7.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$930
Average Mileage:
33,550 miles
Total Complaints:
31 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (18 reports)
  2. replace compressor (5 reports)
  3. replace condenser (4 reports)
  4. A/C evac, recharge, replace line (3 reports)
  5. the compressor was replaced under warranty and now is cold (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Honda dealer.

problem #31

Jun 172019

Civic LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,375 miles

Fact: Purchased new in May 2016

- On Mon, June 17/19, started the AC for the first time this year. Found out it is not working.

- On Tue. June 18/19, started the AC again, did not work.

- On Wed. June 19/19, at 16:40ET, I phoned Family Honda(905-595-4500) in Brampton, Ontario about the AC issue and other issue. I wanted to book it for service on coming Saturday (June 22/19) since I work Monday Friday.

The lady on the phone told me that "since it is under warranty, the work should be booked during the week only. I was surprised about this type of service. So I booked for warranty service during the week, Thursday, June 20/19.

- On Thur. June 20/19 (39,000km, about 24,375 miles), I took my car in for the booked time after work. The guy at the service desk told me that "warranty is not valid, and for the dealership to run a diagnostic it will cost me $185CAD [+tax]. I told him that I was told by his colleague that it is under warranty and the km is only 39,000. He said I might have had a miscommunication. I told him that I did not have any miscommunication. I believe what she said. If Honda a employee behaves this way, how can we trust people? I came home without fixing the car.

Then, later in the evening I have received a message saying that "I have missed my scheduled appointment for my CIVIC...". I still believe, certain things should not be automated, customer service.

I am an owner of two Honda vehicles since 2008 and I have been telling all my family and friends that "I will be Honda forever", today Honda changed my mind.

Doing the right thing includes "being honest and apologize, and offer solution".

- Estelle K., Brampton, ON, Canada

problem #30

Apr 012019

Civic LX 2.0L

  • Manual transmission
  • 61,000 miles

yet another honda with defective a/c. dash lights indicate a/c is on but compressor will not engage.

- J H., Pleasant Valley, US

problem #29

Jun 012019

Civic Touring 1.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 35,750 miles

Just found that my Civic's A/C isn't working properly. Last Saturday was the first time I really needed the A/C in my car. Never really kept up and it only got up to 80 here. Max AC and we were barely comfortable. Not the same as when the car was new. Sad to see I'm not alone, though that makes me nervous that this will be a recurring issue if I keep the car long term (unless Honda puts out a new part and TSB to make sure fixes are adequate).

- Tim E., Eagle Mountain, UT, US

problem #28

Jun 012017

Civic EX 2

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

They replaced condenser under warranty. The same problem has occurred 3 more times!!! Out of warranty! I took it to private mechanic he can’t find a leak so he recharged the unit with Freon which cost $350.00 each time it works for a while. Then eventually no cold air. This car is a lemon!!!

- Diana R., Vista, CA, US

problem #27

Apr 172018

Civic Touring 1.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 29,795 miles

Honda quality and service is not what it used to be and after being a Honda owner for 19 straight years (3 vehicles, 5 within the family), this will be our last Honda. They do not own up to their mistakes and poor craftsmanship.

A/C was not blowing cool air in April 2018 on a very warm day. It's possible the A/C broke well before that, but I don't use the A/C on cool days.

Honda diagnosed it. Initially accused me of contaminating the refrigerant, which turned out to be false. Then attempted to "fix" it by replacing the suction hose. It did resolve the issue temporarily and was free to resolve under warranty at 29,795 miles (about 29 months into my warranty - I was an early adopter of the 2016 Civic with apparent poor factory setup).

Fast forward to June 2019, at about 41,500 miles and 7 months out of warranty. The exact same symptoms have occurred. This was the first day that I experienced really warm weather since August 2018, so I had no need to use the A/C. Unfortunately, Honda diagnosed the problem as a defective/broken compressor and charged me $1444 to repair/replace. I called Honda case manager, and they only offered to cover half of the cost out of their "good will". Unfortunately, their poor quality and service has held me hostage, otherwise I will have to suffer in 90 degree weather in LA traffic.

Now I'm out $700 and have to live in fear of the A/C breaking every year. After all, it broke twice in less than 4 years. Probability is relatively high that it will break again and Honda will not own their mistakes. No thank you, Honda.

- jinduy, Temple City, US

problem #26

Oct 182018

Civic LX 2.0L

  • CVT transmission
  • 49,000 miles

I bought my car with 43,000 miles. Drove it til it was around 59,000 miles and the AC stopped blowing cold. I did some research online and diagnosed my car myself to find out that the AC Compressor was defective. It leaked out all the refrigerant.

Took it to the dealership, and 5 hours later, they confirmed that the AC compressor was bad. As it turned out, the AC compressor for these cars are defective from factory. A lot of people faced the same problem.

Honda was quoting me almost $2000 for part(s) and labor.

I was not happy about it.

But since it was a known problem, they covered the part(s) and I still had to pay out of pocket for the labor.

Still burned a big hole in my pocket.

Upset at how bad the quality is now.

- Ben R., 92220, US

problem #25

May 282019

Civic EX 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,200 miles

I have been a long time Honda customer (18 years), A/C compressor's don't blow out at 50 K miles. This is definitely a design issue with the 2016 Honda Civic. Honda needs to own up and fix this issue. I registered a complaint with Honda, they said they there are not many complaints about this issue and there is no recall, and that the warranty expires at 45 K . The dealer was charging $1950 to fix this issue after already charging $190 for running diagnostic.

I see a boat load of complaints online. This will probably be my last Honda car.

- Zak M., Franklin, US

problem #24

May 012019

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,369 miles

2.5 years new and the AC condenser already leaking, seems like a common issue with the 10th generation of civic. Even though it was covered by warranty at this time, I have little faith that the replacement will have any longevity. Extremely disappointed that a new car already has costly problem!!!!

- Millicent L., Mississauga, ON, Canada

problem #23

May 172019

Civic EX 2.0L Na

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

A/C is gone while the car only has 30k miles on it.

It just happened actually not too long after the warranty expired.

AC Compressor's not kick in at all. and refrigerant are gone and pressure are lower than ground zero on the Low pressure side.

This seems like a bad design of the condenser as most people experienced.

- Marcus L., Bayside, US

problem #22

Mar 222019

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,255 miles

The AC goes on and off on hot days. When set at the coldest temperature it still will not kick in. On the first start of the car on a hot day it takes over an hour of driving before the AC turns on cold.

- Raul V., Lynwood, CA, US

problem #21

May 182019

Civic LX 2.0L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,710 miles

We had an extreme winter season here this year with -30°C daily temperature and it lasted longer than usual from Nov 2018 - Apr 2019. In last 6-7 months, I have never turned on AC in my 2016 Honda Civic LX and now its summer here and Victoria Day long weekend. It was +25°C yesterday and I tried to turn my AC on but it wasn't blowing cold air as it should be. I tried to set it on lowest temp setting which is +15°C with the highest fan setting and turned off Auto setting but still it wasn't cooling even after half an hour of highway driving and AC running.

So, just to make sure, I open up the fuse box and located the 10V fuse for Air compressor and replaced with the new 10V fuse to see if it solves the problem. This hack didn't work. There could be an issue with the relay itself but at this point I am not sure. It could be just the low refrigerant issue as well

Lastly, I checked the clutch which engages the air compressor to make it running and I saw that that clutch wasn't spinning with the engine belt. There should not be any issues with the compressor because the car is just less than three year old with 80k kms on it.

At this point I am thinking its just low refrigerant but the good thing is my car is still under Honda Plus Warranty that's why I am not planning on doing anything myself. Its Victoria day long weekend here so on Tuesday I am gonna call the dealership and take my car for the inspection and see what happens. I will keep you guys posted.

I am also open for any suggestions if you guys would like to share.

Thanks.

- Yash T., Hamilton, ON, Canada

problem #20

May 012018

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles

I just found this site and wanted to add a complaint about my 2016 Honda Civic. I bought this car new in February 2016. In May 2018 my husband and I noticed that the car wasn't getting cool when the air was on. He took it to the dealer and they did something (I cannot remember what, I will have to go through my file). My husband took it back to the dealer as the car just wasn't getting as cool as it should. Upon further inspection he was told that the air condenser was damaged and had to be replaced. This would not be covered under warranty because it is result of every day wear and tear and not a manufactured defect. My husband has never heard of this happening with a 2 year old car.

We couldn't afford to have Honda fix it so we went to a mechanic that my husband uses (he does not have a Honda). It still cost $$$ but was a lot cheaper than the dealer. The mechanic couldn't believe that Honda would not cover this under warranty. He didn't think the damage could have been caused by a rock or some other debris. He even gave us the old condenser in case we wanted to pursue this further with Honda. Was it worth taking them to small claims court?

My husband made some calls and I think he filed a complaint with the BBB. Nothing ever came of this. I had some other minor issues that are not worth complaining about but one thing I do know is, I will never buy another Honda.

- Sheri M., Philadelphia, PA, US

problem #19

Oct 012018

Civic LX 2.0L

  • CVT transmission
  • 69,000 miles

So I started to noticed my AC was blowing warm air. I soon took it into a dealership and they ran a diagnosis on it and then soon found that a rock went through my condenser. It will not be covered with warranty since it wasn't caused by the manufacturer defect. So, I had to spend about $700 to replace the condenser and a freon and labor.

Everything was fine but about I drove about 32,000 miles it started to happen again. I took it once again to the dealership and said there might be a small or big leak. Since I already drove it 12,000 miles my warranty was ended after I drove it at over at 105,000 (current miles). So they gave an option to clean all the systems AC line without any computer diagnosed, so they added a new freon, and a tracer capsule into the compressor system line to keep everything "lubricated" inside the compressor. Then, they also added dye into the AC lines for it to determine where the leak is coming from. This was very hard to tell because I have to drive it close to 12,000 miles if the same problem occurs again I have to run the same diagnosis again in order for them to determine where the leak is at.

- Rafid G., San Diego, CA, US

problem #18

Jun 162016

Civic LX 2.0L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37 miles

The problem occurred when I use the front defrost for front windshield. After I restart the car and turn on the AC by pressing on the button ON, the AC starts on full speed. This was not my setting before, it was on low speed when I turn off the car.

- Jassim A., Manams, Bahrain

problem #17

Mar 182018

Civic EX-L 1.5t

  • CVT transmission
  • 25,000 miles

I noticed one day that my A/C was not cooling. Took it into the dealership because my car was still covered under warranty. They said that a rock went through the condenser and that it would not be covered under warranty because it is not caused by a manufacturers defect. I took it to another body shop to get it confirmed and they said that there was no rock punctured and that it was a defect that caused leaking. Went back to the dealership and they refused to do the fix under warranty. Ended up getting the fix done at the body shop for $900, which was significantly lower than the $1450 that the dealership quoted me for the same fix.

- sicry, San Francisco, US

problem #16

Nov 012018

Civic 2.0L

  • CVT transmission
  • 43,000 miles

The A/C of the car stopped working at just over 45,000 miles. Because it was winter and it is past the 36,000 mile warranty, we postponed having the car checked and repaired. Today, at just over 51,000 miles, Lucas Auto Center of Van Nuys, California, diagnosed it and found that the compressor and condenser of the car leak and the A/C is empty of refrigerant. The compressor and condenser need to be replaced! The total estimated cost of the repair is $1,704.83, which we don't have. I plan to picket the Honda dealership where I bought the car to discourage people from buying a car that fails in a big way before 50,000!

- Ed H., Mission Hills, CA, US

problem #15

Apr 152019

Civic Touring 1.5L Turbo

  • CVT transmission
  • 48,000 miles

For the first year, the A/C was fine. Not really any cooler or warmer than other cars, but it's always taken a decent amount of time to cool the car off. It gradually took longer and longer to cool the car down, until the second summer of ownership, where the car would barely cool down, if at all. At the time, I had a short commute, and I don't typically use A/C on short trips, so it wasn't a huge priority for me.

Took it to the dealership March 2018 and they diagnosed it as requiring a recharge. I was still under warranty at the time. About a year later, same thing. Take it to the dealership, this time it's diagnosed as a failed compressor. $1,214. I'm lucky, since my dealership was able to work with Honda corporate, since it was initially diagnosed as an issue under warranty...so I'll only have to pay a $250 deductible for the repair. Still, not happy about the low failure mileage. Will report back after the repair is completed next week.

- William G., Winchester, VA, US

problem #14

Jul 202018

Civic EX 2.0L V4

  • CVT transmission
  • 52,000 miles

First summer I had the car the AC was cool and had no problems. Second and now third summer the car starts blowing not as cold air, then eventually nothing but hot air. Took it in both times the past 2 summers and the technician said there was no freon whatsoever in the car. Spent $300+ both summers to have the system recharged and works fine after. If you Google 10th gen Civic ac not working there are hundreds of other loyal Honda owners having the same problem! I should never have to replace freon in a car every year!! Honda get your act right and make the recall already cheap asses!

- alex36450, Millsboro, US

problem #13

Mar 142019

Civic EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

This Civic 2016, bought new in May 2016. After less than 3 years and only 42000 miles, AC is not working. Some other people also have reported the same exact problem with their Civic same year. Dealer or Honda won't fix it under warranty. I have three different cars from Nissan 2001, Camry 2004, 4Runner 2009, all of the with more than 140000 miles and no issues whatsoever with cooling or heating system. Now this POS after only 42000 has problems is unbelievable. Honda dealer wants to charge $350 just for diagnostics is ridiculous. On top of that, how much are this repair will cost after the diagnosis. I will not ever buy another Honda car. I am very disappointed. So PEOPLE BE AWARE. DO NOT BUY HONDA. These cars really are not a trusted brand anymore. Look for a different manufacture, will recommend Toyota or Nissan.

- changpvictor, Hawthorne, US

problem #12

Mar 122018

Civic Touring

  • CVT transmission
  • 60,000 miles

Randomly heard a pop, and all of a sudden the AC wasn't working. Took it to the dealership, they claimed a rock hit my AC condenser unit and it would need to be replaced. Checked online and saw thousands of complaints for the exact same issue. Honda refused to show me the damage and told me if I brought my car in they would charge me $200 for a diagnosis.

Called Honda corporate, because something didn't seem right, and spoke with Amber. She said to take it to another dealership. They told me they are aware of the issues with the AC units. Upon proper diagnosis, Honda has thousands of these units that just go bad and need to be replaced. If your car is under warranty it will be fixed, but my car has high mileage and was out of warranty so they wouldn't cover it. Both, the AC Condenser and Compressor need to be replaced in my car and I wish I knew a way to file a class action lawsuit against Honda.

It's extremely unsafe when you can't use a defogger in certain weather conditions on the road. Honda will have a major lawsuit if someone dies on the roadway because of this issue which becomes a visibility issue in the humid rainy weather.

- Lauren K., Sussex, NJ, US

Read the next 11 complaints »