10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,028 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #143

Aug 182019

Wrangler

  • 104,000 miles
Takata recall. On Sunday August 18th 2019 at 4:30 pm a phone call was placed to brooklyn Chrysler/Jeep at 718 713 3000 to confirm an appointment for an airbag recall made through the national hotline. Upon contacting the service department, I was told that the national recall center did not appropriately schedule the airbag repair, and made my appointment for an "oil change." I was also told that scheduling errors are frequent from your office and that they do not currently have replacement air bag parts in stock. I was told that Chrysler only sends out "two or three" airbag recall parts at a time and that they are given out on a first come, first served basis. She stated there is no current procedure for assigning service to a particular customer at a particular time, and that I should try back every few weeks. This haphazard handling, if true, begs the question of why your office would spend as much time as it does sending out mailings for any fix, yet so little effort to streamline the administrative end to be more effective. I will continue to try to made this "potentially deadly" repair, but someone can coordinate better with the dealership.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #142

Jun 272016

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V290000 (service brakes, air, electronic stability control) and 18V021000 (air bags). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to repair the vehicle. Jake sweeney Chrysler Jeep (85 w kemper rd, cincinnati, oh 45246) confirmed that parts were not available to perform the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact also stated that an unknown warning indicator was illuminated. The failure mileage was unknown. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #141

May 012018

Wrangler

  • 78,000 miles
Air bag light turns on intermittently during vehicle operation, meaning the air bag will not deploy if there's a collision. Suspected component failure is the clockspring. There have been recalls on other years of Jeep Wrangler for this issue, but not 2010 to my knowledge.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #140

May 102016

Wrangler

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Wrangler. The contact purchased the vehicle from a private owner. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V352000 (air bags) and 16V290000 (air bags), although the contact did not receive a recall notice. The dealer (cronic Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, 2515 N expressway, griffin, ga 30223, (770) 227-4271) stated that the parts were unavailable and did not have an estimated timeframe for their arrival. The dealer stated that it may take more than a year to obtain the parts from the manufacturer. The manufacturer was notified. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Feyetteville, GA, USA

problem #139

May 022016

Wrangler

  • miles
Takata recall still waiting. My life is at risk and I'm still waiting. How will the parts be provided if takata has filed chapter 11?

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #138

Jan 012016

Wrangler

  • miles
Takata recall, both recalls have yet to be fixed. Appointment called in to dealer and they have not scheduled the repairs to this date.

- Wyoming, PA, USA

problem #137

Apr 012017

Wrangler

  • 80,000 miles
Takata recall: March 2017 we received notice from Fiat Chrysler automobiles describing a recall for our vehicle on the passenger air bag inflator. On 1 April 2017 I contacted spartanburg Chrysler Jeep, I was told parts are not available and was told I would be contacted when they were available. As of 24 October 2017 I have not heard from spartanburg Chrysler Jeep and have now received notice from tk holdings Inc., that they are filing for bankruptcy protection and I may loose my ability to file a claim. I would like the passenger airbag inflator replaced with a safe one at no expense to me.

- Campobello, SC, USA

problem #136

Mar 182017

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Courtesy Nissan in altoona, Pennsylvania, (814)-942-9000 was made aware of the recall and stated that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Tyrone, PA, USA

problem #135

Aug 312017

Wrangler

  • miles
There has still been no remedy to the takata airbag which can explode under extreme humidity

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #134

May 262016

Wrangler

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V352000 (air bags) and 16V290000 (air bags). The service writer indicated that the parts had been ordered. When the contact followed up to check the status of the repair, the service center manager indicated that the part was not available after the contact had been waiting over six weeks. The contact was uncertain of when the part would arrive. The manufacturer was notified and advised the contact to wait to receive the part from the dealer. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #133

Apr 202017

Wrangler

  • 0 miles
S33 recall was established in May 2016, but all the dealers I contact state that the recall parts are not available. My Jeep was inspected by a Jeep dealer, but no parts available. Meanwhile, my daughter still drives this Jeep which could potentially be unsafe. I want my Jeep fixed under recall S33, but without the manufacturer providing parts to complete the recall, I am left driving a potentially unsafe vehicle due to the air bag clockspring defect.

- Cortlandt Manor, NY, USA

problem #132

Jun 152016

Wrangler

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V352000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #131

Jun 202016

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V290000 (air bags) and 16V352000 (air bags) but stated that the parts were not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repairs. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the contacts vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 06/21/17 updated 08/30/2017

- Plymouth Meeting, PA, USA

problem #130

Mar 202017

Wrangler

  • miles
Takata recall dealers in dfw area stated they do not have the replacement parts nor do they know when or if they will receive them. This is totally unacceptable!

- Southlake, TX, USA

problem #129

Jul 012016

Wrangler

  • miles
The passenger side from air bag was issued a recall on July of 2016. They also said to avoid using that seat. The fix is still not available and I think that is an unreasonable amount of time to limit my use of the vehicle. There are only 4 seats total. I think you need to "get on" Jeep about this unreasonable safety recall delay.

- Chico, CA, USA

problem #128

May 242016

Wrangler

  • 64,000 miles
My Jeep wrnagler has arecall: Cdjr S33. I have called the dealers numerous times to be told the parts will be available in a month. This has been going on for one year. The dealers say the parts are not available. When will the parts be available for this repair on the clock spring for the front air bags??

- Miramar, FL, USA

problem #127

Mar 132017

Wrangler

  • 65,422 miles
Takata recall.I contacted the dealer, family Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram in philadelphia, about fca recall # S33 (NHTSA recall # 16V-290) and was told that parts are not available. I am aware of the parts issue with fca recall # S43 / NHTSA # 16V-352 not being available. I tried to explain to the service person that I was referring to fca recall # S33 (NHTSA recall # 16V-290); however, she was adamant that parts were not available and that I would receive a notice when they were.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #126

May 142016

Wrangler

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Jeep Wrangler. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V290000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Sabana Grande, PR, USA

problem #125

Jan 012017

Wrangler

  • miles
Takata recall-------- ok--I received a recall on the airbags months ago....in the recall it states that this problem is a "serious threat to your and your passengers safety" and should be remedied asap......"it could result in death.." called my dealer again today to see if I can get it fixed..I was told by the dealer the parts are still not available and the latest he has heard is months if not years away from either a fix or getting the parts........ what is NHTSA's position on this"? just drive the car and continue to take a chance that the problem will not occur..?? if it does and kills my grandson???? is anybody at NHTSA looking into this and do you have any power to force this company to produce a remedy to perhaps save some lives???? could it truly be months and months away from a fix???"

- Elko, NV, USA

problem #124

May 012016

Wrangler

  • miles
Takata recall - no parts available since May 2016. Says death may occur if this ruptures!

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »