repaced because it was no longer good. (all this was done on January 10 2003 now it is Jan. 20, 2003 and my right front roter is grinding again (I also had new brakes put on all around Jan.10,2003. My driver side door is drooping because it needs a new pin put in... my car also seems to balk when I push on the gas peddal, my car also has a popping noise when I hit a hole or turn. When I called the Ford Corp. On these issues they seemed liked they really didn't care about any of these things. Maybe you might know someone that I could contact in the Ford Corp. That is "high up" and that would listen to my oncerns. Thank you for your time, sincerly, diane

- Chunchula, AL, USA

problem #6

Jan 152003

Crown Victoria

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
First I would like to say that what I hear about the Grand Marquis having problem with the fuel tank is rather disturbing to me I am aware now that these cars are capable of catching on fire if hit from behind. I carry three small children to school every morning in "this car" I have contacted the Ford Corp. About this problem and they seem to not be bothered about this fact. Now to my other problems. I have just replaced my intake manifold because the one that came with the car cracked while I was driving it. My mechanic stated that he found out that it was a very common problem with the 1996 Mercury Grand Marquis. The Ford Corp. Has redesigned the intake manifold for this model and raised the price from about $250 to almost $500. In July of 2002 there was a part that went out on my A/C unit that I had to replace (I have to contact my mechanic to see what part it was that was replaced) in July 2002 I had to have my roters turned, in January 2003, I had to have them turned agian and have my right back roter repaced because it was no longer good. (all this was done on January 10 2003 now it is Jan. 20, 2003 and my right front roter is grinding again (I also had new brakes put on all around Jan.10,2003. My driver side door is drooping because it needs a new pin put in... my car also seems to balk when I push on the gas peddal, my car also has a popping noise when I hit a hole or turn. When I called the Ford Corp. On these issues they seemed liked they really didn't care about any of these things. Maybe you might know someone that I could contact in the Ford Corp. That is "high up" and that would listen to my oncerns. Thank you for your time, sincerly, diane

- Chunchula, AL, USA

problem #5

Jan 122004

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 190,162 miles
I own a 1996 Ford Crown Victoria P71 interceptor. I have a serious problem with my intake manifold on the engine. The recalled part was not replaced by the department that previously owned the vehicle, and now it has failed 6 months after the expiration leaving me an unsafe vehicle, and risk of permanent engine damage or failure. Ford is not willing to assist in any way with this repair other than a standard near $800 repair.

- Mora, MN, USA

problem #4

Sep 182003

Crown Victoria 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,009 miles
While operating 1996 Ford Crown Victoria LX 4dr sedan (140K mileage) on local highway, upon stopping noticed coolant smell. Took vehicle to local dealer. Diagnosed a cracked "resin" engine intake on 4.6 ltr V8 at seam under tempertaure sensor behind alternator. Repaired with replacement aluminum intake at owners expense. Old intake sent to william C. Ford, CEO Ford Motor Company, one american road, dearborn, mi, 48121, with letter of explanation/complaint. Factory manufacturing defect. Request action.

- Smithville, TN, USA

problem #3

Jul 242003

Crown Victoria

  • miles
Consumer states intake manifold gasket is cracked, causing coolant to go inside the engine. Dealer notified.

- Bradenton, FL, USA

problem #2

Jun 012002

Crown Victoria

  • miles
While traveling at 25 mph the temperature gauge went to hot, and consumer could smell antifreeze burning smell. Mechanic stated it was a cracked manifold behind alternater.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #1

Apr 022001

Crown Victoria

  • miles
While driving temperature gauge went up, car over heated. Consumer later noticed that intake manifold cracked.

- Gibbsboro, NJ, USA