10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
378,009 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #29

Apr 222014

CR-V

  • 170,623 miles
Driving kids to school in early morning both headlights simultaneously burned out at same time leaving only parking lights for illumination. Drove in dark back home. Later discovered high beams to be functional. Was searching online for fix and ran across many people who had same problem and complained of burnt wiring. I removed steering column cover and found no burnt wires at any connection. Checked bulbs and indeed they were both burned out. Seems odd both lights burned out at exactly the same time??

- Boise, ID, USA

problem #28

Feb 172010

CR-V

  • 180,000 miles
Lost low beam headlights on 2003 Honda CR-V. sevice bulletin 04-015 descibes the exact issue for th the Honda civic. I can visibly see the the burnt combination light switch 16P connecter when I remove the stearing wheel cover. This sould be a recall. Very dangerous. There are numberous complaints about this issue with this vehicle on-line.

- Revere, MA, USA

problem #27

Dec 092013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 119,746 miles
The driver door lock will not operate via remote key-less control. All other locks work.

- Pioneer, CA, USA

problem #26

Aug 012012

CR-V

  • 65,000 miles
All power locks are failing. Only drivers side power lock now works, but that is beginning to fail also. Rear gate can only be unlocked with a key from the outside of the car.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #25

Aug 302011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 132,050 miles
While using the driver side master window switch I smelled an electrical burning smell. Earlier on the same day the right front window failed to move when I used the master switch to control it. The burning smell continued to worsen every time I used the master window switch. My mechanic tracked the problem to the master window switch and removed it. The master switch had melted and the mechanic stated that it could have caused an electrical fire had I continued to use it. Honda has since issued recalls on the master window switch for 2002-2006 Honda crvs, however mine was not included; Honda stated that the recall was VIN-specific and my vehicle was not included. The recall announced on Oct. 6, 2012 stated "over time, exposure to water and other fluids can cause electrical resistance in the switch, which ultimately can cause the switch to overheat and melt, damaging the switch and potentially damaging an associated wire harness. Additionally if a switch melts, it could produce smoke and potentially cause a fire, creating a risk to motor vehicle safety." This describes exactly what happened in my 2003 CRV, yet Honda has refused to include my vehicle stating that it does not qualify for the recall. On June 28, 2013 Honda announced an identical recall---this time for the master power window switch in the 2007-08 Honda fit. The description of the reason for this recall is identical to the one issued for the 2002-2006 crvs, and identical to the problem I experienced in my 2003 CRV. I would like the NHTSA to investigate these dangerous, recurring incidents in Honda vehicles and expand the recall of the crvs. My repair cost totaled $476 and I should be reimbursed that amount by Honda. More importantly, however, is this recurring safety hazard to Honda drivers. I have the master switch that was removed from my vehicle and am willing to provide it for inspection.

- Carmel, CA, USA

problem #24

Jan 042011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 8,638,081 miles
I could not unlock my car and I had to call aaa to unlock the vehicle, I got a ticket for parking during street sweeping time. The key seams to bind into the lock and will not unlock. I took my CR-V in to miller Honda where I purchased the vehicle and they quoted me a very high price to fix the locks, I refused the service and the service writer gave me a referral to a locksmith who did the job for a fifth of the price the dealership had quoted. This was about two and a half years ago. I had to take the car back to the locksmith about a year later to have the same work done. Now I have go back for a third time. I have had to spend $250 on my locks. This situation of the locks binding could be dangerous for a woman not being able to get into the car quickly.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #23

Apr 162013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 68,480 miles
While driving to work the morning of 4/16/2013 I smelled a strange odor like an electrical component was getting hot or melting. I saw no smoke or fire & other than the smell, could not detect anything deleterious to the operation/handling of my vehicle. When I left work that day, I lowered the windows using the window master switch cluster on the left front door armrest to get fresh air while driving. All the windows lowered but the right rear would not. A co-worker recalled reading about a recall from american Honda regarding a possible problem with the driver's master window switch cluster. When I called Honda & gave them the VIN number for my vehicle they told me my vehicle was not included in the recall. I had my mechanic troubleshoot the issue & he determined the problem was the master window switch cluster. He replaced the switch cluster & disassembled the old one. The old switch cluster plainly shows evidence of & smells like the electrical component overheated as described by information provided by american Honda. I believe Honda is not adequately taking care of this issue which could lead to fires or other serious safety/property issues.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #22

Apr 012013

CR-V

  • miles
2003 Honda CRV. Consumer writes in regards to power window master switch recall notice and unsatisfactory service from dealership. The consumer stated he was not satisfied with the dealers response concerning his complaint about the problem he experienced with recall # 12V486000. The consumer stated when he called the dealer to make an appointment, he was asked several unnecessary questions, regarding his patronage of the dealership. After the consumer confirmed, he did purchase the vehicle from them, he was given an appointment.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #21

Apr 022012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Three door actuators have stopped working ds rear, ps front, and read door. In addition, the remaining doors that will lock with keyless entry will lock intermittently.

- Sugar Hill, GA, USA

problem #20

Oct 102012

CR-V

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while attempting to accelerate from a traffic stop, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted after several minutes. The contact also stated that the ignition switch interlock failed, causing the failure. In addition, the keyless remote failed to unlock the doors and the check engine light illuminated sporadically. The vehicle was not taken to a mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 55,000.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #19

Nov 272010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that after starting the vehicle it made an electrical sizling noise and when the key was pulled out of the ignition it was very hot.the failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle had not been diagnosed by a mechanic. The manufacturer had not been notified. The failure mileage 50,000 and the current mileage was 114,000...updated 01/30/13 updated 2/4/2013

- Glen Easton, WV, USA

problem #18

Oct 022012

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • 103,725 miles
The low beam lights stop to work simultaneously while the high beam and parking lights are fully functional.

- Ridgewood, NJ, USA

problem #17

Jul 042012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 162,000 miles
Low beam headlights became inoperative. Burning/melting and oxidation at turn/headlight switch and cable harness connector.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #16

Jun 012012

CR-V

  • 127,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the vehicle failed to start after seven attempts. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer confirmed the ignition needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted and confirmed that the VIN failed to qualify for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V364000 (electrical system:ignition) the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 127,000 and the current mileage was 128,000.

- Hyattsville , MD, USA

problem #15

Oct 252011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Both low beam headlights failed/shut off simultaneously during night driving requiring that we pull off the road. Updated 11/25/11 the consumer stated the headlights only worked on high beam. Updated IVOQ 02/28/12

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #14

Aug 012011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Both headlight low beams failed while driving, found cause to be melted electrical wires and connection at headlight switch.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #13

Apr 152011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Headlight switch and wiring harness damaged by overheating/melting on 2003 Honda CRV. Updated 06/13/11 received invoice. Updated 08/18/11

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #12

Mar 202011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 97,500 miles
Vehicle would not start at all, then left it for 2 hours and came back and it started. Then 2 months later it is starting fine, but stalling quite often while driving. It will sometimes cut out and then recover and keep going (the check engine light comes on when it cuts out, but goes out again when it keeps going) other times it stalls. The check engine light comes on when it stalls but everything else still works (radio, lights). It has stalled on the highway at 65-70 mph, in the city at 40 mph, also slowing to take a turn. This started out only stalling once in a few days. It is now stalling several times in a day. I don't drive it that far anymore, but I still have to drive it because the garage does not find anything wrong. There were no codes, and they could find nothing. I don't know for sure what is happening with it, but reading the forums it sounds like it might be the ignition switch.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #11

Feb 282011

CR-V

  • 80,000 miles
Both low beam headlamps go out. Hi-beam lamps still work. The problem is the contacts on the dimmer switch corrode; there have also been reports of scorched connectors - meaning the possibility of fire. To access the switch you have to remove the steering column cover and then locate the dimmer/turn signal wiring harness. Most consumers would not know how nor be able to do this. This is extremely dangerous. It has been reported many times on internet blogs.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #10

Nov 242010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 68,298 miles
Both low beam headlights stopped working at the same time. Took car to dealer, they replaced wire plug at head light switch and replaced head light switch. They said plastic part had melted. Updated 05/02/11 updated IVOQ 05/04/11

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »