7.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
6,869 miles
Total Complaints:
14 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (9 reports)
  2. replace transmission (4 reports)
  3. has not been resolved after 5 days in shop (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Jeep dealer.

problem #14

Dec 282016

Cherokee 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,000 miles

While going to work, I was pulling out of my driveway. There was a car coming, but was plenty far away enough that I thought I'd have plenty of time to get up to speed and still be far away from him. When I pulled out my tire caught some icy slush. My tire started to spin and my engine revved. My other tires did not engage or pulse as is suppose to happen with traction control system. By now I'm out in the road but I'm spinning. Starting to panic, I accelerate. The car revved and I noticed the rpms had pegged to 6000+. My car lurched as it caught pavement. Then, everything went haywire. My car started dinging and the dashboard screen said 'Transmission Failure'. My Jeep then clunked and it felt like I had been hit from behind. I had not. The vehicle that was approaching was still back far enough. It was the transmission shifting itself to neutral. I could no longer accelerate and I was feeling out of control. I was slowing down. Now that approaching vehicle was on my butt. I pulled to the side of the ride as the person in the vehicle behind my was blowing his horn and flipping me off. When I came to a stop, my car engaged the parking brake. I couldn't move. I was panicked and scared. I turned off my car and restarted it. I couldn't get it to move because the parking brake would not disengage. I called my husband. When he showed up, through trial and error, he figured out that the transmission had to be in neutral to disengage the parking brake. He then drove the car around a bit and it seemed like it was driving fine, but the check engine light was on, the traction control light was on and the brake light was on. I drove to work cautiously. I called the dealership to get my car in. By the next day the lights had turned off. When I got to the dealership there were no lights on so he said he couldn't do anything about it. He told me it was a safety function and that I just needed to learn to drive the car correctly. Are you f-ing kidding me?! This is completely unacceptable. A vehicle should not, by design, stop in traffic. Just because you punch the gas the car shouldn't have a meltdown. I was lucky I was on a rural road when this happened and not pulling out across a five-lane highway or merging onto a busy freeway. This is an accident waiting to happen, maybe it already has.

I got a survey to fill out in my email from Jeep about my experience at the dealership. I told them. No minced words from me. Within a day, I got a call from the dealership wanting to know why I was so unhappy. (Like they couldn't read it in the email.) I complained about all the problems I had had with this Jeep Cherokee. This was the sixth time I had brought it in in 10 months. That I hated the vehicle. That it has serious safety issues. That the service tech treated me like a stupid woman. I never heard from Jeep or Fiat, but I did hear from the used car division of my dealership. The gal that called me about my complaint told them I might be in the market for a new car. REALLY?!!! This is who I bought this lemon from in the first place. The guy preceded to tell me I was just being too sensitive about the issues the car has had. The 4-cylinders just aren't smooth with the new 9-speed transmission. He said he could probably resell the car, as is, to someone else and they'd never complain. I said, "Seriously, you'd sell this car with all these problems?". Yep, he would. And this is why used car salesmen get the rap they do.

So, to date, 6 visits for the transmission, until I got a whole new transmission, 1 visit for a transmission failure, still pausing when accelerating and I've owned the vehicle for less than a year. I've complained. I've brought up the Lemon Law. I can't get any satisfaction. I will never own another Jeep.

- , Jeddo, MI, US

problem #13

Oct 312016

Cherokee Latitude 3.2L V6 24 Valvue4 4 X 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,300 miles

This complaint, I need to hear from other jeep owners before I take this vehicle in for my last complaint but more importantly for this one.

Headed home from the mountains. My adult son is with me. I have the jeep on cruise control at 60. I think the speed was 65 but I knew in another 5 miles we were coming to a 7% grade going down, speed was.

Practically no traffic, 4 lane highway, couple curves. I looked down at my screens, showed cruise control 60 and I watched as my speedometer went from 6i0 to 65 to 70 and when it got to 75 the jeep shifted, the screen blinked off for a second and I realized the screen blinked because it was not longer on cruise control and whatever the jeep did released the cruise control.

I could not believe this and I had several more flat areas and then 7 % grade. This jeep did this exact thing 3 more times.

It also while showing cruise control 60 I watched my speedometer would go to 77 and then back. I kept saying to my son 'look what this jeep is doing every time'.

Common sense tells me and since I have had 4 other jeeps in these mountains as well and have ever seen something like this, that this is not normal. When I had my other jeeps on cruise control they held the speed unless I pressed on the brake or released it myself.

This jeep also has off road suspension but has been at the dealer for recalls or problems more times in less than 2 years than my other 4 jeeps combined.

These complaints may be a little premature but I have had to threaten them to fix everything and since they keep saying there is nothing wrong I have not idea if anything other than the seat belt has really been fixed.

I swore by jeep and have never asked for help or comments from other jeep owners but I am now.

I really need to hear from other owners, same problems or just comments or thoughts about these problems.

Even the minor problems. My hatch should not fail like that when I go to open it. Let is sit for 15 minutes and then it is fine and am assuming it sets itself, but why is it doing this to begin with.

Friends have said maybe this or that but I really need to hear from other jeep owners.

This jeep is in my opinion is the biggest piece of garbage I have every had.

My prior jeeps were Grand Cherokees and if I had not hit a deer would still have my 2007. I just did not need that big of a vehicle. I did test drive one that was not 4 wheel drive and I felt like I had to get out and push it to get it to move. I felt like I was driving a tank,. not to mention I would have needed a 4 wheel drive and I could not afford the prices they wanted for the grand Cherokee

I am not a mechanic and there are a lot of opinions but I believe they went from rear wheel drive to front wheel drive which some say would explain the difference I felt.

I really need to hear from other owners. I am not going to give in or budge. I know what this vehicle is doing and I am in for a fight , I already know that.

How can they fix something when they keep saying there is nothing wrong. I really want to know what Jeep is trying to hide.

Update from Nov 12, 2016: As I expected nothing wrong according to them. I know what I saw 3 times and my son saw similar problems when in cruise control. I guess this is a frustration update.

they commented about a possible customer assist upgrade, maybe a couple thousand more, I did not actually believe that but what I did not know, this is a $35,000 vehicle, 22 months old, 21,000 and the trade in is $17,000. It order to up grade what I have I have to come up with $27,000 and they will not even consider going to Jeep for a customer assist upgrade because they cannot come close to helping me at all. In less that 2 years this vehicle has depreciated around $20,000. A 2016 is about $37,000 but because it is a piece of garbage they cannot come close to helping me..

Anyone that thinks they will fix or find problems or anything is wrong. I will never say anything good about jeep or the dealers. These dealers have hurt how many thousand of people and I think they should step up and demand Chrysler make good to these people. Not just me. They are too greedy and they won't. Anyone with 2014 or 2015 jeep Cherokee, if you do not already know it they are very dangerous. If I choose to downgrade and go with another vehicle, won't be jeep ever , then it will be for a vehicle worth it. If I choose not to because, I really cannot afford to, I owe $10,000, I do not have $ like this to put down, I have a maintenance agreement with this dealer so I said ANYTIME there is something wrong with this piece of garbage, you will be getting it and I will be getting your loaner. I have NEVER said something was wrong when there was nothing.

I have not checked all my options but anyone that thinks with these 2 years any good is going to come out of it from Chrysler, good luck. Guess they have to have enough fatalities to do anything.

If I keep it, I will continue updating any problems.

- , Kings Mtn, NC, USA

problem #12

Sep 122016

Cherokee Latitude

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,200 miles

This is the third time I have taken the vehicle in to the dealer for the same problem in 9 months of owning the car. It downshifts hard on it's own, sometimes while on the highway and scares the hell out of my family. Then the service transmission light comes on, and the car cannot be driven above 15-20 mph. I am annoyed I am having the same issue over and over. I have contacted other friends who have this vehicle, and they also have had downshifting transmission problems. I do not feel safe, and I have lost work days, because the vehicle is not reliable.

- , Rossford, OH, USA

problem #11

Jan 022015

Cherokee Latitude V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 600 miles

This has been a problem since I purchased the car. I have also noted the complaint as speeding up when downshifting. I am always just coasting around 25 or 35 mph and the car speeds up and shifts into another gear. Very bad safety issue along with the RPM spike!

- , Elmwood Park, IL, USA

problem #10

Nov 102015

Cherokee LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles

My Jeep has been in the shop THREE times for Transmission issues... This last time the dealership had my car for 2 solid months!

I just got my car back and drove it for the first time in two months and the transmission is still shifting really rough...

The last time I almost rolled into another car because the transmission failed. I give up, I want to trade this car for another. I think it's a lemon and I think Jeep should be responsible...

- , San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #9

Sep 222015

Cherokee V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

Purchased the 2015 Jeep Cherokee in March. Have had issues with the transmission due to the recalls. The vehicle would slow and not shift properly, it would also lunge and stall.

9/21 - Had the recalls taken care of and was told it would solve the issues.

9/22 - Driving on the freeway and the car suddenly lunges and then stops. The Service Transmission, Check Engine and Emergency Brake were all flashing. I almost got rear-ended and was in a serious accident b/c of this car. I had to turn the car off on the freeway to "reboot" it. The dealership said the updates either "make or break" the car and they likely broke mine so I had to bring it back in.

9/24 - En route to get the car serviced, I was on the freeway, it lunged and stopped again, this time causing me to rear-end the vehicle in front of me.

I've never been in an accident in my entire life and the first one is due to a faulty car.

Chrysler continues to tell me they will call me but they have not called me after several weeks.

- , South St Paul, MN, USA

problem #8

Jun 292015

Cherokee Latitude 9.0L Speed

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,135 miles

I had purchased my vehicle (2015 Jeep Cherokee Latitude, VIN # 1C4PJMCS0FW54592) last November of 2014 at Cunningham Auto (Edinboro, PA), because it drove smoothly, was reliable and safe. I received a call and letter back in the middle of June (2015) regarding a recall for the air bags on my car. I made the appointment for June 29th, 2015 at North Pointe in Seneca, PA.

Apparently there were two recalls that were done on my car that day when it was at North Pointe, which was found on the paperwork that I received from the dealership (not informed by the dealership about this). Once I received my car back I started having problems with it shifting (extremely hard) and then loose of power going up a hill (which I live on the top of a steep hill). The shifting was getting worse as the days went on and a noise started coming from under the hood of the car. I had my husband in the car with me on Sunday (July 5, 2015) and he felt the hard shifting and heard the noise.

On Monday (July 6, 2015) I had called North Pointe to explain the problem I was having with my vehicle and the gentlemen had informed me “that there was nothing that could be done about the issues”. He indicated that Chrysler was the one that told him to tell customers that. He also informed me that there was a second edition to this software that will be another recall, but has no clue when it will be released. If I had known that there was going to be a second edition to this software, because the first one damages the car then I would have never gotten the recall done.

The fact that you (Chrysler/Jeep) have released a recall knowing that it has been causing issues with cars really upsets me. Also what really bothers me is that I was not informed of the issues my car may have after this recall and that I would need the second recall until I had called about the problems. At this time my husband is driving my car, because it is not reliable or safe for my son or me to ride in it. I am all about safety and feel that a customer should be happy about the products they purchase.

My car has gone to Donovan & Bauer Auto Group (Titusville, PA) for repairs on what was done on the car for the recall, which was to fix the problem on Monday (July 13, 2015). After I received the car back from Donovan & Bauer’s it still is running the same, shift hard and no power to it on a hill and the noise is still there. When it was placed the computer no codes came up and the service person informed me “if it keeps acting up I will have to wait for the next update” this has just made me more upset. I should not have to wait any longer to get my car fixed or back the original way it was before the recall. As I have read the complaints on this happening to other cars and my neighbor is having the same issues with her 2015 Jeep Cherokee Trail Hawk, I feel the issues with not be resolved. I would love to have my car back the way it was, which it was running perfect before the recalls were done.

My car only has 5,000 mileages on it and should not need to have a new transmission or any other parts that is in that car replaced. I purchased a new car because I knew that it will last a long time, but apparently I was wrong. If I wanted an unreliable car I could have purchased a used vehicle and probably saved money on the total cost of it, but that is not what I wanted. I honestly feel that since this is causing a convenience for my family and me, and I should not have to wait for a second edition to fix this software or try to have it fixed several times and nothing changes.

All I want is a car that is reliable, safe and comfortable to drive. The questions becomes are you willing to drive an unsafe vehicle like this with your child or children in it? I personally would say “NO” and not be willing to have an unsatisfied customer be stuck with an unreliable and unsafe car. Your company (Chrysler/Jeep) produced and designed this car and should take the responsibility of making sure that customers are satisfied with the vehicle they have purchased.

I am truly feed up with the response from Chrysler of we will work with the engineers to get this fix or you have to wait for the update. How long does a person have to wait for a car to be fixed, especially when it is new. My car is running like a piece of crap and that is not what I am paying for. Something needs to be done for all the consumers that are having problems with their vehicles after this recall. And the customer service they provide is horrible. I am heading to my third dealership to try to get this fixed. If it is not fixed by this time I am contacting a attorney because this would be consider under the lemon law.

- , Oil City, PA, USA

problem #7

Apr 082015

Cherokee V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,011 miles

Bought 2015 Jeep Cherokee in December 2014. Shortly thereafter, I brought it in for service because this car has a mind of its own. It randomly shifts into higher gear, a lot of times when I'm about to slow down to turn off the highway, causing me to push harder on the brakes which then makes the car skip, it lunges forward. A lot of times after coming to a stop and then going forward again quickly as if you were at a stop sign. When I want this car to go into a higher gear such as pulling out onto the highway, it stays in low gear and I have to floor it to get it to move. Then all of a sudden, it will lunge forward into the gear it should already be in. It also sometimes shifts hard from reverse to forward.

I have already had the entire transmission replaced. It is now July and it has been back 4 times for the same issue. Every time they reprogram the transmission module, it seems better for only a day or two and goes right back into it. It is infuriating. I put $5000 down on this car as I have always wanted a Jeep Cherokee and have had nothing but problems. It now makes a gear pulling noise when applying the brakes. The brakes are probably worn from constantly having to ride them for the short 7 months I have owned this vehicle. I am contacting the attorney general, as I do not feel safe behind the wheel of this car

- , Saugus, MA, USA

problem #6

Aug 082015

Cherokee Sport 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles

Just bought my 2015 Jeep Cherokee and it speeds up without my foot on the gas pedal.

Update from Oct 4, 2015: 4,700 miles and a repair visit, My transmission still acts up the dealship changed some type of program and I am still having the same issues. I bought a new car for the security of not having car issues...I just got this 4 mos ago...im pissed....KG

- , Fremont, CA, USA

problem #5

Mar 052015

Cherokee Sport 4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles

I PURCHASED MY 2015 JEEP CHEROKEE 2/28/2015, THE FOLLOWING WEEK I CALLED BACK SAYING THE VEHICLE HAS A NOISE IN THE DASH. IT WAS WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS BEING PUT INTO REVERSE. SO I TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK. THEY SAID NOTHINGS WRONG YOU WILL GET USED TO THE NOISE COMING FROM THE DASH. IT MADE THE NOISE WHEN THE BRAKE AND SHIFTER IS BEING USED.

I DROVE THE JEEP ANOTHER WEEK, THEN I COMPLAINED ABOUT THE SHIFTING INTO REVERSE MAKING LOUD NOISE. I BROUGHT IT BACK IMMEDIATELY. DEALER SAID SEEMS OKAY. DRIVE THE VEHICLE ANOTHER MONTH AND HALF.

THE TRANSMISSION IS ACTING UP WHILE DRIVING THE JEEP. DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE VEHICLE SHIFTS INTO ANOTHER GEAR. THE VEHICLE PICKS UP SPEED, THEN SHIFTS DOWN BY ITSELF. THE SPEED WAS AROUND 35 MILES AN HOUR. I ENDED UP TAKING THE VEHICLE BACK ON 6/9/2015, THE SPECIALIST SAID THAT IT WOULD NEED A NEW TRANSMISSION, WITH ONLY 3000 MILES AT THAT POINT.

I HAD TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE UNTIL CHRYSLER APPROVED A NEW TRANSMISSION. 6/15/15 I DROPPED THE VEHICLE OFF TO HAVE THE NEW TRANSMISSION INSTALLED. I PICKED UP THE JEEP 6/16/15 AFTER WORK. I DROVE THE JEEP HOME, ONLY LIVE 1 MILE FROM DEALER. THE SAME THING IS STILL HAPPENING TO THE VEHICLE. I HAD TAKEN THE JEEP BACK, HAD MECHANIC DRIVE THE VEHICLE, DIDN'T SEEM LIKE ANYTHING WAS WRONG.

I CALL BACK TO TALK WITH PARTS MANAGER AGAIN STATING THE VEHICLE SHIFTS ON ITS ON AGAIN, PROBLEM NOT FIXED. THE PARTS MANAGER SAID WHEN GOING UP HILLS THIS IS NORMAL. I SAID ITS ON FLAT ROAD. MANAGER SAID I CANNOT BE HERE TO TAKE A RIDE WITH YOU, BUT I WILL HAVE THE SALE MANAGER WILL TAKE A SPIN.

I GO FOR THE RIDE ON 6/22/2015, THIS IS WHAT THE SALE MANAGER TOLD ME. THIS IS NORMAL THAT THE VEHICLE SHIFTS UP AN THAN BACK WHEN NEEDED. I SAID I AM NOT ON A HILL I AM DRIVING ON FLAT LAND, NO FOOT ON THE GAS, SO THE VEHICLE SHOULD SLOW DOWN NOT SPEED UP. YOU CAN SEE THE TACHOMETER MOVE, AND THE SPEED INCREASE IN THE VEHICLE. BEFORE HAVING THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED, THE ENGINE LIGHT WOULD COME ON RIGHT AFTER PUTTING ON THE BRAKES TO COME TO A STOP SIGN. I WOULD HAVE TO SLAM THE BRAKES ON IN ORDER TO GET THE VEHICLE TO SLOW DOWN IN THE GEAR IT SHOULD BE IN TO COME TO A STOP.

WHAT CAN I DO? PLEASE ASSIST IF ANYONE CAN HELP. THE VEHICLE HAS 4400 MILES, I ASKED TO HAVE ANOTHER VEHICLE TO DRIVE TO SEE IF THE BRAND NEW ONE IS SHIFTING THE SAME WAY DIDN'T HAPPEN. VERY FRUSTRATING AT THIS POINT DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. SINCE THIS IS THE ONLY TRANSPORTATION I HAVE TO DEAL WITH DRIVING IT. WHEN YOU PAY A $$ FOR A VEHICLE YOU WOULD EXPECT TO GET GREAT SERVICE; AND A VEHICLE THAT WILL LAST FOR YEARS TO COME.

- , Sayre, PA, USA

problem #4

Mar 182015

Cherokee Latitude 2.4L Tiger Shark

  • Automatic transmission
  • 600 miles

We were out of town and my sister was driving because it was a new car and she wanted too. Booking along the expressway at over 80 and see a trooper off the side of road ahead, so I tell her careful trooper ahead. She said she sees him and is slowing down but Cherokee says nope lets go faster, shifts to 9th gear, from what I have read most never see 9th. She has to stomp the breaks to slow down before she gets clocked, and it seemed like the cruise was on and going into passing gear.

Afterwards were like WTF was that about, and started watching what it was doing. It would vibrate when shifted into gear but not moving, like tranny had bad mounts or was loose. Surge, lunge and drive its own when trying to get off of a off ramp or a clover leaf (circle) from 55 to 35 for example, we would use breaks to speed up? WTF again, called dealer no problem found as it is still learning.

Talked to several dealers around Knoxville to get other opinions and was told normal, to be expected, or sorry we can't help you as you are not the owner... still not fixed.

- , Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #3

Feb 142015

Cherokee Trailhawk

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,222 miles

Driving from Decatur, IN, to Indianapolis to catch a flight to go to Colorado and see my kids and grandkids. Just as I approach Indy this service transmission light comes on. I had noticed the last 2 or 3 weeks that the transmission seemed to shift rough when there was no reason to and wouldn't idol down when slowing to turn or come to a stop and it would randomly lunge when slowing down. Super long story short, I had to reschedule my flight and pay for a hotel, a taxi, etc. My Jeep is still in the shop in Indy awaiting a new updated transmission from the factory. Will have to make the 2 hours one-way drive when it's ready to pick it up. The transmission is covered under warranty (I assume) but I've incurred hundreds of dollars out of pocket and hours of precious time that I can never get back, down the drain. Plus they didn't give me a rental car. Really? My husband had to make the 4 hour round trip to retrieve me. Unbelievable.

- , Decatur, IN, USA

problem #2

Feb 012015

Cherokee Latitude 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,100 miles

Trans. downshifts going downhill causing car to first increase RPM, and car speeds up before down shift is complete. I need to brake to control speed. This will be a very dangerous situation in snowy weather. The unpredictable shifting can cause loss of control.

In Drive, the trans. has a mind of its own when deciding which gear to cruise at. At 57 MPH (and other speeds) sometimes the transmission picks gear 7, other times it picks gear 8. No rhyme or reason to do this outside of poor computer control or programming. This results in poorer gas mileage when it does not shift into gear 8. Switching to manual shifting and trying to force the transmission into gear 8 has no effect.

Switching to manual shifting is useless. The transmission will not shift to the desired gear. The indicator does not show which gear you are in. It merely displays a gear based on shifter motions. It has no relationship to the actual gear you are in. In snowy weather I rely on a transmission to stay where I select it to be. This is a dangerous transmission for snowy weather, as it will shift on its own or not shift despite being in the manual mode.

I am in fear of this transmission when winter driving comes. I am going to try and get the car into the shop before bad weather comes.

- , Flippin, AR, USA

problem #1

Nov 142014

Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

Purchased this 2015 Jeep Cherokee new with 15 miles on it on 10-28-2014. Two weeks after purchase the Jeep started surging into high speed, the only way to stop it was hit the brake. This happened three times in a 1 hour period. The second time it flashed a warning signal that the transmission needed to be serviced. My wife shut the car off restarted it and the warning went off. However after driving it another 10 miles it surged into a higher speed again.

We called the dealer the next day and took the car to them on Saturday, on the way it surged three more times, two while driving and one while trying to stop at a red light. The dealer has had the car for 5 days, has called the Jeep Tech Service and they think it could be the computer that controls the transmission but they are not sure. They keep trying different things such as reloading the computer, etc, etc. As of today no resolution.

Had the car for less than three weeks, has 1,000 miles, paid over 30k for the car, and they don't know what is wrong. Called Jeep customer service and complained since this is a safety issue and I don't want my wife and family driving a car which is unsafe and unreliable.

- , Garrettsville, OH, USA