8.1

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$665.00
Average Mileage:
49,950 miles
Total Complaints:
77 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. replace starter (38 reports)
  2. not sure (15 reports)
  3. replace starter at no cost to consumer (9 reports)
  4. dealer replaced the starter (5 reports)
  5. replaced the starter (4 reports)
  6. replaced starter (3 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Honda dealer.

problem #77

Nov 012017

Accord EXL

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

My 2013 Honda Accord EXL Coupe was the third Honda that I had purchased. My family mostly drives Hondas due to their reliability. This may be my last as this is the third main complaint that I have had. This car only has 38,000 miles and I purchased it brand new with only 8 miles on it. My most recent complaint is the starter failure. I started noticing that my car would not start up (push button start) right away like it always has. I had to try starting it once or twice but it always started so no biggie. Last week it hesitated while on my lunch break. Once it started up (after 20 mins of trying), I drove to the Honda Dealership's service shop to inform them. I was told that it probably was the battery sensor recall (that I was never notified about) and that they would correct that problem at no cost to me. I said ok great and they took care of the recall. Three days later, my car would not start. After trying for an hour (which caused me to be late for wk), it finally started so I drove it straight back to the Honda dealership and informed the service advisor who helped me the week before. He suggested that I leave it there to check it out and two hours later, I was told that the starter is bad and needs replacing. I asked if this had anything to do with the battery sensor recall and he said no. The starter would run me $866.38 out the door which I said was ridiculous for a vehicle which only had 38,000 miles and well taken care of. I took my car to a well-known starter and generator repair shop and he estimated $445. I am disappointed in Honda. It makes me very skeptical on buying another as this is the third repeated (separate) incident that I have had with this particular Honda. (1st) Lower side panel on driver's seat keeps popping off. Had replaced at least 5 times. (2nd) I have had to replace battery 4 times. This last time I had to pay for it because it was past the warranty period but of course that has nothing to do with the battery sensor recall. Honda's are not made like they use to be.....

- , Waco, US

problem #76

Nov 012017

Accord ES 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles

So glad that I happened to find this forum. My 2013 Honda Accord has been acting strange for a little over a month. Turn the ignition...nothing ...turn it again.. it cranks. Seeing this forum, there is OBVIOUSLY a problem with the starter on this model, which is disgusting that Honda won't issue a recall. My car has 50,000 miles and this SHOULD NOT be an issue, having to replace the starter, and pay for it out of pocket. I had a Toyota Camry before I purchased this car, and it had 120,000 miles, and I never had an issue. This has definitely left a bad taste in my mouth toward Honda, which I bought because I thought they were reliable. I guess I should go shell out 500-900 dollars for a starter, before I am left stranded on the side of the road... Grr.

- , Albertville, US

problem #75

Nov 022017

Accord Sport 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,450 miles

About two weeks ago I began having trouble starting car....first turn of key---no response. Then second turn, it started. The other day, it just would not start at all. Had to have it towed from my house to dealer. I had recently done the battery recall, but dealer confirmed it was starter and replaced it. He said he is seeing this repair a lot, which leads me to believe this is a defective part that Honda should reimburse for, as it is prematurely failing. I am very disappointed...I bought Honda for its reliability.

Update from Nov 7, 2017: I called Honda Customer Service at 1-800-999-1009 on 11/06/17 to complain. They said they do not have any complaints about the starter failure. I can't believe that. So, if you had this problem...CALL THEM!

- , Novelty, US

problem #74

Sep 122017

Accord EX 2.4L

  • CVT transmission
  • 64,000 miles

2013 Accord with 64K starter failed. Got in to expenses over $750, battery replacement , calling dealer, diagnostic, getting fixed etc. What a pain! with a new car. I had Toyota Camry before never a problem until 250K. This piece of sh*t started with heavy oil consumption, starter and what not.

NOT BUYING THIS BRAND ANYMORE. Please review the posts before buying piece of......

- , Laurel, MD, USA

problem #73

Oct 142017

Accord Sport 4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

Less than 4 years after I bought a 2013 Honda Accord sport and just over 45k miles, I was having issues with the car turning over. I'd engage, the dash would light up, but nothing would happen. It started as it would take only 2-3 tries, but quickly turned to the last day before taking it in, took a few minutes to get it to turn.

The person at the Honda dealership I took the car to said she's seen this a lot in the 4 cylinder Accords, and she wasn't surprised. That was concerning on a 4 year old car. I'll say the Honda dealerships are always great and they don't build the cars.

Unfortunately this is going to put a bad taste in my mouth about Honda. The first car I drove 10 years ago was a '93 Honda Accord, and the first car I purchased after college was going to be an Accord, no questions asked because of that experience. Up to this point the car has been great, but I can't get over dropping $800+

to replace a starter after 45k miles. Probably stepping away from Honda after this one......

- , Hilliard, US

problem #72

Aug 012017

Accord EX-L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

I filed a complaint with National Highway Traffic Safety Board. The number is 888-327-4236. You need to call them to get the ball rolling for the recalls to be administered on these Honda Accords. I also e-mailed the CEO and other Senior management. And I called the headquarters in Torrance, California. That number is 310-783-3000. Please feel free to send e-mails to the CEO and other top management. This is highway robbery and ridiculous. The emails are as follows: Toshiaki_Mikoshiba@ahm.honda.com; Jeff_Conrad@ahm.honda.com; and Ana_Brown@ahm.honda.com Toshiaki is the CEO. Voice your concerns people.

- , Houston, US

problem #71

Feb 012017

Accord EX-L V6

  • Manual transmission
  • 58,000 miles

Like everyone else on here I'm pretty annoyed I had to pay almost $500 for a new starter after not even 60k miles. Never had an issue with my previous honda or acura with this little mileage. It also bothers me that this occurred basically right after my warranty expired. Honda should do the right thing by their customers, most of whom have been very loyal, and issue a recall or reimburse us.

- , Mount Sinai, US

problem #70

Sep 012017

Accord Touring V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,244 miles

About 2 months ago a screeching noise sounded when I pushed the start button. It was the same noise as when you turn the ignition key on an engine that is running already. Waited a few seconds and the car started. This kept happening about once every 2 weeks. It was not that worrying. After reading (on this site) that others had a failed starter I called the dealer. At this point it was happening once a week. In all cases, just waiting a few seconds resulted in a successful start.

If I did not have the extended warranty, this repair would not have been covered. For a 4.5 year old car, with only 106K kms, a failed starter makes no sense. Especially for a Honda. This repair was several hours of tech time, plus additional time to remove one bolt that would not come off and the new starter/parts.

My gripe is that Honda would not have covered this repair without the extended warranty. A starter should last longer than 5 years.

Problem is solved. Since I am keeping my car, I am now curious to see how long the new starter will last as my extended warranty will expire soon.

- , D.D.O., Quebec, Canada

problem #69

Aug 272017

Accord LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

I have had the same issues with my stater as everyone else. The car would start only after turning the key a couple of times. Finally it stopped working all together. I took it to the dealership and they claimed it was the recall on the battery sensor. So they fixed it and the car worked great. When I was at the river 2 weeks later the car wouldn't start. I had to get it towed from WA to OR. The dealership diagnosed the problem to be the starter. I didn't believe them so I had a second diagnosis which also showed the problem to be the starter. That was almost $400 just for the diagnosis. American Honda said that my car was out of warranty at 30,000 miles and that they were unaware of the situation being an issue for other customers. So now I have to replace it which costs no less then $900 at any repair shop. I am very disappointed. My family has owned Honda vehicles since their beginnings. We have a whole fleet of Hondas. I have yet to change the starter on my '06 Accord that has over 200,000 miles on it. I will NEVER buy a Honda again and I will make sure they pay the price on this one. Class Action Lawsuit anyone??

- , Tigard, US

problem #68

May 022017

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

THIS IS ANNOYING AND HONDA HAS TO REPLACE THE STARTER FREE OF COST AS HONDA HAS GOOD REPUTATION, SHOULD RECALL FOR STARTER ISSUE

- , Newington, US

problem #67

Aug 262017

Accord EX-L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

My car started dying on me starting the week of August 21st and I'd stop for second to pick to up something at a store and then go back in and try to start my car and it would not start. I waited 30 minutes to an hour and then it would barely start. This happened several times during the week and each time this stupid car would attempt to start but it wouldn't fully engage. That week I actually got a recall in the mail for this stupid sensor on the Honda battery that was causing issues, so I thought it could be covered with this.

I schedule an apt with the dealer that Saturday and the test the car telling me that my battery is bad and I need a new starter.

Now I am going to remind you that Honda just sent out a recall for this sensor that's causing batteries to fail, but they still won't replace the battery under warranty.

I end up having to pay for everything out of pocket and the dealer fixes the recall only temporarily because they said Honda hasn't released the part to replace this malfunction on the battery.

This car sucks and I won't to trade it in ASAP. The reason I had to fix it was because I work a full time job and I am a full time student who needs her car for transportation.

- , Fountain Valley, US

problem #66

Jul 032017

Accord LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

I'm having the same issue as everyone else with a 2013 Honda Accord. It will start on first try and other days it will take three or four times to start the car. I paid too much for the Honda Accord to have these types of issues when the car is less than 3 years old. Honda should stand behind their vehicles and fix this problem and reimburse its consumers. I drove a Toyota Camry for 27 years and I'm going back to Toyota.

- , Plano, US

problem #65

Aug 022017

Accord LX 2.4L

  • CVT transmission
  • 38,740 miles

I started getting the "Turn, 1 click and No Turnover" on the first try about a 2 weeks ago. and its getting serious. Thinking to replace the starter.

- , San Antonio, US

problem #64

Jul 312017

Accord Sport 2.4L V4

  • CVT transmission
  • 56,000 miles

Turn-key ignition. I started getting the "Turn, 1 click and No Turnover" on the first try about a month ago. It would always turn over and start on the 2nd try though and continued like this for a few more weeks. Sometimes it would start on the first try if it was warmer weather. Last week, it started intermittently to take a few tries before starting. Two days ago, it wouldn't turn over at all, just the 1 click every time I turned the key.

I did a lot of research on what the problem was and found this site and others where people had the exact same problem with their 2013 Honda Accords so I knew it was a starter issue. When I took my car in to a dealership for the battery sensor recall (!!!) I asked them about the starter. The guy helping me said that he saw this problem a lot, especially with the push button ignitions. The quote from the dealership to replace the starter was $500 something for the starter plus $300 something for labor. That's not including the diagnostic exam for $160 to make sure it was the starter. It was going to be over a thousand dollars altogether! After the car stopped starting I wound up towing the car to an auto shop I found on Yelp and paid $486, $346 for the part and $150 for the labor. It was more than I think I could've gotten it done for but the shop had a really good reputation and the mechanic was very informative and seemed trustworthy. He replaced the starter and the problem was fixed.

I'm just waiting for the recall for this issue so I can get re-imbursed. I encourage everyone who has the same issue to contact Honda and to post their complaint here. I'm sure there's thousands of people that have had the same issue and not posted. We need the numbers. The higher the number of complaints the more pressure on Honda to do something about it and/or the more worthwhile to file a class action lawsuit.

- , San Francisco, US

problem #63

Jul 282017

Accord LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

Really Honda???? Not impressed. This is my second Honda and the fact that Honda is turning a blind eye to this. I WILL NEVER EVER PURCHASE OR RECOMMEND HONDA AGAIN.

If anyone knows of Class Action Lawsuit please contact me.

SHAME ON YOU HONDA!!!!!

- , Rocklin, US

problem #62

Mar 202017

Accord Sport 6speed

  • Manual transmission
  • 50,156 miles

The starter began to go out in late March. Had battery replaced and problem continued. For every ten starts, the problem surfaces in 9 of those attempts. Sometimes it takes a few key clicks to start, other times it can take several minutes. Have been stranded due to non-starting too. Finally took car to dealer yesterday 6-23-17. Verified starter was the problem. Almost 900.00 to fix. Called American Honda yesterday about the issue and the rep said they had no records of this problem. Told her that service techs for Honda I contacted verified increased "traffic" in services concerning the 2013 Accord starters. Other service tech denied and I said to them just google "2013 Honda Accord Sport starter problems" and you will see tons of info, including posted video, on this issue. My car just passed 50,000 and having to replace a starter on such a car is ridiculous. It's a Honda, for crying out loud, not a Yugo. Come on' Honda, treat your customers with respect.

- , Portland, US

problem #61

Jul 062017

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

My 2013 Honda Accord has been not starting on 1st try quite a few times. When it happened and after several tries it started and I thought it was just a fluke. On July 6, 2017 went in to grocery and came back out 15 minutes later and car wouldn't start. Just clicked, it wasn't the battery it wouldn't start with a boost and battery checked out fine. I had to leave the car in the parking lot and return to work since I was on my lunch hour. My husband went to check and see what the issue was and determined that it was the starter, it actually started just like other times when it wouldn't start on first try. This is an issue now because although we purchased the Honda because they are considered to be a reliable vehicle at this time it is not. We are not secure to travel in it and not be afraid of being stranded. I have read complaints from other Honda Accord owners who are having the exact problem so there has to be an issue with the starter that Honda is not addressing. My husband called Honda and someone was supposed to return his call. That was on Friday, July 7, 2017 and we haven't received a return call at this time. We will definitely try again since when we called the dealership the starter was over $500 and labor cost are not included in the price.

- , Midway, WV, US

problem #60

Jun 012017

Accord LX

  • CVT transmission
  • 41,000 miles

Purchased new 2013 Accord from dealer thinking that Honda is most reliable, but it seems totally wrong decision. After 41K mileage accord giving problems while I start the car. I have to try 3-4 times to start the car looked around web and found out that it is common problem for 2013 - 2015 accord cars. It's shame for Honda that even after so many complaints company is not taking the responsibility of the issue.

Called the dealer and quote I am getting is ~$960 and Honda customer car says it is out of warranty (> 36K miles on the car) and they can't help.

Spending that much amount for repairs on a car with such low mileage is awful experience.

Pretty sure I will not consider owing a Honda car in future.

- , Fremont, CA, US

problem #59

Jun 012017

Accord LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,326 miles

With all the complaints about the starter on 2013 Honda Accord the company should look into the problem and reimburse everybody that came out their pockets to get this problem taking care of. My 2013 Honda Accord LX has 70xxx miles on it and with no warning the starter went out leaving me sitting at a gas pump.

- , Belleville, US

problem #58

Jan 012017

Accord ES V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

Start push button grinds and does not start. Starts after multiple attempts.

- , Milpitas, US

Read the next 20 complaints »