9.5

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,710
Average Mileage:
70,500 miles
Total Complaints:
24 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. new air suspension control module & air compressor (11 reports)
  2. not sure (8 reports)
  3. replace air suspension compressor (3 reports)
  4. replaced air suspension (2 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Jeep dealer.

problem #24

Aug 012018

Grand Cherokee 5.6L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 127,000 miles

In August 2018, paid $3,400 to fix the are the suspension. It lasted 2 months. The car was lowered again the lift system failed. I took it back to the dealer. They kept the car for two days and said they repaired the front airbags. Charged me $394.00. Said I need front shocks to complete the repair, that would cost $4,250. When I took the car in, my shocks were ok, now my shocks are not working and the car is sitting on the tires. How could both shocks stop working? This is very strange. Do not buy a Jeep, they do not stand by the product.

- Carlos S., Brampton, ON, Canada

problem #23

Oct 202017

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 116,565 miles

Bought my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee March 2017. In October 2017, after coming home from shopping, I heard a noise like a motor running after parking in my garage and turning off the engine. The noise continued for hours. The next morning the Jeep looked lower as if almost sitting on the tires.

Took it to my mechanic a few blocks from me. He informed me later I would need a new air pump. He said if I order it, he could replace it, but then I would have to take it to the dealer. We ordered the pump $700, he replaced it $185. I called the dealer #1. They gave me a one week appointment. Then I had AAA towed it to the dealer. After a few days they informed me that the two front air bags and lines were bad and needed to be replaced. And that was going to cost $4,924.68. I told them I couldn't afford to do that now, so they charged me to refill nitrogen, a fused and diagnostic. $262.51 (11/30/2018), the back of the Jeep was now leveled but the front was in still lowered. I was able to drove it home.

I called the dealer to asked if I could order the part myself and have them install it, also how much would it cost to install them. The clerk I've been dealing with so far told me it would cost me $500. I ordered the bags $678, then call the dealer to set up appointment. Took the jeep in, then, after going over what we spoke about over the phone, the clerk denied the price she gave me before to install the 2 air bags. She now told me it was going to cost me $1,654.68. I was really upset. I told her to just do the recall, and also check the key fob to see why it wasn't working after changing the battery. Went back to get my jeep a few days. Paid $243.40 (3/28/2018) to find the out battery was installed upside down. They also refill the lines to the airbags.

After a while of not having the used of my Jeep for the summer, I asked my mechanic to replace the airbags. He did, cost $600. I then took it to dealer #2. (7/31/2018) After about 8 weeks the jeep was ready for me to pick up. They replace module, replace compressor total $3,458.70 (9/28/2018).

After 6 days I was having the same problem with the motor running for hours, I called the dealer, this was Thursday they said I should bring it in on Monday. I explained to them about the sound of the motor running, and now the jeep was also lowered. The manager told me to bring it in that evening. By that time the the battery already died, and AAA couldn't get to me before the dealer close, so we set up for the next morning.

Back to dealer (10/5/2018). After a week, they said they were working with Chrysler to figure out what the was going on with my jeep. They offered me a loaner jeep in the meantime. Two weeks after, they replaced air pump relay battery, and refilled front air bags and jeep was ready to be picked up. Cost $337.99 (10/22/2018).

Went to pick up the Jeep this was Friday, I notice it wasn't really adjusting itself when I started, but I thought it would do so after a while. I got home, park, didn't have to do anything that weekend so I didn't drive anywhere. by Tuesday morning I heard this horrible drilling sound coming from the jeep while driving. The Jeep seem to be vibrating somewhat, I pulled over, shut the engine off, I listened, but the sound stopped. I started again, the sound was back and the “immediate air suspension service” message came on, I drove home.

Called the dealer, they said if anything else happen I should being it in. The light kept coming on and the jeep was still not adjusting like it suppose to. I never heard that drilling sound again, but I can hear a low humming sound, like a quite motor running while the engine in on. I called them again, now I have an appointment for tomorrow (10/29/2018). This is really frustrating. I don't think I could ever put myself through this problem again with another Jeep. I'm so on edge. I'm so very disappointed at this point.

- Joy W., Upper Darby, PA, US

problem #22

Oct 132017

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,620 miles

Here is the start of our story with more to come. The air suspension dropped low and compressor continued to run, draining the battery. FCA tell us it is out of warranty, and the local dealer is 2 weeks before they can look at it. So, went to aftermarket repair shop that looks at it and replaces the compressor, and then realizes that they cannot charge the nitrogen system. They take it to local dealer who charges the system and makes sure there are no leaks. At least the aftermarket shop didn't charge us for the recharge of the system as they said they should have known they couldn't do it. Away we went and thought we were good to go. But.....

- Chris L., La Plata, MD, US

problem #21

Feb 012018

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,800 miles

Here is part 2 of my story. Same problem with the compressor running and this time we take it right to the dealer, who tells us there is a leak and they recommend replacing the lines, reservoir, and compressor (which is now burned up because of the leak. FCA still not helping because we are out of warranty and because we went to aftermarket shop. So, we pay a couple thousand more have all new parts and we are good to go right? But......

- Chris L., La Plata, MD, US

problem #20

Apr 302018

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,800 miles

Back for complaint #3, as after 2.5 miles after the entire systems is replaced. Guess what? The compressor is running non stop again. Local dealer can't see us for a few days, so I pull the fuse to save the battery. I ask about a loaner car, and they say to contact FCA. After FCA says we don't qualify for a goodwill rental, 2nd time owners and out of warranty, (Did I mention this is the 4th Jeep we have owned??) they do say that they will consider a reimbursement after I get a diagnosis. Drop off the vehicle today and local dealer says they never talked to FCA. Get a call from local dealer saying that the work they did is not the source of the problem and what do I want to do? Code word for they will charge me more money to try and find it. I call FCA to ask what happens next, and they say wait for the diagnosis and rent a car for a max of $35 per day. Then I can send them the invoice and they will consider reimbursement. When I ask about what my case shows ( which was closed), they let me know that the local dealer told them about me going to a 3rd party shop, but failed to mention that they were the ones who worked on it the second time in its entirety.

More to come....

- Chris L., La Plata, MD, US

problem #19

Feb 152018

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.2lV6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,743 miles

If this can't be fixed I would like to change the air lift to normal strut system at the expense of Jeep Corporation of course. FIX IT NOW STAND BEHIND YOUR PRODUCT.

- Ronnie E., Zebulon, NC, US

problem #18

May 032017

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,536 miles

Going on six months and eight visits to three dealer for air suspension issues in my 2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland. I have been charged $1561 (even though it should be covered under my extended warranty) I've been paying down the loan for a car I haven't been able to drive ($3732), and have not been able to tow due to safety of the air suspension.

I have loved my JGC up until last Spring when this issue surfaced. I'm not confident this issue can be fixed after reading all of the complaints here. FCA is involved now and a third Star Case has been opened. I will continue to update and would be very appreciative to hear from you if you have had any resolution to this issue.

HISTORY of Air Suspension Problems

5/3/17 — Brought Jeep in to Dealer #1 because Immediate Air Suspension Service light came on, and vehicle power shut down on the freeway twice with no warning. Diagnosis indicated pump not running, and 40 AMP fuse blown. Performed air mass test and failed. Charged air suspension and inflated springs to normal. No leaks found. Fuse likely blew due to excessive pump operation. If fuse blows again, may likely have to change pump. I was charged $270.00 for labor.

5/26/17 — Brought Jeep in to Dealer #1 again because Immediate Air Suspension Service light came for the second time They ran diagnostics and replaced air suspension compressor. I was charged $150.00

7/28/17 — Brought Jeep in to Dealer #1 again because Immediate Air Suspension Service light came on for the third time. Diagnostics indicated leak and recommended lines and valve block replaced. I was charged $805.00

8/4/17 — Brought Jeep in to Dealer #1 again because Immediate Air Suspension Service light came on for the fourth time. Diagnostics indicated 40AMP fuse blown. Test drove 100 miles to duplicate problem but system did not fail. If problem persists, then will need to look further for possible compressor warranty replacement. I was charged $168.00 for a rental car.

8/30/17 — Brought Jeep in to Dealer #1 again because Immediate Air Suspension Service light came on for the fifth time. Diagnostics indicated 40AMP fuse blown (3rd time). They replaced air compressor on RO#518272. Covered under warranty.

9/6/17 — Brought Jeep in to Dealer #2 because Immediate Air Suspension Service Light came on for the sixth time in four months. They replaced the Air Compressor for the second time and Jeep was picked up on 10/7.

10/12/17 — Air compressor failed again for the seventh time in 5 months. Brought Jeep into Dealer #3 on 10/19. I rented a car through Enterprise (FCA to reimburse me).

10/20/17 — Jeep Dealer #3 told me the problem was fixed, and I could come to get the car — "it’s only a blown fuse.” I requested they reread the vehicles history and do some more tests, so I didn’t waste another trip for a blown fuse.

10/26/17 — I was notified by FCA that I had to go pick up the car. Dealer #3 claimed they did multiple tests on the vehicle and it was working properly. I was assured by FCA that if it happened again, they would escalate and open a Star Case (apparently, there had been two previous star cases opened.)

10/27/17 — I picked up the car from Dealer #3, drove off the lot and a half a mile later, the Immediate Air Suspension Service light came on for the eighth time and the HydraLift was not working. I drove back to the Dealer, left my Jeep and they gave me a Hertz rental for 10 days. FCA will be opening a Star Case.

- live_riveted, Mill Valley, US

problem #17

Jul 132017

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,452 miles

click to see larger images

air lift suspension not working properly air lift suspension not working properly air lift suspension not working properly air lift suspension not working properly air lift suspension not working properly air lift suspension not working properly

I purchased my 2011 Grand Cherokee (Overland) Edition from Skinner & Damulis, Route 20, Rchfield Springs, New York in May 2014 with 65,000 miles. Within months I had issues with the vehicle. However, within the past 18 months, the vehicles suspension system failed three times with repairs somewhere around $10,000 or more. Just prior to the July 2017 failure of the TIPM system, my Jeep was in the dealers from December 2016 thru March 2017. I was told the TIPM was on back-order and would not be available for months. Interestingly, the Service personnel were not familiar with this issue nor of the TIPM Settlement with Chrysler??? I found this comment very wearisome as a simple search using Google gave me much needed information.

Now, this most recent incident with the TIPM failure, required me going to the General Manager on July 18, 2017 and speaking with Larry. He informed me that by Friday, July 21, 2017, he would meet with the Chrysler Regional Representative about another customer's vehicle problems AND would be discussing the on-going (serious) failures of this vehicle. Larry told me that a resolution would be proposed. Three weeks passed and on August 5, 2017, I placed a follow-up call to the General Manager. He was not available, however, the owner, Marie took my call and informed me she knew nothing about this matter. However, upon informing her that I provided Larry with colored photos of the need for immediate service, etc., the owner would make inquiries, etc.

Plans were made to bring the vehicle into the service area on Wednesday, August 9, 2017, however, on my way back from Fayetteville, New York via Route 20, the vehicle began to operate erratically with much noise from inside the vehicle. A waffling noise was heard, however, it was unclear where it was coming from. Just a few short miles from home, on Route 12 near the Spring Care Animal Sanctuary, the vehicle became unstable and was undriveable. We got out of the vehicle and noticed that the rear wheel (driver's side) was hanging on by only one lug nut (bolt). The remaining four were sheared right off.

Had we been traveling the NYS Thruway, I might not have been alive to tell this story. One big issue with the continued failure of the air-suspension of the shocks was the effect of whip-lash effects stemming from the huge bounce and banging caused by the inadequate air pressure needed for a smooth and comfortable ride. My neck remains very cramped and stiff as well as that of my wife's. I thank God we did not have a gas tank explosion.

My wife and I are waiting to see the type of resolution to be proposed by Chrysler. I lost much in monthly car payments plus related incidental expenses associated with this vehicle. Too, the needed transportation required for my wife's medical care unrelated to the air-suspension fiasco requires a safe vehicle. Hopefully, there will be good news to report - without a need for an attorney to be our advocate. Common sense should prevail, however Corporate agreed often times trumps these situations thus leading to litigation.

I have much more to tell, however, will leave this to personal contacts, if requested.

Update from Aug 10, 2017: Please contact me for Chrysler Settlement information. I have additional information to share to anyone interested. My e-mail: windy58@gmail.com

- rifleman, Utica, NY, USA

problem #16

Feb 222017

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,850 miles

The Jeep was at the dealership for a month. I had to rent a car to the tune of $500.00. I got fed up with the dealer and went off. They gave me a Dodge pickup to drive for the last two weeks. The kicker was they charged me for shipping on the new compressor for $100.00. I submitted a reimbursement request to Fiat Chrysler and was just turned down flat for the rental cost and the shipping fee. I will never buy another Fiat Chrysler product and will go to my grave beating the living daylights out of this brand. They suck, they have always sucked and will continue to suck!!!!

- John R., Florence, US

problem #15

Mar 032017

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,800 miles

This is the 2nd failure of the so-called Quadra-Lift system in this vehicle. This time when I took vehicle to dealer they completely vacated the nitrogen in the system and the vehicle basically bottomed out. Next they tell me the air compressor and valve assembly is a back order item. No promise date. Car is totally inoperable. I need both a good lawyer and a good contact at Jeep HQ............

- Jack T., Littleton, CO, US

problem #14

Feb 152016

Grand Cherokee Overland V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

The "Immediate service air suspension required light" came on in the dashboard display many times and I took it in to the Jeep dealer for service. When I depressed the lift buttons on the console it just blinked and didn't work properly. This is when the nightmare began. The fist time they had it in the shop for 5 days and then said it was a leaking line on the air suspension (replaced it at a cost of $600.00). It worked for one day and then malfunctioned again. I decided to try another Jeep dealership and this time they had it in the shop for 4 WEEKS and cost $4200.00 to repair (replaced module and compressor). It worked for about 2 weeks and then the light came on again and the air compressor would not shut off even after shutting the car off (needed to disconnect the battery terminal to stop the compressor or it would drain the batttery). After that repair, the suspensions system worked for about 5 months and then malfunctioned again and the dealer had it in the shop for 7 days and said then think the problem is a very small leak that they cannot locate or fix. They said I should drive it and if it starts acting up again that I should bring it back in and they will pressurize it again at no charge. After 4 days the service immediately light came on again.

At this point it is very clear that the Jeep technicians have no clue how to fix this problem. They even admitted to me that this air suspension system is just to complicated for them to properly repair. I'm now considering my options to move forward and have involved the Jeep Corporation to see if they can help settle this case.

- Tom L., Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #13

Mar 292016

Grand Cherokee Overland V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles

Compressor wen out on air suspension system, cost me $2,900 and still not working properly.

- Steve H., Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #12

Jan 232015

Grand Cherokee Overland V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

After the error message I received from the Jeep I was worried that Jeep service would hold my car again for another week or so. So I drove with the half bad and non responsive suspension until Sept when it completely died. I went to another Jeep Service and they wouldn't honor the one year warranty I was given for the part. It costed $130 just to check the Jeep. They confirmed it was the air suspension compressor again. I bought the compressor on my own for about $670 to save money. Had it installed for $200 and worked just fine. Three months later the sir compressor died again...

- Ivan G., Bronx, NY, USA

problem #11

Dec 022013

Grand Cherokee Overland V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

Air Suspension failed and Warranty ran out in Feb of 2013. Called Chrysler Warranty and they provided a courtesy service which set me back $500 after a week of waiting for the Jeep. Everything was working well. One month later, the air suspension compressor died again...

- Ivan G., Bronx, NY, USA

problem #10

Mar 022016

Grand Cherokee Overland V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

After 6 days of usage my air suspension compressor died again! I am tired of this! How can I be having suspension problems with a JEEP! That is whole reason I bought a JEEP, to avoid these problems. DO NOT BUY AN AUTOMOBILE WITH AIR SUSPENSION! It is a moving part that isn't worth dealing with.

- Ivan G., Bronx, NY, USA

problem #9

Dec 172015

Grand Cherokee Overland Hemi V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,697 miles

A creaking sound in my suspension has been occurring for a long time. I had my shocks changed at the end of November. On December 16th, I heard a loud groaning sound and some hissing (so loud my kids wanted out of the car) and received the "Immediately Service Air Suspension System ". I brought my car in the following day (December 17th, 2015).

I went to pick my car up on December 24th. This is what the receipt reads: Found code C15A1-00 and C1562-98. Performed diag and found bad air susp compressor and control module. Replaced air susp compressor and control module. BUT, when I got in my car to drove away, the error message was still there. My car was stuck in the low "park/exit" mode and the service guy took it back.

Today is January 2nd and the service department, after first filling the suspension with air, is waiting for the fitting necessary to replace the air with nitrogen. I purchased the 999,999 mile warranty and am damn glad I did, but being without my car for the last seventeen days, which will undoubtedly turn into at least nineteen days, has been a drag.

- Kelly W., Topanga, CA, USA

problem #8

Jul 032015

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.8L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles

After my initial issue in December 2014, my suspension once again went out while I was driving it on the 4th of July weekend. Once I dropped it off to the dealership they tell me it is the Air System Control Module and it will cost roughly $1100 to fix. This is after some discount on labor. Then once that was replaced they tell me the compressor is also bad. This would bring the total to $3,600 to fix both these issues. I call Chrysler to file a complaint considering the overland is only 4 years old and after my December issue this would put my repairs at $4200 area. Chrysler tells me there is nothing they can do to help me. This JGC Overland is turning into a joke. I'm with others, if you see a 2011 JGC keep on walking. I will never own another Chrysler again. Not only am I concerned about the safety issues, it has had 3 recalls and numerous small issues.

- davemsc, Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #7

Dec 302014

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.8L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,723 miles

In December 2014 as I was again away from home on a business trip driving down the interstate the service air ride light came on. My suspension went completely out on me and turned my JGC into a low rider. The jeep dealer in FL couldn't tell me how long it would take to fix or if they could even fix it. I drove it back to SC and took it to my dealership. After about a week they came to the conclusion the Air Ride Solenoid was INOP. They replaced this part which cost around $700. It wasn't a great experience with the dealership as they appeared not to have anyone really qualified to discuss the issues with me. Even after it was fixed I didn't feel it was operating correctly. I spoke to the mechanic and my adviser at the dealership. They stated over and over it was working correctly.

- davemsc, Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #6

Mar 152015

Grand Cherokee Overland Summit V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,200 miles

After 4 years and not even 38K miles, the message "immediate air suspension service/repair required". This was the Overland Summit model which is not cheap! Stay away from this vehicle! It looks pretty but obviously it's a poorly built car.

This is the first and last JEEP or Chrysler I will ever buy.

- Daniel A., Livermore, CA, USA

problem #5

Jan 102015

Grand Cherokee Overland V8 Hemi 5.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

One day the air suspension simply dropped as if the car was sitting just on the tires and would not lift again. I took it to the dealer and it has been at the shop for 2 weeks now. They think it is a leak in the air line. Aside, from this, I've replaced the radiator, the TIPM Module, the Shift Module, and had two recalls for the brake booster and vanity mirror wiring. These 2011 GC are junk. Don't buy one unless you buy the extended warranty.

- mjlemon, Lititz, PA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »