8.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,386.00
Average Mileage:
65,864 miles
Total Complaints:
372 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (222 reports)
  2. per Honda consuming 1qt per 1k miles normal (38 reports)
  3. I heard that Honda replaced worn rings and engine short block (19 reports)
  4. call American Honda corporation to complain (13 reports)
  5. rebuilt the engine (13 reports)
  6. replace engine (12 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Honda dealer.

problem #372

Mar 182016

Accord EX 2.4L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,787 miles

I have been jerked around by my local Honda Dealership, here in Lisle, Illinois. They wanted me to do some experimental design by checking my oil every 1000 mi.

When I first brought it in the shop, in March 2016, they told me that I was leaking oil , supposedly whoever changed my oil last had left the Oil pan bolt loose. The I came back on April a month later, they told me I had a crack next to timing case shaft. The in June they did admit it that I was not leaking oil but burning oil.

- , Westmont, IL, USA

problem #371

Jan 012017

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

Even though Honda acknowledged the problem with the pistons/rings on 08 Accords and extended the warranty, they are unwilling to assist a long-time, devoted Honda owner who encountered the problem shortly after the warranty expired. Obviously the excessive oil consumption began while the car was still under warranty, but, since I change every 3000 and drive a Honda, I had no reason, nor did my mechanic, to check oil levels between or during oil changes. Who does these days? All this has fallen on deaf ears at Honda.

We all need to think again about Honda quality and, especially, their commitment to loyal customers (this is my 4th Accord).

- , Milwaukee, WI, US

problem #370

Oct 012014

Accord LX-P 4c

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

a quart of oil every 1k miles..... that is all that needs to be said. Crazy they did a recall on the 6 cylinder and not the 4...

- , Athens, Al, USA

problem #369

Jan 012017

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

The car is leaking oil internally, and although these cars are supposed to last upwards of 300,000 miles, I will probably have to buy another one soon because of a faulty engine. This is the same issue as the V6 version and there should be a recall.

- , Los Angeles, CA, US

problem #368

Apr 012012

Accord EXL 2.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 27,962 miles

Had the oil consumption issue at 45,000k, engine was rebuilt under warranty. Currently at 125,000 K and going through the same issue. When will it end. Although Honda Canada has been excellent about warranty coverage, this car has been a pain in the ass. Battery replaced under warranty, overhead light wiring replaced under warranty, front breaks replaced under warranty, engine grinding at start something replaced under warranty. Key fob, piece of crap, has never worked properly, that is not replaced under warranty. How am I ever going to be able to sell this piece of garbage? Definitely feel like I purchased a LEMON.

- , Calgary, AB, Canada

problem #367

Aug 012014

Accord EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

Having the same problem so many others have. For almost 3 years, I've been adding a couple of quarts of oil per month with average car use. I had no idea this was a common issue or that there was a warranty. I've had it to my repair shop several times and their conclusion was that my car just uses oil. Contacted my local service center and they told me to call Honda. Honda informed me that because my car had either an original purchase date over 8 years or 125,000 miles, whichever was first, that this is no longer covered. What a bunch of bs.

- , OlatheO, KS, US

problem #366

Jul 092015

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 142,000 miles

I feel that my vehicle should have been given the extended warranty - I just found out that certain honda accord models were. I have been burning oil and going through spark plugs ever since I got this car. I am fed up!

- , Reading, PA, US

problem #365

Apr 012013

Accord EXL V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

click to see larger images

excessive oil consumption

Back around 2013, I had asked a service tech if there was any recall on oil consumption because I was burning through oil very fast. They said no, so I just kept adding oil. Fast forward to December 23, 2016, I was at Atlantic Honda in Bay Shore, NY getting another recall taken care of. I mentioned the oil consumption and the tech said they can do an oil consumption test. I had to get an oil change and drive for 1000 miles. I Went back to Honda on 3/7/17 at 1000 miles and was told I was very low on oil and my car falls into the category to get repaired. The service rep went on to tell me that it was a big job and he will assign me a loaner car. By the time I walked to his desk from the waiting room, things changed. He said his manager told him that they were now going to do a "service bulletin" 11-049 DATED FEBRUARY 6, 2013. (Remember I was there in December 2016 and NO ONE MENTIONED THIS SERVICE BULLETIN). I then had to do another oil consumption test. I asked this service rep why this software wasn't updated back in December 2016 since the bulletin was put out in 2013. He had no good answer. I went back to Atlantic Honda at 650 miles because my car was making a familiar sound that I hear when oil gets low. I spoke to the manager, Paul. He was absolutely no help at all and was very condescending. He was supposed to call Honda USA because my car was 6 months past the warranty for this problem that should be a recall. I told him I would call Honda, since he was just wasting my time fighting back and forth with me. As I was getting ready to leave, a service tech came in from the parking lot, where they tested my oil. He said my oil was fine. I told them I checked it before I went to Atlantic Honda and it was 1/2 quart low already. He said "well now it's fine". I told him I wanted to see them test it and they did and the oil stick showed oil over the full mark?!?!? I said no way and said they had to have put oil in. Paul asked me if I was accusing them of being dishonest. I told him to look at it from my point. I left Atlantic Honda and drove home (approx 10 minutes away). I checked the oil after 1/2 hour and it showed 1/2 quart down. I immediately went online to ask how to do a proper oil test. The first thing it said was TO DO ON A FLAT SURFACE! I recalled when I was leaving the dealership, as I was backing up I had to apply pressure to gas to get out of the dip I was in. That is why the oil showed OVER THE FULL LINE. I called Paul back immediately and he didn't answer and never returned my call. Today, April 19, 2017, I returned at 975 miles for them to check the 1000 mile Oil Consumption Test. Paul was nasty from the moment I got there. I explained to him that he was inaccurate with his reading on the oil stick and he said (as he rolled his eyes) that being in the parking lot would not make a difference even with the front of my car in a dip in the parking lot. He then left and came back with a tech to check the oil. Both told me that my oil was fine. The picture I uploaded was Paul holding the oils stick with his thumb nail showing where the oil was up to. If you have eyes, you can see that the oil was not up to where his nail was. He proceeded to tell me that my oil was full. He told me HONDA called him the other day and he told them my oil was full! It wasn't and he gave them a very inaccurate statement to Honda. Paul, the service manager at Atlantic Honda, was so rude and condescending throughout our conversation. Even telling me that he called me back, when in fact, I have no record of a missed call or message. As we spoke about his last oil check, he said "so what if it was wrong, what was I off? A 1/4 quart" ?!?! I told him it's oil test 101....,he asked what.... I said to know to do a test on a flat service, especially since he's been doing this for a long time (his words) As of right now, I am awaiting HONDA USA to call me back to resolve this problem.

- , West Babylon, US

problem #364

Mar 242016

Accord EXL

  • Automatic transmission
  • 145,000 miles

would have never bought the car if I had known how much oil it used.

- , Ripley, US

problem #363

Mar 012017

Accord EX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,000 miles

I had my oil changed on my 2008 Honda Accord a while back at a regular scheduled 3000 miles. My wife was planning a trip so I went out to check her oil and found that it was basically empty. I took for granted that the shop was at fault for not either putting in the proper amount or installing the filter properly. However, we recently have found the car has started taking about a court of oil every 650 miles. We called Honda to be told this is normal for a car with 86,000 miles. Well...we had a Honda CRV that had over 250,000 miles on it and drove it across the united states that did not use a drop so I know this is not normal wear. If this is the new normal for Honda cars, I can assure you I'm not going to be a participant in the norm.

- , Hudsonville, MI, US

problem #362

Mar 012017

Accord Ex Coupe 4cl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

We bought our 08 Accord Coupe and my son was driving it and noticed it would make a grinding noise starting up in the morning. We took it to the Honda dealer they could find nothing wrong but said there was a recall on something that might fix the problem ( it didn't)! Around 42,000 miles the oil light started coming on and it started consuming oil like crazy. I took it to Honda dealer and was told this was normal ? My mother in law has an 97 Accord with 200,000 miles on it that doesn't need any oil added that's why we decided to purchase an Accord. After going through tons of oil I decided I had enough and contacted Honda and was told I need to take the car to the Honda dealer and have oil consumption tests done that I had to pay for. They told me it was consuming normal amounts of oil according to their standards. I then found my daughter's friend had the same year and model car as me and was experiencing the same problems and again called Honda and firmly told them they would fix this issue or I would not put any more oil in and they would be replacing the motor since I had the extended warranty. I was then told to take the car to the Honda dealer and they would replace the motor with a used engine with 12,000 miles on it. Upon picking the car up the Honda dealer tried to charge me $350 for the repair which I refused to pay for and they said they would write off. The car now has 104,000 miles on it and right after our motor was replaced I received an extended warranty on the motor from Honda due to the oil consumption ( but there's no problem right) and now my starter just went . I have had nothing but problems with this car and won't be buying Honda again!

- , Fayette City, US

problem #361

Sep 212014

Accord LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles

To whom it may concern,

I have noticed that my 2008 Honda Accord (VN 1HGCP26328A156599) has been consuming plenty of oil. After reading about the millions of complaints I decided to ask how can I get my car fixed by the local dealer. Two of my friends, personal and mechanics at the Honda dealer have said I should contact the Corporate Company and ask for the recall issue.

I have also followed the instructions from the site (http://www.hondaproblems.com/trends/excessive-oil-consumption/).

I hope this letter will help me with my favorite auto company.

If you have any questions, please contact me at 516.643.8596 or via email lowangarcia@hotmail.com. Best, Lowan Garcia

- , Hempstead, US

problem #360

Feb 272017

Accord EX-L 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 177,888 miles

My car is consuming way too much oil. It's not even making it to the 3000 mile oil change. i just had my oil changed 3 weeks ago and it has already drunk up 2 and a half quarts of oil. Took it to my mechanic yesterday and he said it was completely dry. This is the 3rd time this has happened since I have had the vehicle. This is really annoying. My mechanic says the problem exist because of the way the engine was built in my 2008 Honda Accord EX-L. I have a 4 cylinder vehicle so it doesn't fall under the settled lawsuit with American Honda. Any suggestions on how to fix this problem would greatly be appreciated. Of course the car is out of warranty so I need low cost options to fix this problem or I am looking into getting rid of the car ASAP. I have only had this car a year. I did buy it used and I'm starting to believe this is why the previous owner got rid of this car.

- , Concord, US

problem #359

Feb 222017

Accord EXL 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,867 miles

Bought this EXL last year for my wife, nice car, nice condition. 2 oil changes and checked oil yesterday, dipstick bone dry! Add a little from quart, little more, little more, little more...2nd quart yada yada yada...2 quarts to get to full! 2001 Impala - I call Crapala because it's my beater, but doesn't burn A DROP of oil at 137k, my 2002 which I fanatically maintain like my Crapala even though the body is rough, does not burn a drop of oil and could almost pass for new. I am restoring my 1971 Plymouth 'Cuda with a 440 6 pack engine, that I drove hard, for years...guess what, no oil consumption.

I rebuilt the engine with crank bearings, rings, cam springs and heads, but that was to de-tune it for better driveability. But this Honda thing has me pissed, 1-2 shift in the auto trans is odd, heard what I thought was a heat shield vibration but haven't crawled under there yet with the cold, but wonder if it could've been the 2 quarts of oil! Will have to drive it and see...called American Honda and gave them the vin and they told me I'm not included in the problem! Now what, pound sand?

- , Massapequa Park, US

problem #358

Jan 012015

Accord LS V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles

Like many others, you can't go a normal 3k miles between oil changes without adding 3+ qts of oil. If you don't keep a sharp eye on it, the engine could be compromised due to low oil. In addition, no Low Oil light comes on .... absolutely ridiculous and embarrassing that Honda thinks this is OK when the standard these days is 7K-8K miles between oils changes with no loss of oil level.

I will never buy Honda again.

- , Tualatin, US

problem #357

Jul 132016

Accord 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,295 miles

I cannot believe Honda American can justify 1 quart per 1300 miles as normal. Have owned four Hondas in past and ALL went well over 100,000 miles and did not burn more than 1/4 of a quart of oil. If Honda American does not step up to correct a design flaw it will hurt future sales as it already has begun to do. I like many others bit by this will NEVER buy another Honda.

- , Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #356

Jan 022017

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,466 miles

All of a sudden my Honda started to burn oil, like a quart to 500 miles.

Don't know what to do only 77,000 miles on this car.

- , Minot, ND, USA

problem #355

Oct 192015

Accord LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 126,000 miles

In early 2015 I started hearing a strange loud grinding noise coming out of the engine from under the hood when I started car in AM, and again all day when I would stop & start. I was going to a local oil change company (whose previous owner sold the company and moved to a different state) and complaining that I should not have to get oil changes so often; she told me that another customer with the same make and model was complaining as well. A neighbor knocked on my door in October 2015 and said my sister has the same make/ model car that you have; they contacted her about an oil problem/recall. I went to Landmark Honda dealership and they did an oil change (I paid for) and three oil consumption tests (every 1,000 miles). They told me my car had the oil consumption problems, but it was not covered for repairs “service manager will not honor the repairs” any longer because I had 140,686 miles and the warranty was for 125,000 miles or less. They gave me recommendations/an estimated price of $3630 to replace piston rings, but if that didn't work, then $9563.47 for a short block. I submitted a complaint against American Honda Corporation to the Office of the Attorney General, Virginia. That office sent my complaint to the American Honda, their response was I extended time and miles for the warranty.

- , Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #354

Dec 292016

Accord LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles

No engine light or low oil light came on......we have a new CRV and when I brought it to Honda, the mechanic only checked the oil life on the dash and since it was 40%, he said the vehicle did not need an oil change.....he never checked the oil level.....now I'm learning that the oil life on the dash has nothing to do with oil amount....that sounds totally nuts.

- , Wethersfield, CT, USA

problem #353

Sep 082016

Accord EX-L 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 149,000 miles

I have a 2008 Honda Accord EX-L which I bought new. The car now has 153000 miles on it. After my last oil change I checked the oil after driving 1000 miles and it was over 2 quarts low. I replaced the missing oil and checked it again after about 600 miles and it was over a quart low. I have my oil & filter changed ever 5000 miles and this should not be happening. What can be done about it?

- , Simpsonville, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »