8.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$70
Average Mileage:
21,800 miles
Total Complaints:
34 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (32 reports)
  2. add oil (1 reports)
  3. oil change (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Jeep dealer.

problem #34

Feb 012019

Cherokee Limited 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles

On 2/1/19 and 2/4/19 my 2016 Jeep Cherokee stalled while driving it. I was going around 35-40 MPH. The vehicle was able to coast to the side of the road, then it took a few minutes for it to start up again. The onboard computer system does not show any warnings or issues with the vehicle. After researching this it seems several people are having the same problem with their Cherokee's.

- Lori B., Hilo, HI, US

problem #33

Jan 092019

Cherokee Limited 4-2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,500 miles

On my way home from work I just went through a round about and without warning my Jeep just shut off completely. I had to let it coast into the nearest parking lot, but this could have been a real danger in a different situation. A battery light came on when the Jeep died but the Jeep wouldn't even turn over after this. I had to have a tow company come. They came and jumped my car and after that it ran fine. I brought it in to get checked over at the shop and they determined it was low on oil. What they couldn't answer is why it didn't give me a warning about low oil or check engine light. Nothing but problems with my Jeep since I have bought it.

- Stephanie H., Racine, US

problem #32

Dec 202018

Cherokee Latitude 4-cyl, 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

Bought the car 10/3/2018 with a fresh oil change, on 12/18/2018 my husband was driving with my children in the car and it shut off and stalled. He waited a few minutes and it started and drove with no lights on the dash. 12/20/2018 car shut off on me while in the middle of an intersection, coasted to the side of the road luckily unharmed and shut off car. Car sat for ten minutes before it would restart. Car the same day shut off again while driving, would not turn on again for 10 minutes and at that point the check engine light came on.

Brought into dealer who sold me the vehicle, they performed oil change (I had driven less than 4k miles since car was purchased) and they stated the car had less than 1/2 quart of oil and that is why it was shutting off. Oil changed 12/21/2018 and 1/7/2019 car sputtered and almost shut off, brought to dealer and they stated it is already 1 1/2 quart low on oil, there is no leak no marks in driveway the engine is burning oil at a rapid pace.

RUN AWAY FROM THIS CAR! Others warned me against Chrysler and I wish I had listened. Started oil consumption testing 1/7/19 will follow up.

- Tessa C., Holyoke, MA, US

problem #31

Nov 082018

Cherokee Sport

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

I am so thankful I was in a parking lot instead of on the freeway.

Yesterday, after work, I drove the car about 10 miles on the freeway. I exited the freeway and pulled into a parking lot, all of the sudden the car made a 'ding' sound, the engine died, steering locked up, the battery light flashed and a notification popped up that said to put the transmission in park and select the desired gear. Luckily, after the car came to a rolling stop, I was able to put the car in park, turn it off and restart it.

I called to make an appointment and the soonest appointment they have is 4 days from now. The best part is the service advisor told me it would be nearly impossible to duplicate the problem. Are you kidding me?

This is extremely dangerous and needs to be addressed by Jeep. I am afraid to drive this car and had to take an Uber to work today. I pay nearly $500.00 a month for a car that I thought would be safe because it is new and now I feel like it is a death trap.

- shelleyk, Rohnert Park, US

problem #30

Oct 172018

Cherokee Latitude

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,785 miles

Thank goodness I was still in my neighborhood and didn't make it to the highway! It was super scary especially because I had my 9yr old in the Jeep with me when it just shut off. I was going 25mph and had to coast & then push it to the side of the road. This whole situation could have been more serious if I were going 60mph on the highway. The dealership had it 6 days before they could figure out what was going on. They claim that my Jeep had no oil, they are the ones that do my oil changes so that didn't make sense to me. I have to take it back in 2000 miles for an oil consumption test.

- Ali C., Easton, MD, US

problem #29

Jul 112018

Cherokee 75th Anniversary V6, 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,422 miles

The car died about one minute after leaving my house in the morning. It died right after I turned a corner. It's the first time this happened. It wouldn't re-start right away. I waited a few minutes, it started with no issues and drove fine the rest of the day.

- Kevin G., Racine, US

problem #28

Sep 142017

Cherokee Limited 3.2lV6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

WHEN I STOP AT A RED LIGHT OR STOP SIGN, THE ENGINE DOES NOT SHUT OFF AND TURN BACK ON. NOW IT WON'T COME ON AT ALL WHEN STOPPED. DASH BOARD GOES CRAZY AND CHANGES EVERYTHING . I TOOK IN AND THEY DIDN'T FIX IT.

- Myrna A., Tomball, TX, US

problem #27

Jul 012018

Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles

Two days ago my learning-to-drive teen was approaching a stop sign and the Jeep died. The message to put it in park and restart appeared, and it took several tries of restarting to get it going again. This morning the SAME THING happened again. My poor kid decided he was done, so I took over and it died on me while maneuvering a slow uphill corner. This is not safe! Calling the dealership tomorrow and am hoping its an easy fix.

Extra details: I've noticed for the last week or so a "ding" like you get with the low gas/low wiper fluid notices on some corners as I slow, but no message pops up. My change oil light has been on for two weeks. I'm a teacher and was waiting for summer break so I could get it done.

- Cindy S., Astoria, OR, US

problem #26

Jun 172018

Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,500 miles

My wife was coming back yesterday (6/17/18) from a hike she'd taken her father on for Father's Day. She was going 70 miles an hour on I-90 in Washington state, cruise control on, then suddenly the cruise control dropped off, the LCD that was showing 70 mph suddenly showed zero, and the accelerator no longer worked. She eased it off to the shoulder of the highway and stopped. She turned the car off, allowed it to sit for a moment, then turned it on again and it worked fine as if nothing had happened.

Oil is changed like clockwork every 3,000 miles using synthetic oil as has always been used since we got the car just under 2-years ago. (2016 Jeep Cherokee Latitude)

There are sections of I-90 through Snoqualmie Pass that are still under road construction with no shoulders. I'm glad that she was in an area with a breakdown lane / shoulder that she could use and that she was able to safely move off the road. This could have been very bad otherwise.

Thank you to the others on this site who reported this so that when I call my dealer today I won't let them tell me it's a one-off / unheard-of issue.

- Tom A., Wenatchee, WA, US

problem #25

Apr 112018

Cherokee Limited 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,200 miles

The car shut off/stalled 3 times today and I'm afraid to drive. I called 2 dealers. First one said they never heard of the problem. (Pants on fire) Second one told me it was low on oil. For sure I checked and car was almost out of oil. I have added oil and hopefully it will solve the problem. Will have an oil change next week.

Update from May 14, 2018: Dealer will have me bring the car in every 2 weeks and oil level will be recorded. I was told that Jeep / Chrysler is aware of the issue and if necessary they will replace the engine.

- Cyndy W., Rochester, US

problem #24

Apr 232018

Cherokee Limited 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,286 miles

Stalling out with no warning in the middle of an intersection. No warning just shut entire car off and a message alert said to put the transmission in park then the desired gear. That's weird, considering that I was already in DRIVE...? The car would not restart for a few minutes then it ran fine. Thank God I didn't have my small kids with me. I pay $430 a month for a car to be reliable not to be scared to stall out at a busy intersection. Jeep needs to recall this! Not good at all!

- Stephanie S., Palmerton, PA, US

problem #23

Mar 312018

Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,231 miles

I've started to experience this problem about a month ago where the car just shuts off and stalls while you're driving. It'll say 'put the car in park' and then to gear desired. We couldn't figure out what the problem was and Jeep wanted $129 just to look at the car. I started Googling and ended up on here where plenty of others were complaining about the same thing and I read paragraph after paragraph. I noticed a lot of people were being told that they just needed an oil change. My vehicle started doing this at 57% oil life so of course I didn't think I needed an oil change. But, being desperate I got an oil change before bringing it back to Jeep and paying the $129 so that they couldn't say the same thing to me. I mean it was really bad, it would turn off in my child's drop off line at school, in the middle of the road at a red light, in the parking lot of my job multiple times in a day. It has now been 6 days since my oil change and I think it's safe to say that unfortunately that was the problem. So we have to do oil changes frequently which you wouldn't think with a new car right? We just picked the wrong one. Anyway, NEVER going with jeep again. I really hope this helps someone out.

- South C., Tampa, FL, US

problem #22

Jan 272018

Cherokee Lattitude 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles

A month or so ago I started my car w/ my auto start, waited a few minutes, hopped in my car and took off. Approx. 1 mile down the road I was preparing to stop at a red light when my car shut off and a warning ding alerted me to a message that told me to put my car in drive, which was perplexing, because my car was in drive. I placed the car in park and tried to restart it and I couldn't. I could hear my starter engaging, but nothing else. It even felt like my brake pedal was locked up. I tried a few more times to start it but it wouldn't. I let it sit for approx.10 minutes and it started back up like nothing had happened. I had no messages stored and no warning lights on.

I had the exact same issue happen again yesterday. I drove to my father's house after I was finally able to get my car started again and after telling him what had happened he remembered to tell me that he has noticed oil drips in his driveway (I'm the only one that ever parks there). When we checked my dip stick, there was barely enough oil to register. I have my oil changed regularly, no gauges have ever alerted me to needing an oil change or having low oil pressure.

I have an appointment to take my car in next week to the Jeep dealership, but he told me if they are not able to duplicate the issue, it's going to be difficult for them to diagnose the problem.

Update from Apr 10, 2018: After having had my car at the dealership all say, they suggested getting my oil changed. They said that when the car is low on oil (even though I've had no bells or whistles going off telling me their is an issue), the engine shuts off to avoid damage. The only issue I have with this, is that my oil was changed on Saturday. When I told him this, he said that perhaps the filter is loose or there is a "double gasket". I asked if they could check since it's there, he told me they could, but if that were the issue causing the engine to stall, that that would not be covered under warranty and I would essentially be paying for another oil change.

I think it's dangerous and negligible to design a vehicle where the fail safe is to protect the engine and not the occupants in and around the vehicle! I would much rather blow up my engine than be in an accident where myself & others could be hurt or much worse! It's absurd!

- Stacey W., Fitchburg, Ma, US

problem #21

Jan 252017

Cherokee High Altitude 3.2L V6 With Elect Stop/S

  • Automatic transmission
  • 800 miles

In a parking lot this time, thankfully - turned off when I was doing about 15mph. Stopped it, put it in park, removed key - restarted just fine. Took to the dealership the next morning, was told again they couldn't duplicate the problem. This was a Wednesday, picked it up from them Friday morning, and it did the same thing the following day (will report as separate issue).

- shannynism, Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #20

Jan 202018

Cherokee Sport

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles

2016 Jeep Cherokee died again on my way to work! I sat for 20 minutes before it would start again. I took it straight to the dealership, again. They can't figure it out and say they've never seen this before. I have filed complaints with safercar.gov. If enough people file a complaint, the Government will investigate the problem. Encourage all Jeep owners with this problem to file a complaint! Also, file complaints with NHTSA- 888-327-4236, FCA Customer Care-800-853-1403. Good Luck! Be Safe!

- robin1, Appleton, US

problem #19

Jan 192018

Cherokee Sport

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles

My 2016 Cherokee dies while I'm driving (city & highway ["dinged" but didn't die-I won't drive it on the highway]). It is frightening and potentially deadly. There is no pattern to when or why this happens. It happens repeatedly (7x) and the dealership cannot identify nor correct the problem. The computer doesn't register any codes and doesn't recognize that the vehicle has died. Nothing shows on the dashboard either when this happens. There is a "ding" and the car dies. I have been reading (online) many other identical accounts of this problem with others who own the 2015 & 2016 Cherokee models. My car is, yet again, at the dealership.This is a POTENTIALLY DEADLY SITUATION. I am afraid to drive this vehicle.

- robin1, Appleton, US

problem #18

Jan 262018

Cherokee Sport

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles

Just got my car back from the dealership yesterday & it died 2x tonight (26th).My car has died while I was driving 2 more times since then (which I won't enter again on this site-other things to do-total 7x) Unbelievable! This is such a dangerous situation and I can't get any solutions. I don't believe for a minute that Jeep doesn't know about this. How many deaths will it take before something is done???

The dealership has changed my oil (my last free one) & put 90 miles on my car trying to figure this out. I am to take my car in after 1000 miles to check the oil & see if it's burning oil. Hmmmm. I'm afraid to drive it!

File complaints to safercar.gov, NHTSA-888327-4238, FCA Customer Care-800-853-1403.

- robin1, Appleton, US

problem #17

Oct 282016

Cherokee Sport

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,843 miles

This was my original complaint to NHTSA on November 27, 2017. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE IN SEPTEMBER 2016 AND IT WAS SEEN IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT IN OCTOBER 2016 FOR A LOUD CLICK FROM THE BRAKE (TOLD THIS IS NORMAL) AND THE VEHICLE SHUTTING OFF DURING IDLE TWICE. AN UPDATE WAS DONE BUT THE ISSUE CONTINUED. NOVEMBER 2016 I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE IN BECAUSE THE BACK SEAT WOULD MOVE BACK AND FORTH IF SOMEONE WAS NOT SITTING IN IT (THEY HAD TO REPLACE THE WHOLE BACK SEAT) BUT AS I WAS DRIVING INTO THE SERVICE DOORS THE VEHICLE SKIPPED AND TRIED TO DIE WITH LIGHTS FLASHING ON THE DASH. SERVICE COULD NOT DUPLICATE. DECEMBER 2016 BROUGHT IN BECAUSE THE VEHICLE KEPT SKIPPING WHEN TRYING TO TAKE OFF FROM A STOP. ON TWO OCCASIONS IT COMPLETELY STALLED BUT SERVICE WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE. THE VEHICLE ALSO HAD ISSUES WITH SHIFTING TOO EARLY AT TIMES AND THEN SHIFTING WAS DELAYED OTHER TIMES. ONCE AGAIN ISSUE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. LATER IN DECEMBER I BROUGHT IT BACK AGAIN AND WAS TOLD THERE WAS POSSIBLY A FIX. JANUARY 2017 THE VEHICLE WAS BROUGHT BACK AGAIN DUE TO STALLING AND THE MULTI AIR ACTUATOR WAS REPLACED. THE ISSUE CONTINUED AS THE SERVICE MANAGER SEARCHED FOR AN ANSWER UNTIL I HAD ENOUGH IN OCTOBER 2017 WHEN IT CAME TO A STOP FOR NO REASON AND THE VEHICLE WOULD MAKE A TERRIBLE NOISE IN REVERSE AT TIMES. SERVICE ALONG WITH FCA ATTEMPTED TO FIX IT BUT COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE ISSUE. WHEN I GOT THE VEHICLE BACK IT IT ALWAYS SKIPS IN IDLE, MAKES A LAWN MOWER SOUND IN IDLE AND WHEN SHUTTING OFF MAKES A WHINING NOISE. I HAVE STOPPED DRIVING THE VEHICLE AND AM TRYING TO GET FCA TO DO THE RIGHT THING VIA GEORGIA'S LEMON LAW. I HAVE DONE MY DUE DILIGENCE FOLLOWING FCA'S REQUIRED STEPS AND THEY SAID THEY CANNOT DUPLICATE MY ISSUE BUT WOULD GIVE ME A GOOD FAITH PAYMENT FOR MY TIME. I HAVE ASKED TO TALK TO SUPERVISORS ETC BUT AM TOLD THAT IS NOT THEIR PROTOCOL AND THEY CLOSED MY CASE. THIS VEHICLE IS UNSAFE!

My update as of today: Since my previous complaint, 11048717 I was denied a buy back by FCA, LLC via first class mail stating I was not eligible under GA Lemon Law regardless of it being out of

service more than 30 days. Since this letter the vehicle has died 3 times while in motion and continues to skip along with a decrease in rpms while idling (observed my

dealership service). I also had smoke and a strong odor coming from the left front side of the vehicle with no reason as to why. This car is dangerous and I cannot believe there

has not been a total recall since it is shutting off while driving for so many people.

- Doris Meredith B., Clarkesville, US

problem #16

Dec 212017

Cherokee Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles

Jeep Cherokee is in the shop now for stalling issue. Happens everyday on first drive of day and has only happened once late in the day when the car has been sitting for long time - weather is very cold, near freezing temps. The diagnostic thing does not show anything has occurred although it stops while I'm driving, usually after second or third slow down for turn. Completely shuts down and I have to coast to (hopefully) safety. So far they say they can't find anything. Mentioned my having a $250 fuel injection cleaning (and stated it is due - at 19,000 miles?!?!?!?). I have searched the internet and have only found that there is no regular maintenance involving fuel injection cleaning. I am certain this is a ripoff particularly at this mileage. I told them no, not doing it. Find out what is wrong because it is not the fuel injectors and if it is it is a warranty issue. We shall see but I have little to no confidence they will find and repair.

- fnorvell, Richardson, US

problem #15

Nov 062017

Cherokee Limited 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

2016 jeep Cherokee limited edition stalled for a total of 12 times this past week. made an appointment with the Jeep dealer and explained what happened (car stalls while driving). brought my vehicle into the dealership this morning. They said that I had little to no oil in the vehicle and that was the cause. I then said when I checked the oil last week it was at 32%. he promptly said those oil gauges are not that accurate at all. I then said well why didn't the check oil light come on? he said again those gauges are not that accurate. I then said, well how am I suppose to know when to change the oil. he said, look at the sticker in the window. At that point I almost lost it. I highly doubt any of this is true.

What will it take for jeep to realize this is a serious issue and someone can get killed.

- Steve L., Rochester, US

Read the next 14 complaints »