10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
39 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
36 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,318 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #114

Mar 302015

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #113

May 012015

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
2002 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to unsatisfactory customer service at dealership with driver and passenger airbag inflator recall notice repairs. The consumer stated the inflators were replaced on April 11, 2015.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #112

Aug 312003

Civic

  • miles
For everyone wondering if the SRS sensor is something that needs to be recalled.. I will tell you yes!! I bought my 2002 Civic new and in August 2003 I totaled out my car. Neither air bag deployed and my seat belt (which I use to believe in) released while my car flipped several times and I was ejected. Since my seatbelt released in the middle of flipping somehow wrapped around and cut and burned my arm. My arm was almost amputated 3/4 of the way. Thank god for the 2 inches and my amazing doctors I was able to keep my arm after six surgeries including plastic surgery. My arm was also broke. I now have radial nerve damage which means I can not open and close my hand along with limp wrist. Also both hips were fractured along with my pelvic.due to the lacerations from my seat belt an artery was cut where I lost alot of blood and was told I was touch and go at the time and were not sure if I was going to make it, after blood transfusions and surgeries I am beyond thankful to be here today. At the age of 25 I was put on disability and also had to file bankruptcy due to I had over 100K in medical bills. For those of you that are having problems with this please get it fixed it could mean more than you know. I refuse to ever buy a Honda again 10 years later they now say there are problems with this car. I hate Honda Corp with everything in me. I will never be able to play catch with my children and will never remember what its like to just do easy tasks that now takes me hours. Thanks for allowing me to share my complaint!

- Semmes, AL, USA

problem #111

Apr 142015

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mocksvile , NC, USA

problem #110

Feb 162015

Civic 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I was on my way home from work and I had a horrible car accident I hit a 80,000 lb steel truck my air bags deployed so hard it broke my sternum come up hit my chin busting it open and chipping my front tooth. It also broke my shoulder in 3 places from the seat belt and air bag together. I have bad injuries from the accident and cannot work for a year or more.

- Jesup, GA, USA

problem #109

Jan 202015

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns 2002 Honda Civic. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #108

Jan 012015

Civic 4-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
I believe that american Honda and dick hannah Honda of vancouver wa has failed and is unable to remedy the defect in my car, w/out charge, within a reasonable period of time from the first time I contacted them ( more than 60 days) this is a recalled airbag that the dealer has stated that will take them at least 3 months to get the parts in.

- Vancouver , WA, USA

problem #107

Feb 202015

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 12V136000 (exterior lighting), 14V351000 (air bags), and 14V349000 (air bags). The parts were unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the parts would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #106

Nov 012010

Civic

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Civic. While driving at 18 mph, the contact's vehicle crashed into the preceeding vehicle at a traffic light. The contact stated that the snowy road conditions were a major factor that contributed to the crash. The air bags did not deploy and the driver side seat belt did not properly engage at the time of impact. The contact sustained injuries to the nose, mouth, face, and head, which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 20,000.

- Harrison, NY, USA

problem #105

Mar 022015

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V351000 (air bags) and 14V349000 (air bags) however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/6/15 updated 04/09/15

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #104

Jan 012015

Civic

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Civic. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags), which included the passenger side air bag, was received in January of 2015. After contacting the dealer, the contact was informed that the driver side air bag was also defective and needed to be replaced. The parts needed to remedy the failure were not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #103

Oct 012014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
This car has a recalled takata airbag. I first contacted the dealership in October and have been waiting for the passenger side replacement airbag for 4 months and Honda has not released any parts. Is there any way you can help us? this is a first car for my teenage son and we are obviously very concerned that although this accident might be rare, the outcome would be devastating.

- Thousand Oaks, CA, USA

problem #102

Feb 052015

Civic 4-cyl

  • miles
I have a 2002 Honda Civic si and I live in wetlands in fl. I have never received a recall for airbags and I called Honda to find out why not and what company made the airbags. They stated that there is no way to access either information and therefore they could not help me. They offered no route to address my concerns.

- Grant, FL, USA

problem #101

Nov 012014

Civic 4-cyl

  • 57,415 miles
I brought my 2002 Civic to bel air Honda (1800 a belair rd, fallston, md) on November 1, 2014 to address recalls to the front and passenger side airbags. I was told that parts had been ordered prior to my appointment. After my service appointment, I was told that the parts in fact were not in stock and would be reordered, and I would be contacted when the parts arrived. Over 60 days later, on January 26, 2015, I received new recall notices for these problems. Upon calling the dealership, I learned that the parts had never been ordered. The parts have allegedly been re-ordered but at this time the car has still not been repaired.

- Havre De Grace, MD, USA

problem #100

Jan 142014

Civic

  • 181,000 miles
The SRS airbag light is always on, the seat belt buckle is sensing excessive resistance in the squib for the pretensioner. We have replaced the seat belt buckle once already, and it failed again. So the SRS airbag light is on which means my airbags will not go off if involved in an accident. Is this a safety issue" I see it as a safety issue and Honda will not do anything to fix the problem. Can you please let me know if this is an issue Honda should be made to repair"

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #99

Jan 072015

Civic 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
My Honda has the bad air bag inflators that can break apart and injure occupants and cut the air bag. The recall to replace these inflators is listed on the Honda web site as only applying to vehicles in hot/humid climates. That was supposed to change. I have not received a recall notice because I live in Wyoming. I want to know why Honda hasn't recalled all affected vehicles, regardless of location.

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

problem #98

Dec 012014

Civic

  • miles
Letter from senator shaheen on behalf of constituent re complaint with NHTSA (attn: Peter clark) 2002 Honda Civic. Consumer would like to have the takata air bags disconnected in her vehicle.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #97

Oct 162014

Civic 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Civic. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the vehicle hydro-planed during inclement weather, veering into a different lane. As a result, another vehicle crashed into the contact's vehicle and the air bags failed to fully deploy. The contact sustained minor lacerations, injuries to the sternum and foot, which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact stated that notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) had been received. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unknown. Updated 2/3/15 updayed 02/20/15

- Coco Beach, FL, USA

problem #96

Nov 052014

Civic

  • 58,800 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Civic. While the vehicle was being repaired for NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags), the technician informed the contact that the air bag cable was defective. The cable would impede on the deployment of the air bag in the event of a crash. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 58,800.

- Miami Springs , FL, USA

problem #95

Nov 152014

Civic

  • miles
TL-the contact owns a 2002 Honda Civic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V349000 (air bags) however, the parts needed for the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Columbia , MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »