1.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
130,576 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #19

Dec 122018

Escape

  • 179,000 miles
Power steering went out while driving with no warning so there was a recall on some but not all Escapes on a city street while I was turning at an intersection

- Paradise, TX, USA

problem #18

Feb 112019

Escape

  • 172,000 miles
Power steering assist fault. And also tire pressure sensor fault Escape 4WD V6 w/ ~172, xxx. Dash notification appeared on 02/09/19 but quickly went away. Power steering was fine, not one issue ever. Then on 02/11/19 on the way home, the dash alert showed "power steering assist fault" and it wouldn't go away and beeped multiple times. I parked it at home in driveway and went to move it into the street a little bit later and the power steering was nonexistent. Took full body weight to just get it to in front of the house. Lucky that I wasn't driving or delivering for my job like I usually am during the week. But to my luck, my VIN isn't under the recall even though my Escape was built in May 2009, well within the recall time period. I think highly of Ford and am very disappointed at their attempts to silence and curb customer issues... and this is a dangerous manufacturing issue! any Ford executive or higher up would have this done asap if something bad happened to their own family. We need to all stand up and file a class action lawsuit. They don't care about our safety or our financial wellbeing. Most can't afford these $1-2K fixes.

- Lincoln Park, MI, USA

problem #17

Nov 302018

Escape

  • 5 miles
I was on my to work one morning entering the interstate on ramp and I lost power steering which almost caused me to have an accident. Making it extremely hard to steer the vehicle. Upon taking it to my local Ford dealership they told me my power steering torque control module was failing. This was a recall on Escapes from 2008 / 2011, but they said my particular VIN was not part of the recall"?" upon further investigation myself I'm seeing where numerous Ford owners were having the same issue and like myself had to pay for this repair out of pocket...not cheap I may add. It seems that someone will have to loose their life as a result of this defect before a recall is issued for (all) models in this time frame... what a horrible thing for Ford to put their consumers and their families in jepordy due to these defective parts. I would like to see full recall on all models between this time frame. Also vehicles to be fixed at Ford expense before someone looses a loved one. And reimburse those of us who have had it fixed at our expense....

- Locust Grove, GA, USA

problem #16

Nov 192018

Escape

  • 140,000 miles
On a snowy morning the brakes were applied normally and the slippery conditions caused anti-lock brakes to activate. They seemed to work normally, but after that activation the brake pedal felt very soft and would not engage the brakes until the very end of the pedal travel. The vehicle would still stop, but the brakes were unpredictable and unsafe. The problem was diagnosed as a bad hydraulic control unit (hcu) and was replaced with the ABS module as a unit ($1700). The new unit required reprogramming and bleeding at the dealership ($200). Because this is a safety component within a reasonable mileage (140,000 vehicle mileage), this should be addressed by the oem with at least a tsb.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #15

Oct 222018

Escape

  • 158,530 miles
While driving with my whole family. 2 little girls 12 and 6 and thankfully my husband driving and not me, we were returning a rental car when my car flashed out of no where going about 45mph power steering assist fault upon my research; there has been certain vehicles recalled. Come on Ford! whatever the default is, can you at least give us owners insight on this stuff to get it fixed" is this some kind of money maker for you all? to set up certain timers for this stuff to happen" IżM just so thanmf that I wasnżT driving. I would have not had the power my husband does to overtake the wheel. Please please please do something!

- Catlettsburg, KY, USA

problem #14

Apr 162018

Escape

  • 106,000 miles
My car turns off while driving. This has happened 3 times since April 2018. After the car stalls, I am able to restart it and it runs again. I'm extremely concerned this will happen on a major highway and put my family and other drivers at risk.

- Islip Terrace, NY, USA

problem #13

Nov 072017

Escape

  • 130,000 miles
Sudden loss of power steering assist even after the recall reprogramming. My vehicle was previously taken in for for recall number 14S05 in July. 2014. Trouble codes were not found at that time so the dealer supposedly did a reprogramming which was designed to prevent the loss of power assist. Our vehicle had a complete loss of power steering assist while driving on 11/7/17 I took the vehicle to my local Ford dealer and they found trouble code B1342 which if found during the 2014 recall appointment, it would have resulted in the steering column being replaced. I was told by the dealer that the steering column needs to be replaced but that my vehicle was no longer eligible for the recall due to the previous reprogramming, even thought it was completely ineffective in resolving the critical safety issue. Clearly, my vehicle experienced the exact power steering loss and failure code that was related to the recall. The reprogramming did not have the intended result whatsoever - I still experienced the power steering loss. I have tried to escalate this issue within Ford customer service but they are denying any responsibility to resolve this known defect under the recall warranty due to the previous reprogramming. I'm hoping NHTSA can help resolve this critical safety issue - I'm sure we're not the only ones affected! im a single mom and do not have the $1300 to replace this part which should of been replaced the first time!!!!!

- Demotte, IN, USA

problem #12

Oct 012017

Escape

  • 62,000 miles
Loss of powering steering in vehicle going 55 mph on a busy highway. No engine lights or safety signals appeared on the dash when this occurred, there was absolutely no warning. Luckily, I was not in a serious accident when the loss of power steering occured and I was able to take the vehicle to the dealership to have it looked at. At this point they said the recall should have fixed everything regarding the electrical powering steering issue, but now that the recall has been closed there is nothing they can do and I am now responsible to have the power steering column replaced. When the vehicle was taken in the recall initially, it took them 2 minutes to complete the check list checking for dtcs and to reprogram the pscm and instrument cluster. The customer information sheet posted with the safety recall bulletin was never give to me even though all dealership service management should have provided a copy to those who only had reprogramming completed on their vehicle.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #11

Jan 312017

Escape

  • 90,000 miles
Lost all power steering on interstate at high rate of speed.

- Evergreen, CO, USA

problem #10

Nov 182016

Escape

  • 138,900 miles
I am writing to you to inform you on the safety condition of the 2009 Ford Escape. The number 1 problem is hard to steer the wheel when driving. Number 2 problem is the engine shuts off when turning corners while driving. The date it happen was Friday Nov. 18, 2016.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #9

Sep 292016

Escape

  • miles
Throttle body failed, RPM up and down. Lost power when driving. Repalced a new one from dealership and it does not last for one year. Car only 99000 miles right now. New throttle body lasts 1290 miles and failed.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #8

Sep 062015

Escape

  • 185,000 miles
I have a 2009ford Escape purchased used in May 2014. Last night when driving home my car stalled as if it were not getting gas. We were almost hit by another car because of this. I called Ford this morning and they say they "cannot" do anything because the window to get them fixed ended January 2015. It infuriates me that Ford and NHTSA is aware there is a problem but my children and I could have been killed because they did not issue a "true recall" and now refuses to do anything to correct the problem. This is not acceptable!!?!

- Reagan, TN, USA

problem #7

Aug 012015

Escape

  • 70,000 miles
When driving the traction control light, brake light, and ABS light came on. These light will not go out. Taking it to a mechanic, they tell me it is the ABS module. The test cost $100. To replace the module will cost $1395. Should this not be a warranted item for safety? the shop told me that the ABS and traction control will not work until the module is replaced.

- Old Hickory, TN, USA

problem #6

Sep 242014

Escape

  • 102,500 miles
Vehicle has had issues with the dashboard gauges locking up while driving, took to Ford dealership and they could not identify cause of issue. If I hit the dash it gauges would start to work again. When gauges were not working, A/C would stop working as well. Most concerning is the last two days my car has stopped accelerating while driving it, I can put the gas all the way to the floor and it still won't accelerate. During that time A/C stops blowing cool air and if I apply my brakes the entire car will start to shake as if it is going to die. I turn off the car and restart it and it runs fine, however it does take a sec longer to turn over when I start it at that point. I am taking it to have it looked at today. I have had multiple repairs to this vehicle pertaining to the sensors.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #5

Sep 202014

Escape

  • 112,000 miles
Vehicle stalled about 2 weeks ago. Oil change light and low tire pressure light came on a week later. Had maintenance done a week later. I was not notified about any recalls. Noticed that the steering wheel was really loose after rotate and balance was done. Took car to dealership and reported issue with steering. Dealership stated that it may need alignment but could not do service until next week. Put gas in car and vehicle stalled. Battery and oil light came on. After a few more times was able to get it started. Stalled again stalled again at stop light. Made it to auto parts shop and put fuel injection fluid in tank. Car stalled. Finally started again. Made it to repair shop. Did diagnostic tests no codes reported. They examined the fuel and it was good. They guessed that the fuel pump may need replacing. I researched recalls on my VIN and found that there are 2 recalls on the vehicle that were never performed. Purchased vehicle in May. Never received recall notices. Repair shops and dealerships are not checking for recalls when diagnosing problems.

- St Louis, MO, USA

problem #4

May 082014

Escape

  • 90,000 miles
My family were returning from vacation when the car decelerated with no warning. We were on the interstate and we were inches from being rear ended by the upcoming traffic. I have been told the issue is with the throttle body and that it is not being recalled because you can still drive it. How about you tell that to my terrified girls (ages 6 and under) that it is safe to have cars and trucks flying past you at 70 mph and you can't accelerate to move out of the way quick enough. A month later, the same thing happened to my wife returning from work. That's twice in 2 months. We have only the one car and have not been on vacation for fear of the car decelerating. I guess instead of being in the business of preventing accidents, people have to die first before anything will be done to protect consumers.

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #3

Feb 012014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 590,000 miles
While driving the steering wheel locks up and hard to turn I have to pull over and turn the ignition off and turn back on. Couple of times it happens on the expressway/as well as street driving. It's happening very often now. While driving the whole truck was shaking, shaking real bad...

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

problem #2

Jul 292013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
Came off freeway on multiple occasions after doing 70 mph. Stopped. Traffic was clear. Went to accelerate and severe hesitation. Have also had many times where accelerating with vehicle and it will hesitate and then surge.

- Hartland, WI, USA

problem #1

Feb 112013

Escape

  • 50,000 miles
Vehicle stalled when attempting to accelerate after stopping at a light. Vehicle would move approximately 3 mph. Wrench symbol and engine symbol lit up in the display area. Drove (very slowly) vehicle into a parking lot. Shut off vehicle, restarted it, and did not get engine "rev" when depressing gas pedal. Approximately 30 minutes later, the vehicle started and operated normally. Had vehicle towed to repair shop (didn't trust it to drive it). Shop inspected the vehicle in a number of ways the next day and could not reproduce or identify the problem. They said that the on-board event recorder did not record an event. That was the first incident. The 2nd and 3rd incidents occurred today, April 24 2013. Vehicle again stalled while attempting to accelerate at an intersection. Wrench symbol and engine symbol lit up in display area. Pulled into a parking lot, shut off vehicle, and then it started again and ran. About 2 minutes later, the vehicle stalled while driving approximately 40 mph. Again pulled off the main road and restarted the vehicle. Was able to drive it the remaining 3-5 minutes to get home.

- Murphy, TX, USA