10.0

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
800 miles
Total Complaints:
1 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Infiniti JX35:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Infiniti dealer.

problem #1

Jun 282013

JX35

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles

I purchased a brand new 2013 Infinity JX35 (CUV) on June 9th 2013. We only had the vehicle about 3-4 weeks when it started to exhibit major front end shaking/steering issues when operating the vehicle between 18-35 MPH. This is a highly unsafe situation which could very easily result in the driver losing control of the vehicle.

At this point this brand new vehicle has been to the dealership twice (currently there) for a total of 21+ days and has had major power train work done or currently scheduled. This includes replacement of the Torque Converter, Electric Power Steering Unit and they are actively working to replace the transmission with a re-manufactured unit.

There is a Technical Service Bulletin (ITB13-020) that was issued by Nissan/Infiniti on June 12th identifying a manufacturing defect (torque converter) and impacting JX35 vehicles manufactured on or before March 26, 2013. In addition, there appears to be an undocumented but well understood issue within Nissan/Infiniti (engineer level) community regarding significant design/manufacturing issues with the transmissions that are sold in these vehicles.

Again, this issue create an extremely dangerous and unsafe driving situation where the driver could easily lose control of the vehicle and get into a car accident. This is a largely unknown and unreported issue that could impact consumer safety and the value of their brand new Infiniti vehicles. In addition, I have worked extensively with Nissan/Infiniti to resolve this issue (i.e. requesting full refund or replacement) and so far they have been rejecting all of my requests.

My advice is DO NOT BUY this vehicle. Also, this powertrain (or components) are uses in many other Nissan vehicles including the Murano, Pathfinder, Maxima and Altima.

Vehicle / Issue Summary: Make: Infiniti Model: JX35 VIN #: 5N1AL0MN9DC345660 Purchase Date: June 9th 2013 Model Year: 2013 (Purchased Brand New) Mileage: <1k (when issue started) Expected Loss of Value: $10k+

Issue Description: - Major manufacture defects in Power Train cause significant shaking and vibrations in steering wheel/column that last between 2-6 seconds - This issue occurs approximately every 30 minutes to 1 hour when operating the vehicle - This issue could cause the driver to lose control of the vehicle causing a CAR ACCIDENT that could result in serious Injury or Death

Concerns with Dealership where I Purchased this Brand NEW Vehicle Purchase Location: Infiniti of North Scottsdale Infiniti of North Scottsdale 7601 E Frank Lloyd Wright Blvd Scottsdale, AZ 85260 (480) 941-0055 Sales Manager: Lee Jones Sales Person: Brian Concerns: - Sold a Brand New 2013 Infiniti JX35 with Known Major Manufacture Power Train Design/Performance Defects - Selling a Vehicle that is Unsafe to Operate (i.e. significant feedback/vibration in drive train and steering wheel which could result in a car accident) - Selling a Brand New Vehicle that required Major work including replacing the Transmission and/or Torque Converter -Selling a Brand New Vehicle that requires extensive repair where ALL repair information is reported to CarFax which Significantly Decreases the Value of the Vehicle

Concerns with the Manufacture of the Vehicle (Nissan/Infiniti) Nissan/Infiniti P.O. Box 685003 Franklin TN 37068-5003 Contact: Duriya (Executive Consumer Affairs) Phone: 615-725-7157 Reason: - Manufacture and Selling vehicles with known major power train issues that create unsafe driving conditions that could result in a car accident leading to bodily injury or death - Manufacture and Selling vehicles with known major power train issues that will result in significant loss of vehicle value after repair - Consumer affairs group refusing to work with customers towards fair settlement (replacement of NEW defective vehicle, Refund of Money, etc.)

2013 Infiniti JX35 Power Train Issues Description: 03700 POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION:TORQUE CONVERTER Technical Service Bulletin No: ITB-13-020 Date of Bulletin: 07/12/2013 Impacts: JX35 Manufactured on or before March 26, 2013 Summary Description: INFINITI: MAY BE SHUDDER FROM THE TORQUE CONVERTER at 18-35 MPH . *KB YPDATED 7/22/13. *PE

Infiniti Consumer Affairs Engagement Summary Case #: 11739203 - I was contacted by Kayla on 7/25 after submission of request for assistance via web site on 7/24 Initial Contact: Kayla with Infiniti Consumer Affairs at Phone #: 615 725 7555 Initial Result: 8/2/2013 - Received call from Kayla on 8/2/2013 indicating they would NOT replace the vehicle or compensate me for my loss - Indicated vehicle would be repaired under warranty and no other support or service would be provided by Infiniti - Indicated that I could NOT escalate as she was the last line of support

Escalation Results: As of 8/10/2013 - I drafted and sent a letter directly to the Nissan Executive Leadership team on 8/3/2013 requesting assistance - Included Brad Thacker – VP Total Customer Satisfaction and several other key Nissan top executives - e-mail: brad.thacker@nissan-usa.com - Note: Despite repeated requests Brad Thacker has refused to engage with me personally regarding this case - Received a call from Executive Consumer Affairs on 8/5 (Duriya - #615-725-7157) requesting more information

Initial Response from Infiniti: - Infiniti agreed to extend the Limited Power Train Warrant from 6 years/70,000 miles to 7 years/100,000 miles - Infiniti will provide me with compensation in the amount of 2 monthly payments (approximately $870.00) - Vehicle is back at dealership getting work done to replace defective transmission with remanufactured transmission

On-Going Concerns: - Issue is NOT being reported by Nissan/Infiniti which could be Significant Safety Issue for consumers - Issue is NOT being reported by Nissan/Infiniti which could significant loss of value in new vehicle purchase for consumers - Consumer will lose their ability to file a claim under existing Lemon Law if they accept any type of settlement offers from Nissan/Infiniti - This issue will be reported to CarFax (and others) as Major Repair work and significantly diminishes the value of my vehicle Note: I have already talked to 2 dealerships and the net loss of trading it for new replacement is about $10k+

Vehicle Repair Location Coulter Infinity 6225 East Test Drive/ Mesa, AZ 85206 Service Advisor: Josh Utley Repair Order: #75308 Vehicle Drop off Date: 7/22/2013 (1st Time) 8/12/2013 (2nd Time) Pickup Date: - 1st Time - Initially repaired and picked up on 8/7/2013 - 2nd Time - Currently working to replace transmission with re-manufactured one Major Work Completed: - Replaced Torque Converter Assembly Unit (Requires Separating Transmission from Engine) - Replaced Electric Power Steering Unit - Replaced other parts including: NS-3 CVT Transmission, Nissan Long Live, Gauge Oil Level - Actively working to Replace the transmission with re-manufactured version

A Hicks Mesa AZ

- , Mesa, AZ, US