7.3

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,482 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #18

Mar 182019

Accord

  • miles
I have a noisy sound coming from the wheel/tire when the car is running, Honda said its from the tire and we don't cover this, I contacted the tire company (Continental), they told me that they are aware of this problem and from Honda wheels not from the tire, neither Honda or Continental tire wanted to fix the problem. I'm not sure how to fix this problem. I have a Honda complain case # upon request.

- Anaheim Hills, CA, USA

problem #17

May 012018

Accord

  • 21,000 miles
There is a loud scrapping sound coming from the tire bead between the rim and tire. I have Continental tires with 19" sport rims. I had it brought to a Honda dealer 3-4 times before they finally told me Honda has not solutions to the issue. They offered give me a discount to get another set of tires. They were very silent on trying to find a fix or compensate completely for the issue. They also didn't advise if the issue was hazardous or safe to drive with the noise.

- Kent, OH, USA

problem #16

Apr 302019

Accord

  • miles
Tire bead noise on 2017 Honda Accord sport with Continental tires, tire makes alot of noise when driving. Honda refuses to take responsibility and cover it under warranty and does not offer any repair. They even charged me a diagnostics fee.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #15

Mar 112019

Accord

  • 24,000 miles
When the vehicle is rolling in a slow manner. The tires/brakes/rotors make a rubbing sound. This seems to be a issue with this year of Accord. This car was just purchased over a month ago and it was not mentioned! this can be heard on a residential street. It has been taken in and was told it's the tires on this year of Honda..

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #14

Jan 012018

Accord

  • 1,000 miles
The front right wheel/tire has a grinding noise. Sounds like bad wheel bearing. Mainly heard at low speeds but is getting louder over time. Honda says it is the Continental tires. Tire shop put different wheels and tires on the car and the noise did not go away. The noise does not follow the tires, tire shop spin balances the tires on the car. They said the front left wheel is making a roaring grinding noise. This is with the wheel and tire off the ground. How can tires make a metal grinding noise. Honda dealerships will not fix the problem

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #13

Aug 152017

Accord 4-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
Hello, my name is [xxx] my husband and I purchased a new 2017 Honda Accord sport special edition that is equipped with 19 inch rims and Continental tires in March of 2017 with 5 miles on the vehicle. The tires are rubbing part of the suspension creating friction that could result in failure of side wall thus having a blow out. This issue is putting my family and many other lives at risk. I have made Honda aware of this issue numerous times at the Honda world dealership located on hurstbourne lane in louisville ky. After numerous visits to the service department, additional air was pumped in the tire and the tires were rotated. Which solves nothing... which is a bandaid. If you search youtube or the web, you will find that I am not the only consumer whom has made Honda aware of this issue or is having this same issue. These other consumers who are suffering with this same potential disaster could put Honda on the hook for severe problems. The service manager at Honda world directed me to call Honda corporate and while speaking with a customer service representative, I asked to speak to a supervisor. The representative advised that a manager nor a "higher up" was available for me to speak with. A few days later, I received a voicemail from case manager, [xxx] at Honda who informed me they are aware of the issue with the tire brand and rim combination. At this time, my request for four different brand tires that will not impact my suspension on my vehicle was denied. She informed me that if I want to purchase four new tires, I can do so. Clearly putting the defect back in the consumers lap to fix. I suppose if we start having blow outs on Honda Accord and fatalities start to rise due to this known issue, Honda might think it is cost effective to fix the known issue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sheoherdsville, KY, USA

problem #12

Sep 152018

Accord

  • 14,000 miles
Takata recall tire making noise on rim. Loss of air pressure after a few days. Tire seems not to have a good seat in rim. 19 factory Honda sport wheel on Continental tires. Concerned that this could cause a loss in control if tire slips off the wheel.

- Plaquemine, LA, USA

problem #11

Jan 012018

Accord

  • 1,000 miles
Smells like fish when turning on the heat & A/C. the tires are dry rotted. This car is not brand new and must have come from an area where there was flooding. Lithia Honda in medford Oregon selling cars that are really totaled out cars from floods or hurricane prone areas. This is a danger, as dry rot blow out tires may cause series accidents. Out police officers are also driving on these tires! dry rot tires.

- Medford, OR, USA

problem #10

Mar 012018

Accord

  • 15,000 miles
When driving at speeds below 35mph, there is a scraping noise. I have had it to two Honda dealers and they both say it is the tire bead making a scraping noise. They say it is normal for a 2017 Accord with the sport package that has the 19" factory wheels to make this noise. This has been occurring since 15,000 miles and corporate says there is nothing that they can do.

- Etters, PA, USA

problem #9

Jun 042018

Accord

  • 7,239 miles
I have started noticing engine acceleration lag, a tire/wheel noise from driver front/rear side. The noise was very noticeable since it felt like the tire/wheel was rubbing against each other somewhere. The noise can be heard driving at the speed of 15-30mph having the window roll down. June 4th, 2018 made a appointment with purchasing dealership yonkers Honda to have the car checked. However they could not duplicate the issue, so I test drove with mechanic and proved my case. After hearing the noise, they kept the car to fix the issue and when I went to pick up the car the noise was back again. Since they could not fix the issue, they labeled it as "normal" and cannot duplicate the noise despite showing it to them after multiple visit. I opened a case with american Honda and they could not get yonkers Honda to fix the issue or get the manager to call me to explain what happened. Instead, amh advised me to try another dealership which I did, "new rochelle Honda" however they were no help whatsoever. They did not even want to work on the car despite their mechanic hearing the noise. The director informed the manager that there is no problem with the car and fed Honda lies about director ever contacting me or test driving with me. I called Honda again, and they did not help me instead told me to go to another dealership. I am on my third dealership, working with bronx Honda about the same issue since June 4th, 2018 and still no fix...now I am experiencing acceleration lag, brake rotors issues, wheel vibration, vibration while braking from high speed even though bronx Honda resurfaced the brake rotors instead of replacing them with new one.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #8

Aug 242018

Accord

  • 22,442 miles
First issue I noticed with my car was that while driving on a flat road in the middle lane my car will pull slightly to the left. I took the car back to the dealer where I purchased the car, garden state Honda in passaic New Jersey, and they reported the wheel alignment was within specifications. I drove the car and the issue persisted. Next day I took the car to another Honda dealer, dch paramus Honda in paramus New Jersey, and again it was reported by this dealer that the wheel alignment was within specifications. I drove my car after consulting with the dealers but the problem still persist. The second issue happened when the front right tire developed a bubble (2/3/2018. 15691 miles) on the side after hitting a pothole on the highway. I took my car to garden state Honda regarding the tire damage and they declined replacement of the tire and increased the tire pressure to 37psi on all four tires which is above the recommended tire pressure of 33psi front tires, 32psi rear tires (I checked the tire pressure in the morning) my car felt stiffer and very uncomfortable driving afterwards. Moreover, the front left tire ripped on the side after hitting a pothole while driving between 25-30mph on local streets (3/30/2018). This is when I had to buy two brand new tires yokohama advan sport A/S XL for $174.88 each that replaced the front two damaged tires. Recently (8/24/2018. 22442 miles) the front right wheel bent after hitting a pothole while driving between 50-55mph on the highway.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #7

Jul 162018

Accord

  • 10,000 miles
So there are a few issues with my 2017 Honda Accord sport first one is the tire whooshing sound it makes I know I have seen many people complain about the same thing and I have took it to the dealer but they are unable to do anything until a recall is made very frustrating that I have to wait until a recall is made to get this problem fixed second issue my tpm keeps coming on I just took it for an oil change and had the tire pressure checked and adjusted and barley a day later it comes back on the this has been going on for the last 3 months I checked the tires they are in really good condition lots of life on them and same response from the dealer can't do anything super frustrating third issue is that when it is hot outside and the inside of my car gets hot my screen shuts off I am talking this one in to the dealer to leave it hopefully they can get it fixed and don't give me the same answer as I got for all my other issues

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #6

Feb 052017

Accord

  • 1,500 miles
I have a continuous sound in my driverside front tire it has been going on since I purchase the car they told me it was something they can fix but it only stop the sound for a little while so I have a brand new car that has a whopping sound in it as I go down the road they told me it was because of the rim but it was totally safe I do not understand the process of getting it fixed because they said I would have to wait until they recall it's done before they can fix the problem I do not think it's fair that I have bought a brand new car that has a issue and no one is concerned about fixing.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #5

Oct 282017

Accord

  • miles
I purchase my Honda Accord sport in September of 2017. Today October 28th 2017 will driving on my local street less than 40 miles per hour I was notified that my tire pressure was low. I pulled off to the side of the road to find a crack in my side tire wall. My vehicle has less than 1,300 miles on it the tread on the tire is fully intact. I was greatly concerned as this is a new vehicle as well as the tires were manufactured this year based on the information provided on the tire for the tire to be cracked.I believe this is a manufacturer defect that should be addressed before any serious bodily injury is caused to anyone. When I contacted my service department where I purchased the vehicle I was advised that tires are not under warranty when purchasing the vehicle and they made the presumption that I hit something or ran something over. I advised the service employee that I did not hit or run anything over my rim and vehicle have no damage to indicate that anything was hit or run over to cause the cracking not a slice but a crack in the tire. Tire info 235/40R 1996V dot A318wc8T 3317

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #4

Sep 152017

Accord

  • 2,500 miles
2500 miles on my Accord touring...TPMS light keeps coming on...went last week 9/15/17 to ray laks Honda in orchard park NY...told service that my light keeps coming on, so they checked air pressures and all 4 tires were low...light went off after air was added..today 9/19/17 was driving car back from shopping and guess what?? the light went off again...brand new car and having issues already

- Alden, NY, USA

problem #3

Aug 222017

Accord

  • 3 miles
When first drove new car off lot (0 miles) 9/2016 and many times over several months later to (7K mi) 8/2017, car tire pressure light continues to come on while driving in city and highway traffic. Dealer claims tires not part of car warranty. Replaced tire, light still comes on. Distracting and annoying...don't know if tires properly inflated. Uncomfortable seating and head rest (driver's seat).

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #2

Apr 012017

Accord

  • 2,500 miles
In Jan of this year, I got a flat tire which could not be repaired. It was on a weekend and the dealership was closed. I was forced to buy a replacement tire of a different brand, but the same size etc. Because I had to travel too far before Monday and the spare would not be safe. In approx. One month my TPMS light came on and I stopped to put air in the tire. The light would not go off. I later went to the tire company from which I purchased the tire and they showed me how to reset it. After only 3 or 4 miles, the light came back on. I called the service center and told them what happened. The service manager corroborated what the tire company had told me and that was that the new system on Honda cars measured, "rotations" and not "actual tire pressure." So, the off-brand I was forced to buy was incompatible with the Honda sensor system and that it was a "flaw." The TPMS monitor problem light continues to come on each time I start the car. I asked him how I could know if my tires were really low and he said I would have to manually check them and that there is no way to fix it! I took my car in and asked them to check the tire system. The service person spoke with me about the tire light and said that I had purchased a non-Honda recommended tire and it was my fault. I called Honda Corp and at first they said they would call hoehn Honda to work with me for a fix. But I received no call. Later I spoke with a Honda Corp lady who said that Honda did not sell the car and that the dealer was responsible! two versions of the solution. I called another dealer who said it was my fault and that the car info recommends the dealer brand and that they be bought in pairs of two ! really? so, I don't have a broken tire monitoring system that I paid for and this is a safety issue since I will not know if my tires are flat. And the tbms light is always on! help

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #1

Jun 032017

Accord

  • 10,000 miles
I got a flat tire in such a way that the "fix-it" kit that is supposed to replace a spare could not work. It is unethical to sell a car without adequate flat tire remediation

- Ithaca, NY, USA