7.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$500
Average Mileage:
23,750 miles
Total Complaints:
9 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (7 reports)
  2. replace wiring harness and fuse box (1 reports)
  3. requires new shifter mechanism. bad park/neutral switch (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Ford dealer.

problem #9

Aug 012015

F-150 Lariat V6 Ecob

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

Vampire drain on battery if I don't lock the vehicle. Cost me two batteries so far. Can't take the truck to the airport because you don't know if it will start when you get home from a trip. This is 1 of about 15 major problems with this truck.

- aj_andy, Cedar Grove, US

problem #8

Jan 132017

F-150 Patinum Eco Boost V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

Came out to garage to a pickup that would not start three times in about a two week period. Charged the battery all tree times and the pickup started easy for a couple days. Finally got tired of that and took to my mechanic who replaced the battery and said the charging system was fine. This was just last week. I got up last Saturday and drove to town about 5 miles. I was away from the truck about 3 hrs and came out and the truck would not start. I got a jump and dropped the truck back at the repair shop. Now they are calling me saying they can't seem to find anything that is causing the dead battery???

Update from Feb 14, 2017: Took pickup back to shop at their request. Shop had truck for a couple days trying to track down the issue. Final results were that the Park/Neutral switch was bad. When putting the truck in park, the transmission was not turning off all the way and was drawing electricity. The shop found the problem and checked with identifix to confirm. They found identical issue that fit my problem to the T. Shop had to replace the entire shifter mechanism in the center console. The fix was about $500. (Plus a new battery I probably didn't need to begin with) Interestingly, the Ford shop in Boise Idaho had 4 of these in stock ;)....Appears this may be an issue bigger than the company would like to admit.

- overacre, Kimberly, ID, US

problem #7

Oct 152015

F-150 XLT 5.0L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles

Bought the truck in September of 2013. In the beginning of October 2015, noticed the truck turning over slow when starting. Then one morning...nothing. Dead battery. Gauges going crazy, then nothing. Jumped and brought to dealer who replaced the battery and did a software update. Things seemed great! Fast forward to October 2016. Noticed slow turning over again and a couple days later, dead battery. Three year old vehicle with 35K miles and on its third battery???? My wife has a 2008 Expedition with 117K miles, original battery!

Dealer replaced battery again and tried to let me take it home today, telling me "I don't drive it enough". Really? The truck can't sit for 2 days without the battery dying? Told them to keep the truck until they find the power drain. I'll update when they call me to tell me the truck is fixed.

How can they (Ford Dealer) not know about this issue? One Google search and I have found hundreds of posts with the SAME ISSUE! Why are there no TSB's on this issue?

- Michael E., Middletown, RI, US

problem #6

Dec 242015

F-150 Lariat

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,400 miles

I purchased a 2013 F150 with ecoboost the end of May 2014 and had a problem with the rear sliding window as it would open sometimes but not others and then if it did open never sure if it would close for you to it to three (3) different dealers still under warranty but they all told us something different to fix it.

Thank goodness we decided to go with the last dealer and they fixed it in a couple of hours and have not had an issues since with the window. STILL UNDER WARRANTY But on December 24th, 2015 went to start it and was completely dead had to use the key to even unlock it. took to our local dealer and they put it on charger until the Monday after Christmas and said it was good to go but they never documented anything.

Worked for a couple weeks and then the same thing to back to same dealer they tested the battery and said it was good then said the battery tested bad then good again then bad all in the same day so they put in a new battery on 1/11/16 and said it was good to go. Worked again for a couple weeks (second week of February 2016) too in the same dealer for an oil change and it sat on their lot for 24 hours after the oil change and we went to pick it up and it was dead so went back inside and told them and they were like your kidding so they went out and jumped it and put inside with charge on it over night and once again said it was good to go.

Then went to start it the week March 1st, 2016 and completely dead again so this time we took it to a dealer 42 miles away any they had it for about a week trying to figure it out was in contact with the Ford hotline for help and told to check the ignition switch and they found it had a short so change it out and kept it for a few days to see if it would happen again and nothing so we picked it up and had for exactly one week (didn't do anything different than they did other than drive it to dr. appt. 42 miles from where we live) and once again one day it was dead so we took it back to them and this time they had for over 2 weeks trying to figure it out again during this time it went dead on them a couple of times.

In contact with the Ford hotline for help and was told to try changing out he shifter as they had seen some issues with them so they did and kept it again for a couple days to see if it would happen again and it didn't so we were almost sure it was resolved but we were wrong because we had it for one month and it did it again on May 15th, 2016 so we took it back to them and on May 17 I talked to them and it was dead that day so once again they have been in contact with Ford hotline for help.

They have had it for one week now and still not sure on what is causing the problem. I called customer service on May 16th about this and the first guy I talked to was very nice and helpful taking all the information and said I would receive a call with in 24 hours from someone else which I did but this guys was a complete ASS to me and kept saying that nobody can predict the future and they would work on getting it fixed but would not give a straight yes or no answer just kept say NOBODY CAN PREDICT THE FUTURE and they are even going to consider buying it back.

This is all under Warranty but I only have about 2,000 miles before it's out of warranty then I'm going to be stuck with a truck that I can NOT rely on. Very frustrating not only that but it makes it difficult not have a vehicle as my husband and I work completely different hours and I drive about 5 miles round trip so it's not like I can even walk and he can't either but we shouldn't have to walk or try to catch rides with others.

- Lynette M., Redfield, SD, US

problem #5

May 212015

F-150 V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles

Went out to start said vehicle one morning; no power...to anything. Tried to jump it to no avail. Called roadside assistance who towed it to local dealer where it was purchased. Sat in dealership for nearly 3 months waiting for parts: complete wiring harness and fuse box which had shorted out. Parts were on back order. I finally called Ford and complained saying If they couldn't fix it I wanted them to buy it back. Parts were received within 10 days and vehicle was repaired. The dealership did provide me with rental car at no cost to myself.

- Joanita C., Nathalie, US

problem #4

Dec 232015

F-150 LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles

I have a 2013 Ford Ecoboost with 28,000 miles. I had to have the battery replaced last winter. Recently, I have had to jump it 3 times. I have seen the dash lights flashing rapidly before discovering that the battery is dead. Checking to see if anyone else has had a similar issue. Now, I shut off all the automatic stuff before shutting my truck off.

- Reed K., Manitowoc, WI, US

problem #3

Dec 032014

F-150 STX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,823 miles

The awful fools at Ford are no good to anybody. Have the same problem over a year and no resolution yet. It just keeps going dead. So damn mad.

- Aretha L., Columbia, US

problem #2

Apr 072014

F-150 XLT 5.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

Bought my Ford F150 truck new August 2013 and have had nothing but problems with it! it's been in the shop over 15 times and still has problems! Ford dealership is nothing but a bunch of liars and the Ford service reps are just as bad! Do yourself a favor and don't buy a LEMON, buy something else.

- Clifton M., Alachua, FL, US

problem #1

Nov 172014

F-150 V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,335 miles

I bought it in September of 2013 & it's been back at dealership 3 times. Sometimes when I drive it to a place and get back in it, it won't start. Been told that it needs to be driven everyday. I drove it the day before all day and the next day i went to work and it started but 8 hours later it would not start. This has happened at least 3 times and every time we are told we need to drive it more. It only has about 4335 miles on it. I feel like I should not have to drive it every day!!! I have the light that comes on telling me to save battery, turn key off.

Update from Apr 14, 2015: After taking truck to dealer I have drove Truck all winter, let it sit 2 day got back in it the battery saver light comes back on. so after taking Truck back to dealer I was told that to check owner Manual page 359

- joe and arla, Richmond, IN, US