10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,712 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 GMC Sierra 1500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #9

Apr 202018

Sierra 1500

  • 40,000 miles
I purchased my truck about 1 year ago and it had 32,00 miles on it, it now has 40,000 miles. Everything was fine with it until about mid-April. I was driving to kalamazoo to see my daughter on I-94 around 72 mph with the cruise control on. I turned on my left turn signal to change lanes to pass the person in front of me and to my dismay my speed dropped drastically as the cruise control disengaged. This happened several times on the way to kalamazoo that day. It also got worse on this trip, sometimes the door locks would lock and unlock, all of the lights on the dashboard turned on and off and every time anything happened the speed dropped, which to me is a safety hazard and should be part of a recall. When I got home the next day, I called levalley GMC to take a look at my truck (where it's been serviced since purchase). When I explained the situation to them, they claimed they never heard of it. That's strange because if this situation is googled, there is a lot of information about what could be wrong. Lo and behold a day and a half later my truck was fixed at a cost of $1069.71 for diagnosis and 3 cables, all positive and negative battery cables. I consider this situation a serious safety issue. I sent a letter to GM customer service. Lou contacted me and left a voice mail with case number 8-4206988703 (6/4/18). I called customer service and spoke with toni also 6/4/18. Toni reviewed the case and asked what I was requesting. I told her that this is a very serious safety matter that should be addressed and I would like to be compensated somehow. Toni stated that there is no recall for this situation and there is nothing that she can do. I told her maybe there should be a recall and I again stated that this is a serious safety issue

- Saint Joseph, MI, USA

problem #8

Oct 132017

Sierra 1500

  • 72,750 miles
Entering a highway from a stop, proceeded to accelerate normally and gradually. After approx. Shift between 1st and 2nd gear, the gas pedal was 'sucked┐ down to the floor and remained stuck in that position. The truck lurched forward and behaved like it was in ┐passing┐ gear. I tried to tap the pedal to release it, but had no effect. I turned the cruise control on then off (did not set a speed) and had no effect. I depressed the brakes fairly hard which slowed the truck down, but that did not release the gas pedal; as soon as I left off the brakes, the truck again accelerated at full speed. Alternating between the brakes and tapping the gas pedal eventually unstuck the gas pedal.. note that my 'speed' was 0-50mph when I was able to unstuck the gas pedal. I stated the incident occurred at (approx) 15mph, the speed when shifting between first and second.

- Morgan Hill, CA, USA

problem #7

Mar 172014

Sierra 1500

  • 85,000 miles
I'm having electrical/computer problems that started over a year ago and continue to increase. First, my speakers go off and on as they please. The driver side door speaker is the only one that stays on consistently, and it has nothing to do with hitting bumps or anything else. Second, my power looks have gone out. My key fob will still work them and they still lock and unlock when truck is moved between park and drive. But the buttons on the door do not work. I've replaced all the fuses, and still, nothing. Third, my cruise control is going out. On a long drive I used it for half and then the other half it wouldn't even try to come back on. A few days later it worked again.

- Altus, OK, USA

problem #6

Jan 092014

Sierra 1500 8-cyl

  • 45,637 miles
I purchased 2 rugged ridge front floor mats for my 2009 GMC extended cab 1500 Sierra on 11/15/13. Last week on 1/9/14, I was accelerating to get on the interstate at full throttle. The accelerator stuck down at full throttle after I lightened peddle pressure to slow down. At first I hit the brakes but couldn't slow the vehicle. I then turned the ignition key to disengage the ignition. The truck began to slow. I turned the ignition back on and the truck was still at full throttle and I nearly rear ended the vehicle in front of me. I then pulled the floor mat back with my heel and the accelerator released.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #5

Dec 302011

Sierra 1500

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 GMC Sierra 1500. The contact was attempting a right turn at low speeds when the vehicle resisted accelerating beyond 5 mph. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where they advised him that the throttle positioning sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was later contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 44,000.

- Tomers Township, MI, USA

problem #4

Nov 142010

Sierra 1500

  • 38,000 miles
Throttle body unit on 2009 GMC Sierra truck burned out & needed replacing at 38 thousand miles. GMC paid for my repair after many conversations with them, even tho they stated it was out of warranty. I put the money out to have it fixed, they are reimbursing me via check to my home address. My co-worker had the same thing happen to him about 2 weeks ago, his throttle body unit burned out on his Chevy Silverado, his is out of warranty as well, his truck is only 3 years old. He was told when he went to get his repaired the part was on a national back order. This sounds like these are going bad all over!!!

- Belcamp, MD, USA

problem #3

Jan 032010

Sierra 1500

  • 21,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 GMC Sierra 1500. The contact stated when turning the key to off and removing it from the ignition, the engine would remain on. When braking to a stop, the vehicle would lunge forward and sporadically accelerate. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 21,000.

- Defuniak, FL, USA

problem #2

Dec 122009

Sierra 1500

  • 11,000 miles
On 2-28-09 purchased a new vehicle a 2009 GMC Sierra 1500 2 wd ext. Cab truck in early December 2009. Noticed on 4 occasions the gas pedal sticking and not allowing the driver to stop on more than one occasion. Witnesses were in the truck. Took the truck to the dealership and they stated after 2 days that they could not find anything wrong with truck. "just drive the truck" on December 11 the 2009 struck a telephone pole breaking the pole and the air bags did not deploy neither did on star respond. Due to this accident I has sustained neck injury, and neither gmac or the dealership will respond to the concerns about the air bags not deploying from a front end collision over 40 miles an hour doing $5000 worth of damage to the truck or even looking at the gas pedal sticking. Due to this the driver does not fell safe driving this truck or putting his family in truck.

- Kevil, KY, USA

problem #1

Aug 182009

Sierra 1500

  • 25 miles
Vertical plastic cover next to accelerator pedal. There is a vertical plastic cover of some type, on the right side of the accelerator pedal that the right side of the sole of my dress shoes gets caught on, delaying my foot from reaching and applying the brake pedal. These valuable milliseconds is going cause someone out there to get killed or seriously maimed.

- Dayton, OH, USA