10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,786 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Odyssey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #26

Jun 082019

Odyssey

  • 64,000 miles
Pistons are misfiring. This has caused its rings to move and allow oil through and ruin spark plugs significantly.

- Arlington, WA, USA

problem #25

Apr 242019

Odyssey

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Odyssey. While driving approximately 70 mph, the vehicle performed as if it changed gears and the check engine indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to vandergriff Honda (817-533-4266, located at 1104 w interstate 20, arlington, tx 76017) where it was diagnosed that the failure was due to carbon build up. The dealer recommended that cylinders 1, 2, and 3 be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 97,000.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #24

Feb 252019

Odyssey

  • 65,000 miles
Hi, my Honda Odyssey ex has just 65000 miles on it and always maintained very well. But suddenly engine blinking check sign and steady traction control sign turn on. Took to dealer right away as I was just quarter mile away of it. Dealer says it is code P0302 issue and they need to rebuild engine and replace piston rings, spark plugs, etc. Estimated cost is $5000/-. I just don't understand how come well maintained brand name car has engine problem in just 65K miles"!! I never have any problem with Toyota cars. I also find from google that some 2013 model do had recall with similar type engine issue but dealer says my car is not part of that recall. This is a very bad experience. Dealer says as warranty expired just 6 months ago, Honda will cover 85% repair cost. I can say this is still costly repair for me. Now how can I trust Honda and this care for reliability as I need to make long distance family trips??"

- Lewis Center, OH, USA

problem #23

Sep 112018

Odyssey

  • 140,000 miles
Engine is backfiring due to piston malfunctioning.

- Americus, GA, USA

problem #22

Aug 102018

Odyssey

  • 75,000 miles
I was driving on a busy 4 lane road at their set highway speed, right along with the rest of traffic. I had my 4 kids in my 2013 Honda Odyssey, which I trusted, when without warning, my van shut off. My key was still engaged. There was no warning light or sound. I did not run out of gas. My battery did not die. There was no slowing down, my check engine light did not come on. My car did not overheat. While driving normally, my engine suddenly cut, all my lights went out, my dash went black, and my wheel locked. I was barely able to get the car to go into the right lane and thankfully, my hazards still worked but the rest was dead. I had enough momentum to stay moving for a little while and I eventually got over into a small area beside the road. Somehow I wasn┐T hit by the many cars around me, including tractor trailers. All I did next was turn my van off, and then turn it back on and it started like nothing ever happened. I had a full diagnostic run at our local dealership and no one could find anything wrong with the vehicle. My car was in motion and driving normally. I needed to schedule a B1 service (oil change and tire rotation) soon but it was not due yet.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #21

Feb 012018

Odyssey

  • 36,000 miles
Rear engine mount failed within 5 years less than 36,000 miles in normal driving condition. This caused excessive engine vibration.

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #20

Apr 222018

Odyssey

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Odyssey. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle hesitated and felt as if it would stall. The contact was able to drive home. The following day, the vehicle was taken to luther brookdale Honda in brooklyn center, Minnesota 55429 where it was diagnosed that there was carbon build-up on piston number three and the engine needed to be rebuilt. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure via E-mail. The approximate failure mileage was 96,000.

- Corcoran, MN, USA

problem #19

Mar 082018

Odyssey

  • miles
Service bulletin 13-081. Cel (1/7/16) : cylinder 3 coil R/R with spark plug ( other shop - paid $166.75 ) cel (3/11/16) : P2422evap canister came up for same symptom (Honda said code is not P0303 - paid $1722.86) cel (7/18/17) : P0303 misfire no.3 cylinder (autozone) cel (7/18/17 - 10 min from autozone) - P0353 NO3 cylinder ignition coil circuit came up (Honda - paid $255.41 ; Honda said code was not between P0301 to P0304 so I had to pay for it - they do not care what autozone said ) received several times warning when I go and change engine oil from the shop that I do not have any left over oil in the tank. Cel (3/5/18) : found out car has a misfire on cylinder 4 and ring on cylinder 4 is leaking (other service - got a suggestion to go Honda dealer to check) made an appointment at Honda dealer on 3/8/18 without cel. Tech said no code in PCM fi system. He said Honda code is different from any other shop, so they only follow what Honda's computer says.(my opinion is that what if they debug their software after lost settlement not to show code P0301 to P0304 and show little different code for customer's responsibility - what if all others say P0303 ; only Honda comes up with different code) tech said if I do not pay for it, he does not even look at it. He said he does not want to do anything on the engine which has 184,000 miles on it if Honda or I do not pay (it's 2013 Odyssey) he told me this for the oil leaking which every car burn a quart of oil every 1,000 mile, so I have to check oil level all the time. He said when I have another cel on, just come to Honda to check. (do not go any other shop or bring code from other shops - he is not going to agree on any other shop's code or comment) my worry is that if other shops say P0303 or P0304, and Honda says different code which make I pay for it. What's going to happen?

- Tallulah, LA, USA

problem #18

Jan 052017

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Odyssey. While driving various speeds, especially above 40 mph, there was vibration in the vehicle and the eco warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer (apostolakis Honda, 3156 elm rd, cortland, oh 44410) where it was determined that the vehicle was functioning as designed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

- Cortland, OH, USA

problem #17

Feb 152017

Odyssey

  • 77,230 miles
Check engine light came on at 77250 miles dealershipinsp check engine light came on at a check engine light came on at approximately 77230 miles Honda dealership diagnosed as code P0302 misfire found filed plug replaced piston rings on cal 1-3 and replaced spark plugs 1-4.this is not the work scope called for by the 2013 recall for piston problems but could be related. I am concerned since I am the original owner of A2003 Honda Odyssey with 372000 miles on it without requiring any engine work other than maintenance specified and performed by Honda.I am thankful for the engine warning light however the sudden stopping to resulting from its failure could cause a serious or fatal accident.R

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #16

Oct 112017

Odyssey

  • 71,000 miles
Car consumes oil-engine misses and stalls-lights come on signaling traction. Back seat slides back and forth constantly- solution on NHTSA websit is recall number 13V382000 recall date 08/27/2013 component engine summary Honda is recalling certain model year 2013 Pilot 2wd and 4WD vehicles and certain model year 2013 Odyssey vehicles. During manufacturing of the engine piston, it is possible that the heat treatment process was not properly applied, resulting in the piston having an insufficient hardness level, making it more susceptible to premature wear. Consequence a worn piston may suddenly fail, causing the engine to stall, increasing the risk of a crash. What owners should do Honda will notify owners, and dealers will replace the engine short block free of charge. The recall began on September 16, 2013. Owners may contact Honda at 1-800-999-1009. Honda's recall numbers are JB4 (Honda Odyssey) and JB5 (Honda Pilot). Victory Honda refuses to replace short block--they claim my VIN number does not match complaint--called Honda amercan and they hung the phone up on me. Car was being driven on hwy 51 near covington (speed limit 55) I am also being told by victory Honda of jackson tn that my Odyssey falls under service bulletin 13081 (piston ring replacement) and not under bulletin service 13075 (short lock replacement). I am trying to verify this and can find no supporting data.

- Obion, TN, USA

problem #15

Jun 192017

Odyssey

  • 47,000 miles
There was a recall on my model. This piston rings wear prematurely and cause the engine to stall. The official report (recall #13V382000) lists one of the dangers as the fact that the engine can stall and increase the risk of crash/injury. However, Honda will not cover the repair as the vehicle has a salvage title. However, I do not see how this is not a safety issue and therefore should be legally required to be covered as it puts my family in danger.

- Hestand, KY, USA

problem #14

Feb 222017

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 53,640 miles
On 2/22/2017, my wife was driving vehicle, suddenly hesitates and stalls. Proceeds to the nearest vehicle service location (not a Honda dealer). Technician evaluates codes (all misfires - P0304, P0305, P0306 & P0300). Informs wife of piston/engine recall and service bulletins. Replaces 3 spark plugs to make vehicle drivable and clears codes. Advises to contact Honda dealership. I contact dealership and make appointment for next morning (2/23). After bringing in vehicle, dealer advises that under warranty they are not authorized to do repair as the codes were cleared by 3rd party and are not showing now. Their recommendation is to drive vehicle until issue arises again (not if issue arises, but when issue arises) and to have it brought back to dealer for repair. I expressed concern that this is a known and documented defect, yet they will not repair. I also expressed that this is a legitimate safety concern in that the failure was sudden and unexpected and that if my wife was driving the vehicle with my children aboard and the failure occurs in traffic or as she is merging or entering a roadway, a crash can occur. Dealer maintained position that they were not authorized to do the work under the warranty. Contacted american Honda and was told that work would not be authorized due to 3rd party clearing codes. Honda assigned case manager and case number ([xxx]) and advised the same. I have asked to speak to supervisors, but have not received a response to date. Am concerned that this is a known defect, with a known repair, and Honda's refusal to address is a significant safety concern. Noticed similar complaints listed as NHTSA 10950032, 10907653, 10875963, 10682162, 10660226, 10588234, 10496891. Dealership is Honda kingsport (tn). Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Jonesborough, TN, USA

problem #13

Nov 152016

Odyssey

  • 60,300 miles
I had just taken a short drive and was backing the vehicle back into my driveway when the engine light came on and the engine started to act like it had a misfire. This happened at just over 60,000 miles. I took it to the local Honda dealer (jenkins & wynne of clarksville, tn) to see if there might be a recall on the issue or if it was a common problem. They checked out my van and told me that it was a common recall for my model which was a fouled spark plug in cylinder four due to the piston rings aligning and causing oil to enter the chamber and cause the spark plug to foul. This also explains why I use so much oil in between oil changes. However, when they entered my VIN into the computer, my vehicle does not come up as covered under the 8 year unlimited millage recall they had for this problem. So I talked to two different personnel at America Honda to see if I could get this problem rectified with out me spending over $2,000 out of pocket. Since it is the exact same problem on the vehicles covered under the warranty. They were no help in fixing my problem.

- Indian Mound, TN, USA

problem #12

Oct 142015

Odyssey

  • 55,500 miles
Excessive oil burning and premature spark plug failure. The car was driving on the highway when it was noticed to be running poorly.

- Mansfield, MA, USA

problem #11

Jun 302013

Odyssey

  • 100 miles
When driving in town and stopping for lights the car hesitates when stepping on the gas again and almost stops. I can get it to go again if I let go of the gas and step on the gas again. This also happens when I am driving on the freeway and I go to accelerate and it hesitates then I do the same thing and it starts to pick up speed. This is dangerous when I am trying to turn in front of cars, switch lanes and when others do not notice I stop when starting off at a light. I have had this into the repair shop and they say it is a computer problem but there is no fix. I want to buy a new Honda but can not buy another car with this problem conntinues. Unfortunately it does not do it on command so I cannot go and get a repair man to ride and feel the problem. I have had several friends who drove the car also comment on this problem. Problem started when I bought the car and is still happening 3 yrs later.

- Middletown, RI, USA

problem #10

Jun 012016

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • miles
2013 Honda Odyssey. Consumer writes in regards to dealership refusal to provide loaner vehicle until recall repairs are complete, refusal to replace key and battery. The consumer stated there were several recalls on the vehicle. The dealer refused to provide service, because the consumer did not hold a Washington state license.

- Silverdale, WA, USA

problem #9

Sep 222015

Odyssey

  • 85,000 miles
My Honda Odyssey 2013 shook abruptly as I was slowing down to park and suddenly stopped responding to anything, steering wheel got locked and the vehicle stopped moving. I called aaa and my car was towed to the dealer and I lefted my vehicle there over night. In the morning, the aervice manager experienced the same shaking and dying of the engine, called me and confirmed that he also experienced the same problem that I experienced the night before. However, I got a call in the afternoon from the service manager and he explained to me that his technicians were not able to replicate the problem. He said that they tested my vehicle and found no problem. They are going to return the vehicle to me without finding our or fixing the problem, and are going to charge me over $100 dollars to run tests that showed nothing. Now, they are givibg me no choice but to drive a car that can die on me in the middle of freeway or busy street. Lives can be lost or serious injury can occur, but they are refusing to do anything about it. I called national Honda customer service representative, filed a complaint on 9/23, but the representative said that because I'm out side of warranty, I'm reponsible for the diagnostic testing fee, and he doesn't think they can do anything about the problem. He did, however sent my case to a case manager. I'm still waiting to hear from him/her.

- Poway, CA, USA

problem #8

Jun 042015

Odyssey

  • 35,500 miles
I had just completed a trip to greenville, SC and pulled into my drive. I had taken a load of items into my house when I came back out an notice smoke coming from under the hood. I unlatched the hood to check on the smoke when flames started coming out of from under the hood. I start spraying water under the hood as I call our security which call our local fire department. Our security can and assisted me trying to extinguish the fire until the fire department can and finished extinguishing the fire. The 2013 Honda was determined to be a total loss by usaa. The fire department stated it was an electrical/mechanical problem that caused the fire. I contacted hendricks Honda dealership in greer, SC about the fire where they could investigate for warranty claim/defect. They did not do anything, they have ignored my request nor has Honda automotive of America accepted or investigated.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #7

Dec 012014

Odyssey 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
When driving - our traction control and engine light has come on several times and the engine has been so rough that we had to stop and let it cool down before taking it immediately home. The first time we took it in - we were told that "something" (dirt) may have gotten into the piston chamber and caused a misfire of the spark plugs, but that we should be ok. Then it happened again and again, but becoming more frequent between resetting the codes. We were told just to replace spark plugs 1 & 2. then as we were haggling with Honda over the phone about warranty coverage and the fact that the light was continuing to come on - it happened again but worse: The engine light was flashing and it was sounding worse, so we did not drive it until we could get it serviced. When in the shop this time - we were told after the diagnostic that the van needed a new short block due to faulty pistons/piston rings and it was covered under a recall/warranty. Then, after we left the vehicle at the dealer for a week waiting for them to get the parts and fix it - we called to pick it up. But this time - they said we were not covered, and all they would do is replace the spark plugs 1 through 4 - under warranty.

- Le Roy, IL, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »