10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,482 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #8

May 202015

Accord

  • 15 miles
Can hear slight noise when disconnecting my seatbelt coming from lower part of the dashboard

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #7

Jun 122017

Accord

  • miles
Well before Honda cars was my top pryority cars. But unfortunatlly 5 month ago I bought a car in a diller call apex in fremont ca. And after the first week using the car the check engine light came on & 45 minutes later another 2 lights came on total 3 lights came on my car (check engine light ) ( vsa ) & last one is a triangle signal with this letter inside /!\ I took the car to the diller already about 5 times & the problem steel on my car after that I took it to the Honda diller and they charge me $ $180 to fix me the problem they promess me the car was fixed & 30 days later lights came back againg I took it back to the Honda diller because they said if the problem came back they supost to fix me the car for free and unfortunatly they charge me $ $375 for labor and $ $185 for the part but another 3 weeks later the problem with the lights came back againg and the worst thing is the car is no't available to drive because when that lights are on the car doesn't run faster than 30 milles for hourly. & honestly I M tired already because I steel have to pay arround $ 11.000 for the car to the diller because I M steel working my credit and if they can not fix the problem because I pay alot of money already trying to fix I M very disapoint. & because if I go to the Honda diller they go to charge me another may be $500 O more. Thank S for the oportunity for letting me writte this message here.

- Newark, CA, USA

problem #6

Jul 022016

Accord

  • 103,000 miles
Sumitomo 70K 600ab 94V htr enhance L/X 2255017htr purchased all 4 tires new at 84K on 9-11-2014. On 7-2-2016 at 103K, I was driving down I-95 abt 70 mph, car suddenly started vibrating violently. Managed to ride in emergency lane to next exit at 15 mph to find a tire shop on next exit. Had to purchase 2 new tires- cause was a six inch sections of tread that appeared to have separated internally. Had numerous "bubbling" on both tires, belt separation was noticeable. These are 70K tires and they only had 19K miles on them. I was alone and heading to jax, manager of tire place suggested that we take several pics of the tires since I wasn't able to take them with me (my trunk was full). Wasn't able to make it back to ga for another 3 weeks due to med emergency- upon returning back, I took my car to the tire place that installed them along with the pics and receipt. Manager informed me that I was supposed to save the 2 defective tires (as in bringing them with me!) and that I was supposed to call them when it happened (they are closed all weekend) and that there was nothing they could do to compensate me for this issue without the actual tires! I had no idea that this was expected of me.

- Statesboro, GA, USA

problem #5

Jul 192016

Accord

  • 120,000 miles
Even with correct tire pressure, the TPMS warning light comes on after about 20 miles, or at times comes on at start up and remains on. Sometimes can go months without it coming on. This is not the separate low tire pressure indicator.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #4

Oct 102014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 57,000 miles
Bought car in 2012 with 24,000 miles. After driving it for a while, a loud droning noise became audible. I thought it was a tire problem. Recently had tires replaced and car aligned at 57,000 miles. Noise became much louder. Took car for inspection and mechanic said passenger side rear wheel bearing was making the noise and needed to be replaced. The cost quoted is approximately $330.

- Venetia, PA, USA

problem #3

Nov 232013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 26,842 miles
I took the car to my mechanic on 11/23/13 with complaints of noise with the rear wheel brakes. When they checked this out, they found the rear breaks had worn out and had to replace the rotor and the brake pads. I had them do the pa state & emission inspection early (were due in January 14) while they had the car. The total cost including inspection was $361.05. The cost of the brake pads & rotors were $328.10. I took my car to Honda dealer in hamilton, NJ on 3/22/14 foran oil change. During this visit they did a multi point inspection of the vehicle and found stated that the rear brakes have only 5mm (6/32") lining left. The mileage at this date was 36,995 (10,153 miles after the last replacement of the rotors and pads). I was shocked to hear the lining had worn down to this thickness so quickly. I will have to replace the brake pads and rotors again before the next inspection now due innovember 2014, which will cost me another $328.10.

- Yardley, PA, USA

problem #2

Dec 192011

Accord

  • miles
On October 30 2013 I received a certified letter to inform me of a lkq wheel recall. This recall is for a new aftermarket wheel identified as 2009 Honda Accord. I have been unable along with numerous individuals to get information on what has prompted this recall. That being said I believe there needs to be more monitoring of aftermarket parts recalls. I don't believe this is a viable way to get these wheels off the roadways. Shops that purchased these wheels should not be relied upon to inform their consumers of the dangerous wheels. The company that sent out recall is lkq-keystone corporation. Wheel part number aly63934U20N in this recall they state " this recall is being conducted due to potential defects which could cause the wheel to fail, resulting in an accident in which serious injury or death could occur. I see this as a very serious and dangerous incident. Please look into this extremely serious issue.

- Wallingford, CT, USA

problem #1

Oct 072011

Accord

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact was driving 50 mph when the vehicle started to sway from left and right. The front driver side wheel then detached from the vehicle, causing him to crash into a guard rail. All of the air bags deployed but the front passenger was injured and taken to the hospital. The front bumper was damaged and the vehicle was towed to a body shop. The insurance company and the was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 17,000.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA