10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
99,250 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #23

Sep 102019

Fusion

  • 75,080 miles
Takata recall. Vehicle stationary on January 18, 2019 the passenger air bag inflator was replaced under the 18S01 recall, Ford part number 8E5Z 54044A74 ad. On September 10, 2019 brought car into local quirk Ford dealership for service because air bag cover was no longer was flush to the dashboard. Ford service said problem was due to "worn dashboard" and not covered under recall. See first attached picture. Called Ford customer service on Sept 11, 2019 was told problem was not covered under any recalls or any warranties, case number cas-24226208-S8R0V4. My concern is that by having an open corner (see second attached picture) foreign objects could accidentally fall into this space without the drivers knowledge (ie. A penny, dime, etc) and if the air bag deployed a serious injury could occur. Specifically, foreign objects could become air borne when air bag deployed. A small piece of metal like a penny or dime could cause fatal damage to the passengers in the car if air bag deployed. Not sure if this should be covered under the original takata recall or if another recall should be issued. In any case I believe this is a serious safety issue which should be brought to your attention.

- Wollaston, MA, USA

problem #22

Sep 122019

Fusion

  • 173,000 miles
TL- the contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the driver side interior door handle had broke and the door could not be opened from the inside. The cause of the failure was not determined. The local dealer was not notified. The manufacturer was contacted in reference to the failure but no assistance was offered. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 173,000. Jft

- Louisburg, NC, USA

problem #21

Mar 262019

Fusion

  • 150,000 miles
Takata recall I had made an appointment for 3/28/19 we had an accident on 3/26/19 a car hit us at a red light totaled the car the airbag hit me in the chest bruises and cuts. I was the passenger my husband the driver he lacerations mostly. I also had broken ankle on the right foot and a sprain on the left. The car was totaled. Car was in motion.

- Iaeger, WV, USA

problem #20

Aug 022018

Fusion

  • 109,000 miles
My rear passenger side door won't stay closed. The latch seems to be malfunctioning and it opened when I was driving. I wad able to oull over quickly and secure the door with rope but it still opens slightly. I probably use this door the least of all 4, so my biggest concern is that the other 3 doors are soon to follow.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #19

Nov 102017

Fusion

  • 124,000 miles
Takata recall I was in a wreak because the brakes in the floor when I was driving in the rain on the highway. The air bag in the steering wheel came out.

- Covington, KY, USA

problem #18

Jan 162018

Fusion

  • 84,000 miles
Couldnt get out of drivers door. Inside lock and door latch didnt work. Latch made of cheap plastic. Had to climb over console [hard to do, as im over 65 Y.O.] and try passenger front door. Thank god, I got out. Tried drivers door from outside and it did open!! just wont work if you're in the car"?? car was parked in a lot of my drs. Office. I learned that many, many complaints were reported to Ford from the 2007 model up to 2012 as far as I know. Ford never corrected this problem!!! it is not cheap to get this fixed. I called sunshine Ford in newburgh, NY and they acted like they knew nothing about this malfunction but would ''check out'' my car, and a diagnostic evaluation is $120 I said that Ford should be responsible for this as they knew about the cheap plastic housing the door latch is made of instead of a heavy metal ie steel or iron. No response and Ford Motor Co. Fluffed me off as well and also told me car too old and not covered under an extended warranty I purchased on 08/20/2015!! I told them, Ford really changed alot as I worked in the auto industry for 42 yrs. And this never went on with any car manuf. Companies. I also told them, how could you not address this matter??? this is a pretty bad safety hazard???!!! what if I was in an accident and I had to get out of the driver door only?? and/or the car was on fire????" again.....no response.. please help any way you see fit and legal...I so would appreciate and many others having and had the same door problem would too. Tyvm

- New Windsor, NY, USA

problem #17

Apr 202017

Fusion

  • miles
Besides the recall notice 16S26 the door handles are not stable.. hard plastic. My driver door handle broke and I had to pay over $200 to replace it, could not get out of my car.. the passenger doors have tape on them for security. Cheap door handlers. Other than that I love the vehicle.

- Bessemer, AL, USA

problem #16

Jun 012016

Fusion

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact observed that the dashboard panel began to fail/warp near the passenger air bag. The failure occurred without warning. In addition, the contact stated that the panel was separated and there was a bulge where the air bag was located. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer (O'meara Ford, 400 w 104th ave, northglenn, co, 80234) where it was diagnosed that the panel needed to be replaced. Since it was an upholstery repair, the contact was advised to call an auto body shop. The manufacturer confirmed that there was no recall and stated that the failure was not something that they would cover. The manufacturer did not offer any additional assistance except for referring the contact to NHTSA. The failure mileage was approximately 58,000.

- Erie, CO, USA

problem #15

Jul 242017

Fusion

  • 116,000 miles
Door handle including the lock are dangerous! first, the coating over the plastic lever necessary to exit the vehicle began spliting and became very sharp. My passengers and myself began receiving razor sharp cuts trying to exit. I brought my vehicle to Ford dor something else and asked if there was a recall, but there was none. I had to tape over the handles. Next, my driver's door hand broke off in my hand and I had to lower my window to open the door from the outside. What would I've done if my window didn't work, when I live in fl and the inside temperature of cars grows into triple digits! I had to replace and install a new handle I purchased online. When I noticed the readily availability of the parts, this seems to be a common replacement. Well it's a good thing to know because now my passenger side door handle is now malfuntioning. I hope action will be taken to recall and replace my handles or at least reimburse me for the replacements I've had to purchase. Also, I've been waiting on a recall that was just updated. I've been waiting 2yrs and they still don't have the part"! is it because the airbag is too expensive to replace"

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #14

Jan 022017

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000(structure) was received in January of 2017. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #13

Sep 212016

Fusion

  • 115,681 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. While the vehicle was parked, a small fire on the passenger side floor ignited. The fire department extinguished the fire. A police and a fire report were filed. There were no injuries. The contact was informed that the charger cable that was plugged into the accessory power outlet cable (underneath the front passenger side floor mat) became hot and melted and burned a hole in the carpet, which ignited the fire. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 115,681. The VIN was unavailable.

- Albion, NY, USA

problem #12

Oct 122015

Fusion

  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the dashboard was prematurely deteriorating and bulging on the drivers side of the vehicle. In addition, the contact stated there was a sticky residue that expanded on the front passenger side causing exposure to the air bag. The contact also noticed that the inner parts of the dashboard exposed plastic and foam near the vents on the driver side of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 32,000.

- Downers Grove, IL, USA

problem #11

Oct 092015

Fusion

  • 40,500 miles
Inside door handles brake and doors can not be opened from the inside!!! also doors will not lock after the handle brakes.

- Liberty Lake, WA, USA

problem #10

May 012014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
The door handles and door locks on the drivers door as well as the front passenger door are made from some type of plastic and both of them broke from normal usage. The drivers door is not able to be locked from the outside nor is the door able to be opened from the inside using the handle, thus causing a safety issue. The passenger door locks are inoperable as well. I contacted a local Ford dealer who told me this issue is common with this particular model and that the handles were made of poor quality. I would like Ford to recognize this problem and issue a recall to those affected by this and offer to fix this issue.

- Coalinga, CA, USA

problem #9

Jul 012014

Fusion

  • 78,700 miles
The interior door handle became inoperable preventing occupant from opening the door from inside the vehicle.this condition may prevent the driver and other occupants from exiting the vehicle safely in the event of a crash or fire.

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #8

Apr 262014

Fusion

  • 85,000 miles
An abnormal amount of rust on the hood above the grill and inside the back doors just above the wheel wells.

- Paul Smiths, NY, USA

problem #7

Apr 122013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the inside drivers door handle has a defect where the handle was extremely sharp. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The failure mileage was 55,000. The current mileage was 61,000. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. Updated 06/17/14 updated 8/21/2017

- Donegal, PA, USA

problem #6

Dec 192013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 740,000 miles
Deer strike font end traveling about 40 mph, , 9 year old in passenger seat, air bag did not deploy as required, she was too light., damage to front end bumper, hood, and grill. Upon repair I noticed that the dash board just below the passenger air bag had been buckled and pulled away from the air bag cover.the body shop told me that there was no way to repair this except replace the entire dash board and then there was no guarantee that it just would not happen again. Body tech told me that repair may interfere with the operation of the air bag deploying as well as leaving it alone. This is a known design issue with Ford Fusion and there are no service bulletins or recalls. Insurance would not cover repair since it was caused by heat on the dash and there was nothing to glue the dash back on. Google'd the issue and there are hundreds of complaints on line all over the country. Anything that has a potential of air bag operation is a critical safety concern.

- Deforest, WI, USA

problem #5

May 012013

Fusion

  • miles
I stopped for gas and could not open the door at all from inside or outside...is a safety trap im scare if something happens im in trouble.

- Lawrence, KS, USA

problem #4

Apr 152013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Both left and right trunk strut or trunk lid lift support have failed to support trunk lid. Trunk lid does not remain open even when opened completely. Has caused injury by trunk lid falling and striking my head and neck. No professional medical treatment required at this time.

- Wichita, KS, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »