7.5

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$341.00
Average Mileage:
71,125 miles
Total Complaints:
112 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (80 reports)
  2. Honda replacing engine (11 reports)
  3. pistons and rings replaced (9 reports)
  4. replace engine or take car back (7 reports)
  5. rebuilt engine (2 reports)
  6. replace ignition coil (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Honda dealer.

problem #112

Oct 202017

Accord EX-L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,999 miles

This is second time that I have a problem with spark plug fowling due to the excessive oil consumption. The engine uses excessive oil with no indication of any leakage at all. After I researched the issue on line I found that is was a major problem for a lot of Honda owners and that there had been a Class Action Lawsuit filed which included about 1,593,755 vehicles with the same problem. Honda issued Technical Service Bulletin (TSB # 11-033) in july of 2001 but still denied the problem was their fault. The class action suit appears to have been settled quietly by Honda in October 2012. I'm looking for recourse to get reimbursed for the spark plug replacements and consideration under the class action lawsuit. Not a very happy Honda owner anymore.

- , Aberdeen, MD, US

problem #111

Oct 152015

Accord V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 146,000 miles

I've had other Honda automobiles. None have ever used oil and I had over 250,000 miles on an '84 CRX before trading. Current car uses 2+ quarts every 4-5000 miles and there is no leak, just consumption - black exhaust pipes. I do not notice smoke but there must be some.

Have just reported problem to Grainger Honda, Savannah, GA while having the air bag recall accomplished and having the HVAC control motors replaced. Grainger suggested running an oil consumption test which I agreed to have done. The engine oil has been changed and Grainger will check the consumption at 1000 mile intervals.

Until I went on-line to check the consumption issue I was unaware that it was a big problem with the newer Honda cars.

- , Allenhurst, US

problem #110

Oct 272017

Accord EX 2.4L Inline 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,303 miles

I bought this car in September 2009 brand new, drove for 7 years without any trouble except recently for the last couple of months it started taking too much oil. I had to top up every 1500 KM. Richmond Hill Honda advised that this is a manufacturer defect and they replaced the pistons. But also advised that i should replace Timing Chain, 4 gears and VTC actuator.

I agreed and spent almost CAD $1500.00 extra along with warranty replacement. Got these fixed in 4 days and so far this went good. But awful things happened after that. I drove for on a week - when i heard loud grinding noise (like metal rod hitting the container). I Had to tow my car to the dealership and they said that the Crank Shaft bearing was broken and I have to pay for it - while at the time of replacement, they did not give any warning - charged me for another CAD $700.00.

Now today they called back and that even after replacing the bearings, its making the same noise - because the Crank Shaft is shot!!!! they will have to machine the Crank Shaft (charged me another CAD$250.00) - not replace, because the replacement won't be covered by Honda Motors. And these all happened because of oil starvation i.e. excessive burn of oil. Which is originally a manufacturer defect. I really don't know what else they will charge me for. I am really concerned of the quality or parts and service here.

This would be the last Honda vehicle in my life!!!!

- , Whitby, ON, Canada

problem #109

Nov 052017

Accord EX-L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 122,000 miles

The car sputtered and the engine light came on. Took car to Goodyear who indicated it was down 2 quarts in a month, and they could not find any leaks. Checked Car Complaints and noticed a service bulletin issued by Honda. Took car to dealer who ran a diagnostic and also could not find a leak. We requested they do the software update as the car was identified as not having had it performed. They wanted to do the oil consumption test first. We were not comfortable with that because our daughter drives the car. So we asked if they would replace the engine if it runs out of oil? Software update completed. Still doing the consumption test to see if the update 'fixed' the problem. If not, it may be a 'ring' issue. Stay tuned!

- , Los Angeles, US

problem #108

Nov 022016

Accord LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

In 2016 I got a grinding noise from the engine a couple of times and found out that dipstick didn't show any oil. I took it to dealership when the service was due and they told me that oil was low and started the oil consumption check. I had to visit the dealership every 1000 miles to show how much oil is consumed and every time I was told that 1/2 quart consumption is okay and they used to refill it without a charge. They completed the oil consumption check in June 2017.

On 10/22/2017 at 50% oil level on my dashboard, I checked my dipstick and found out barely a peck of oil at the end of dipstick and the level was way below the lowest dot marked on the dipstick. I took it to dealership and called Honda but nothing happened.

I paid for the oil to be added and waiting for resolution from Honda.

- , El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

problem #107

Jun 072016

Accord EXL 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,450 miles

I bought a Honda because they are supposed to be reliable, what a crock of sh*t! It burns 2 quarts of oil between every oil change. I've replaced the spark plugs twice in 16 months and the catalytic converter in the front bank needs to be replaced also. Honda V6 is a piece of sh*t! :(

- , New Franklin, US

problem #106

Dec 012016

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

My 2010 Honda accord is burning oil. The oil will be so low that it does not register when tested using the dipstick after about 1200 miles. Yet, no light turns on to indicate an issue. The car begins to make a grinding noise when the oil is low. I've been advised to use high mileage oil and to get my oil changed every 3000 miles instead of the recommended 5000. I have taken these actions without resolution.

- , Morrisville, PA, US

problem #105

May 022017

Accord EXL V6 Navigation V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,573 miles

This car is still under the 8 year, 120,000 mile warranty I purchased on 9/17/09. Honda changed the oil and started an oil consumption test every 1,000 miles. As of 8/28/17, tests showed usage of 1/4 qt., 1/2 qt, 1/2 qt., and 1/2 qt. I have asked for the permanent repair a couple of times, but the dealership insists that the oil usage is normal even though there is no prior history that this car has used oil. All service/repairs were made by the dealership, and records do not mention oil consumption. I appealed to McConnel Honda's service manager and opened a case with Honda America. Both the service manager and Honda America representative insist that there is NOT a repair needed. The service manager told me that usage of up to 1 quart of oil every 1,000 miles is expected and normal. Further, he said that the owners manual stated that oil needed to be added. I referred to my owners manual and found no such reference. I asked for the pages referenced and a copy of Honda's official oil consumption policy. Neither request was honored.

Kim and Steven at Honda America corroborated the message that oiled consumption of up to 1 quart per thousand miles was normal. When I asked Kim for a written policy regarding this statement, she said that Honda's policy was NOT a written one. She closed my case because she considered the inquiry over. My research tells me that the fix has to do with piston rings--most likely an engine rebuild, Honda is cheating me by not honoring the warranty I purchased from them. I get that cars have problems. It's Honda's responsibility to fix the problem when a warranty was purchased. Sigh....

On another note, I have a friend who has a 2009 EXL V-6 Honda with about 150,000 miles. She does not have oil consumption issues.

- , Wetumpka, US

problem #104

Mar 202017

Accord LX 4 Cillendar

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,298 miles

My 2010 Honda Accord is burning excessive oil. At 44,298 miles the engine oil light came on and the oil dip stick showed barely any oil (just the tip of the dipstick). I took it to the dealership and they made me pay for an oil change with them and said it is normal to burn 1quart of oil per 1000 miles. They started an oil consumption test and when I got home and checked, they had overfilled the oil, way beyond the dipsticks fill line.

- , Portage, MI, USA

problem #103

Sep 062017

Accord ES 1.9L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,493 miles

I'm reporting this particular incident, oil a quart low with 50% oil life indicated on dash, however, it has occurred several times in the past. It seems the engine consumes oil faster than the usage indicator monitors oil life. I feel that this offers a false sense of security to the owner. I change oil well before the oil life cage expires but have been adding a quart at 50% oil life for some time now. If a person did only watch the oil monitor on the dash, she might up ruining the engine.

- , Belle Vernon, US

problem #102

Jul 012016

Accord LX-P 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

My car needs an oil change after driving, city commute only, 1500 miles!! I believe this is ABSOLUTELY ridiculous and Honda needs to do something about this! I received a letter from Honda America saying that the Piston Rings need to be changed due to high oil consumption. My vehicle needs this and it isn't qualified. Instead of burning all oil at 1,000 miles, how isn't 1,500 miles close enough?! I've about HAD it with Honda and I'll never consider or recommend Honda to anyone!

- , Omaha, US

problem #101

May 042017

Accord EX-L 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 144,000 miles

The only solution they've offered is to do an oil consumption test. I've been adding anywhere between 1/2 quart to whole quart of oil per week. Waiting for the issue to be resolved.

- , Silver Spring, US

problem #100

Jun 012017

Accord LX 4cly

  • Automatic transmission
  • 122,000 miles

A CLASS Action lawsuit needs to be started for this problem.

- , Trenton, US

problem #99

Oct 102014

Accord V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles

This car began using a lot of oil the first few months I owned it. It is only a four cylinder so I don't see it in the lawsuit info. But I went back to Honda dealer several times. They have done oil consumption check repeatedly only to say it is okay that the amount of oil is not a problem. Even when the dipstick showed no oil more than once at the dealer and even when the oil light was on. Truly ridiculous. Honda corporation suggested more than once that Stockton Honda or Tracy Honda do the repairs needed, yet both dealers refuse to do the work and say the oil consumption is okay.

- , Stockton, US

problem #98

May 012015

Accord EXL V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,603 miles

Found there was next to nothing for oil at last two oil changes on my 2010 Accord. Have to keep adding oil, due to excessive oil consumption. When I first mentioned to Honda dealership they started to allude to the fact that this was a known problem but the manager just said I would get nowhere complaining to Honda about it because they would even end up saying that if you don't check your oil at every fill up then you don't have a leg to stand on. Thanks for the help, guy! I took it to a mechanic friend and he did some research and found that this is a known problem with certain Hondas. H suggested switching from synthetic to regular oil and he found no leaks and checked the PCV valve too and found it to be ok. We did what Honda suggested - a hot oil flush. Just want to get rid of this car now and am disillusioned with Honda now.

- , Gibbons, AB, Canada

problem #97

May 012017

Accord EX-L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

They (Honda) dealership says a quart of oil consumed every 1000 miles "normal." Say what. Upgraded PCM, changed plugs. Say it's fixed. What crap.

- , Tiverton, RI, US

problem #96

May 012017

Accord ES V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

vehicle with only 80,000 miles has burned 5 quarts of oil in 6,000 miles.

- , Midlothian, US

problem #95

Apr 292017

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

Engine light came on then starting flashing. Manual said to get car to a dealer right away. Engine was running on 2 cylinders. Dealer said I ran out of oil

Update from May 7, 2017: Dealer was very quick to assess the problem. Received transportation for 3 days while car was under repair.

They had to replace the cylinders. Obviously this was not the first time Honda has serviced a car beyond the normal warranty period.

Very good service

- , Elizabethtown, ON, Canada

problem #94

Apr 012017

Accord EX-L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles

Does anyone else have an issue with the 4 cylinder engine burning oil quickly? I have seen that there is a problem that was identified with the V6 models, but I burn through about 3 quarts between oil changes.

- , Glen Mills, US

problem #93

Sep 012014

Accord LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

The car had been burning through oil in a short amount of time for a couple years now. My cylinder is bad and my car can't drive and the dealership has been giving me the run around when this should be covered by the warranty. And they haven't come up with what the problem is and want to do everything to have me pay for something that isn't the heart of the problem.

- , Elmsford, US

Read the next 20 complaints »