4.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,399 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #20

Nov 222017

Focus

  • miles
My car stalls out ever since I bought it. I looked online and it said don't let it go below half a tank and it won't. so that's what I've been doing. I brought it in to the dealership, but they were no help.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #19

Aug 282019

Focus

  • 26,879 miles
I had the clutch replaced inside transmission 8 months ago because of a hard vibration after I press gas pedal from a stop major of times. This dilemma is still occurring a hard vibration after I press the gas pedal from a stop major of times when I'm in traffic waiting 4 the light to change to proceed on the roadway.

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #18

Aug 012019

Focus

  • 38,000 miles
The car shutter upon starts from stop lights and signs.

- Spring Lake, MI, USA

problem #17

Jul 192019

Focus

  • 13,642 miles
Transmission problem starting Jan 2019 with around 10,000 miles. The car takes spells that in vibrates really bad pulling out from stop and upon acceleration from low speeds. IżM being told again by metter Ford in Georgia that they canżT find any problems with my car to just drive it until it breaks and they will come get it. This car is unsafe to drive. On 7/19/2017 I pulled onto the hwy and the car vibrated so badly it would not go over 20mph. Metter Ford has the car now and just told me again on 7/23/2019 that they canżT find any problem. Also saying they donżT know of any transmission problems with the 2017 Focus.

- Ludowici, GA, USA

problem #16

May 012019

Focus

  • 107,000 miles
My car shudders from a stop. Sometimes on the highway it shakes like my tire are out of balance. Sometimes on the highway when accelerating to pass someone the car somewhat stalls the RPM red line and slowly come back to normal. Sometimes from a stop the vehicle will not respond to my foot on the gas then it will "catch up". I had my car in for a diagnostic and the dealer told me I needed new clutches and I was just out of my warrenty.

- Dexter, MI, USA

problem #15

Feb 142018

Focus

  • 4,454 miles
On acceration the vehicle hesitated and slows to the point I need to press my foot on gas to stop from causing an accident. It is slow to shift into gear and makes clattering and metal on metal sound from the transmission changing into different gears.it will also suddenly go much faster and must brake to slow vehicle down, on a hill the vehicle will not hold but go backwards and must have foot on gas brake same time in order not to go backwards.I have complained to Ford but they never address the problem or put my complaint on there work order they have done nothing to fix these concerns.

- Tryon, NC, USA

problem #14

Jun 192017

Focus

  • 25 miles
Tamara recall transmission and clutch system are affecting driving capabilities and performance abilities. Improperly shifting, wear and tear on tires, not one tire is original and canżT afford tires every 6 months. Issues occur while driving, climbing hills, driving in traffic inside city limits

- Salem, VA, USA

problem #13

Jul 132019

Focus

  • miles
Shutter noise even after Ford has replaced transmission and clutch and problem is still thwre

- South Hadley, MA, USA

problem #12

Jun 262019

Focus

  • miles
I received a recall letter in January 25, 2019. The recall 18532 fuel tank inspection. Hallmark Ford in batesville, ms said the inspection passed. On June 10, 2019 the car would not start they towed the vechicle to the dealership with 32,573 miles. On June 12, 2019 I picked the car up from the dealership. The car ran from June 12, 2019 and it stopped in the garage on June 22, 2019. Roadside service picked-up the vehicle on June 23, 2019. 0N June 26, 2019 hallmark Ford in batesville, ms said the car is ready to be picked up. When we arrived to pick the vehicle up at the dealership the vehicle would not start. They had to push the vehicle back inside the service department and parts has not been put back on the vehicle correctly. They tried to jump the vehicle off but it would not start. So I asked for a service vehicle to drive and I am a female and I wanted a car but they gave me a pick up truck. I feel unsafe with my children and grandchildren in this vehicle. Contact informatiom: [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Marks, MS, USA

problem #11

Jun 172019

Focus

  • miles
There is a recall on the transmission for the engine again. I the transmission for my 2013 Ford Focus had this same recall and I went in to get it fixed by Ford campbell in niles, Michigan. They took apart the transmission and expected me to pay $2000 to fix it when there was a recall on the transmission, to begin with. I hate this model and I am sick of constantly having recalls on this model. I think anyone with this model should have their car replaced with a better model that won't have a recall on it and shouldn't have the loan rolled over.

- Niles, MI, USA

problem #10

Jun 122019

Focus

  • 45,000 miles
When engine warms up and you are stopped at a light, stop sign, anywhere the car comes to a full stop and you then proceed to hit the gas once it hits around 16-20 mph the transmission front end of the car feels like it starts stuttering and jerking heavily. Once you get over about 20-21mph it stops. This can happen anywhere street, highway, anywhere the car comes to a full stop then goes. Happens everyday once the engine or transmission warms up some.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #9

Jul 012018

Focus

  • 32,000 miles
Rear backup camera image is seriously distorted and images are not good enough to actually see conditions behind the car.

- Sutter, CA, USA

problem #8

Apr 012019

Focus

  • 52,600 miles
Transmission shutters sometimes upon taking off and accelerating in city or hwy roadways as it shifts 1st to 2nd and 3rd to 4th most notably, also sometimes when trying to shift rpms rev up when shifting as if in neutral O momentarily. Local dealer replaced 1 clutch, 1 week later doing again, took back to dealer said needs 1,000 miles to breakin. As car gets hotter these issues are more noticeable. Slipping bad. 2.0 SE hatchback. Disappointed in Ford transmissions,4th Ford in family with transmission issues 1997,2002, 2008, 2017.

- Mount Olive, NC, USA

problem #7

Dec 252018

Focus

  • 27,000 miles
The brake master cylinder is already leaking. The vehicle only has 27000 miles on it. It should not have gone out for a long while...at least 100000 miles.

- Calhan, CO, USA

problem #6

Dec 072018

Focus

  • 18,890 miles
Car vibrates, loss power sounds like a truck when taking off from a traffic light or stop sign. Notice the smell of gasoline.

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #5

Nov 272018

Focus

  • 30,500 miles
When powertrain is warm and vehicle is accelerating from a stop, there is a loud grinding sound, vehicle shuddering and vibration, and resulting engine hesitation as the transmission shifts from 1st to 2nd and 2nd to 3rd gear. Occasionally at highway speeds (55-65 mph) there is a noticeable vibration and shuddering as the vehicle moves into and out of overdrive gears. I have taken the car to the dealership that sold it to me twice with concern about this problem and the service tech says they are waiting for Ford to recall the faulty components, and that this is a common complaint.

- Springfield, LA, USA

problem #4

Sep 032018

Focus

  • 16,532 miles
Engine stalls and you can hear a rattling noise when pressing the gas pedal to take off in traffic.

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #3

Jun 152018

Focus

  • 13,670 miles
Transmission slipping @ take off, while driving. It stalled between speed @ 18mph and 35mph

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #2

Aug 222017

Focus

  • 789 miles
The cross traffic alert system is not working correctly, the dealer has had the car for a month and a half, Ford told the dealer they new the problem back in feburary 2017, I bought the car in June 2017, this is a safety issue for the car and Ford told the dealer that they turned off this feature for an unknown reason, I paid for this extra feature and they still sold the car knowning this feature wasn't working

- Wilton Manors, FL, USA

problem #1

Aug 092017

Focus

  • 1,000 miles
A/C ventilation is producing a musty/ moldy smell, I have owned the car for only 4 months, the odor is strong, and may be dangerous as mold growth may seep through vents and into ones airways. I am concerned for my health, along with who ever enters the vehicle. Please investigate this further. Internet research as allowed me to view various identical cases with mold odor & A/C vents on Ford vehicles, there might be an issue at Ford manufacturers. The issue may occur at any time but is more prominent when turning on the A/C.

- Venice, CA, USA