10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,749 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

Jan 012014

Accord

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact indicated that the rear brakes became worn prematurely. The dealer stated that the rear brake line and rear brake pads needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000.

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #27

Aug 272014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
The car would not brake, the emergency brake did not work, car would not park. Car kept rolling.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #26

Jan 222013

Accord

  • 40,000 miles
Since I purchsed the car about 2 years ago I had to replace the brakes 3 times and the rotors twice. Recently I had to bring my car back to the shop and now the auto shop is telling me I once again have to replace the brakes, rotors and calibers. This one fix is costing me $650. I think this is crazy that I had to replace this over 3 times. Their is something that has to be done. This is really annoying and making me not want to buy a Honda ever again. I think something should be done about this problem. Their have been thousands on complaints about this one incident and it costing hardworking people like myself alot of money out of our own pockets.

- Middle Island , NY, USA

problem #25

Jul 042014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
The SRS indicator stays on permanent and the brakes have to change again after only 6 months. Called Honda headquarters and was told that there was a recall for SRS in 2011 but my VIN number was not on the recall list and the my vechicle is out of warranty. I bought my car as a used car at herb chambers in 2010 and the according to them the car was already out of warranty. I need them to call the dealership and have me take the car in for diagnostic and have the issue fixed without me absorbing the cost.

- Dorchester, MA, USA

problem #24

Nov 232013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 26,842 miles
I took the car to my mechanic on 11/23/13 with complaints of noise with the rear wheel brakes. When they checked this out, they found the rear breaks had worn out and had to replace the rotor and the brake pads. I had them do the pa state & emission inspection early (were due in January 14) while they had the car. The total cost including inspection was $361.05. The cost of the brake pads & rotors were $328.10. I took my car to Honda dealer in hamilton, NJ on 3/22/14 foran oil change. During this visit they did a multi point inspection of the vehicle and found stated that the rear brakes have only 5mm (6/32") lining left. The mileage at this date was 36,995 (10,153 miles after the last replacement of the rotors and pads). I was shocked to hear the lining had worn down to this thickness so quickly. I will have to replace the brake pads and rotors again before the next inspection now due innovember 2014, which will cost me another $328.10.

- Yardley, PA, USA

problem #23

Jan 112014

Accord

  • 34,000 miles
The rear brakes began making a grinding and humming sound. After taking it to a dealership I was told that they needed to be replaced at a cost of $348 dollars. They failed about 40000 miles before the warrantied distance of 70000 miles. I later found a class action settlement (browne vs Honda) in which it was detailed that Honda was to pay 150 dollars for the parts and 125 dollars for the labor. I was never notified that my brake pads were defective or issued a recall. The case only applies to vehicles under 3 years from original purchase, but because of my military service my vehicle has only half of the expected mileage 6 years after I bought it. I now expected to shoulder the cost of defective parts and labor as well as an inherent risk to my safety based on the importance of the braking system. I was told by the dealership that they would not honor the class action law suit against them, and that it was somehow my problem now.

- Canton, MS, USA

problem #22

Dec 232013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 24,010 miles
Loud whining noises coming from the rear wheels when the brakes were applied, caused us to have the local Honda dealer check the brakes. The rear brake pads were very badly worn through. The car is driven at highway speed approximately 50% of the time, meaning the brakes would not have excessive use. The dealer told us that the type of driving we do and how we drive caused the problem. We have since learned that Honda has had two class action law suits about this problem, here is the United States and Canada. The settlement does not benefit us since the car was purchased new in July 2009. We have also learned that many drivers must repeatedly replace these brake pads. Since this is a serious safety issue, Honda should be held accountable now and in the future.

- Hot Springs, AR, USA

problem #21

Oct 282013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I replace a rear brake pad on July 10,2010 just a year after purchasing a brand new car. It was 18,257 miles.as of October 29,2013 I facing a gain a same problem. My mileage now it 60,000. Is Honda still responsible for this problem? thanks,

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #20

Oct 072013

Accord

  • 74,500 miles
Honda has a real problem here...they tried to fix it with ceramic brake pads..what that did is make more heat for a undersized brake system. In my case this heat caused the rear calipers to to stick. In as little as 10 miles I could not touch the wheel.. if I had driven another 15+ miles I believe fire would have started..right below the gas fill cap...not good... so not only are my rear calipers cooked, rotors warped, brake pads shot, brake fluid boiled...the rear hub and bearing assembly has had grease cooked out of it and makes noise...this problem goes way past brake pads...

- Seward, AK, USA

problem #19

Oct 072013

Accord

  • 74,500 miles
Honda has a rear brake problem with this car. Replacing the pads does not correct this problem. In my case the rear calipers stuck. The wheel was too hot to touch...the wheel...this after only 8 miles to home from work. Honda went to a ceramic rear pad which only added heat to a rear brake system that does not fit that car....the next problem will be rear hub assemblies failing because of over heating...I believe had I driven 20 plus miles this problem would have started a fire..just below the gas filler cap...not good... Honda has a problem and needs to step up on this one.

- Seward, AK, USA

problem #18

Oct 022012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
My car uses 1 qt oil weekly and makes a grinding noise when starting. Change oil every 7,000 miles and have to add 1 quart weekly. Vsa & oil lights stay on even after clearing the error codes. Replaced the cam shaft sensor which malfunctioned weeks later. Pearson Honda & West broad Honda, richmond va informed me there is no recall for this problem. Unbelievable after reading so many blogs about this issue from other Honda owners. This model Honda is a lemon and Honda needs to repair at no charge to the owner. Replaced wheel bearing on front and now the rear is making a loud noise. Never had a Honda with these many issues. Wanted to trade it for the 2013 and dealer offered me $6,700 for a car I paid $26,000 for. This is ridiculous!

- New Canton, VA, USA

problem #17

Sep 092013

Accord 4-cyl Diesel

  • 31,500 miles
My rear brakes need replacing at 31500 miles for a 2009 Honda Accord my 97 Honda Accord didn't have the front brakes go out until 80000 miles, rear brakes at 150000. My mechanic states my brakes have gone longer than most.

- Scotts Valley, CA, USA

problem #16

Aug 112011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 8,199 miles
Bought the car in 9/09 had to have front and rear brakes and rotors replaced because the brakes were burnt and disintegrated therefore ruining the rotors 8199 mileage. 3/26/13 same issue with rear brakes and rotors at 15704 miles. 8/1/13 same issue with front brakes and rotors at 17321. In March the front brakes and rotors were fine and after 2000 miles they now need replaced?

- Allison Park, PA, USA

problem #15

Jan 042012

Accord 4WD 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Premature wear on the rear brakes of 2009 Honda Accord. At 20,000 miles I started to get a small "squeak" in the rear of the car non the left side. I didn't know what it was. Only at low speeds. As the months passed it became clear that the problem was worse, but I never suspected worn brakes. The car had less than 25,000 miles on it. When I brought the car into the dealer on Nov 3, 2012 - I was told that it was my bad driving and the traffic in the DC area that had caused the problem. I paid $586.22 for a brake and rotor replacement. In 44 years of driving I had never even heard what worn brakes sounded like. Va has annual inspections, each year they check the brakes. I had the inspection done in November of 2012 after the pads and rotors were replaced. This is a safety hazard when brakes fail at such an early rate. \many drivers have never experienced that before.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #14

May 172013

Accord

  • 35,000 miles
At approx. 35,000 miles, my 2009 Honda Accord coupe wear indicator for left rear disc brake is rubbing the brake disc indicating that the brake pad has reach the point where the pads need to be replace. This is very perplexing as to why the rear brake need to be replaced before the front brake pads. Seems to be a common complaint on the 2008-2009 Honda Accord and 2009 Acura tsx, and a class action lawsuit that Honda has agreed to pay out $150 to owners who have had to fix this premature brake wear issue. Obviously a design flaw with the braking and vehicle stability control system.

- Liberty Township, OH, USA

problem #13

Mar 292013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 26,110 miles
Premature brake wear rear pads.

- Palos Hills, , IL, USA

problem #12

Mar 042013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
When making a hard braking stop from as slow as 35 mph an hour the front of the car dips so badly front of the touches the ground making the occupants lurch forward.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #11

Jan 092013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Grinding or squealing sounds while braking is applied. Brake pads was 100% (totally) worn out and there's metal to metal grinding contact at the (passengers) right rear wheel rotor, but the left side back brake shoes was 80% worn out. The front wheels brake shoes was still 80% thick.

- Navarre, FL, USA

problem #10

Dec 272012

Accord

  • 46,413 miles
Sudden screeching of rear brakes and short after grinding noise when breaking. Took car to get brakes checked and had to replace brake pads due to calipers sticking and making interior pads wear out completely while exterior pads where still good. Rotors worn to or below minimum specifications. Will have to replace both rear rotors and calipers. I have never had to replace rotors or calipers on any car, not even with 86K miles on them and on this 2009 Honda Accord ex-L I have to replace them at 46,413 miles" this is not good! Honda should pay for all expenses and parts. Lowest quote to replace with oem is approximately $750 what would the cost be if I would of not hear the noise and check the brakes"

- Rosenberg, TX, USA

problem #9

Nov 172012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 35,859 miles
I brought my car into Honda today for service and they tell me that I need rear brakes. I was a part of the class action suit two years ago to this day when I had to have my rear brakes replaced with a "new improved" pad. I had 16,527 miles then and now I have 35,859 and they need to be replaced again. These are rear brake pads and should last much more that 17,000 miles. Due this issue, my rotors were damaged by these "new and improved" brakes and have to be replaced, again. I feel that this is something that Honda should cover and not sure if anyone else out there has had a similar issue. Two sets of rear brakes before 36000 is unacceptable.

- Laconia, NH, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »